Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hotshot reviewed by twolipsreviews.com
Shay Basset is a crisis councilor in Cleveland. She was once a troubled teen herself and really can identify with the young people who call. Now, she is gearing up to go before Congress to present a bill that will help get rid of Cleveland's gang activity. Only someone doesn't want Shay to present this bill and they are willing to kill her to stop her.

Major...
Published on July 28, 2009 by Redz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK read
I like this author, but this book was just "OK" for me. It's part of a series - I thought the book before this was better. I found myself skimming the pages when the plot was weak. I will probably give the author another try, though!
Published 19 months ago by Lori Keeton Perry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hotshot reviewed by twolipsreviews.com, July 28, 2009
Shay Basset is a crisis councilor in Cleveland. She was once a troubled teen herself and really can identify with the young people who call. Now, she is gearing up to go before Congress to present a bill that will help get rid of Cleveland's gang activity. Only someone doesn't want Shay to present this bill and they are willing to kill her to stop her.

Major Vince Deluca used to be Shay's lover when they were teens. Now he is on a mission from Don Basset, Shay's father. He is supposed to find out if Shay is part of a terrorist group or not. The signs are pointing to the negative part, but he has to keep a level head and not let his old feelings for Shay get in the way. But when the gangs begin working with the terrorists to kill Shay, Vince has to make a choice - Shay or her dad? The man he considers a father and respects most or his daughter that he might just love with all his heart and soul?

Catherine Mann has the second installment to her Dark Ops with Hotshot. I loved the character of Shay. She is both spunky and caring. She has a dark past that she uses to guide her now. I like how she has taken such a dark period in her life and made it work towards good, helping others wo remind her of herself. She is both complicated and loving. Vince is strong, brave, and loyal. The loyalty sometimes gets him confused and into trouble. Are you loyal to your heart? Or to your brain? Sometimes it can be both. He certainly has some covert moves that are really HOT to read! When you want the perfect combination of sexual tension, heart wrenching angst and a wonderful story line to remember you want to read Hotshot. Though part of a series can be read alone and enjoyed completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exciting Darks Ops romantic thriller, May 7, 2009
After a rough childhood, Shay Bassett made it through hard work. In Cleveland she has become a spokesperson for troubled teens. The advocate is heading to DC to speak to Congress about her city's increase in gang activity.

However someone wants her silence before she can make her testimony. Her teen past returns when Major Vince Deluca, as a favor to his mentor, agrees to protect Shay. He still wants her as he did as an out of control teen and worries about her when they first meet; she is in the face of a youngster who threatens to slice off her head with a machete. However, first keep her safe; second find out who the assassin is; and third control his libido, but he forgot to factor in feisty Shay.

Different from DEFENDER as this time the military converts to the civilian world, HOTSHOT is an exciting Darks Ops romantic thriller that hooks the audience from the opening suspense scene and never loosens the tension until the end. The story line is action-packed and stars two brave powerful lead characters who refuse to allow gangs to intimidate them though they recognize the danger. Fans who relish an exciting military romantic thriller in a civilian environment will want to read Catherine Mann's powerful tale.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hotshot soars...., June 3, 2009
By 
Judy "book reader" (Cincinnati, ohio United States) - See all my reviews
Catherine Mann's Hotshot blends her top notch military heroes with every day life.

Major Vince "Vapor" Deluca enjoys his work in the dark ops testing unit. They get all the new military toys to test and run pulse pounding missions. But his latest mission brings sheer terror to his heart. His mentor Don Bassett asks him to protect his daughter Shay, a woman that Vince hasn't forgotten in seventeen years.

Shay Bassett is a dedicated nurse who gives back to her community by working with troubled teens. Shay is shocked to find Vince strolling back into her life. Something or someone had brought her community center to the attention of the FBI.
Shay is unaware of the danger lurking in the shadows. Soon she realizes Vince is back in her life for more then just to reconnect after all these years.

Shay and Vince are thrown together 24/7 and their long dormant passion for each other ignites. But who ever is targeting Shay and her center is upping the ante, can their new found love survive?

Hotshot is exceptional the high flying military ops blends perfectly in with the real world and its troubles. Catherine Mann outdoes herself again. You must read her books, they are the best around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rising Star in Romantic Suspense, June 12, 2009
By 
HOTSHOT is an exciting tale about a woman whose past returns with unexpected danger and a sexy surprise who adds complications and palpitations. I loved the first book in Catherine Manns' Dark Ops series - DEFENDER - and am thrilled to see a second romantic thriller released so soon afterwards. This story has everything I want in a fast paced and high action romantic adventure.

Catherine Mann has honed her craft and is a rising star in the romantic suspense field I hope to see for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome addition to the Dark Ops series, May 28, 2009
This second installment in the Dark Ops series is, dare I say, even better than the first? The subject matter is intense and unique, the characters strong and compelling. If you're looking for a fast-paced romantic suspense, Catherine Mann delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK read, December 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hotshot (Berkley Sensation) (Kindle Edition)
I like this author, but this book was just "OK" for me. It's part of a series - I thought the book before this was better. I found myself skimming the pages when the plot was weak. I will probably give the author another try, though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast, Fun Read, September 19, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hotshot (Berkley Sensation) (Kindle Edition)
Overall, a good action romance. Mann develops multiple characters quickly and weaves in a few subplots that keep things interesting. She manages to give us a history of our characters without boring retread of the past. The action moves quickly, the characters are well developed and the chemistry between Shay and Vince is strong. It's not great literature, but it is an entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hotshot, October 27, 2009
Shay Basset is in danger. A crisis counselor, she is trying to present a bill before Congress that will get rid of gang activity where she lives. Because of this, her life is being threatened. Shay refuses to give in to her fears, however, because she, more so than the members of Congress, knows exactly what it means to be a youth in trouble - she used to be one. When former lover, Vince Deluca, shows up, Shay has no idea what he is doing there - which is a good thing since he was sent by her important father to find out if Shay is betraying her country.

I didn't like how Vince's mission made me feel. I felt like Shay was being betrayed by her father as well as Vince. Vince is a top `hotshot' pilot and because of this, I felt he had an advantage over Shay. The only thing Shay was guilty of, in my opinion, was having a heart too big and wanting to help new people. Hotshot is chock full of action, espionage, and lust inducing scenarios. The sexual attraction between Vince and Shay is explosive. Both characters were loyal and I really liked Shay. She was strong, intelligent, and learned from her mistakes. Vince is sexy, smart, and a true warrior.

Hotshot, the second installment of Catherine Mann's Dark Ops series, is worthy of any keeper shelf. I am anxious and waiting with bated breath to find out what happens next in this outstanding military romance series!

Talia
Reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but nothing very exciting., June 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The gang plot just did not do it for me - I found my eyes glazing over in several areas of the book. I did enjoy the relationship between Vince and Shay though. Definitely had some sizzle and I liked their snarky banter. Would have enjoyed some more info on Jimmy & Chloe (from the first book Defender) - all this book told us is that they were still together. I've ordered the next book in the series Renegade so I'll definitely keep going with the series, I just hope there is a little more substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hotshot, July 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hotshot (Berkley Sensation) (Kindle Edition)
Characters are warm, like able, and "real". They also happen to be dependable, strong, noble. Good interaction between characters, with a story line that holds the readers interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hotshot (Berkley Sensation)
Hotshot (Berkley Sensation) by Catherine Mann
$5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.