Customer Reviews


215 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 97 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absurdly profane but thoroughly enjoyable
House of the Dead: Overkill is the first new original game in the series for a long time. Gameplay is largely unchanged from its arcade roots, which is good because House of the Dead has always been known as a quality light-gun shooter. It is bloody, gory, violent, profane, and above all, very fun. It has solid multi-player support and even includes some 2-4 player...
Published on February 11, 2009 by Halicon5

versus
38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grindhouse Funfest marred by bad design
House of the Dead (HOTD) Overkill is the latest in the HOTD series. This game is not made by SEGA, but rather a studio called Headstrong Games. Like other lightgun games, HOTD is a point, click, and watch the splatter affair.

The only strategy you need to know is to aim consistently at the head of a zombie and don't miss.

Graphically, HOTDO is very...
Published on February 16, 2009 by faididi


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 97 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absurdly profane but thoroughly enjoyable, February 11, 2009
By 
Halicon5 (Casper, Wyoming United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of the Dead: Overkill - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
House of the Dead: Overkill is the first new original game in the series for a long time. Gameplay is largely unchanged from its arcade roots, which is good because House of the Dead has always been known as a quality light-gun shooter. It is bloody, gory, violent, profane, and above all, very fun. It has solid multi-player support and even includes some 2-4 player competitive modes.

GAMEPLAY: Gameplay basically consists of pointing the Wii remote at everything that moves on screen and blasting away. It doesn't get simpler than that. Luckily, the game provides a lot of variety despite the simple mechanics. Enjoyable as a one-player game, the game is twice as fun with a second player. The multi-player mini-games are also enjoyable, but the true strength of the game lies in re-playing and trying to beat your high scores. The higher your scores, the more cash you earn. The more cash you earn, the more weapon upgrades you can buy. The better your weapons, the easier it is to get higher scores. It works really well.

GRAPHICS: This game looks good, but there are better looking games on the Wii. Some character models are rougher looking than others and some textures feel really low res. There are times where the dialogue and mouth movements on characters aren't synched up very well, but that's really minor. There are some frame rate issues at times, but overall the game looks great and none of the issues I mentioned get in the way of me enjoying the game.

LEVELS: The levels consist of seven extremely campy and cheesy Grindhouse movie themed missions. Seven levels doesn't sound like a lot, but there's a lot here. When you're done with the regular mode, you can turn on "Extra Mutants" or move on to "Director's Cut" which is basically expanded levels with increased difficulty. Or you can turn on "Dual Weild" and "Director's Cut" at the same time. I've already played many levels at least a half dozen times and it is likely they will be played several more times each.

PRESENTATION: A lot of thought has gone into the presentation of this game. While the game is horror themed, the primary focus of the dialogue is generally funny. The music is amazing. The menu presentations are phenomenally well thought out. The whole game oozes seventies style and spoofs many horror movie and Blaxploitation themes, for good or for bad. This game wallows in the cliches that have persisted in low-budget Hollywood films for decades. It is also probably the most vulgar game on the market that I can think of. One character, an obvious Samuel L. Jackson knockoff, uses the f-bomb like a comma. Talking like that would get you kicked out of even the toughest biker bar. The game developers even realize this and make fun of the excessive swearing. Oh, and something disturbing happens at the end of the last level which is so vile and disgusting I'm still kind of shocked. I honestly think the game should have been rated AO (Adults Only) instead of M (Mature).

This is probably one of the better game purchases I've made. There are a lot of light-gun style games on the Wii, but this one plays better than all the rest. The most comparable competing titles in terms of quality would probably be Link's Crossbow Training, Resident Evil: Umbrella Chronicles, or House of the Dead: 2 & 3. The only serious drawback to this game is the absurd amount of profanity and over the top vulgarity. SEGA went a little too far at times, especially near the end of the game. Way too far....

I highly recommend Overkill as a purchase or a rental to open-minded and tolerant adults looking for a thoroughly enjoyable multi-player co-op game. I generally oppose censorship in nearly all of its forms, but I also believe that there is something to be said about exercising self-restraint. If you are easily offended or even moderately offended by profanity and crude humor I have to recommend staying away from this game because it frequently crosses the line of good taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome XXX Adult Gaming...., February 27, 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of the Dead: Overkill - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This game is, to date, the best Wii game I've ever played. As a fan of the previous HOTD games, this is the best version for the following reasons:
- If you died in the previous II / III you had to start from the beginning, EVERY TIME. This version allows you to save after completing each chapter.

- Graphics are great. The 70s cinematic feel. Total 70s-ploitation. Anything cliche off these movies is in this game... gore, 'big guns' and vulgarity.

- Of which, the vulgarity is rampant in this game, which I love. I think the gaming industry is completely missing the aged-gamer. I want my games like I want my music and movies... unedited and uncensored. I am so sick of imported anime creatures and doe-eyed fetishes. How much longer can that genre last? aauh! The vulgarity is so overused that its hilarious, to the point it loses its effectiveness as obsenity.

- Game play. I like games where it doesn't take every button on the controller to move your character. A previous reviewer called it 'rail' play (or something), which enables you to spend more time killing off zombies.. and the creepy flipping clowns.

- Difficulty. Aside from the bosses, game difficulty seems easier than other shooter games.

- Co-play. Co-op mode is awesome. My husband and I grab a pitcher of margaritas, our guns and play together. No one has to control the character (Like in Call of Duty), and both people play off the same screen.

I have noticed a minute delay in the gun tracking during bits of game play, nothing that is critical, nor nothing that would cause me to change my rating. Don't confuse it with the slo-mo mode which you get when you shoot a specific icon on the screen.

A big kid game for a big kid gamer. I'm sure it won't take long for some parent to buy this for their tween and freak out. So, if you are considering it for your kid and you're cool with hyper-sexuality, extreme vulgarity and an excessive amount of gore and violence then buy it, if not, DON'T.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grindhouse Funfest marred by bad design, February 16, 2009
By 
faididi (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of the Dead: Overkill - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
House of the Dead (HOTD) Overkill is the latest in the HOTD series. This game is not made by SEGA, but rather a studio called Headstrong Games. Like other lightgun games, HOTD is a point, click, and watch the splatter affair.

The only strategy you need to know is to aim consistently at the head of a zombie and don't miss.

Graphically, HOTDO is very detailed for a Wii game. Without HD graphics, the visuals are as good as one can expect; however, this amount of detail is suspected in causing the game to freeze, slow down, and even "hang" (where you don't progress anymore because the Wii is trying to load a massive amount of graphics for the next part of the rail), resulting in often times jerky performance.

This jerky performance screws with your accuracy, which ultimately, jerks with your score and your ability to unlock new guns and content.

The sound and music are top-notch, being deliberately bad to reflect the grindhouse presentation of the game. SEGA and Headstrong make no apologies in the massive number of F-Bombs, swearing, incest, and other sleaze, chiefly because HOTDO is a B-rated movie turned into a game (hence the ESRB M-rating). Concerned parents who want their children to live in a fantasy world will have to avoid buying them this game.

The chief problem of HOTDO is its scoring system. While you get more money by beating a high score in a stage, the high score slots will eventually get filled up and you will earn no more money. This is a problem, since the game requires you to earn about $50'000 to buy and upgrade all the weapons to unlock extra art and bonuses. Chances are you will get tired of earning money so slowly and stop playing.

Apart from the money problem, there is little else wrong with HOTDO. If you've played HOTD3 on the Xbox and enjoy other lightgun games like Vampire Night, Time Crisis, Silent Scope, and Elemental Gearbolt, HOTDO ranks well with the top lightgun shooters.

Some tips:

(1) Buy the autoshotgun first. It is probably the only weapon you need to power-up to get the combo hits (read the manual on how) for high scores.

(2) In story mode, keep $10,000 to unlock some extra songs. Once you have, you can spend the money afterwards (the unlocked songs save to your profile).

(3) You can quit after getting a high score (check the stage's high score tables to know the minimum score you need). By quitting early, you get your name on the high score table, some money, and avoid setting insanely high scores you can't beat later (and forever lose out on money).

(4) Money and weapons in story mode and Director's Cut don't carry-over, so you need to earn all that stuff again if you want a complete file.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ONLY REASON I OWN A WIi, March 7, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of the Dead: Overkill - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
so. finally we get to see gent Gs first misson.
i have to admit at first i was sceptikal of th gae when it was anounced. but from the hudreds of Fbombs, the beautiful gore, and accuracy of the gun,i say this game is one of the best in th series. the most awesome part was the feel of a bad horror movie. epic one liners and awesome bosses. cthis game has it all. a lot of unlockables, and a lot o guns to choose from, s you can choose which weapon to do the job woth. and the voice acting is good. then is the bgm and ost. the music overall is very nice, and the best part?
THE SONG TITLED SUFFER LIKE G DID.
yes its that awesome. oh and before you play this, highly suggest getting a hndgun accessory. not the zapper. its reall uncomfortable... :3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Social Gametime, January 18, 2010
By 
Bobak (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of the Dead: Overkill - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
It pretty much boils down to this. You're an adult, you want to have some fun, not play Pictionary or something like that. This is it. Gameplay is simplistic and straightforward, and this is not a challenging game like Contra III or Gears of War or anything like that. Still, it boils down to the fact that aiming a gun at things and shooting is a lot of fun. The B-movie plot totally rocks, and when the guys come over we play this pretty often. If you want something to spend a lot of time on--this isn't it--you pretty much get better weapons with time, and the game gets easier, so that's that. Still it's fun to get cash and buy new weapons and slaughter zombies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, over-the-top fun!, December 9, 2009
By 
Maek (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of the Dead: Overkill - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
"Are you going to tell me what the (bleeping) G stands for?" - Detective Washington
"Nope." - Agent G

It's been said 100 times over on reviews, but I can't get over how fun this game is to play. Take your typical grind-house movie, throw in a House of the Dead vibe, and some tunes that Quentin T. wished he could have used on Pulp Fiction (here and there anyway!) and you've got the makings of a laugh-out loud funny game.

I was wondering how far the TV-MA rating would be taken. Rest assured, SEGA leaves no room for doubt...the profanity in the game (rumor has it that it made Guinness for the most profane game ever), the violence, and the somewhat near "was that what I think I saw" Janet Jackson moment definitely does NOT make this a game for the family. It's fun for me, though, when I would like to unwind after a hard day at work and want to do something else besides play Super Mario Galaxy with my 6-year old daughter.

The banter between the straight-up well-tailored G and the foul-mouthed Detective Washington (who sounds like a dead-on Samuel L. Jackson impersonator) is great. G has his foul moments as well which makes it even funnier. The scene with the ice cream truck cracked me up beyond belief where G and Washington are debating music choices.

Another fun moment is when Agent G and Washington find themselves on a little kiddie amusement park ride that moves around like Disney's Snow White through a haunted house...Washington blurts out )after G admits that he's a little scared to be on the ride), "Are you holding my hand?!?" "Yes." "Let go of me (string of expletives)."

The gameplay is great although the frame rate does take a hit here and there if you've got loads of zombies and rapid gunfire. That said, the simulated film scratches and pops actually add to the feel that you're watching a real 35mm movie that occasionally jumps, so it actually adds to the mouth-popping popcorn experience to the whole game. The environment is pretty well done and the variety of gore does take into account where you're hitting the zombies.

Who ever would have guessed that an on-rail shooter game would be this much fun?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Blast, March 3, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of the Dead: Overkill - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
If you were looking for a more adult oriented Wii game, you've certaintly come to the right place with House of the Dead: Overkill. The game has over the top violence with it's blood and gore effects, and defiantly goes over the top with the language.

First off, if you're easily offended by harsh language, then you may want to steer clear of this game. Literally, like every other word out of one of the character's mouth is F this or MFer that. I know a lot of people will find offense to the amount of F bombs dropped in this game, but for me personally, it didn't bother me. I felt it went right along with the theme of the game.

Graphics wise, it's a very good looking Wii game. The blood and gore effects are awesome, with body parts flying off and blood splattering all over the place. Especially if you use the shotgun. Unfortunetly, the game will constantly take a dip in the frame rate department to try and handle all the effects and graphics on screen. The frame rate drops don't really get in the way of the game, but it does happen enough to make things a wii bit annoying. In my time playing with the game, the frame rate only interfered with the gameplay, where the game would freeze up for a second and then I got hit by an enemy because of it, only once or twice.

The storyline is interesting and makes things really fun. You have Agent G and Isaac Washington hunting down a guy named Papa Ceaser who has somehow unleashed these "mutants" (they wont call them zombies for some reason). Agent G is trying to stop the mutant outbreak, while Isaac is looking for revenge because Papa Ceaser killed his father. They end up hooking up with a stripper (sorry, she never takes her clothes off but does provide plenty of cleavage for the cutscenes) named Varla Guns, whose also looking for revenge of the death of her brother.

I liked how the game's regular story mode doesn't really punish you all that bad for dying in game: if you die, you get to select to continue or not, and if you do, it just hacks your score in half. Which basically means that when playing the normal story mode, you'll be able to blast your way through every level and just have an all around good time shooting mutants, if that's all you want to do. So in that regard, I think the game can appeal to a more casual crowd.

But the game can also appeal to the hardcore crowd too, because once you beat the story mode, you unlock the Director's Cut mode, where it bumps up the difficulty, adds extra mutants, and you're given a limited amount of continues to use. You'll also see extra parts of the level that you didn't get to see in the regular story mode.

By beating the levels and beating your high score, you earn cash that you can spend on buying new weapons and then upgrading the weapons you do have. There's a pistol, a shotgun, an automatic shotgun, an SMG, and an assault riffle. You can upgrade the reload time, the clip size, the power of the weapon and other things like that to make the weapon more effective. Also, while playing the game, you can carry two weapons at a time, and can switch them on the fly while playing.

Basically, if you're looking for a good shooter that is defiantly geared more towards the adult crowd for the Wii, then you've come to the right place. Some people will be offended by all the F bombs, but to me, it just goes right along with the story and the type of game this is. Although the game suffers from some minor technical flaws with the frame rate drops, it's still a real blast to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CAMPY GOODNESS, February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House of the Dead: Overkill - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This is one of my favorite titles for the Wii. It is best described thusly: if Quentin Tarrantino made a zombie game. That will either make you love it or hate it. The Wiimotes actually work pretty well and make great light guns. It is fun to laugh at, but don't expect it to be a deep experience- it is just cheap campy laughs. If you liked Typing of the Dead or House of the Dead, this game is for you.

Fortunately it has some replay value, as once you finish the game it unlocks a "Director's Cut" so you will have a few new things to experience the second time through, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for blowing off steam, October 28, 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of the Dead: Overkill - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I stink at regular video games. The last game I beat before this one was the original Metroid I think. Give me more than a directional pad and 2 buttons and I'm lost. But, in this game all you do is aim the controller, pull the trigger, and hit the "A" button to reload. Easy! I beat it (with many "redo" lives) in a few hours. But, it was a lot of fun and I intend to go back and try to beat it with fewer lives, better guns, killing less civilians (whoops!), etc.

It's exactly what I was looking for -killing zombies to get rid of some frustration and walk away feeling like a hero rather than a dork who can't figure out a controller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pass Please, July 11, 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House of the Dead: Overkill - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
We knew going into this game that is was rated M, that there would be tons of "swear words" and that it would be iffy as to its content and possibly borderline obnoxious in that respect. My issues with it aren't exactly related to that, but more to the flow of the game.

It does have some basic similarities to the other House of the Dead games, but besides having zombies (which the actor calls mutants the whole time)and being a rail shooter, that's about it.

Good things about it:
Graphics
Save feature

Bad things about it:
Everything else

There is no real plot to this game. Granted, I don't expect one and normally I fast forward on past them in the other HOTD games. But there's no option here to do that. The "chapters" aren't chapters in here and while I thought they would play out like scenes in a movie, they are really more like weird previews for what seems to be several movies that they end up connecting in some half hearted way.

OK, fine, we're here to just shoot, right?

Not exactly, there's a lot of talking, interuptions, and menu selections that even make it hard to enjoy as a "hack and slash" game. Just when you get to some good killing, there's a long dialog that makes you want to tear your hair out. Additionally, most scenes are too dark and at times its hard to see what's coming at you so we ended up just shooting blindly and waiting for it to make purchase. After 3 chapters, we turned it off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

House of the Dead: Overkill - Nintendo Wii
House of the Dead: Overkill - Nintendo Wii by Sega Of America, Inc. (Nintendo Wii)
$19.99 $18.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.