Customer Reviews


648 Reviews
5 star:
 (541)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 2 a vast improvement over first season.
Review of content. No spoilers.

I can't explain one of my main reasons for vastly preferring this over the first season without going into a pivotal plot point that occurs early on in the proceedings.

What I *can* say is that in season 2, Spacey settles down and grows into the role of Frank Underwood, playing the part in a far more subtle, more...
Published 8 months ago by Sue Kichenside

versus
16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment --- Oddly, it isn't quite dark enough. We have all seen worse.
Watching the unprincipled and incredibly devious Frank Underwood rise from House Whip to President of the United States is certainly entertaining and the acting is first rate. Viewers need to suspend their disbelief in order to fully accept the incomprehensible stupidity of the dupes along the way who are brushed aside and the lack of push-back from any of the multitudes...
Published 6 months ago by James B. Casey


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 2 a vast improvement over first season., April 22, 2014
This review is from: House of Cards: Season 2 (DVD)
Review of content. No spoilers.

I can't explain one of my main reasons for vastly preferring this over the first season without going into a pivotal plot point that occurs early on in the proceedings.

What I *can* say is that in season 2, Spacey settles down and grows into the role of Frank Underwood, playing the part in a far more subtle, more nuanced, less hammy way. Fans of his Machiavellian methods will be delighted to hear that he is still as devious and as ruthless as ever. Ditto his wife Claire (a compelling performance from Robin Wright).

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable exploration of ambition at the heart of power in the company of the Underwoods who never once take their eyes off The Ultimate Prize. Unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Washington's chief political gambler keeps his cards close to the chest, May 11, 2014
This review is from: House of Cards: Season 2 (DVD)
And in the powerful and accomplished second season of Netflix's HOUSE OF CARDS (USA version), Francis Underwood (Kevin Spacey), having doubled down and won every chance he gets, consolidates power along with his NGO-controlling wife Claire (Robin Wright). Francis, or Frank ("It's 'Francis' on buildings and 'Frank' on bumper stickers," he is joshed during Season 1) grows in finesse and power but as always has his eyes on the next prize. Some colorful new characters join the cast, among them Gerald ("Major Dad") McRaney as Raymond Tusk, a "sage" but manipulative multibillionaire from a Midwestern city, and Jimmi Simpson ("Liam McPoyle" on IT'S ALWAYS SUNNY IN PHILADELPHIA) as Gavin Orsay, a quirky but ultra-advanced hacker in uneasy alliance with the FBI. The growing but, sadly, all-too-believable sense of menace from big power, big bucks, and domestic covert ops is lightened somewhat by Gavin's companion, a charming guinea pig named Cashew. (Note well, though, that cavy owners maintain the critters should not be kept in such confining cages.) Then Cashew comes under the foot of the Feds.

I didn't think it possible for Season 2 to outdo Season 1, but it does. Probably owing to enhanced budgeting, interior decor suffers far less from the sterile monotony often visible in the prior year, that sense of first-class hotel furniture accented with Restoration Hardware fixtures. Sometimes the fictional political events swirling around this show's main characters seem a little too strong for the circumstances -- Frank's boss the President has an eighteen percent approval rating, lower than that of any real modern President -- but it is as a character-driven saga that HOUSE OF CARDS excels. Francis Underwood's wry asides to the camera maintain that tone of impishness so necessary for our sympathy toward a very ruthless character. Robin Wright, that vessel of ambition as the Vice President's wife with an agenda of her own, gets more of a chance to act. Be sure, though, to see all of Season 1 before embarking on Season 2--both are well worth the effort but should be seen in sequence. After that, no Cook's tour of modern Machiavellianism would be complete without the remastered British trilogy that started it all.

House of Cards Trilogy: The Original UK Series Remastered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must like very dark work to enjoy this series, May 21, 2014
This review is from: House of Cards: Season 2 (DVD)
I like very dark work and this series is certainly one of those. To some viewers too much darkness can push a show over the edge. I think it did that to my husband and my neighbor, who now seem dubious about seeing season 3. I, however, absolutely loved it. Keven Spacey's Francis Underwood is even more rapacious than in season one. He also is on a no holds barred effort to become the next president. Even Claire, his wife, has a few moments of doubt but not Francis. Kevin Spacey also takes this right up to the edge of satire but does not push it over. It is close especially since he has frequent asides to us the audience. Both Spacey and Robin Wright Penn do an outstanding acting job as the ultimate political couple. Both Claire and Francis go the extra mile this season in eliminating anyone standing in their way to the White House. The guy they seek to topple as President is a much better person than either of them but he is terribly weak as a President. I personally am looking forward to season 3.

I adored the F.U. cufflinks given to Francis. It's almost as if the character was given this name just so those cufflinks could be used in some future episode!

Visit my blog with link given on my profile page here or use this phonetically given URL (livingasseniors dot blogspot dot com). Friday's entry will always be weekend entertainment recs from my 5 star Amazon reviews in film, tv, books and music. These are very heavy on buried treasures and hidden gems. My blogspot is published on Monday, Wednesday & Friday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, May 9, 2014
This review is from: House of Cards: Season 2 (DVD)
The only thing better than season one of this great series is season 2. I was totally floored to see that not only could this season keep up with the first one, it actually surpassed it. This is great television even though it is not really television. The acting in this series is unbelievable. Kevin Spacey and Robin Wright leads a stellar cast of dynamic performers. This season brings you into the seedy world of politics. It examines the top of the food chain. Those in power. It shows the lengths that the power hungry would go to keep that power. It examines and analyses power versus money. It is written in a way where even the most uneducated would start to understand Washington politics.l It is a scary season to watch because it is so believable. I could actually picture many of our elected officials having the character of Frank Underwood and the other fictional megalomaniacs in the series. If you want television that will leave you breathless, this is it. I can hardly wait for season 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment --- Oddly, it isn't quite dark enough. We have all seen worse., June 29, 2014
By 
James B. Casey (Chicago, Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House of Cards: Season 2 (DVD)
Watching the unprincipled and incredibly devious Frank Underwood rise from House Whip to President of the United States is certainly entertaining and the acting is first rate. Viewers need to suspend their disbelief in order to fully accept the incomprehensible stupidity of the dupes along the way who are brushed aside and the lack of push-back from any of the multitudes of "interest groups" that have their own amoral and heavily funded objectives. Elected at the cost of billions of dollars and surrounded by armies of political operatives and bureaucrats dependent upon the President, it is difficult to conceive of any way that any personal deceptions could so quickly seize the Oval Office and overthrow a presidency. It may be good theater to watch this play out as the work of a slick mastermind and his even more deceptive wife, but the breakdowns in presidential power we have seen -- Nixon-Agnew-Ford -- and the Clinton scandal -- were far from "neat". They were messy and painful to watch and unfolded over several years. The Bush-Cheney seizure of power in 2000 and the orchestrated Iraq War ended up with thousands of dead and tens of billions earned by War profiteers like Cheney's Halliburton. That is a reality far darker than the murder of a congressperson and reporter.

It is also difficult to believe that simple deals over a table could bring cuts to Social Security eligibility age without massive firestorms of protest and with no mention of the hundreds of billions of dollars escaping taxation through machinations of dozens of vastly wealthy individuals who shelter vast fortunes in the Cayman Islands and in Swiss banks. Raymond Tusk may be a realistic character, but there are obviously dozens of such corruptors buying and selling influence in Washington, D.C.. Its hard to imagine one or two such rats obtaining such unrivaled power with so many sharks in the water. And there are obviously many Frank Underwoods in Washington, D.C. who crave power. Fortunately, or unfortunately, they feed off each other and the taxpayers in general. What House of Cards offers is the fiction that such evil can be contained and orchestrated by one clever mastermind. Perhaps that is a comforting fiction when evil in our political system appears to be overwhelming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not more, July 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House of Cards: Season 2 (DVD)
I was really disapointed with season 2, it is not as good as season 1 (but for the original serie from BBC, season two is not as good as 1 either). I think they take it a bit too far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Get What All The Fuss Is About, August 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House of Cards: Season 2 (DVD)
It's ok.

It has more ambitious -- and just plain more -- story lines than Season 1, but that's not necessarily a positive. None of the issues get enough airtime to make sense, much less be engaging. The most important twist of all -- no, I won't tell you what it is! -- comes out of nowhere, and is fairly unbelievable as a result.

Even though the politics get short-changed, there are still lots of long takes of people looking off into the distance, thinking unreadable thoughts. I often found myself reaching the end of an episode both confused and slightly bored.

Spacey is, as always, great. So is Robin Wright. And their I Love You But I'm Going To Sleep Around relationship is one of the most compelling aspects of the series. But most of the other characters are one-dimensional, so there's no suspense when they stick a knife -- metaphorical or literal -- in someone's back.

I loved the original UK series, but while the US version has much better production values, it's never reached the same heights. And Season 2 doesn't change that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spacey delivers after the season one taster, September 16, 2014
This review is from: House of Cards: Season 2 (DVD)
I've been a big fan of the original House of Cards (UK series) when it arrived in 1990, and watched it many times since then. The USA version has grabbed me in big time (I'm a Brit thus seen both) it's modern and polished and Spacey is frankly fantastic in the lead role he steals the show almost.

House of Cards is slick and well cast and whilst clearly based on the original has it's own twists and theme.
Cast wise I like Spacey and his understated Francis J. "Frank" Underwood, devious and cunning, clever and manipulative. Robin Wright also does a very good job as his wife. I am quite happy with the cast overall.

Season two heats things up more, after the first season set the groundwork (some complained the first season was a bit slow partly down to I think laying out the characters more for viewers) Frank's lined himself up to be the Vice President..one step closer to his ultimate goal of grabbing the top job in the Oval office.

I won't ruin it with spoilers, but things do really come to a head with Zoe Barnes and Frank in a fairly dramatic way. The rest of the season shows Frank's continued cunning in destabilising an already weak President. Some complain it's a bit predictable plot wise, but then from day one we've known Frank is ambitious and wants power for himself. It's a slick production that's well directed and has some excellent performances even from supporting cast members, decent screenplay and script, good camera work and even the soundtrack delivers, nicely polished in every respect.

I'm quite happy to watch this, despite reservations initially how it would compare to the original 1990 series. They are different in feel and portrayal, I like both for what they offer viewers. Spacey has really grown on me as an actor, he seems very well suited to the role. One of the reasons people enjoy this so much? I think it's quite simple really, this portrays politicians in a way many feel is quite close to reality. Scheming, plotting, career motivated, and indifferent to the needs of the people..and will say anything to get their way up the power ladder. If you're a sceptical type this is right up your street.

If you are new to the series you do really need to start with season 1 to enjoy it fully (you will have missed many important events)
I was tempted to give it 4 stars, it's 4.5 overall for me so 5 grabs the spot. I like it and enjoy watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously evil political corruption, August 6, 2014
By 
Mike S. (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fair warning, this will contain the major spoiler from season 1, and some spoilerish material from season 2, but no big giveaways. If you have not seen season one avoid the next paragraph.

It is hard to describe everything going on in season two without giving too much away. The season starts out with the aftermath of Peter Russo's killing, and Frank covering his tracks. Much of that story gets resolved within the first few episodes, although there are certainly still aspects of it out there going into the third season, and not all the lose ends get tied up. The rest of the season really focuses on Frank's continued power grab. He remains as underhanded as he was in the first season, if not more so. The plot involves China, a shady businessman with ties to the president (played wonderfully by Gerald Mcraney) and super PAC money, with Frank Underwood and his wife pulling all the strings.

The tone and pace of the show is very much like the first season. There is a lot packed into the 13 episodes and the various plot lines sometimes run parallel and sometimes intersect. The acting and writing are again stellar. Some characters from season one are gone, or only appear in the first few episodes and a handful of new characters are introduced. Much like in the first season it is sometimes hard to tell which character, Frank or Claire, is more slimy and underhanded. The both continue to use, abuse and discard anyone who gets in their way. Although Robin Wright does do a great job at bringing some humanity to Claire in the few instances where the shell breaks even if just for a few moments.

As for the discs themselves. There are actually special features this time. Probably about an hour's worth, give or take, spread throughout the individual discs. Mainly in the form of behind the scenes material. The packaging is still horrible, with the discs tucked into very tightly notched paper slots. I would definitely recommend getting the blu rays because the anti scratch coating on the discs will hold up a lot better to the packaging than regular DVDs. There is a lot of potential for DVDs to get scratched (assuming the DVDs are packaged the same way). Also a plus for the blu rays is the ability to start from where you left off if you have to stop partway through an episode. You can run in play all mode and do not have to try and find your spot again if you turn it off.

All in all if you are a fan of the first season, you will love this season as well. It is very comparable, if not better than season 1. It still has the very dark tone, and even sometimes a dark comedic tone. It is definitely well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Original still the best., July 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House of Cards: Season 2 (DVD)
I find House of Cards just OK, my wife likes it more.
While it's generaly well acted, I find the story unrelentingly grim and just about every charicter is moraly bankrupt. This might be seen as true to political life and "gritty" and I certainly have no rose coloured view of most politicians, but there seems to be very little light and shade, to the point where the dreadful behaviour of the various players just doesn't hit home after a while. I'm sure even the worst politicians manage do the right thing sometimes. (Even if for the wrong reasons.)
Some plot lines seem to be designed to catch and keep an audience, particularly the sexual adventures of the two main charicters. I found accepting that two such cool and calculating political animals would be so careless about their love affairs and casual sexual encounters. (Apparently presidential security guards are expected to take more than a bullet for their president...)
A story about a politician willing to do anything to get to the top is nothing new, this one has a bit more nudity and sex than most, but it doesn't have the black humour and faster pace of the original British version. Perhaps more American soap opera than political drama.?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

House of Cards: Season 2
House of Cards: Season 2 by Michael Kelly (DVD - 2014)
$55.99 $19.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.