Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: House Party III
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$4.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 21, 2001
this is a Return to the classic status of the first House Party. this is also By far the funniest movie of the three by far. Bernie Mac was an excellent choice to play Kid's uncle Vester. he looks and acts like the Late Robin Harris. Bernie adds the needed punch that House Party 2 lacked. Anthony Johnson as the caterer puts in some hilarious moments. Michael Colyar as Showboat has the return of the "villain" that House Party 2 lacked. The groups Immature( at the time) and TLC add the charisma and catchy tunes that made the first one classic and the music that House Party 2 lacked( no disrespect to Raphaal Saadiq). An Excellent Movie that you can watch over and over and not get tired of it. This along with the first one will never go out of style. Even Cidney makes an appearance in this film. Lets not forget Reynaldo Rey's performance as Vita's father.......Hilarious as well as Aunt Lucy who must have alzheimers or something as she sometimes spews out mindless lines that have nothing to do with the conversation. Chris Tucker makes one of his first Movie appearances also. A Must See. they definitely went out and left a huge impression as one of the greatest trilogies ever. Again A Must See.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2013
I cannot express the hilarity that is House Party 3. A gem of cinematic greatness which should be recognized as one of the best blaxploitation movies of the mid 90's not to be outdone by "Friday". From the introduction of Stinky to the amazing Uncle Vester this movie will have you in tears and only gets better from multiple viewing. If you don't know about Angina Williams or the greatest culinary minds which make up Ex-Con Catering you need to buy this movie. Believe me you will not be disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2005
This movie was a huge dissapointment. I feel Kid 'N Play peaked with Class Act. House Party I is of course a classic, and I felt it was out done by House Party II (those who say this one is better than that film are our of their minds). This film came out 3 years after that one, so I guess the lack of an immediate follow up may be the first clue that this movie wasn't going to be up to standards. My main beef with this film can probably be contributed to waht was going wrong with hip hop culture at the time it came out. This movie seems slightly more thugged out than the previous House Parties. Those movies had a more pure b-boy feel to them. You can feel the impact of the westcoast gangsta bandwagon in this film. They should've just avoided this and done their own thing reguardless. I doubt this has anything to do with what Kid 'N Play would've wanted, so the blame probably goes on the writer/director/studio. They never got played out as rappers imho. Its just the industry got all messed up by this gangsta bs, and obviously a group with their kind of aesthetic could not surviive. Other things I was dissapointed by was the lack of characters from the earlier two films. Sidney gets a couple of cheap cameos instead of a starring role like she should've had. Other than Kid 'N Play and Pops' photograph, thats all there is that links this to the earlier films. However, Kid 'N Play don't even get a fair shake in this movie because alot of their screen time is stolen by those gimmickly, little midgets, Immature, who I seriously wanted to kick the sh** out of. Bernie Mac, however, is hilarious in this film, as always. Hes one of this film's saving graces. There is also a really funny family dinner scene where the crap hits the fan. Overall though, this movie is boring, unfunny, and lacking the charm of Kid 'N Play's other films. Go check those out instead, only get this one if you're really interested in seeing the duo on screen again.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2011
Very good as always, I have been given very good service, and I would refer you to others, and I have already, and I have sented movies as gifts to family, that have been recieved in great timing and great conditions. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2003
[...] i saw the good in the series when I saw house party 3. there are cool groups like immature, kid n play, TLC, R.a.s posse. This is a movie to top all movies, I mean with actors like Bernie Mac, Chris Tucker. This movie all fits together after immature [mixing] up orders and telling everybody that the bachelor party is their house. the characters are good too. Kid n play, plays fiancee vita, marques, romeo, Ldb, sex as a weapon, and many others. The only problem this movie has is IT LACKS [...]!!!!! Other than that, the movie is good. catch this movie on starz next time it comes on, word out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2003
I first said that this movie was better than House Party 2, but boy, was I wrong. The only saving grace to this movie was Bernie Mac. Immature had some okay moments in here too, but the whole House Party movie theme was becoming stale by the time 1994 rolled around. And the jokes were just awful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2009
This product was a great buy. The movie is a classic, second best compared to House Party and House Party 2. House Party is the best, but this movie is great. I couldn't ask for more, it reminds me of the younger days when I had no responsibilities and watched this video frequently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2008
House Party 3 is a great finish to the franchise started by Kid N Play. The duo has grown this time out and the film features many cameos by comedians AJ Johnson, Chris Tucker and Joe Torry. Berine Mac steals every scene he's in as does David Edwards.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2013
Kid is corny as usual but Play and Uncle Vester make the movie worthwhile. Its not as good as part two and not even close to part one but it sums up the trilogy nicely so get it if you ain't got it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
The movie was overall good kidnplay is funny as usual Bernie Mac was funny the only problem was Trisha campbell was only in a cameo but is a hilarious film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.