Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for any Lamb of God fan, June 4, 2010
This review is from: Hourglass: The CD Anthology (Audio CD)
I've been a Lamb of God fan for a good five years, so when I heard about this anthology being released I knew I'd have to pick it up. Just like the other reviewer here, I mainly picked it up for the third disc, which features bonus tracks from the Wrath special edition and Japanese releases from all of their albums. Then, it features a bunch of never-before released rehearsal demos of some of their songs. These are especially great because it gives you an idea of how the band sounds when they're getting ready to tour it up, and even in rehearsal they sound so dang aggressive and RAW!

The real icing on the cake for the entire package is the release of the original Burn the Priest demo recordings, which I had never heard before personally and sound absolutely fantastic! Lamb of God is one of the best metal bands of this past decade, and to hear this anthology is a real treat. I recommend purchasing if you're any kind of Lamb of God fan, but especially for long-time fans this is a great deal.

Oh, maybe I should talk about the other discs while I'm at it. Basically, disc 1 features selections from the Burn the Priest album that was released, and a veritable greatest hits collection from New American Gospel and As The Palaces Burn. Disc 2 features selections from when they went to Epic. Expect a decent mix of songs from Ashes of the Wake, Sacrament and Wrath.

Discs 1 and 2 are great if you don't own all their albums but still want kind of a greatest hits compilation. However, if you're a long-time fan like me and you want to hear fresher material then this is definitely worth picking up for disc 3 itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy For Disc 3 Alone!, June 2, 2010
This review is from: Hourglass: The CD Anthology (Audio CD)
This is a great collection of LOG tracks from throughout their career. If you own all the LOG albums as I do, the first two discs are not gonna be the highlight of this 3 disc set. Disc 3 however will give you a handful of new tracks that were only found on special editions before this set, as well as songs previously unreleased songs from Burn the Priest's 7inch, and you also get some demo type songs which are very interesting seeing that they have a significantly different feel to them. This a a must for any LOG fan!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one is for the Lamb of God fan!, June 16, 2010
By 
Steven Wilson (Grand Rapids, MI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hourglass: The CD Anthology (Audio CD)
Well looks like Lamb of God has entered the realm of the greatest hits package! Now this isn't a bad thing. I have found great music by buying the greatest hits packages and then going out to get all the albums. So I said this was great for the fan but this is also good for the person who was going to buy both volume 1 and 2 because I have found this cheaper or the same price as buying them individually. This is for the fan that wants to support Lamb of God and this package caters to them because of disc 3. Disc 3 is full of demos, rehearsal recordings, and early recordings that haven't seen the light of day or have been out of print for awhile. There are 3 Japanese bonus tracks included. Also if you were a fan that bought Wrath Special Edition to get the 2 bonus tracks only to find out that they are mp3 only or that you have to mix them yourself, you are in luck because both of those tracks are on the 3rd disc. As far as Volume 1 and 2 are concerned they are great. Volume 1 is a good taste of the first Lamb of God albums(Burn the Priest, New American Gospel, and As The Palaces Burn)while volume 2 is a good taste of the last 3 albums (Ashes of the Wake, Sacrament, and Wrath). I like the fact it is divided into two volumes so can get more tracks representing each album. For the most part it is 4 tracks per album with an extra track from New American Gospel and Wrath ( although the extra track on Wrath is an instrumental that goes into In Your Own Words). So this set great for the fan that wants the demos and bonus studio tracks and the new fan that wants a taste of all the albums for a cheap price( I got this set for $17 and most places have it for $20). So thank you Lamb of God for this anthology while wait for another album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worth it, July 7, 2010
This review is from: Hourglass: The CD Anthology (Audio CD)
As a perpetual consumer I looked at this purchase one way: there are a few rare tracks on here that if I were to buy the individual imports seperately it would cost a lot more. As a consequence I bought this the day it came out in stores and have enjoyed the fact. As a draw back I might say that the only disc I wanted was vol. 3 and the technique of not selling vol. 3 seperately but selling vols. 1-2 by themselves, I assume was not done accidentally. So, if you own all LOG's studio efforts then it sucks you have to buy all three of the discs to get to what you really want. I will say I justified the act by telling myself it was cool to buy vols. 1-2 as playlists that the band decided I should hear. Anyway, vol. 3 is cool and it's still a better deal than buying all the cds seperately you would have to to have the songs any other legal way. Lamb of God rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great box set, May 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hourglass: The CD Anthology (Audio CD)
This box set came with 3 albums... all of them are great. it came undamaged and fairly fast. the albums are "the early years", "the epic years" and "the vault" all of them are great and very enjoyable. if you are not a fan of lamb of god but you want to get into it... this is great choice to start with, and if you have been a long time fan this is also a great choice for the 18 previously unreleased tracks.8/10 would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lamb of god, a guarantee, September 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hourglass: The CD Anthology (Audio CD)
i was looking for the third volume only, and i didn't found it...but thanks to this i could acquire the three of them without expending too much ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, March 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hourglass: The CD Anthology (Audio CD)
Must buy for all Lamb of God enthusiasts. Yet, it felt like it lacked some of the great tracks from Wrath and Sacrament.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anthology, January 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hourglass: The CD Anthology (Audio CD)
This is pretty much a greatest hits of Lamb of God; one of the best bands of the decade IMO. If someone hasnt herd it they need too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hourglass: The CD Anthology (Audio CD)
Very good CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hourglass, September 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hourglass: The CD Anthology (Audio CD)
this album is great for any true lamb of god fan I recommend that buying this album is a great purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hourglass: The CD Anthology
Hourglass: The CD Anthology by Lamb of God (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.