Customer Reviews


313 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (70)
2 star:
 (44)
1 star:
 (85)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CREEPY....
This movie wasn't half bad. I enjoyed it. I have pretty sound nerves but I actually jumped a couple of times. Although, I figured out the mystery to the story long before it revealed itself, I followed it to the very end. I think I would watch it again. It's not gorey and it's void of the usual sex scenes, if you like that kind of thing. It's just a creepy, twisted little...
Published on April 10, 2009 by Thressa Phillips

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Movie, Does NOT Follow The Book
I love the book House By Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker and I was hoping that since they made a movie of the book it would follow it at least somewhat. Needless to say, I was very disappointed; but I should have known because most movies don't. It is still a fairly decent film with some pretty good actors for the parts, if you haven't read the book or like to compare books...
Published on May 10, 2009 by S. Morse


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CREEPY...., April 10, 2009
This review is from: House (DVD)
This movie wasn't half bad. I enjoyed it. I have pretty sound nerves but I actually jumped a couple of times. Although, I figured out the mystery to the story long before it revealed itself, I followed it to the very end. I think I would watch it again. It's not gorey and it's void of the usual sex scenes, if you like that kind of thing. It's just a creepy, twisted little tale that reminds me a bit of some of Clive Barker's work.It's worth the watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars House Delivers The Thrills, And A Message, April 7, 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: House (DVD)
"House" begins with a tragic murder scene that still is able to give you chills, while leaving it all to your imagination. That dreary scene then cuts to Jack and Stephanie driving down a road, supposedly on their way to a marriage counseling session. After losing their daughter several years ago, Jack and Stephanie are now at a near-divorce, and when they talk, if ever, is usually only to blame the other for something random. When a car accident leaves them stranded with no transporation and no cellphone service, they make their way on foot to the ultra-creepy "Wayside Inn." Meeting another couple there, Randy and Leslie, who were in the same predicament as they were, they begin to sense something wrong.

As you can probably guess, "The Wayside Inn" contains more than meets the eye. Sooner than later, a crazy and demented killer named the Tin Man is trying to get them to kill one of the four of them, as to satisfy their "guilt." The house itself is also not as normal as it seems, confronting each person in the house with their past sins and guilts, and how it ultimately leads to life or death.

Although the book based off of this movie was written by Christian authors, don't expect anything preachy. In fact, don't expect anything close to preachy. Although you might be able to see some Christian parallels contained in the film (especially towards the end), nothing is ever blatantly obvious in the movie. Is that a good thing? Hard to say. On one hand, many Christians may be disappointd with the film's lack of clear Christian morality and the very controversial "R" rating (a PG-13 would've sufficed.) On the other hand, Christians who are hoping that this film may lead others to Christ, may worth looking into. It'd be a great choice to take your non-believer friend to, and discuss with afterwards. "House," at the least, is most certainly thought-provoking. For any one else out there who really doesn't care whether or not it's Christian... give it a whirl and see what you think of it. It sure is one heck of a ride.

The acting also stuck out to me. Looking back on last year's film, "Thr3e," also based on a Ted Dekker novel, I was shocked at the wooden acting and dialogue that the actors engaged in. Fortunately, this time around, the actors were well-cast and the dialogue not as stiff, and the budget was definetely higher than "Thr3e..." the special effects pretty good for a lower-budget film than, per say, "The Dark Knight" or "Quantam of Solace."

In conclusion, although "House" is most definetely better in book format, the movie is definetely worth seeing. As well as being a good, two-hour thrill ride, it also contains a message, no matter how subtle or vague... of light ALWAYS conquering the darkness. Amen to that. Even a non-believer has to agree with that statement. Solid acting, solid storyline (despite its occasional tendency to stray from the book's path), andsome good thrills (and chills) make this "House" one to enter.

--Anthony B.

*Find this review on my movie review website: ambreviews.webs.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Horror Film That Works, March 2, 2013
By 
Paul Hite (Ashburn, Va USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House (Amazon Instant Video)
This is a pure horror film and it's one of the best I have seen. There is no sex and no gore. Never a second of comic relief. There is some violence but not a lot. This film got a well-deserved R rating based almost solely on the non-stop terror. I can't say these things about most horror films. One of my fellow reviewrers complained about the lack of character development. While this is true, I see it as a strength, not a weakness. More character development would have diluted the continuous creepiness and the fact that the main characters were largely unknown quantities helped keep us off balance.

Some reviewers labelled House a Christian film. It heavily uses themes like good vs evil and the afterlife, but I don't see it as Christian. There was no mention of Christ, no cross or other Christian symbols. Instead I feel that religious viewers (and not just Christians) will tend to project their own beliefs into the film.

I will definately watch this again and I strongly recommend it for all fans of true horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Movie, Does NOT Follow The Book, May 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House (DVD)
I love the book House By Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker and I was hoping that since they made a movie of the book it would follow it at least somewhat. Needless to say, I was very disappointed; but I should have known because most movies don't. It is still a fairly decent film with some pretty good actors for the parts, if you haven't read the book or like to compare books with movies it's still a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Horror.......the Horror.....the Horrible Writing., February 12, 2013
This review is from: House (Amazon Instant Video)
This is supernatural horror? Wow. Where to start.

The ACTORS: Not bad acting, but absolutely no character development beyond the details of individual tragedies. Madsen was OK.

The SCRIPT: Horrible. A movie trying to be scary by throwing everything in except the kitchen sink and a mess of a story I still can't figure out. Want a haunted house? Got it. Creepy ghostly occupants. Yep. "The Hills Have Eyes" vehicle shenanigans? Oh yeah. A spooky little girl that could be the older cousin of the girl from "The Ring"? She's in there. How about a spooky boiler room ala Nightmare on Elm Street? In there. Psychological thriller? Ummm...maybe. Devil worship? <Sigh> YES. Oh yes, and Micheal Madsen playing a cop/demon/personification of evil that apparently killed God. Oh yeah, I almost forgot the TIN MAN (Candyman, Jason Vorhese, Kevin Dubrow from Quiet Riot). So how does the story tie all of these together? It doesn't, and it doesn't even try to. You never really find out about all of things. So many of these things are completely unnecessary or unrelated to the loosely designed plot. It was like it was written as the movie was being created,,,with the producer telling the writer, "MORE SCARY THINGS" (kinda like "We need more cowbell"). The writer continue to add supernatural components, but never links them or explains them.

The direction. Not bad in the beginning, but falls apart fast through the middle to the excruciating end. When the action gets going too many quick cuts to different characters and flashbacks...combined with the dark environment it became disorienting. Too many facial close-ups that hold for too long, and an unintentionally hilarious "light defeats dark" film moment.

BUDGET: Lo budget, but that does not have to mean a movie is bad. House environment was good, boiler room seemed confusingly massive, audio was ok, and if there was a score it was unmemorable. The CG was low-quality, so the director should NOT hold a long still shot on bad CG the way he does.

ADDITIONAL NOTES: Despite a very formulaic beginning, it showed promise early. The house occupants were wonderfully creepy in the beginning, and this should have played out longer...they were the creepiest part of the movie. Not the TIN Man, and certainly not Madsen.

MORAL OF THE STORY: Ripping off a ton of successful scary ideas from successful movies does not a scary movie make (especially when thrown together like this.) The writing by definition, is HACK.

GRADE: D- (My first review, so please understand on my scale an "F" is reserved for the likes of Street Fighter (the movie, RIP Raul Julia- miss ya bro).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for a Christian Film, November 24, 2012
By 
J. Smith (Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House (DVD)
Enjoyed it with my husband and kids age 13 & 15. We all thought it was a little scary but not too bad. It was not blatantly Christian. After the movie was over, my 15 year old told us what he saw as the spiritual analogies in the film. Shared the movie with my parents and they thought it was very scary. Might have to look hard for the spiritual symbolisms. I do plan to show this to our youth group since they love scary films. If you are looking for a scary Christian film that is not pathetic, I would recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Hodge Podge of Horror Cliches, July 17, 2009
By 
David Girod (Westminster, Maryland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: House (DVD)
I have to say I'm surprised at the positive reviews posted here??!! My guess is that most of these reviews are from folks who aren't fans of the horror genre in general. The reason I think this, is that most horror fans have seen the elements in "House" used in literally hundreds of previous horror films and TV shows.

If you are going into this film with expectations of another "Amityville Horror" you are going to be disappointed. "House" really isn't a haunted house movie, and though the prologue is definately a rip-off of the crimes central to the "Amityville" films, "House" isn't a typical "ghost story". Beyond "Amityville", "House" also "borrows" pretty liberally from "The Skeleton Key", "The Twilight Zone", "Venom", "American Gothic", "Friday the 13th" and "Beetlejuice". Actually, there is very little that is original in "House" at all.

If you are looking for another great Bill Moseley character along the lines of Chop Top or Otis Firefly, keep looking. Moseley appears here in what is basically an extended cameo. The rest of the cast does a decent job with what they are given, but it's the same old tired story we have seen hundreds of times before:

1.Arguing couple gets lost out in the boonies.
2.There is car trouble, and arguing couple walks to local creepy house.
3.Arguing couple meets another couple of victims..er..I mena another couple.
4.Proprieters of creepy house are weird.
5.Strange things happen that threaten both couples.
6.Secrets from the past begin to emerge and couples must face past sins.
7.Strange child may offer some hope for doomed couples.

I won't spoil the flick by getting into specifics, but rest assured, if you are a horror fan, you'll figure everything out by the half-hour mark.

Now, there are some decent visuals in the film. The titular house is creepy looking, the music sets a decent tone, and Michael Madsen plays a good over-the-top role. But it's really not enough to create interest in a script that obviously started with the words: "It was a dark and stormy night......"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HAUNTS INSIDE WORSE THAN THOSE OUT, April 6, 2009
This review is from: House (DVD)
There is a new genre of horror film growing that I recently read about in the pages of Rue Morgue Magazine. The genre is Christian horror films. Though it may sound like an unlikely combination, it is here and on the rise as well.

You could go back as far as THE OMEN of THE EXORCIST to find the beginnings of the genre, but even recently we have seen movies like THE EXORCISM OF EMILY ROSE take off and become a blockbuster film. Now we have a new movie to add to the mix, a bit more subtle in some ways and not in others.

HOUSE is based on the book of the same name by famed authors Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker. The story begins innocently enough (as they always do) with a couple on the road getting lost in the boonies. This particular couple, Jack and Stephanie Singleton (Reynaldo Rosales and Heidi Dippold), are on their way to Montgomery to visit and marriage counselor.

Along the way they are re-routed by a helpful policeman (Michael Madsen) and take a short cut only to end with two flat tires and what looks like another possible couple in the same boat. Following the road they come to the Wayside Inn where they find no help but they do find the other couple, Randy (J, P, Davis) and Leslie (Julie Ann Emery). The power goes out, they find lanterns and then they find the caretakers as well, an oddball backwoods pair who seem to have come out of the past. They inform them that on a rainy night like this no tow truck will be able to help them and that they'll have to spend the night.

Betty (Leslie Easterbrook) appears to be in charge and she's all about manners and trying to make things fine for the two couples. Pete (Lew Temple) is definitely a few fries short of a fun meal and more interested in Leslie than anything else. As dinner is about to be served, the last house member shows up. Stewart (Bill Moseley) is a roughneck with no holding for sinners.

As odd things happen (like they haven't already) Stephanie panics and heads for the front door to get out only to find someone standing in the yard, flashlight in one hand, shotgun in the other. Betty blames them from bringing "him" back...the Tin Man. The Tin Man tosses in a can with his rules. Rule 1, this is his house. Rule 2, anyone who enters his house he will kill. Rule 3, kill one person before sunrise and he'll forget rule 2.

Angered at their supposed bringing the Tin Man back. Betty and her clan set about containing the four "guests". As they attempt to lock them in the freezer, the two couples escape and head out in different directions.

While Stephanie disappears as does Leslie, Jack and Randy search for a way out. What they discover in the basement is more worrisome though, Satanic symbols on the walls, draped over images and tunnels that go every which way. And as they are separated and continue to search, they come across a ghost or two as well.

The biggest twist to the house is not the people running it. The twist is that the house knows its guests. It knows what eats at them. It knows what they did in their pasts. It knows what haunts them. And it will use this information to manipulate them all.

What we have is neither a simple ghost story nor a tale of satanic rites being enacted on innocents. There are no truly innocent members in this group. One killed a father, one an uncle and two are suffering from the accidental death of their child. What the house offers them is a chance at redemption. But in what form? Will it be delivered to them if they take the life of one or if they sacrifice their own lives willingly? Or is there another alternative?

The movie offers some creepy moments but at the same time relies too heavily on the tried and true worn down appearance of the house and beaten down look of Betty and her group. Anyone who couldn't tell this bunch was off in 5 seconds deserves what comes to them.

But it's not the actors or their roles that draw the attention. It's the story that brings about that sense of loss and search for hope in the midst of something so terrible that carries the film. No, this is not GONE WITH THE WIND. It is not the grandest horror film ever made. But it is well made and suitable for younger, though not too young, viewers with its lack of gore and blood.

If you're looking for a solid horror film with more story and blood, give this one a try. If you're looking for something with a little hope to it, try it as well. Just know that the expected doesn't always happen in films like this, Christian horror or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent adaptation of the book, better than THR3E movie, February 15, 2012
This review is from: House (DVD)
When I heard that the book was pretty creepy, I realyl didn't expect much (hadn't read any Christian horror at the time), only to enjoy the book thoroughly, which takes one particular element of stereotypical horror (couples going to haunted house in the middle of nowhere) and rewrites the formula entirely.
The movie, though not too shabby for an independent film, does a more decent job at being an enjoyable flick than does THR3E, which pretty much failed at its job. A few particular scenes that filled me with dread and apprehension were pretty much absent (except for the smoke from a cut, that I did have relief they included). Furthermore, the main villain, Tin Man, is faithfully based on who he is in the book- completely apathetic about what people think of him and acts like a cultically religious moral thermometer (even though he claims to have killed God and expects survivors to kill one of their own off... then just maybe he'll reconsider). What most people who read the book, saw the movie, and still hated it likely missed was one unique symbolism in the storyline- that the four people within this house trying to escape are four living factors of the darkness of the human heart (more thoroughly explained in the book).
And my favorite character in the book, the very mysterious girl who helps those willing to get out, is entirely faithful as she is in the book- full of gothic beauty, knowing things that are impossible for her to know, willing to face off against evil right in its face, reveal its lies, even at the cost of her life, and making sacrifices to help others. By the way, the same girl who played as Kevin Parrish's childhood friend in THR3E also plays this girl, and she does it very well.
So... the R rating? Completely uncalled for. Ted Dekker had been making notices of it throughout the progress of the film that they tried to make it, at most, PG-13, but the people were too staunch that no Christian would want to see it, so they made it a mandatory R, even though there's obviously not enough content at all in the film to justify it. No bloody guts, explicit violence, sex, almost no language (and what there is more of mild slang).
Now, for a confession, I didn't really enjoy the ending of the book, thought it was rather cheesy, so I was glad of the alternate twist ending (for the movie only) that Ted helped work out. This ending made much more sense to me.
I just wish there were more scenes from the book in this film, other than that, I really liked it. And no, it's not your typical slasher-flick of a horror movie, more of a dark supernatural suspense/thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing and hardly scary in the least, April 12, 2009
This review is from: House (DVD)
Having never read the novel by Ted Dekker and Frank Peretti, I didn't quite know what to expect from House, but the end result for me found the film ending up being a confusing flick. The film follows two couples who get stranded in a creepy house in rural Alabama, and terrorized by a maniac called the Tin Man. As the film goes on, we learn the dark secrets of the two couples, as the house conjures them up into fruition. As said before, I never read the novel House is based upon (or am a fan of either author), but apparently from what I've read, the film leaves out a number of plot points that only fans of the novel will pick up in the film. That being said, the film ends up being confusing, predictable, and hardly scary in the least. What House has going for it however is the fact that the house itself is creepy and there's plenty of creepy atmosphere to be found as well. Michael Madsen is here hamming it up, and horror stalwarts Bill Moseley and Leslie Easterbrook are here as well; both of whom ham it up pretty much as well. All in all, judging by the other reviews here, if you're a fan of the novel by Ted Dekker and Frank Peretti, you'll probably enjoy House in some form, but if you're unfamiliar with the authors or the novel, you'll end up being pretty overly bored with the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

House
House by Robby Henson (DVD - 2009)
$14.98 $9.83
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.