Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kid spelled backwards describes ya best
This is one of my all time favorite movies. The plot is simple but executed oh so well. Kid sneaks out his house to go to a party his dad told him not to go to after fighting in school. A tale of running from "hoods" and gettin in more trouble than planned. Without this all star acast this movie would be wack. Martin Lawrence, Robin Harris put in memorable...
Published on June 26, 2001 by Enlightened

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Really My Kind Of 'Party'
House Party is a comedy that is shorter on laughs than it should have been. It's another one of those comedies that tries to be edgy by including as much profanity and vulgarity as possible, but forgot to include as much comedy as possible. The favorite part for me was seeing the always funny John Witherspoon (Friday; Wayans Bros. Show). Unfortunately, he only has three...
Published on May 25, 2011 by 1981bendover


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kid spelled backwards describes ya best, June 26, 2001
This review is from: House Party (DVD)
This is one of my all time favorite movies. The plot is simple but executed oh so well. Kid sneaks out his house to go to a party his dad told him not to go to after fighting in school. A tale of running from "hoods" and gettin in more trouble than planned. Without this all star acast this movie would be wack. Martin Lawrence, Robin Harris put in memorable performances. And it also has one the best scenes ever in a movie. The Dance scene where kid n play face off against sidney and charane is one of the most memorable scenes ive ever seen. That alone makes this movie a must have. The battle between Kid n Play is also entertaining. Pick it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic. They don't make them this good anymore!, December 23, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House Party (DVD)
I watched House Party for the first time when I was 16. I love this movie so much because the story perfectly what life was like for teens my age back then. I remember wearing the flat-top fade haircuts (still wear mine to this day), the dope clothes, writing the dope fresh rhymes, working hard in school, all in between fending off the knuckleheads, and talking to the girls. Besides being the movie of my generation, it truly is a classic African-American movie.

Made for the low low price of $3million by the Hudlin Brothers the film became a huge hit and a cult classic. The story follows Kid as he tries to go to Play's house party. The only problem: his Dad has grounded him for having a fight earlier that day. Sneaking out that night to go to the party he runs afoul of those Full Force knuckleheads (sporting jerricurl mullets) and racist cops. At the party he dances the night away macking both Sydney and Sherraine, then battles his boy play on the mic beating him handily cause Kid spelled backwards describes Play best. After walking Sydney home he comes this close to getting some. Unfortunately when her parents come home he's forced to leave. Outside he runs afoul of those Full Force knuckleheads. That leads to a stint in jail and some really inspired rapping from kid. His friends bail him out and after some burger king, Kid sneaks back in his house where he pays the painfully funny price for his night of fun.

The film chock full of laughs with perfect comic timing in every frame. Rappers Kid N' Play give great performances as do the members of Full force. However, the films supporting cast is what makes this movie a classic. The Late Robin Harris is perfect as Kid's cantankerous dad (Watch this move and you'll realize Bernie Mac stole his act) and Martin Lawrence steals scenes here. Tisha Campbell is great as the love intrest. Other noteworthy performances are from Darryl "Chill" Mitchell, the girl who plays Sydney's everyone blends into the background seamlessly and becomes a character. The Hudlin Brothers do a great job here; with their imagination they overcome the limitations of small budget by making a film that is as fresh today as it was way back in 1990.

This is a Shawn James essential video. If you like African-American movies this movie belongs in your collection. For a great Saturday movie night, Pop some popcorn Fix yourself some Dick Gregory or some Red Kool-Aid and pop this DVD in your player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This film stands the test of time!, March 13, 2006
By 
Donna M. Glover "DonnaMarie" (Oakland, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House Party (DVD)
I am not ashamed to admit that I was 26 years old when this movie first came out...and I loved it! I still love this movie...especially knowing that many of the actors were my age when they were filming!

My sons, now in high school also love this movie. The music and the moves, but they do have fun making jokes about the clothes. It was a movie that really tapped into young African-American's and their high school, hip hop world. The Hudlin's were indeed influrenced by Cooley High, but so what! That was a great influence. I also love the messages that are placed in the movie without beating you over the head. Safe sex, no drinking, being there for your friends...even if it means leaving them on their porch while you take their dj equipment.

Frankly I can't imagine Will Smith and Jazzy Jeff in this movie. By using Kid n Play, everybody in the movie WERE friends! This made it believable.

My son's favorite show of "good friends" are the "fellas" taking Groove home because he he was drunk, propped him against the front door, ring the doorbell, cut and RUN!!!!

So, find those leather medalions, bicycle shorts and work on your high top fade, this is a must see movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIIP!!!!, February 21, 2004
This review is from: House Party (DVD)
This is a great video I loved this movie when it had came out and I still love it today it is one of my favorite comedies Martin Lawrence, Kid'N' Play, Tisha Campbell, Full Force , and others I enjoyed this movie and I still do today it is a funny scene in every part of this movie I liked the part when the cop called "KID" eraser head that was so funny I like the whole movie!!!! Anyone who likes parties or Kid 'N Play then I would recommend that you buy this album it is great and you will definitely enjoy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1 of da coolest and funniest movies at da time forget that of all time, September 16, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: House Party (DVD)
kid and play were all fun and games this movie reminds me of a update version of cooly high but funnier as cooly high was funny and serious acting this movie has mostly comedy and alittle bit of serious acting kid and play were the coolest dude on da block they had da skills on the mic, the dance moves, the style, and they most importantly had the girls martin l was funny as h*ll he wouldn't shut up through out da entire film everytime u saw him he would always have sometime to say kid father was also good in his role as a hardworking father who was strict on kid for getting in trouble in school because of three high school troublemakers that cause kid a lot of problems throughout most of da movies da ending of da movie is 1 of da funniest ending to a movie i have ever seen i not going to say anything because if i do i would probably ruin it 4 those who haven't seen this 17 year old classic film Joe Brown
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUNNY MOVIE!, August 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: House Party [VHS] (VHS Tape)
First the movie is great. Second, here are some quotes I liked: A neighbor (John Witherspoon, Friday and Wayans Bros.) tells a cop he doesn't want to hear "no god damned Public Enema". It is funny when Kid is called "Eraserhead" a couple times throughout the movie. And when Kid and Play start dissing each other while rapping, don't get me started. Just see the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the best of the party films, January 18, 2000
This review is from: House Party [VHS] (VHS Tape)
this is all you will need for the house party films.the others are just ok at best.but this one bursts with so much energy.Kid&play&martin Lawrence are cool but it's Robin Harris that stands out.the way pops lays down the house rules.he was gonna be a Legend.he was very gifted.Full Force was a trip.The Ladies were looking good in this film as well.Good job by Mr.Hudlin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Party, July 17, 2001
This review is from: House Party (DVD)
House Party is a very funny movie that aviods all the usual cliches of teen oriented fare, not only are the two leads( Kid and Play) likeable and natural actors, their also talented rappers given a good oppurtunity to show their talent in avery cool scene. The screenplay is excellent, providing a lot of geniune laughs. defintely worth a look....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its nothing like the First time around., December 1, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: House Party (DVD)
The house party that started them all. And Is the better of the four. If I may say so. What some people won't do to go to the coolest house pary yet. Even if it means defying the parentals, and running into the school bullies. This is a movie filled with fun, energy and laughs. A must have movie from the 90's house party era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm going to mind my........business, November 7, 2009
By 
This review is from: House Party (DVD)
At this point in time you may or may not know about Sid the Elf and the movie choices we make. For the most part we seek out b but always sprinkle in classics that weigh heavy in the sentimental department. There are more then a handful of our personal classics ranging from every genre which leads us to the original House Party. It was one of those we used to pop in VHS style to set off a long evening of happy times. We'd always start with comedy early on saving a nice horror or unrated Movie Channel feature for the later part of the evening. It may not make sense to most, but for us it was the best times which are still talked about on a weekly basis.

For those of you not familiar with House Party we give a brief breakdown of it's comic goodness. The films stars 80's/early 90's rap duo Kid n Play as they set off to throw a big party while Play's parents are out of town. Along the way plenty happens thanks to Kid's angry father, a gang of street toughs from school, and some insanely hilarious dance offs. It's one of those films that could only make sense for the era it came out in which is why we love it. The 80's and 90's just have a certain feel that can't be beat. Now that many years have passed since our last viewing, when it came on t.v Saturday afternoon we figured why not revisit it again and throw it in the review library. For us it's a classic and piece of Sid history worthy of a 5 star rating even after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

House Party
House Party by Reginald Hudlin (DVD - 2000)
$5.97 $4.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.