Customer Reviews


275 Reviews
5 star:
 (214)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 6 - House Still Going Strong
**possible spoilers**
Season 5 of the series House ended memorably with a well-edited contrast: family and friends at warm wedding vs. Wilson watching the broken doctor as he checked himself into a hospital on a cold and gray day. Season 6 starts off with House (Hugh Laurie) in treatment for his vicodin addiction, an addiction which had fueled a series of...
Published on June 12, 2010 by TessClare

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Politically Correct Writing Causes Season 6 to Stall
I am a big fan of House, MD; but season 6 failed in some of my expectations. I liked the twist on "One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest", but the gay/bi-sexual centric episodes seem to remind me of the beginning of the end for "The Sopranos" series; everyone's sex life was not that interesting as the writers seem to think.

The show is both educational and...
Published on October 25, 2012 by H. Guentert


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 6 - House Still Going Strong, June 12, 2010
By 
TessClare (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: House, M.D.: Season 6 (DVD)
**possible spoilers**
Season 5 of the series House ended memorably with a well-edited contrast: family and friends at warm wedding vs. Wilson watching the broken doctor as he checked himself into a hospital on a cold and gray day. Season 6 starts off with House (Hugh Laurie) in treatment for his vicodin addiction, an addiction which had fueled a series of devastating (yet revealing) hallucinations. Viewers know how House treats "normal" people (that is to say, not with warm and fuzzy feelings) and in the beginning of Season 6 they are treated to House interacting with "abnormal" people. House, ever the equal opportunity offender, does not seem too changed by his stint in Mayfield hospital. Andre Braugher (of "Homicide") was well cast as House's experienced, nothing-shocks-him therapist, able to go head-to-head with House, and there is a guest role by Franka Potente ("Run Lola Run") as a beautiful visitor to the hospital with whom House has a brief relationship.

The writers are able to take House out of his comfort zone, surround him with multi-dimensional characters, and still have House stand out. Don't expect any blatant epiphanies in therapy for House about why he is the way he is. Is it the pain, is it the drugs, his relationship with is father, is it the curse of being a genius? There are no resolutions to go back into the "real world," settle down and live happily ever after. Thank goodness!

The epiphanies are of course saved for the hospital, when House returns to work. He gradually becomes more confident in his ability to solve cases. Even after five previous seasons, the writers are able to come up with all new cases and all new characters for House to read right through.

That being said, Season 6 delves more of the personal lives of the characters than prior seasons: Cuddy (Lisa Edelstein) as she balances being a mom, with a love life, and with the demands of her job; Cuddy and House; Taub (Peter Jacobson) and his wife, Thirteen (Olivia Wilde) and Foreman (Omar Epps), Wilson (Robert Sean Leonard) and House (some of the best dialogue from the show still occurs between those two), Wilson and his ex-wife. Of particular note, Dr. Chase (played by Jesse Spencer) finally gets some great story lines dealing with secrets, morality and ethics (which the show has always been great at raising discussions about). By Season 6, Robert Chase is no longer the doctor who always tries to stay on House's good side, or agree with House, or play it safe. In past seasons, it was Foreman who had to gain independence from House. In Season 6, Cuddy struggles with it, Taub struggles with it, Wilson starts to and Dr. Chase definitely does, but with severe professional and personal consequences. Of course, there was also the strawberry body butter incident(season 5). Gotta love the variety in the show!

In past seasons, there has been at least one reference (that I can recall) to a patient who died while under House's care. In Season 6, viewers witness other patients not making it. When it happens to House or his team, there will be and were huge ramifications.

Overall, another great season for House. Even after five seasons, Hugh Laurie is able to make House a multi-dimensional character, capable of stinging one-liners but also of conveying internal trauma. How he could not have won every Emmy and golden globe since House was on the air is beyond me. Don't award committees love drug addicts, people pulling off accents, and people in mental institutions? It's the trifecta!

Regarding the famed House/Cuddy relationship, I was probably in the minority by not being too keen on the idea, I thought it might get too "Grey's Anatomy" if you'll pardon the other medical show reference. However, the writers managed (who knows how) to put an original spin on their relationship, it is certainly kept far from the soap opera-ish realm of workplace romances, probably because the characters involved both have complex motivations. It will be interesting to see if House and Cuddy can make it, and in any case, it at least won't be a television cliché.

House fans have come to expect changes in House's team each season finale and true to form, Season 6 does not deviate as one cast member seems to be departing.

Bravo once again! Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smartest Show on TV, May 20, 2010
By 
Sherry Porubcansky (Cedarburg, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House, M.D.: Season 6 (DVD)
Anyone who cares about great writing - hopefully, we've all gotten over the loss of Aaron Sorkin for The West Wing - well, okay, nobody's reached his level - but I continue to be fascinated by this character. Thanks to the writers for delivering intricate character pieces within the "okay, first scene, somebody's going to contract a mysterious illness right NOW' basic setup - this show could so easily have sunk to one-trick pony oblivion but for the writing and the amazing acting from Hugh Laurie. If you've ever seen him on a talk show and been surprised at his all-too-humble personality, you're not alone. He transforms himself into this tortured, brilliant, loving and lovable character. He's acerbic. Brilliant. Sarcastic. Brutally truthful. Hilarious (but you never laugh at this character, only with him). And yes, tortured - by the pain in his leg and, of course, his heart. As I look over the episodes from this season, I'm thinking of one more reason to give it my highest recommendation: if you or anyone you know ever goes into therapy, watch this season. I've never seen such a terrific depiction of what therapy is at its best. Ever. And I've had many therapists, two of whom had the ability to make me see my world from a different angle, with different eyes. That's a pitifully inadequate description, so buy this season of House and measure any therapy against what you see in this television show. It really is superlative TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Episode-House Center Stage All The Time (the key), May 18, 2010
Once again we have a 5 star episode because Hugh Laurie is the focus of the show from the opening seconds to the closing. The other characters swirl around him, SUPPORTING him. That is the strength of this show and any deviations into making another character the central one immediately bring the star rating down. How relieved I was not to listen to Taub's love life or the unfolding of the Wison-Sam romance or the end of the Australian doc's marriage from the do-gooder doc--I am so glad she is gone.

House has to save a woman pinned under wreckage at an emergency medical scene. At first he gauges his treatment around what runs counter to Cuddy's recs because she has just told him that she is engaged to Lucas. Then his true talent as a life saver takes over as he admits his failure to connect with others and gets down to doing what needs to be done at the scene. This is a very poignant episode about the terrible choices one can face as a doctor at an emergency medical scene. By episode's end, you are so drained that you think the other emergency workers are lucky because they don't have to make the life and death decisions. House's ride in the ambulance with his patient is an absolute must-see. It shows just how excellent an actor Hugh Laurie is. Just watch his face as certain implications register with him. There is much more going on but watch the episode to see it. I'd say the opening and closing episodes of House were the very strongest ones this season and it is in large part because they focused on the main character and used everyone else as support.

For those who have not seen the fullness of Hugh Laurie's talent, I highly recommend you watch his portrayal of Bertie Wooster in JEEVES & WOOSTER, available everywhere in 4 DVD sets of 4 seasons of the show. Then watch him in A LITTLE BIT OF FRY & LAURIE which runs for several seasons as well, all on DVD. He is very opposite from House on these but he is every bit as excellent. I sure would like his comedy partner Stephen Fry to appear as a patient on House. You will too if you watch these shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have always loved House the character, and I have, it is better than ever, November 9, 2009
This review is from: House, M.D.: Season 6 (DVD)
If you are interested in watching a character develop other than Hugh Laurie as House, stop right now. The round robin of supporting doctors continues and the only ones for sure who remain constants on the series are Wilson, Cuddy and Forman. These are the only characters you can count on seeing week in and week out. They are all dwarfed by House as the lead too. These other three do pretty well with him but still, if Hugh Laurie suddenly quit, I very much doubt you'd have a show called Forman or Wilson or Cuddy. The show would be DOA.

So realizing that House is more than ever the whole show, how is it? If you have always loved House the character, and I have, it is better than ever, because House is better than ever as a character. Hugh Laurie gives it his all in every single episode. Perhaps the opening two episodes are the strongest he's ever done where he is in a mental hospital, first detoxing and then dealing with his breaks from reality leading to his complete mental breakdown. Laurie covers House's stint as a mental patient in true virtuoso form. Then he has to pick up practicing medicine again back at the hospital so we start in with new episodes with his new patients. These remain the same strong dramas as before. He has dramas with his doctors too, all different ones with Wilson, Cuddy and Forman being the only constants. If you want to see any other particular doctor, it is simply the luck of the draw on which episode you play to get that character.

Visit my blog with link given on my profile page here or use this phonetically given URL (livingasseniors dot blogspot dot com). Friday's entry will always be weekend entertainment recs from my 5 star Amazon reviews in film, tv, books and music. These are very heavy on buried treasures and hidden gems. My blogspot is published on Monday, Wednesday & Friday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Warming Episode, December 27, 2009
Season 6 saw a radical change in the way House operates both as a Doctor and a person. Since his release from the psychiatric hospital we have seen him wrestle with the demons of his past and try to change himself for the greater good. From the wide perspective House is generally the same guy he was prior to going into the hospital. He's still a self centred, egotistical genius; but in this episode and in some prior to it, we saw what was ultimately the new and open House. He is willing to admit when he's wrong and accept the consequences of it, he also expresses his honest appreciation for his long time best friend, Wilson.

This particular episode is very unique and is one that the show likes to do from time to time and that is present an episode from very unique perspectives. We saw the show present the perspective of a person "locked in" his own body and having to rely on House to get out the messages his patient strongly wants to be heard. This takes a different spin on that. It's as if, for this one episode, the show was named "Wilson" and in retrospect I suppose that was where they were going in naming the episode after House's best friend.

We get to see a day in the life of Dr. James Wilson as he struggles with the fact that one of his former patients who had previously been cleared of cancer see's the disease return. It examines just how Wilson deals with his patients, and although we have come to be familiar with the fact that Wilson appears to be a bit of a pushover, this episode gives us a clearer look at just why Wilson is the way he is. This former patient has remained a friend of Wilson's and the return of cancer has left him with a bit of a dilemma about where his real priorities lie as a doctor and a friend.

On the flipside, Cuddy is looking to move in with Lucas and wants Wilson to help her find a place. This is yet another superb test of the House/Wilson friendship and one which took the friendship to the next level. Prior to this episode I sort of had the perspective that if the opportunity were to ever present itself, Wilson would decide in favour of Cuddy over House. Not necessarily because they have a closer friendship, but because Wilson appeared to have a greater admiration and appreciation of Cuddy and the way she behaves as a friend and a boss.

Not much is seen of House in this episode nor are we treated to a particularly unique diagnosis problem. It is purely a Wilson episode and a show like this needs episodes like this to give us a bit of a break from the norm. A superb episode and one which helped start the season break on a high which left me wanting more. There is a problem though, and that is that I can imagine for the friendship and for House himself it's all downhill from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Politically Correct Writing Causes Season 6 to Stall, October 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House, M.D.: Season 6 (DVD)
I am a big fan of House, MD; but season 6 failed in some of my expectations. I liked the twist on "One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest", but the gay/bi-sexual centric episodes seem to remind me of the beginning of the end for "The Sopranos" series; everyone's sex life was not that interesting as the writers seem to think.

The show is both educational and entertaining, but began to have a "Perry Mason" quality this season. With "Perry Mason", the primary criminal is always magically overcome and confesses to everything about 2-3 minutes from the shows ending. With House, the patient seems to have a seizure, stroke, heart attack, and/or bleeding out before House finally realizes they are treating the wrong thing and magically pulls out an obsure diagnoses that saves the day, can't be cured or is too late.

Also, I can accept House as an borderline insane, heroic, law breaking, but searching atheist, supported by a secular cast of characters with similar arrogant outlooks of being their own gods. I become uninterested in House when he looses his partially open mind to spiritual questions, his slowly growing recognition of humanity as sacred, and begins to ignore that comprehending the devinely complex design of the human body is what motivates him, or he starts to form some oddball concept of God or religion.

I also did not like the time gaps in relationship changes with characters, and no explanation of what happened until much later. I still think of House's team as a family, it seemed disjointed this season. I did like the P.I. Lucas, and Alvy characters in moderation.

My hope is that the writing will pull out of this stall in Season 7, with less political correctness and a return of logical medical puzzles without as much "magic" in the diagnosis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starts GREAT -- Might Disappoint at the End, October 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House, M.D.: Season 6 (DVD)
As a House fan, I was anxious to receive the latest in the House DVD series. Season 6 starts with the powerful 2-hour episode in which House has committed himself to a psychiatric hospital. This episode is one of the best pieces I have ever seen on television. Powerful performances by Lin-Manuel Miranda (creator of the Broadway hit "In The Heights"), Andre Braugher ("Men of a Certain Age"), and the rest of the phenomenal cast, are haunting and true to life. This is the only episode where the regular House cast members are not present, except for a brief scene where Robert Sean Leonard appears.

In this episode, Hugh Laurie's acting range is displayed from the typical House behavior, to an almost breathtaking passion, to the inner torment of the character. And, for the first time, the glimmer of hope. He meets his match in Dr. Nolan (Braugher).

The rest of the season shows how House uses, and eventually distorts, the insights he gains from his admission to the hospital. The season, to me, becomes more bogged down with relationships than medical drama. Of course it ends with the ambiguous "will they or won't they?" in the relationship between House and Cuddy.

This DVD also hypes "A New Short Featuring Hugh Laurie." SPOILER ALERT: I was disappointed to see that it is a wordless improv of Laurie as House when he first enters the hospital. In and of itself, the piece is good, again showcasing Laurie's talents, but is not anything "New" outside of the House context. It was shot at the end of Season 5, and was intended to give the writers some insight as to how to approach Season 6.

On Disc One, however, is a marvelous behind the scenes documentary on the making of the first episode. I truly enjoyed this bonus feature.

Still, for any fan of House, MD, this DVD will add to your video library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The series founds its's balance on the highest level, September 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House, M.D.: Season 6 (DVD)
The medical always stood in the middle of the acting.
Cases got more and more complicated and House, the unique genius finally solve the puzzle.
This was so good, that a real doctor from a university is using the House cases to teach students in diagnostic medicine.
He said, that even he as an experienced doctor need to look up some details in medicine library.
All is accurate. Only a little dramatic is added in finding the solution.
So much about the quality of medicine of the series.

This is not changing in the actual 6. season.
It is getting more believable, because not all patients could be saved.
But this fits in perfectly. It is not something like "OK, this must happen one time."
Compliments to the authors.
The medicine could not be raised to a new level. It was always on the highest level.
But the personalities and interaction could still be developed. And this room was used perfectly.
House started in the mental clinic, getting rid of his illusions and addiction.
Another play of House? No. He found a smart counterpart in the head of this clinic, actually convincing him to go through it, facing his problems.
Brilliant acting and interesting interaction.
Back on work the new personal interaction take shape.
House is living together with Wilson and you see a real friendship. But House is not selling his soul. He is only using his abilities in a creative, not destructive way. Really fun to watch.
The medicine cases getting deeper, focussing also on the human behind.
A highlight is an african dictator, played perfectly by James Earl Jones, putting Chase is a serious personal dilemma.
He know he should treat someone who is guilty of genocide.
Every character is gaining. You get to know them better, watch them growing personally. Not a minute boring.
The "competition" is won by House. But in a photo finish from my point of view.
Until at the final episode House make the biggest jump. Best episode I ever saw. No telling: Watch it!

Every episode has something: Drama, fun, interesting background, interesting medicine cases. I just start over and watching them all again!

Best season? Easily said, but only true if you know the other seasons too.
Clear recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, December 31, 2009
There are very few TV shows that have the type of impact on my mind that this particular episode has managed. It was truly the remarkable element of a clash of conscience as House's team is forced to diagnose an African dictator. For this particular episode the old team of Cameron, Chase and Foreman are back together, yet the team does not last long as this is the lighting of the destructive fuse. Guest starring one of my favourite actors, James Earl Jones, this sees Cameron and Chase struggling with their consciences as they consider the fact that if they save this tyrants life then he will go to his home country to commit mass genocide. The choice made and the person who made the choice will actually become quite a shock, but I promise this will be an episode enjoyed by many.

As this is one of the first episodes that House is truly free from the psychiatric hospital and has become involved once again with diagnostics. The team have returned as a means of filling the void left by House and Foreman is the guy in charge. Now House is back, Foremans power is threatened and he's not pleased. House uses this to his advantage and starts to play games with Foreman by mocking him while he's trying to do his job. This is a good glimpse of the same old House whilst still being able to appreciate that the man is trying to change his ways and make amends to those he has wronged. JEJ as a tyrannical dictator was a superb addition to the episode and it certainly brought up a lot of moral questions that I'm sure real doctors must face from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars House MD, still a great show, now looking awesome in HD!, September 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First a few updates on the product description... it is not 1 disc they are 5 running for over 14 hours (I saw a review complaining about this being 1 disc running 98 minutes).
Now, I believe there is no need to remind that house is probably the best show on TV. I own seasons 1-6 and all of them are great. House is the kind of person you "hate to love", but cant help it. His sarcasm and genius are just great. But if there are any doubts, just research about the many nominations, and awards Hugh Laurie and the rest of the team has earned for the show.
About the Blu-ray them selves. They look AWESOME.I own Lie to me* season 1 on blu-ray, there was not much difference between it and my House DVDs (upscaled by my PS3). But House season 6 looks just great. It truly allows you to experience HD as the episodes are in 1080P. Besides the great looks, they include some really cool extras... Ever wondered about all those I-have-never-heard-before-diseases that are mentioned throughout the series? Well wonder no more (lol). One of the bonus features of the BD is that episodes have a PIP feature that explains the diseases mentioned, as they are being presented on the show.
To make it short the show gets a 100. The package gets a 98. (I will not hide the fact that getting discs 1-4 out of the box is not what we are used to with other DVD an Blu-ray packages, so kind of complicated).
Must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

House, M.D.: Season 6
House, M.D.: Season 6 by Hugh Laurie (DVD - 2010)
$39.98 $22.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.