Customer Reviews


192 Reviews
5 star:
 (143)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent screwball comedy vehicle for Steve & Goldie
I wish more projects were assembled for this tag-team of born screwball comedy geniuses, because "Housesitter" offers a great display of how well Martin and Hawn work together onscreen. Their senses of timing are tremendous and both have a gift for physical comedy and wringing the best out of every line of dialogue. I disagree with the original Amazon staff reviewer (I...
Published on May 5, 2004 by R.L. Holly

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Cheap Immitation
Housesitter is an awful rewrite of the charming 1941 movie It Started with Eve. Unlike Deanna Durbin's character, who is honest and likeable, Goldie Hawn plays a pathological liar no decent person could respect. In fact, the whole plot of the original has been so cheapened that it's hard to accept any of the relationships between characters, or the final outcome. The two...
Published on February 23, 2001 by Paul A. Scott


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent screwball comedy vehicle for Steve & Goldie, May 5, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Housesitter (DVD)
I wish more projects were assembled for this tag-team of born screwball comedy geniuses, because "Housesitter" offers a great display of how well Martin and Hawn work together onscreen. Their senses of timing are tremendous and both have a gift for physical comedy and wringing the best out of every line of dialogue. I disagree with the original Amazon staff reviewer (I believe the "official" Amazon review has since changed to a more positive judgment), I think this movie is very well constructed, with a tight plotline and just the right balance of jokes and exposition. Not a word or scene is wasted. The humor is absurdist but good-natured, as in older-style films, and the supporting cast does standout service. This is a very underrated comedy, in my view, and I give it a high recommendation for fans of either of these fine actors or zany comedy in general. A very refreshing change from in-you-face gross-out jokes and sophomoric scatalogical/sexual put-down gags that pass as "comedy" in so many films today. "Housesitter" just zips and zings along from one wild confrontation to another as the teetering house of lies constructed by Hawn (at first) and then Martin becomes ever-more unwieldy and incoherent. Dana Delany plays a prim, preppy "third wheel" character with aplomb and the finale is satisfying, funny, and endearing. Hugely entertaining and stands up tremendously well to repeated viewings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Laughs, December 6, 2004
This review is from: Housesitter (DVD)
A charming comedy played superbly by Steve Martin and Goldie Hawn.

Martin plays a decently successful architect and uses his talent to build a house for his high-school sweatheart. He is rather romantically inclined and presents her with this engagement gift wrapped in a big red ribbon. This scares away his high-school sweatheart as she interprets it as him being too imaginative and living in the fantasy-land than being a down-to-earth man, she'd prefer to be with.

Heartbroken, he ends up in a Hungarian restaurant to wash away his woes and eventually pours out his heart to a waitress, played by Goldie Hawn, who doesn't stop a beat to take advantage of the situation. She is an adventurous free-spirit, endowed with wild imagination, who believes that life is to be experienced and she'll do whatever it takes to experience the richness of life.

After spending one night with the architect, she promptly packs and unbeknonst to him, move into his newly built house. After all, why leave such a lovely house empty? She quickly gets acquainted with local people, charges everything to the architect's account and gets to meet even his parents, to him she presents herself as the architect's wife. As unique as she is - an acquired taste, as her make-believe inlaws would say, she has a very charming personality and everybody delights in her presence. Whatever the situation, she always has a ready answer, often backed with a wild and outrageous story.

When Martin shows up at his newly-built house and finds her there, he is at first stunned, but figures that the only way to get out of it is by incorporating and continuing her make-believe stories and inventing that they are now getting divorced. Not only her parents get involved, but also the local priest, who acts as a marriage counsellor, attempting to help them rescue the marriage.

Steve Martin is not so good at coming with impromptu answers and he usually botches things up, but Goldie Hawn, quite experienced at playing the game, always manages to rescue the situation. She utterly enjoys playing the game and continues playing her own agenda. She even manages to get him promoted.

All the events draw attention of his high-school sweatheart who develops some new interest in him - though they face themselves once again with their individual preferences as Martin discovers that he much prefers to live in a wild and imaginary world of Goldie Hawn, which has infused him with added spice and zest for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, July 21, 2005
By 
Mark Stewart "A Watcher" (Sacramento, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Housesitter (DVD)
Most of us know the story. I'm just going to add my favorate scenes and thoughts. Becky didn't deserve Newton. She turned his marriage proposal down because she did not see the value in his creativity and vision. We get a real sense of what Gwen is feeling the first time she sees the house. Imagine this: You are walking thru a brand new house that was custom designed by someone you know. No one has ever lived in it, and the person it was offered to has turned it down. Gwen thought the house was so beautiful that she sat out side of the house and stared at it in amazement! Although she initially didn't want Newton around because of her con, we know that she could see the value of the man. This is the focus of the story: not the house but the story of a woman recognizing the quailites of Newton.

One of my favorite movies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Cheap Immitation, February 23, 2001
By 
Paul A. Scott (Los Alamitos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Housesitter (DVD)
Housesitter is an awful rewrite of the charming 1941 movie It Started with Eve. Unlike Deanna Durbin's character, who is honest and likeable, Goldie Hawn plays a pathological liar no decent person could respect. In fact, the whole plot of the original has been so cheapened that it's hard to accept any of the relationships between characters, or the final outcome. The two movies share a cast of characters in similar roles, and even humorous scenes like tripping over a living-room chair, but the wholesome quality of the original is totally lost in Housesitter. The film's only saving grace is the superb acting of its well-picked cast. The story line, though, has been shamefully distorted. I would expect a remake to improve on the original, but comparing these two films saddens me to think how far American screenwriting has deteriorated in the past 50 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of My All Time Favorites, February 3, 2001
By 
Shundalyn Edwards (Montgomery, Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Housesitter [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I remember being 14 and going to see this movie on opening weekend with my sister, I was a big Goldie Hawn fan at that point and I fell for her big time after seeing her in "Overboard", another underrated comedy from Goldie's cinema showcase. Even though this movie mostly got mixed reviews, I loved it instantly and ordered it constantly on PPV until I managed to get my hands on a tape of it. It is truly hilarious and the comedy team of Goldie Hawn & Steve Martin is absolutely magical perfection. This movie has so many laughs in it that one would be hard pressed to pick 1 certain defining moment but it is well worth the price and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to laugh. Also recommended is Goldie's other hit from the summer of '92, "Death Becomes Her".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great casting, in a light feel-good movie, March 14, 2007
By 
Monica B. Davis (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Housesitter (DVD)
This is a charming, light, sweet screwball comedy, with an excellent ensemble cast all wonderful in their roles. Goldie Hawn beautifully plays a charming, off-beat con artist, whose pathological lying and skewed take on reality unwittingly lead her to bring about genuine love and kindness. Along the way, she reunites a family; sheds light on the old flame of her "victim" Steve Martin (exposing the motivations of the woman who broke his heart); and creates two new families -- proving that, in the movies at least, you may be able to make a silk purse from a sow's ear.

The couple Goldie's character enlists to play her parents are delightful. So are the small-town characters and situations. Though the overall plot may be somewhat predictable, enough surprises are sprinkled throughout to make the film enjoyable watching, again and again. Heartwarming moments, and the lack of the modern age's gross-out techniques, are huge pluses, to this viewer. Fans of whimsical, somewhat innocent light comedy likely will enjoy this film.

Steve and Goldie have great chemistry in "Housesitter." Their roles here lack the sometimes-shrillness that marred their later pairing in the remake of "The Out-Of-Towners" (a film which did have some funny moments, by Steve, Goldie, and the hilarious John Cleese). Well-written and well-acted subtlety make "Housesitter" a charming film to enjoy watching again over the years.

Steve Martin's wonderful dancing and physical comedy skills are not used a lot in "Housesitter," but his great performance doesn't require them. In fact, this role allows him to demonstrate his skill in pathos and dramatic acting. (For a side-splittingly funny movie that showcases his excellence in dancing and physical comedy, there is the hilarious "All of Me," whose wonderful cast includes superb performances by Lily Tomlin, Jason Bernard, Richard Libertini, and Victoria Tennant.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and Wonderful!, October 23, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Housesitter (DVD)
I saw this movie when it first came out, and I LOVED IT!!! I had to go out and buy it, when it was released. I played it all the time, and even had it on while I was busy around the house because it was so funny and uplifting..I suggest you buy it, you'll absolutely LOVE IT!!!! They are both hystericle and it's sooo funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this duo, April 9, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Housesitter (DVD)
Can you go wrong with this team? Davis (Martin) builds a house for his dream girl only to be turned down. In the mean time Gwen (Hawn) is a drifter girl waitressing where she meets Martin and they end up spending the night together where he tells her about the house only to be gone before morning.

She finds the picture and knowing Davis never foes there decides to pay it a visit where she passes herself off as his wife ONLY to add to the mess runs into Davis' parents. Davis finds out and well lets just say the lies and plots just get nuttier by the minute. A must see too hard o give total description and not make this review a book.

lets just say if your a fan of Either of these actors you WON'T be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goldie as delightful as ever, August 12, 2009
This review is from: Housesitter (DVD)
It is nice to watch these brilliant actors having fun in front of the camera in pleasant surroundings, supported by a good team of performers. Goldie Hawn is funny and her smile priceless. Although a fine comedienne, Goldie draws heavily on her spectacular legs and posterior in this movie. Fully aware of that, she doesn't hesitate making the most of them. However, the story is, as usual in this kind of movies, rather impossible and quite unbelievable, but it's good entertainment. Watching it is relaxing and one way getting in good mood without overloading the brain activity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A COMEDY TO BE TREASURED, March 22, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Housesitter (DVD)
Even before viewing a film with Steve Martin and Goldie Hawn, a film viewer knows the film already has a comedic caché. "Housesitter" is one of the best comedies of the past 20 years and remains fresh and funny after repeated viewings. Hawn as a chronic but charming liar and Martin as a man trying to jump-start his faltering personal and professional lives, make for a winning combination. The supporting cast is wonderful, with the street people Hawn hires to pose as her "parents" hilarious and yet touching. This is a film to own and watch repeatedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Housesitter
Housesitter by Frank Oz (DVD - 1998)
$9.99 $6.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.