Customer Reviews


334 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (93)
3 star:
 (79)
2 star:
 (36)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 103 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There's a house like that in every town. Theatrical release review
It seems like only yesterday that Jennifer Lawrence made her big screen debut in Winters Bone, a small scale but critically acclaimed movie which gained her an Oscar nomination.

Since then she has gone from strength to strength starring in two of the biggest box office successes we have seen in the last two years X Men First Class and Hunger Games. I think it's...
Published 22 months ago by L. Power

versus
29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you are over 30, you have seen this story many times before
There was nothing "wrong" with this movie, but I get the impression most of the people who are giving it 5 stars and saying it was "edge of your seat suspense" and "chilling" are younger viewers.

Anybody over age 30 has probably seen this same story at least half a dozen times by now.

I would have probably given it another star if I had not heard so...
Published 18 months ago by M. Spitzer


‹ Previous | 1 2 334 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scary!, November 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My 13 year old was extremely scared...which was the point in watching it on Halloween night. She says 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Film review, June 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Movie had some surprises and some suspense. Not just uour regular slash movie. Was surprised at some of the twists and turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, March 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was worth watching. By no means some terrible b flick. I don't think I will watch it again it was good all the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WOULD YOU GET INTO A CAR WITH A KILLER IF IT WAS RAINING REALLY REALLY HARD?, October 13, 2012
Ten minutes into the film, you have the thing figured out. Sarah (Elisabeth Shue) and her daughter Elissa (Jennifer Lawrence) move into a nice home which they got a good deal on because the neighboring house had a double homicide. The daughter killed both her parents. They never found the daughter, but the son who was away at the time now lives in the home. At this point I lead a collective groan in the movie theater.

Perennial teen Jennifer Lawrence, who apparently got hungry in between "Hunger Games" consented to play the ever helpful high school teen rock band singer. Mom works at a hospital and is over protective of Jennifer's movie virginity. This was a fair "B" movie mystery thriller.

The script was good, but wasn't that great. Having someone the caliber of Jennifer Lawrence star in it, didn't add anything to the feature other than a box office attraction. Her fans will surely overrate this film. Let's not kid ourselves it is 3 1/2 stars even with Miss Lawrence. Predictable with a good head fake.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Some immature teen swearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The camera work also has a way of making it seem like the characters are being watched, September 22, 2014
House At the End of the Street is not a typical scary movie. It has all the typical “scary” components with a little twist at the end that no one will see coming. The music, camera work, acting, and scary scenes all make this movie one that will keep you guessing and thinking throughout the movie, and even after it is all finished.
The lighting, music, and camera work all add to the creepiness of the movie. The lighting is either very dim or flashes in and out. For example, at one part of the movie all that can be seen is the small light of a flashlight moving around the room with eerie music in the background. Suddenly the music stops and Ryan (Max Thieriot) jumps out, taking your breath away and causing your heart to beat a little faster. The camera work focuses in on the most important parts of the scene so the audience never sees who or what’s about to pop out next. The door of the room where Carrie Ann (Eva Link) lives is intently zoomed in and focused on, so you’re surprised when she quickly bursts out of the door. The camera work also has a way of making it seem like the characters are being watched, which makes things more suspenseful for the viewers.
The acting in this movie is nothing spectacular, but it’s not horrible. The audience can really feel Elissa’s (Jennifer Lawrence) struggle to get out of the wrist and feet restraints that Ryan has put on her, because of the tone of her voice and the desperation in her face. Ryan convinces the audience that he is innocent in this whole story by using a very quiet, gentle, and calm tone. However, when he interacts with other characters from the movie, he does a less convincing job. For example, when he tries to explain to Elissa’s mother and the police officer that Elissa is not with him, he doesn’t make eye contact and can’t keep his calm, cool, and collected tone and facial expression. The audience would know that he was lying even if they hadn’t just seen him take Elissa into Carrie Ann’s room. Lastly, the acting of Carrie Ann wasn’t too convincing, which makes her character seem not so spooky. She walks hunched over, but then when she escapes from her room, all of a sudden she can run up-right and fast. Not very convincing for the audience that she has brain damage and hasn’t been allowed out of her tiny room in the basement ever since she went crazy and killed her parents.
Some parts of this film were stereotypical of a scary movie. Both Elissa and her mom notice signs of suspiciousness of the house (they live next door), but neither one does anything or tells anyone. Of course, the main character falls in love with the bad boy and doesn’t notice all of the signs that point to something suspicious. For instance, Ryan has a table full of children’s food and pictures of little stick people plastered onto the fridge. After Elissa finds out that Carrie Ann is real, she hears noises coming from the basement. She goes down to check it out, even though she knows that Carrie Ann has killed two people. The audience silently pleads with her not to go downstairs, but she has to, because there always has to be one person that’s brave.
Overall, I enjoyed this movie because of its very suspenseful, thrilling, and psychologically-packed scenes. There were a few events that were predictable, but they did not overtake the movie as a whole. I would recommend this film to anyone who loves a movie that will keep them on the edge of their seat and wonders if Carrie Ann was the one who really killed her parents…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This movie is complete garbage!, May 18, 2013
Lets make one thing clear. The only people voting this movie 5 and 4 stars are fans of Jennifer Lawrence and Hunger Games. You won't see an in depth review but you will see Jennifer Lawrence is so great yadda yadda! On any positive review about this terrible movie. With that said how about an actual review of this film for once.

This movie has been done to death. It's predictable because you've seen it before and therefore becomes not that interesting of a film to watch. The film doesn't sell the story so well because it feels like you're watching a movie. The acting is terrible and like a cheesy daytime soap opera. When the star of the movie is Jennifer Lawrence what more can you expect. Hunger games had terrible acting and so did this movie. Bringing a so so actor into a cheesy horror film doesn't make the movie better. If this film didn't star someone with a mindless fan base already This would probably be an average 3 or 2 star horror film.

So why am I getting on Jennifer Lawrence's case? Well it's because a bad horror film doesn't deserve instant 5 stars because you're favorite actor is in it. I like Nicholas Cage but I'm not going to give the Wicker Man 5 stars just because he was in it (even though I did like that film a lot). I also like Milla Jovovich but I'm not going to give Resident Evil a 5/5 just because she starred in it? So what's the point of ignoring how bad a movie is and giving a hyper inflated review score because you're favorite actor is in it?

Enough of my rant let me talk about the movie now...

The movie is about a teenage girl and her mother who move to nice neighborhood after a divorce. Jennifer lawrence and her mother don't get a long because her mother is emotionally unstable and spent her time being a friend to her daughter instead of acting like a parent. Jennifer is introduced to the neighborhood kids and makes a few friends at school. One day after going to a party she runs in to Ryan the boy who lives in the house across the way. Ryan's parents were murdered and he moved into the house after they died or so the story is. The entire town seems to dislike Ryan and spreads rumors about him for his parents being murdered and his decided to live in their home instead of moving out and selling it (what a way to treat a victim). Ryan offers Jennifer a ride home and she soon begins to befriend and fall in love with him. The problem is that Ryan is keeping a big secret in his house (soo spooky). To which we find that his sister Carrie Ann is still alive and is locked up in his sub basement (don't worry that's not a spoiler to this film it's revealed in the first 10 minutes). That's about the only interesting part of the film. The fact that Carrie Ann is still alive after committing the murders and being looked after by her brother BUT THEN! the writers take that great plot and opportunity to create a truly unique and interesting horror story and throw it out the window. At the end of the film you feel cheated,unsatisfied and completely let down. What starts off as a potentially interesting movie turns out to be just another been there done that type of horror film. There really is nothing to write home about in this film other than "Wow that could have been good why did they go and do that?" The film literally ends with a snap. Once you hear it you start to realize that the film just killed a good plot.

Overall if you want to watch this film because Jennifer Lawrence and her terrible acting is in it you'll probably enjoy it. If you're a horror fan like me looking for a good film to watch THIS IS NOT IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Got this out of the RED BOX!, March 2, 2013
By 
LadyLestat (Birmingham, Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
Let me just say that I saw this movie as a preview for another movie that I was watching. A movie that I can't even begin to tell you what it was, but after I saw this it peaked my interest. I wasn't really expecting too much because I got it cheap from the "Big Red Box" which is where I get a lot of movies now. That way, if the movies sucks, I don't own it, I'm not stuck with it, and I haven't paid that much to see it.

Having said that, I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. I haven't seen Elisabeth Shue in a minute, and I have always liked her as an actress. At any rate, I know some of these reviews tend to over-complicate the movie, so I'm going to keep my review straight forward. Nothing was how I expected it to be, and trust me, I am rarely surprised or shocked by any of these movies nowadays. Quite frankly, it was refreshing to see something not based on a comic book character, or characters, or a movie that looks like somebody grabbed a camera with nightvision and went into their own backyard and shot a movie. With that said, I will include spoilers, so if you don't want to know what happens skip me now...

First of all, it's really important that you pay attention to the flashback scenes because they explain a lot. Moving right on, the movie is about a 17-year-old girl named Alyssa (don't know if that's how they spelled it or not). Anyway, Alyssa and her mother have just moved to a new house. However, they are able to get this house really cheap because it's right next to a house where a girl supposedly murdered both parents with a hammer in the middle of the night. This girl is believed to be dead even though body was never found. Anyway, the house is suppose to be empty which was the lie the mother was told BEFORE she signed the lease only to find out afterward that the house does indeed have a current resident. She finds this out after she witnesses a light miraculously illuminate at 3:00 in the morning. The person that is living there is the eldest son of the murdered couple. Now, they say that he was suppose to be living with some Aunt he was taking care of when his sister murdered their parents, and now he's just back living in the house until he fixes it up and sells it which is what he said he was going to do.

This is pretty much the basis for the movie. There are few typical parts in between like the teen angst between mother and opinionated teenage daughter. There are times when you see clearly that Alyssa and her mother don't share a great relationship. There is no father around, her mother is never home, she pretty much raises herself, and her mother seems to have a drinking problem which you can tell by the way she was polishing off the bottle of wine at dinner. The mother comes across as disconnected from her daughter, and insensitive to Ryan because despite his niceness she doesn't trust him with her daughter.

Moving further along, I will skip Alyssa and Ryan's introduction, the attempt at romance, or the relationship she was trying to start with a seemingly misunderstood, nice, respectful, guy who's just had a rough life. I don't know about anybody else, but there were many life lessons we hear about everyday in this movie: "never get in the car with strangers," "mother knows best," "this is the guy your mother warned you about." However, most teenagers at this age tend to think that they know everything about life and people in general. Those are the ones who most often wish they would have listened to their parents.

Moving even further along, you eventually find out that Ryan's sister is indeed alive, and that he has kept and been looking after his seriously mentally ill "sister" by keeping her locked and drugged up in the house. Now, the story that Ryan initially told from the beginning involved his little sister having a horrible accident on a swing set when they were kids. Thus, the head trauma being the reason she killed their parents. There isn't anyone who has watched this movie that can tell me that they knew what the twist was going to be at the end. We find out later on through flashbacks that much of Ryan's story was true, but what didn't tell Alyssa was that their lazy father was slumped in front of the television and their drug addicted mother getting high when his sister flipped backwards off the swing and bashed her head open. Then, he and his parents buried Alyssa and kept it a secret. The question was then.. who murdered the parents? Is it safe to say he did? Maybe?

I went through several endings myself while the events were unfolding, and found myself with a lot of unanswered questions, which all will be revealed in due time I tell you. I had pretty much figured out that the "girl", or should I say "girls", you thought were his sister that he was keeping down in the bowels of that house were not really his sister because if you paid attention after her caught her he broke her neck, but when Alyssa finds the room by being just a little too curious one night she finds a completely different girl. That's when this "nice" guy flips the script and shows his true colors. Ryan has been kidnapping girls forcing them to be his sister "Carrie Anne." I guess in his mind these girls were Carrie Anne, or they were going to be whether they liked it or not, and Alyssa is about to be his next "Carrie Anne" whether she likes it or not. Despite the fact that he actually likes her, but he "needs" to have another "Carrie Anne" more.

At this point, you realize that this guy is a loon. I mean, he is just plain crazy, and we assume it's from the fact that he feels responsible for Carrie Anne's death, and his part in burying her. That's still not all of it though. The final twist, which you see in the final flashback is that his parents were responsible for all this. Apparently, after Carrie Anne's death his parents lost it, blamed him for her death, and therefore decided that he was going to take her place and be their replacement "Carrie Ann" whether he liked it or not. I know that was enough to mess anybody up, but for a boy being made to play his own dead little sister was hell on Earth. Ryan's parents screwed him up, and he made them pay for it with that hammer. I guess in his mind "Carrie Anne" did kill them and the "Carrie Anne" was him.

Crazy, but that's what happened! This was a good movie that left my jaw on the floor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, April 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bad acting, bad story line, don't waste your money! This movie is not even a little scary,and is very predictable. The only reason I finished it is because I paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Love the actress hate the movie., December 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Was expecting a different twist but it just drags out. I love Jennifer though<3 Good to watch if you're bored I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stupid, July 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
reminded me of norman bates . stupid un funny . dont waste your money . why cant people make a decent scary movie anymore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 334 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

House at the End of the Street [Blu-ray]
House at the End of the Street [Blu-ray] by Mark Tonderai (Blu-ray - 2013)
$19.99 $13.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.