House Rules: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $15.00
  • Save: $2.62 (17%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 10 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
House Rules (Chicagoland ... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Former Library book.Great prices and great return policy! Best books around. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

House Rules (Chicagoland Vampires) Paperback – February 5, 2013


See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$12.38
$1.98 $0.33

A Darker Shade of Magic by Victoria Schwab
A Darker Shade of Magic by Victoria Schwab
Travel through three exciting periods of London's history in V.E. Schwab's newest book. Learn more | See related books
$12.38 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 10 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Frequently Bought Together

House Rules (Chicagoland Vampires) + Biting Bad (Chicagoland Vampires) + Biting Cold (Chicagoland Vampires)
Price for all three: $36.94

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: Chicagoland Vampires (Book 7)
  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: NAL; 1 edition (February 5, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0451237102
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451237101
  • Product Dimensions: 5.4 x 0.8 x 8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.1 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (204 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #126,276 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for the Chicagoland Vampires novels:

"These books are wonderful entertainment."—#1 New York Times bestselling author Charlaine Harris

"A wonderfully compelling vampire heroine." —USA Today bestselling author Julie Kenner

"[A] strong-minded, sharp-witted heroine who will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse and Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake." —Library Journal
 
“Delivers enough action, plot twists, and fights to satisfy the most jaded urban fantasy reader.”—Monsters and Critics

“If you loved Nancy Drew but always wished she was an undead sword-wielding badass, Merit is your kind of girl.” –Geek Monthly

About the Author

Chloe Neill was born and raised in the South, but now makes her home in the Midwest. When not transcribing Merit's adventures, she bakes, works, and scours the Internet for good recipes and great graphic design. Chloe also maintains her sanity by spending time with her boys, her photographer husband, and their dogs, Baxter and Scout.

Customer Reviews

I like the growth in the relationship with the two main characters.
Martha Abell
I liked all the twists and turns, but the ending was easily figured out early on in the book.
Mamacart
Great dialogue, action scenes, suspense and enough romance to speed up the heart beat!
Nancy

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

34 of 40 people found the following review helpful By BookGeek on February 5, 2013
Format: Paperback
"House Rules" signals the official return to greatness for the series. While I enjoyed "Biting Cold," it was more of a transition book and due to its road trip nature I felt that things were missing. Book 7 brought us back on track. "House Rules" is a lot like the first few books in the series, but that doesn't mean it's repetitive or unvaried. Merit and Ethan have entered a whole new world. Not only in their political/vampire life, but also in their on and off romance.

Everything sort of speeds up in this book. We know where everyone stands and no stone is left unturned. That's what I enjoyed most about this book. Chloe Neill is not going to drag storylines on and on, spreading them thin until we roll our eyes from the monotony. The RG storyline plays a major role in this novel and I was glad to finally get there. From the first moment the RG was brought up, Merit has been straddling the line. She was kind of an RG member, but not. In this book it all comes to a head and it was as entertaining and stressful a situation for me, as it was for the characters.

"House Rules" is a huge success for Ms. Neill, because she will once again ensnare her readers. I promised myself that I was not reading these books because I still cared, but because I just wanted to see the ending. Wrong. I very much care about the characters in this series. I want them all to have HEA. It gets to the point where I am inwardly arguing with Merit on her choices. Whenever she does something that I feel will threaten her relationship with Ethan, I go insane. The reason? I want Merit with Ethan badly, because when Merit is with Ethan, I am with Ethan! :-)

In terms of the investigation, I am glad for any reason for Merit to interact with Jeff and Catcher, who are some of my fave characters.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
21 of 27 people found the following review helpful By Jennifer Bielman @ Bad Bird Reads on February 5, 2013
Format: Paperback
From Reading and Writing Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance

At A Glance
I had a love/hate relationship with House Rules. I loved the concept but I often put the book down. It took sometime for me to really get into it.

The Good
Let me start off by saying I really do love this series. I like how the vampires in this world aren't creepy or scary. They are normal like you and me, but they just have some special powers. They are relatable and in essence live normal lives except for a few vampire type problems. I can't think of any other vampire series like this one. That being said, though House Rules didn't have the pizazz as the previous books in the series, it was still very much enjoyable.

I think many fans have been dying to see what happens next after Ethan and his House of vamps decided to finally leave the horrible GP, the ruling group of vampires who make all the rules. It's an understatement to say the GP are no longer out for the good of all vampires. They are out for themselves only. As they say, absolute power, corrupts absolutely. And though I am proud of Ethan for finally removing his House from under their thumb, it was hard to see the lengths the GP would go to bring down these innocent vampires. If it wasn't obvious in the past couple books, the GP have no limits, no reservations in their cruelty. And to add more crap to an already ceiling high crap pile, some psycho is going around killing vampires. And of course it falls to Merit to find the killer before his list of victims grows any bigger.

Merit had so many obstacles in this book it's hard to keep count. I truly don't know how she can stay sane dealing with everything she has on her plate. I think she did a pretty good job of keeping it together.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful By Kathy Davie on March 14, 2013
Format: Paperback
Seventh in the Chicagoland Vampires urban fantasy series. In my opinion, this is written to an early teen audience.

My Take
This series started out so well. And book by book, it's falling into an abyss---no disrespect intended to teens. My first inclination was to agree with earlier reviewers that Neill is allowing her most vocal audience to dictate the writing. My next thought was to not allow others to dictate what I was thinking. I struggled. Neill simply kept providing the ammunition that made me want to put this into a Young Adult category. That isn't fair to young adults because they're so much more intelligent than this.

Neill is riding the positive waves of the much earlier stories in this series, and her readers are purchasing her books because of that earlier promise. I can understand wanting to know what happens with the GP. How Cadogan House survives. Or not. But don't bother buying this installment to find out. Get on a waiting list at the library. Your money is more valuable than wasting it on this.

The negatives? Oh, let me count the ways. Merit and Ethan's interactions before and after the betrayal, the way in which they act apart are at a maturity level somewhere between middle school and high school. Puh-lease, Ethan's reaction when he learns Merit's deep dark secret is so lame. He's so supposed to be so white-hot as a strategist, and he can't grasp the usefulness of what Merit chose? Neill has portrayed him---in the past---as more intelligent than this. Merit is terrified that Lacey is gonna spill the beans. What beans?? Hullo, she's investigating a murder and Jonah is a source. Spin it, ya idjit. What? Neill couldn't be bothered to work at this?? All her teeny-bopper advisers couldn't see past their middle school angst?
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

More About the Author

Chloe Neill is the New York Times bestselling author of the Chicagoland Vampires Novels, the Devil's Isle Novels, and a YA series, the Dark Elite. Chloe was born and raised in the South, but now makes her home in the Midwest. When she's not writing, she bakes, works, and scours the Internet for good recipes and great graphic design. Chloe also maintains her sanity by spending time with her boys--her husband and their dogs, Baxter and Scout.

Connect with Chloe at www.chloeneill.com.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
House Rules (Chicagoland Vampires)
This item: House Rules (Chicagoland Vampires)
Price: $15.00 $12.38
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com