Hourglass (Evernight) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$3.96
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by bestbookshelf
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Binding tight. No marks. Dustjacket is Very Good. Consider EXPEDITED service if you need this in a hurry. Consider EXPEDITED service if you need this in a hurry.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Hourglass (Evernight Novels) Hardcover – March 9, 2010


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$1.95 $0.01

Frequently Bought Together

Hourglass (Evernight Novels) + Afterlife: An Evernight Novel + Balthazar: An Evernight Novel
Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: Evernight Novels (Book 3)
  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: HarperTeen; 1 edition (March 9, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0061284416
  • ISBN-13: 978-0061284410
  • Product Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.9 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 15.5 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (110 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #737,048 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

The third heart-pounding page-turner in the best-selling Evernight series follows Bianca, the teenage daughter of vampire parents who has both bloodthirsty and human qualities, and her mortal beloved, Lucas, to Manhattan, a “city with a serious vampire problem.” Posing as a member of the vampire-hunting group Black Cross, to which Lucas belongs, Bianca continues to take part in the war between humans and vampires, which rages everywhere from elegant apartments to Central Park. Once again, Gray balances the tense, relentless action with passionate romance all the way to the shocking conclusion, which will leave readers demanding the next installment. A natural for Twilight series fans. Grades 9-12. --Gillian Engberg

Review

Praise for 'Evernight': "Once I picked up 'Evernight' I couldn't put it down! I can't wait for Claudia Gray's next book!" L. J. Smith, best-selling author of 'The Vampire Diaries' --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

More About the Author

Claudia Gray has worked as a lawyer, a journalist, a disc jockey, and an extremely poor waitress. Her lifelong interests in old houses, classic movies, vintage style, and history all play a part in creating the world of Evernight.

Customer Reviews

Of course like any good series the ending left you with a cliff hanger.
Shylo Ferguson
I can't wait to find out what will happen to Lucas and Biance next in the up and coming book thats next in this suspense filled series.
bookfiend
Hourglass is the third book in Claudia Gray's Evernight series, and I highly recommend reading it if you have read the first two books.
Sean Hoade

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful By S. Power TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on February 24, 2010
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Claudia Grey continues her love story of starcrossed lovers Bianca and Lucas in Hourglass, the third in the Evernight series.

The story begins with Bianca and Lucas working with Black Cross (a vampire hunting organization)and trying to hide Bianca's true identity. The author is able to make this novel as exciting as the other two while breaking from the Evernight School location that was center in her other two novels. The mystery and final plot twist are foreshadowed but still surprising and the cliffhanger left me excited to read the next book in the series.

The Evernight series explores forbidden love like the Twilight books that are loved by teens but does it in a more exciting manner. Teens and Young adults will love this series.

As for possible objectionable content. The main characters have sex, the descriptions of which are not graphic. There is no alcohol or drug use. There is violence and biting because no vampire novel would be complete with out some biting.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful By Steph VINE VOICE on February 26, 2010
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Stargazer was much more than I expected, Claudia Gray's imagination carries the story even as the high tension between the 2 star crossed lovers Bianca (a rare born vampire) and Lucas (a vampire slayer) keep tension and drama high. This story was surprising and emotional and ends at a cliffhanger that will make you wonder how the author will ever be able to conclude her next book!

In the 3rd book of Claudia Gray's series, Bianca and Lucas find themselves along with a human friend part of the secret Black Cross (deadly and ruthless vampire hunter). Even as Bianca 'trains' to kill the evil vampires she tries desperately to hide her vampire nature from the Black Cross members. And the stakes get higher as her vampire half takes over and her cravings for blood increase. Desperate, Lucas knows it is only a matter of time before they are caught and struggles to find a way for them both to escape. But when his hidden stash of money is discovered and taken they begin to despair. To add to their troubles the wraiths continue to haunt Bianca and they are taking on a more forceful approach. And to make matters even worse they find Balthazar, a good vampire friend of Bianca's has been captured and is being tortured by the Black Cross. How can they save him and themselves, too? While Bianca becomes progressively and mysteriously weaker and the pact her parents made with the wraiths looms over Bianca's future, tension builds to near claustrophobic levels. Can their relationship survive, will they?

This was an amazing read that you will not forget. Betrayal, death and heartache make for a fast paced and exciting read. As mentioned earlier, I have no idea how the author will continue her next book. There were a couple of big shocks that I never saw coming that were not resolved.
Read more ›
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Bundtlust TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on February 23, 2010
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
The "Evernight" novels (Evernight (Evernight, Book 1), Stargazer (Evernight), Hourglass and Afterlife) focus on seventeen-year-old Bianca, half-vampire, half-human who's in love with Lucas, a fearsome Black Cross vampire killer. In the third novel, Hourglass, the mysteries of Bianca's birth (two vampires can only have a child with the help of wraiths, or ghosts) are slowly and painfully unraveled as she and Lucas live life on the lam.

At the close of "Stargazer," Evernight Academy was torched by the Black Cross, a powerful vampire hunting society that's existed for over a millennium. Now, Bianca and Lucas must take refuge in the place that endangers Bianca the most...right in the heart of the enemy. As Bianca fights to escape detection as a vampire, she begins to experience worsening dizzy spells. Cut off from her parents and her friends at Evernight, most notably Balthazar, Bianca is uncertain what to expect from her changing body. No one ever told her what happens to a half-vampire who refuses to make the transition...

"Hourglass" contains a winning blend of action and romance. Bianca's world is turned upside-down; former Evernight friends become enemies, and certain former enemies lend a hand. Bianca's relationship with Lucas finally heats up (tastefully). And the cliffhanger ending will leave fans on the edge of their seats until the fourth novel "Afterlife" comes out. Fans of The Twilight Saga Collection and Blue Bloods 3-Book Boxed Set will likely enjoy "Hourglass."
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By HH (NJ) on May 3, 2010
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Very fast-passed sequel with non-stop action. When we last saw Bianca and Lucas they were on the run with the black cross after the evernight academy was torched. Along for the ride in this sequel is Raquel, Bianca's roommate from Evernight. Seeing as how Bianca is a half-vampire who must drink blood every couple of days, it doesn't take a soothsayer to know that she is going to have difficulties with the black cross.

Bianca and Lucas muddle through and their interactions on the run are some of the more touching scenes in this novel. Lucas really grows as a character and turns away from his black and white view (human=good/ vampire=bad) of the world. Vic and Balthazar make appearances, although the later for a heartbreaking scene of devotion to Bianca.

My major complaint about this sequel is how the mystery surrounding Bianca's changing body was handled. Throughout the series, the question has always been if she refuses to change into a vampire, what happens? The author drops enough hints throughout this book that by the time the transition happens, you knew what Bianca was changing into. And that is the key problem for me.

Spoilers.----------------------

Bianca changes into a wraith. Why Bianca could not have foreseen this is beyond me. She knows that vampires can only have a child with the help of wraiths. Her soul is from the wraiths and her body from the vampire parents. The wraiths appear around her and say "our," or "she is not for you" and defends her from being turned into a vampire. When Bianca does not complete the transition to a vampire, she starts getting dizzy, losing her appetite, will to live and starts fading away (like one would expect for a wraith). For a kick-a** heroine to this point, I expected more. Make a call to her parents to see what was happening instead of lying down and dying. Doing something.

The ending was a huge cliffhanger and now you have to wait until next year!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?