Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet horror done just right!
I'm a horror novelist as well as a huge fan of horror movies but at times I get a little tired of the low budget splatter fests and torture porn films that are so common these days. When I sat down to watch HOUSE HUNTING I honestly didn't know what to expect but was soon pleasantly surprised. For me, this is low budget horror done right. It's has a great plot, excellent...
Published 17 months ago by Gordon Rollo

versus
25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Gem
I rent a fair amount of low budget suspense/thriller/horror type movies from Redbox or am scrounging around on Netflix looking for these type of films. Often, I discover movies that are so terrible that I rarely make it through the first thirty minutes to an hour before I turn them off. So, it is always a pleasant surprise to find a film that I will watch all the way...
Published 18 months ago by Ti


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Gem, March 24, 2013
This review is from: House Hunting (DVD)
I rent a fair amount of low budget suspense/thriller/horror type movies from Redbox or am scrounging around on Netflix looking for these type of films. Often, I discover movies that are so terrible that I rarely make it through the first thirty minutes to an hour before I turn them off. So, it is always a pleasant surprise to find a film that I will watch all the way through and it is even a bigger surprise when I enjoy the film after completing it. So, I will place my rating within that context. This movie was an absolute hidden diamond on Netflix. A fair amount of the film had a House of Leaves feel in that there is a house where all sorts of strange things happen and the visitors cannot leave. In a nutshell, this film is about two families viewing a home for sale and become trapped in the home by some strange supernatural means. What occurs throughout the rest of the film is the interactions between the characters and their attempt to escape the house and strange things within. For a low budget independent film, the story is interesting albeit strange, the tension is engaging, the acting is fairly good and the story moves fairly well along. If you like strange, suspenseful movies, give this movie a try. I do not write reviews very often but I felt compelled to write a review for this because I am always looking for hidden gems on Netflix or Redbox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet horror done just right!, April 24, 2013
This review is from: House Hunting (DVD)
I'm a horror novelist as well as a huge fan of horror movies but at times I get a little tired of the low budget splatter fests and torture porn films that are so common these days. When I sat down to watch HOUSE HUNTING I honestly didn't know what to expect but was soon pleasantly surprised. For me, this is low budget horror done right. It's has a great plot, excellent acting, wonderful drawn out suspense, and it's creepy as hell to boot. I kept waiting for it to let me down but I enjoyed this movie all the way through. In fact, it gets stronger as it goes on and I absolutely loved the ending. House hunting isn't perfect of course, but if you are searching for something a little different, and prefer quiet horror to bucket loads of blood, I think you'll really enjoy this film. Highly recommended.

Gord Rollo
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ALL ROADS LEAD TO HOME, May 15, 2013
This review is from: House Hunting (DVD)
Two families go look at a house. Charlie (Marc Singer) a banker, is there with his new wife Susan (Hayley DuMond) and teen daughter Emmy (Janey Gioiosa). Emmy of course, doesn't get along with her step mom. The second family is a bit more down to earth. Don (Art LaFleur) and Leslie (Victoria Vance) have a son Jason (Paul McGill) about Emmy's age. He has one leg in a brace, but his other two legs are working fine.

As you can tell by the trailer or write up, the home doesn't let them go. As it turns out they all have their dirty little secrets which come back to haunt them. The film develops slowly as you are unsure what is happening. Are they already dead? Is this a descent into madness (aka "Yellow Brick Road") or just a simple haunting? Or combination?

The problem is that they put too much into the film that when it came time to bring it home, sort of speak, that boredom started setting it. They needed to make the important end scenes as mysterious as the rest of the film. Some of the internal conflict seemed overdone. I understand it was because of the various secrets people had, in order to make the film work cleverly...and it did. But the actors couldn't do it, they were boring.

Worth a rental, considering what is at Redbox.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity. Attempted rape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All sorts of weird surround this pleasantly surprising surreal-horror cabin movie., April 13, 2013
This review is from: House Hunting (DVD)
Charlie (Marc Singer; The Beastmaster, Beastmaster 2), Don (Art LaFleur; The Rig, Hostage) and their families (wives and two teenagers) both happen to be house hunting when their paths cross as they come upon a lonely house in the woods. Both men find the lonely house in the pristine land appealing, but the mood immediately changes when they stumble across a strange, battered, terrified young lady (Rebekah Kennedy; Season of the Witch, Creature) with her tongue cut out running in the woods from something. In an attempt to drive her to a hospital they find that the road continues to somehow return them to the house. Again and again they drive away from the house only to be returned by some supernatural force.

Forced to stay in the house overnight, their sanity is tested and they begin to lose patience with one another. There is no electricity, it's cold, and they find seven cans of "stew" in a cupboard--and there's seven of them. Weird yet? It gets weirder. They see a strange man walking his dog who somehow disappears in front of them before they could ask him about the house and the next morning the cupboard has been somehow restocked with seven cans of stew. Don's son Jason insists that the strange tongueless girl knows what's going on or, worse, that she is behind it somehow.

Days go by, stew is restocked, and attempts to leave on foot continue to return them to the house. Another oddity is Jason, who taunts and comes on to Charlie's daughter and is clearly attracted to her stepmother as well. Yet more weird, they start seeing other people that simply "aren't there." This begins to steer character psychology and interactions.

As they do what they can to keep their limited sanity, passing time in the house, they learn that some of them are connected to the previous owners. But as the days wear on, the number of stew cans restocked in the cupboard drops to six and things continue to get weirder.

This film never seems to go anywhere, yet it has no problem maintaining my interest. This is one of those weird movies that keeps you guessing while giving you nothing. There's not a lot of blood, but there's a lot to keep our attention.

Give this film a shot. I was pleasantly surprised by this little gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chilling, November 9, 2013
This review is from: House Hunting (DVD)
Barring any plot jim jams one may object to in this genuinely scary film, the experience of viewing it and getting to know the characters reminded me very much of Brad Anderson's Session 9.

Two families are brought to the same 78 acre cabin in the woods by a "realtor" (who reminded me of a young Brad Dourif) making a financial promise he obviously cannot keep. Both families assenting to this illusion is what unfurls the ribbon of madness inherent in both families--Marc Singer ("Beastmaster") representing the madness best of all when his character takes an abrupt turn you may not see coming. Ugly truths are revealed about the human psyche and the deep lies we often tell each other to keep our families together are ripped to bloody, word salad tatters. This is an overlooked phenomenon which needs more attention. That said, the director would have a masterpiece on his hands if he had elaborated on the mute girl and her "diary" a little bit more. Recommended for fans of the macabre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie!!, June 13, 2013
This review is from: House Hunting (DVD)
I love movies that don't waste their time getting to the main story line. Great all around and as a horror movie fanatic and son of a horror movie producer I give it 2 thumbs up and highly reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars SquareFeetMaster, August 1, 2014
This review is from: House Hunting (DVD)
House Hunting (Eric Hurt, 2013)

It's the very end of March, and I am finally getting round to seeing the first movie to cross in front of my eyes that was actually released in 2013. And I have to admit, since the big draw in the promo materials seemed to be the presence of Marc “Beastmaster” Singer, I can't say I was expecting a lot. But the movie, which shares a number of aspects with a bunch of other flicks I've seen over the past decade or so and handles them with, if not originality, at least freshness and enthusiasm, was a good deal more fun than I expected it to be.

...and here it is in early December and I am finally getting around to finishing this review. (Which you probably won't see until well into 2014. I'm a little behind.) Which says nothing at all about the quality of the movie; it's basement-budget, and you've certainly seen it before (personally, I most recently saw a lot of these plot twists in the underrated YellowBrickRoad), but it's got a low-rent cleverness and a general air of affability about it that I found engaging. The basic idea: two families, both in the market for a new place, find themselves coming to the same house at the same time for a self-guided tour (with those silly tape-recorded audio portions you find in low-rent museums and such). There's the Hays family, headed up by dad Charlie (Singer), and the Thomsons, headed up by dad Don (Cobra's Art LaFleur). Once they enter the house, the discover that every time they try to leave the property, they wind up back at the house, the playthings of the spectre of the house's former owner. And the price he lays upon them for leaving is a high one indeed.

There is, of course, a method to the madness, and the families have to try and figure out why they're stuck here before the house offs them all (or they get around to killing one another as tensions flare; both fathers, especially, come to believe that they're innocent victims, while the other family is to blame for getting them involved in this mess), so there's some semblance of a plot, and the characters, while not anything approaching three-dimensional, are at least well-drawn enough that the viewer doesn't feel stupid investing a touch of emotion into caring at least a little what happens to some of the trapped folks. It's not a bad little movie, well-paced, fun, and not nearly as stupid as it could, and probably should, have been; you're not going to come out of this thinking it's a classic, but you probably won't feel like you've wasted your time, either. ** ˝
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Karma's a bitch!, August 31, 2014
By 
A psychological thriller to keep you interested & guessing through the end. I'm afraid of writing too much as I don't want to ruin the experience for the next viewer....but take a risk on this one. The slightly slow pace contributes to the overall effect. Don't expect your typical jumps or cheap scares. This movie has a long fuse...but it's worth the final burn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs down, April 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House Hunting (DVD)
I thoughtful movie was absolutely ridiculous. I read the reviews and it sounded interesting. The actors were terrible. Im a big Exorcism, conjuring fan this movie was a waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is calledmind boggling movie!!, April 7, 2014
This review is from: House Hunting (DVD)
People who have watched Cristopher Smith`s Triangle and wished to see movies like these have an answer finally..

Its here !! This will make you think, what if You get stuck in a place that repeat itself and the only way out is to walk backwards..????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

House Hunting
House Hunting by Eric Hurt (DVD - 2013)
$29.99 $11.04
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.