Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (129)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprising and engrossing vampyre series
This is an engaging and very entertaining vampyre series that older teens will devour!

Marked

When Zoey is Marked, all hopes of fitting in at her suburban high school seem to suddenly vanish. She already feels like a stranger in her own family, and when her religious step-father finds out that Zoey has been Marked to undergo training to become a...
Published on October 27, 2009 by The Compulsive Reader

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good reads, but not the best vampire series out there...
After reading the Twilight series, it left me wanting more Vampire series books. :) I tried the Sookie Stackhouse series, which I LOVE and highly recommend, and then Vampire Academy, which is another wonderful series. But House of Night just didn't do it for me. It IS a "good" read, but just didn't live up to the intrigue and excitement that other vampire series...
Published on June 8, 2010 by Buch Liebende Mutter


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprising and engrossing vampyre series, October 27, 2009
By 
This review is from: House of Night, Books 1-4 (Marked / Betrayed / Chosen / Untamed) (Paperback)
This is an engaging and very entertaining vampyre series that older teens will devour!

Marked

When Zoey is Marked, all hopes of fitting in at her suburban high school seem to suddenly vanish. She already feels like a stranger in her own family, and when her religious step-father finds out that Zoey has been Marked to undergo training to become a vampyre, he is convinced that she is evil, and together, he and her mother refuse to accept that Zoey has only two options...learn how to become a vampyre, or die.

Fitting in at her new school, The House of Night, is nearly impossible as well, for the goddess of the night, Nyx, has bestowed special powers upon Zoey, making her the most powerful fledgling in history, and earning her many enemies. But Zoey is not alone. With the help of some newfound friends, her spiritual Cherokee grandmother, and her mentor, she will learn to embrace her talents and take the first step to righting the many sinister happenings at The House of Night.

Marked is riveting and fast paced right from the very start. Zoey's biting wit and easygoing, honest demeanor make Marked an easy read to get sucked in to (no pun intended). While the exposition of the story may seem a bit too hasty, the Casts make up for it in suspense and remarkable character development, in not just Zoey, but every person, friend or foe. The tone of the novel is pitched perfectly, and it includes references to drug, alcohol, and sex without being graphic, but entirely realistic and plausible. The Casts certainly know how to speak teens' language, bringing us a thrilling novel that will make the heart pound, the mind race, and will ultimately capture the imagination.

Betrayed

Even after her first month as a fledgling at The House of Night, Zoey Redbird's life still is as fast paced and hectic as ever. As the new leader of the Dark Daughters, she's responsible for turning it into a respectable and admirable club. Also, she seems to find herself with two boyfriends...with another guy sending her some mixed signals. On top of all of that, Zoey has been seeing some dark and mysterious creatures on the east wall. She wonders if it's all a trick of the mind, until human teenagers start disappearing...and winding up dead. Zoey will have to start facing the facts, especially after a shocking death in their midst reveals that what she has seen is no figment of her imagination...and what's truly horrifying is the identity of the person behind it all.

Betrayed picks up on all the suspense and thrill right where Marked left off. Full of twists and turns that flow fluidly and a continuation of excellent character development, Betrayed reveals more sinister plots and dastardly deeds that will leave readers reeling. The many normal teenager issues and feelings are melded with the supernatural happenings to create an adventurous and believable story. Though the world in which Zoey lives is unfamiliar, the Casts make the reader right at home with their smooth and inimitable writing style.

Chosen

Everything has changed for Zoey at the House of Night. Her best friend has turned into the stereotypical vampire, and is quickly losing her grasp on her humanity. Her mentor has now become her enemy, and Zoey might be forced to make her worst enemy her ally. Zoey has now acquired three boyfriends, and can't seem to get rid of any of them.

And then the People of Faith decide to strike out against the vampyres in an unprecedented attack against te House of Night, leaving some of their own truly dead. Zoey and her friends will have to struggle to stay together during a time when no one is as they appear, and trust is hard to come by. Zoey especially will get a taste of the responsibility and heartbreak that being a priestess entails.

The third book in the House of Night series is as exciting and heartpounding as the first. If it hasn't been evident before, it is now crystal clear that the Casts have planned out every detail of the House of Night series impeccably, making for a smooth, irresistable story that leaps out of the pages at you. Chosen is a bit darker than its prequels as certain secrets come to light and new mysteries surface, but not without the same wit and great action. Zoey continues to mature and grow as a person, making this just as much as a down to earth coming of age novel as an engrossing supernatural thriller. The Casts leave the reader with an ending that will make them groan in anticipation for the fourth novel.

Untamed

This book is pivotal: full of twists and turns you won't see coming and surprising, explosive ending that will have you scrambling for HUNTED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good reads, but not the best vampire series out there..., June 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House of Night, Books 1-4 (Marked / Betrayed / Chosen / Untamed) (Paperback)
After reading the Twilight series, it left me wanting more Vampire series books. :) I tried the Sookie Stackhouse series, which I LOVE and highly recommend, and then Vampire Academy, which is another wonderful series. But House of Night just didn't do it for me. It IS a "good" read, but just didn't live up to the intrigue and excitement that other vampire series have.

The main annoyance I had with this series was how Zoey has been with so many boys that I lost track of who she's actually with. She and her friends refer to other girls (Aphrodite, namely) as a "ho", and yet Zoey's with at least 4 men in the series! Albeit only one sexually (briefly), but it just pulls away from any solid plot in the book with her running from one man to the next. Then Zoey's character ultimately dumps one of her boyfriends (the same one that caught her in the act w/another man) because he's too jealous of other guys. Umm, ya think? I just didn't get that contradiction in the story, or why Zoey has to run in the arms of so many men!

In short, enjoyable read, but in my opinion (not speaking for everyone), these are not up to par with other vampire series books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guilty pleasure!, June 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House of Night, Books 1-4 (Marked / Betrayed / Chosen / Untamed) (Paperback)
I'm an adult male, which puts me way outside the target demographic audience of teenage females. But I got hooked on book one of the House of Night books and now enjoy the series. They put a very different spin on the standard vampire yarn, sort of a Hogwarts/Sixteen Candles thing with many creative and occasional grim twists. The trials and tribulations of our young "vampire" are well-written and a darn fun read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Books from this publisher arrive damaged., January 20, 2011
By 
MAL (So Cal, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House of Night, Books 1-4 (Marked / Betrayed / Chosen / Untamed) (Paperback)
I purchased these books as a gift for someone who enjoys fantasy and likes vampire series. She said she enjoyed the books and they were a fun read.

My gripe about this box set is that it arrived severely damaged but the damage does not appear to be the result of poor packaging. The box set was crushed and every corner was bashed in. I initially assumed that the damage was caused during shipping but after contacting Amazon and getting a replacement set, the second set also came damaged. The second set came in a cushioned well packed box and the item was contained within a clear plastic wrapper. Inside the wrapped package I quickly noticed that the box had a puncture even though the wrapped plastic did not. I also noticed that the first set of books that arrived did not include the poster that is advertised on the box. It appears that the publisher (St. Martin's Griffin) thinks it is ok to sell boxed sets in this condition considering I ordered a couple of copies about two months apart and they both came damaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit silly..., November 30, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House of Night, Books 1-4 (Marked / Betrayed / Chosen / Untamed) (Paperback)
"Enjoyable for all ages" is definitely an overstatement. I am 100 pages into "Marked" and am debating whether to press on. Just about every other page is another painful remark from the main character about how only "slutty" girls wear that much eyeliner and how "cool" a piece of clothing is. The book is, so far, full of bad cliches about what it means to be an "offbeat" teen. Unless there is some dramatic change in the next 200 pages, I would have to give "Marked" 2 stars and attempt to give away the rest of the set to some unwitting tween.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addicting!, May 30, 2011
This review is from: House of Night, Books 1-4 (Marked / Betrayed / Chosen / Untamed) (Paperback)
I absolutly fell in love with this series! I read the first page of Marked and knew I was going to love it and they haven't let me down so far. Each chapter ends with you wanting more, I couldn't put it down! Cast has a terrific imagionation. This story is a whole NEW look on Vampires and how it might be like if the existed and everyone knew about them. Even how they are made is a completely different outlook. If you love Vampires like I do, and books like the Mortal Instraments and Twilight than you'll love this series. And, it's based on ancient pagan/wiccan beliefs and practices which are really cool and I could tell she did her homework. And, if you wait, it'll be soon new TV series! Can't wait for that to some out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure yet??, February 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House of Night, Books 1-4 (Marked / Betrayed / Chosen / Untamed) (Paperback)
I just started reading this series. Thought I might like it because I enjoyed Twilight so much. I am only just beginning the 3rd book Chosen. The first book, Marked, I did not think was that good. It was kind of boring, but I read it through anyway hoping it would get better, which it did. The second book, Betrayed, was much better than the first. I read it in a day. Now I am looking forward to the next book to see how some things turn out for the characters. So, so far, I would say it is worth checking out at the library and getting through the first book which is kind of necessary to understand the series. Then decide if you want to purchase. I should note if this is supposed to be for teens, I would not allow mine to read it at age 13. Maybe an older teen. It has quite a bit of language, including the worst of them, and some pretty surprising sexual talk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's good, but..., December 17, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House of Night, Books 1-4 (Marked / Betrayed / Chosen / Untamed) (Paperback)
This series was really hard for me to get into. I mean, REALLY HARD. I'm not a 15 year old teeny-bopper so the ridiculous slang that is thrown into every sentence threw me off a little bit. It is defiantly written in an immature way. But, the story line underneath it all is interesting enough to keep me reading. I'm now in the second book of the series and it has gotten better, even though they are constantly re-capping what has happened in the first book, which is annoying. Again, the story line is interesting and keeps me guessing, so if you're in for a true endeavor, read this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is really good., July 3, 2013
This review is from: House of Night, Books 1-4 (Marked / Betrayed / Chosen / Untamed) (Paperback)
omg i love 1-4 of the house of night and i can't wait until 5-8 get here...i love these series... not i was a really big twilight fan..but these books just take the cake...i rather have the house of night then twilight...but that is me...and to be comply honest i would say that anyone who is a vampire fan you will love these book...i didn't think anything could bet twilight but P.C Cast and her daughter did a wonderful job...i can't wait until she finally gets book 11 out...so if you are looking a for a good book to read and you want a book that will keep you glued to your sit? i recommend these series too you...thankyou Amazon for letting me get such a relly good series...thankyou so everymuch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked, October 28, 2009
By 
cstylezwayz (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: House of Night, Books 1-4 (Marked / Betrayed / Chosen / Untamed) (Paperback)
I have read all the books in this series and am waiting for the last book to arrive today. This series is by far the best vampire series I have read so far. It is an easy read but the author gets you hooked on each character of the series. If you are into vampire tales, I would highly recommend this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

House of Night, Books 1-4 (Marked / Betrayed / Chosen / Untamed)
House of Night, Books 1-4 (Marked / Betrayed / Chosen / Untamed) by P. C. Cast (Paperback - October 27, 2009)
$35.99 $25.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.