Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling supernatural romance for teens.
The house next door to Emma Donovan is a creepy, falling-apart old mansion that's been abandoned for many years. The house has always spooked Emma, and every time she looks at it, she gets a cold feeling of dread. When her best friend, Valerie, doesn't have a date for the school dance, Emma begs her twin brother Charlie to take her, and he agrees - on the condition that...
Published on January 3, 2002 by Rebecca Herman

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting But Lacking
Emma and Charlie Donovan share a lot of things. Their birthday for one, CD's, and dreams. On a dare, Emma bets Charlie that she can spend a night alone in the house next door. Which is, supposedly haunted. After one night in the house Emma begins having strange dreams, and living the life of a girl who lived in the house, who had the same name and age as Emma. Now her...
Published on February 5, 2002 by Erika Sorocco


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling supernatural romance for teens., January 3, 2002
This review is from: The House Next Door (Paperback)
The house next door to Emma Donovan is a creepy, falling-apart old mansion that's been abandoned for many years. The house has always spooked Emma, and every time she looks at it, she gets a cold feeling of dread. When her best friend, Valerie, doesn't have a date for the school dance, Emma begs her twin brother Charlie to take her, and he agrees - on the condition that Emma spend a night alone in the house next door. Emma agrees, not knowing what she's getting herself into. Because during her night in the house, Emma will relive the events of many years ago, and a love with a handsome young man that can only lead to tragedy. Charlie says it was all a dream, but Emma knows it wasn't. She's determined to find out the truth about what happened in the house all those years ago, but is she risking her own life in the process? I highly recommend this book to teens who enjoy supernatural thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting But Lacking, February 5, 2002
By 
Erika Sorocco (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The House Next Door (Paperback)
Emma and Charlie Donovan share a lot of things. Their birthday for one, CD's, and dreams. On a dare, Emma bets Charlie that she can spend a night alone in the house next door. Which is, supposedly haunted. After one night in the house Emma begins having strange dreams, and living the life of a girl who lived in the house, who had the same name and age as Emma. Now her life is spinning out of control. While other girls her age are planning their outfits for the school dance, Emma is trying to rid her mind of a spirit and a love from 100 years ago.
While this book was very good at times it lacked in certain areas. I recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of the Buffy the Vampire slayer book series. Or anyone interested in the paranormal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tragic Love!, July 15, 2002
By 
Aleisha (Lake Mary, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The House Next Door (Paperback)
Emma Donovan, in an attempt to get her twin brother Charlie (to whom she is physciclly linked) to take her friend Val to a dance at their school, accepts his challenge to spend a night in the old, deserted house next door that is supposedly haunted. The Haunted Farmington House. But while there Emma meets the Farmington ghost, Daniel and she steps straight into a tragic love story between the stable boy Daniel and his lady love, the beautiful Emma Farmington. Emma's father is an abusive drunkard who disapproves of their relationshp. One night Emma's father locks Daniel and Emma in a barn and sets fire to it. But only one person escaped. Now Emma has to relive the whole tragic accident so Daniel's ghost can be at peace. Will Emma survive? What will happen with Charlie and Val?
This was an excellent book. It was funny especially the dialouge between Charlie and Emma. And it was romantic. Great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever, March 10, 2002
This review is from: The House Next Door (Paperback)
Ok well I'll be honest I actually picked up this book becuase I got it confused with the title of a book that had a movie written about it starring Ewan McGregor. but it was so worth the mix up.
Emma and Charlie are twins with some kind of physic connection. Emma knows that her best friend Val is so in love with her borther so she asks him to ask her to the dance. He said only if she would stay a night alone in the creepy house next door. Since she's the best friend she is Emma agrees.
When shes there Emma trip and falls but is rescued by a handsome familiar staranger. From there things developed into an amazing romance. Everything was fine but there was a sudden disaster and emma was 'woken' by her brother Charlie coming to call off the bet.
Emma leaves but realizes a ring that the stanger Daniel had given to 'her' was on her finger. Everytime she went back to the house she was taken into some kind of fantasy land with Daniel. It starts to bug Charlie and he insists that they do something to get Daniel to leave Emma alone.
Too bad Daniel will ONLY listen to Emma and noone else. Why is Emma there with Daniel? Why is he so familiar? Will emma ever be able to find out what is happening to her?
Seriously you have to read this book I swear I cried at least twice when I was reading it. It is definately the best book I've ever read. maybe I should mess up titles mor often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragic! Sad!, July 19, 2004
By 
Cate (Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The House Next Door (Paperback)
This book is great. It starts off when Emma and her brother, Charlie, make a bet. The bet is for her to spend the night in the 'house next door', the old Farmington house, and if she does so, then Charlie would ask Emma's best friend, Val, to the winter dance. When Emma spends her night there, she finds herself reliving a tragic day, 100 years ago. Read this great, romantic book. It has mystery, romance, and suspense. You'll love the realationship between Charlie and his twin, Emma. You'll also like the realtionship starting between Val and Charlie. This story is pretty sad, so girls grab a tissue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite the novela!!, May 17, 2004
By 
Cara Taylor (Bak Middle School of the Arts, Palm Beach FL.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The House Next Door (Paperback)
Admit it! I'm sure you can think of at least one time in your life that you wish you could relive. You know,so that you could maybe change what happened and therefore change the reprecussions. Personally I can think up several occasions.
In "The House Next Door" there lies a story within in a story (one of the many aspects that make this book such a good one), the inner most story is one of an undenying love and a tragic occurance. While the outer story is of a girl who some how gets entangled into this web of affairs.
There is so much to be said about this book, but I won't summarize it for fear of giving away too much about the book. But Emma and her brother Charlie are twins that share this physic connection. Emma winds up spending the night at the house next door (which has been deserted for awhile)and while there she falls into the cellar. After falling into the cellar she wakes up only to find herslef as a girl named Emma but she knows it's not herself.
To keep a long story short she wakes up from this mysterious but very real dream to find herself back in the cellar. Her brother Charlie comes running and finds her, but while in that dream Emma discovers part of a tragic event that took place almost a hundred years ago, dealing with a girl her age whose name was Emma too. Emma goes on a search to find out exactly what happened those hundred years ago, and because of their connection Charlie decideds to help out Emma.
From there the story takes many twists and turns so that just when they thought they've figured it out they realize their wrong.
The story leaves you guessing even until the very end. And it is written in such a way that you just want to keep reading, I mean you just won't be able to put down the book. In my opinion this was a book with an excellent plot and written in an excellent way. I hope I've convinced you to pick up this book, and see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, April 12, 2002
By 
This review is from: The House Next Door (Paperback)
I bought this book because I loved the cover of it. When I began to read I could not put it down. I found myself in the place of the female lead. It was cool. It took my on an adventure I won't soon forget. The forbidden romance laced with scandal. Great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book was so cool!, May 29, 2002
By 
Danielle (New Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The House Next Door (Paperback)
I loved this book so much. Its was so awesome. It's about this girl named Emma, who has a twin named Charlie and a best friend named Val. Emma and Charlie are connected in this weird, physcic kind of way; they can sometimes read each others thoughts and peek into their dreams and stuff. Val has this "secret" crush on Charlie, but Emma knows. Charlie also likes Val, and Emma also knows this because he makes it obvious to her. The thing is, he won't admit it, and theres this dance coming up, so Emma asks Charlie to ask Val. He says he will if she stays one night at this house next door. The Farmington house. Its supposedly haunted, and it really does freak them out. She really wants to win the bet, so she agrees and thats when all this weird stuff happens. You'll find out what happens when you read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent ghost story, but that's about it., March 17, 2011
This review is from: The House Next Door (Paperback)
Time travel romances aren't my favorite because they generally aren't too happy of endings, of which I'm a sucker for. However lately I've been more interested in them and was anxious to give this book a try. The verdict? Not so much. It was REALLY hard to get through the first half of the book, it literally took me days, but I kept pushing. I don't regret that I did as it was an interesting enough ghost story, but if you're looking for a good time travel romance like I was, check out "The Splendor Falls". Such a beautiful book with amazing writing and I think I'm going to have a hard time finding one that compares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very moving, January 18, 2007
This review is from: The House Next Door (Paperback)
I thought this book was very good. When i got done reading it i thought wow i almost wish something like that could really happened. Getting to relive something that you had nothing to do with. It was a very sad book and i couldnt put it down. Wish the ending was a little better though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The House Next Door
The House Next Door by Richie Tankersley Cusick (Paperback - January 1, 2002)
$13.95 $12.11
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.