Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avoiding the Success Trap
Alan faces off against the number one consulting killer...success. How to Acquire Clients provides practical advice on all areas of a practice: stealing clients, negotiating, dealing with buyer barriers, committees, etc. The best aspect of the book for me is that none of the aspects are impossible to implement. You can buy the book today and immediately put the strategies...
Published on April 23, 2002 by Paul B. Evans

versus
34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy "Million Dollar Consulting" Instead...
There is little to nothing new here that hasn't already been covered within Alan's incredible "Million Dollar Consulting." Based upon my very positive experience with "Million Dollar Consulting," I made a significant investment to purchase most of the titles within the "Ultimate Consulting" series of books. Unfortunately, with rare exception, each of these books is little...
Published on July 10, 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy "Million Dollar Consulting" Instead..., July 10, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Acquire Clients: Powerful Techniques for the Successful Practitioner (Paperback)
There is little to nothing new here that hasn't already been covered within Alan's incredible "Million Dollar Consulting." Based upon my very positive experience with "Million Dollar Consulting," I made a significant investment to purchase most of the titles within the "Ultimate Consulting" series of books. Unfortunately, with rare exception, each of these books is little more than an expanded excerpt from "Million Dollar Consulting." My advice? Buy, borrow, beg or steal a copy of Alan's incredible "Million Dollar Consulting." If you already own it, save the money that you would have otherwise spent on this or other books within the "Ultimate Consulting" series to invest elsewhere in your practice. Good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avoiding the Success Trap, April 23, 2002
By 
Paul B. Evans (Montgomery, AL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Acquire Clients: Powerful Techniques for the Successful Practitioner (Paperback)
Alan faces off against the number one consulting killer...success. How to Acquire Clients provides practical advice on all areas of a practice: stealing clients, negotiating, dealing with buyer barriers, committees, etc. The best aspect of the book for me is that none of the aspects are impossible to implement. You can buy the book today and immediately put the strategies into action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can Help You Acquire Clients Tomorrow, February 23, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Acquire Clients: Powerful Techniques for the Successful Practitioner (Paperback)
It has always seemed to me that when quite a few 5-star reviews are accompanied by a couple of one and two-star reviews, something is worth reading. I found this book to be exceptional in that it: addresses finding new targets of opportunity; discusses a variety of ways to get to the buyer; examines behavioral predispositions; provides sample objections and rebuttals; teaches how to deal with committees; and a great deal more. The 5-star reviews are based on this kind of pragmatic detail and the one-stars on clear resentment of Dr. Weiss's success, apparently. In any case, if you're trying to sell professional services, buy this book. The sections on how to provide value early in the sales process and a dozen new sources of business are worth it alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guaranteed Techniques that Get the Sale, October 22, 2006
By 
This review is from: How to Acquire Clients: Powerful Techniques for the Successful Practitioner (Paperback)
Like the other books from this series, "How to Acquire Clients" is very hands on, and is presented in Alan Weiss' inimitable, tell-it-like-it-is style.

It begins with the proposition that successful selling occurs at the intersection of need, competency and passion - all of which, fortunately can be controlled by the consultant. Contrarian as ever, Weiss makes the case for generalising as a way to broaden your appeal, while customising your approach for high potential prospects.

In the second chapter, you are told to focus on the economic buyer (the fellow who has the budget and dicretion to spend on your services). You are taught to identify, meet and interact with the economic buyer as a peer. You also learn indirect methods of getting to the economic buyer where direct means fail.

Further you learn to match your approach to the predisposition of the buyer, follow a plan for controlling your meeting by setting objctives for each meeting, providing value early, listening 75% of the time and ending with an action plan suggested by you. You also learn to rebut obections which generally fall into no trust, no need, no hurry and no money (though they may be disguised as other issues).

Ever realistic, Weiss also teaches you how to "steal" clients from other consultants by plucking low-hanging fruits, positioning yourself through high vsibility, providing a bold contrarian solution to issues etc. You also learn to ensure repreat business and how to be selective (avoiding clients you do not want and getting those you do).

Overall, the book provides top value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Sales Book!, December 8, 2006
By 
MAT (Sylvania, OH United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Acquire Clients: Powerful Techniques for the Successful Practitioner (Paperback)
I have read almost all the books in this series as well as several others on the topic Mr. Weiss has written. They are all excellent! Contrary to another reviewer this book is not a rehash of other material. This book is incredible in telling consultants how to track down and land new clients, which is the life blood of any consulting practice.

I loved the section on overcoming objections. In my practice I have run into some of these objections as well as others and never had a good answer for them. Now I do. The material in this book changed my consulting sales in the one year since I started implementing the ideas and revenue has doubled in that same year.

If you are a consultant and have ever struggled with over coming objections, searching for new clients, or landing new business then you need to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acquire Clients, April 20, 2008
By 
Brian K. Seitz (Eatonville, Wa USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Acquire Clients: Powerful Techniques for the Successful Practitioner (Paperback)
Alan Weiss continues to boil down the best practices for consultants into his Ulimate Consultant Series. Much of the materials he covers are in other books on the topic. What makes How to Acquire Clients: Powerful Techniques for the Successful Practitioner (The Ultimate Consultant Series)valuable is that the information is all in one place and distilled into understandable strategies and actions. Only Get Clients Now!(TM): A 28-Day Marketing Program for Professionals, Consultants, and Coachesis more direct in its usefulness and approach
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A DEFINITE "MUST HAVE" book for Consultants, February 7, 2007
This review is from: How to Acquire Clients: Powerful Techniques for the Successful Practitioner (Paperback)
Alan has done it again, as he has so many times before. This is yet another book full of relevant advice, common sense, and just good stuff all round! As with all of Alan's boooks, this is a definite "NEED TO" book for ALL consultants who call themselves PROFESSIONAL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A lot of hot air, March 22, 2013
By 
BlueBird (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Acquire Clients: Powerful Techniques for the Successful Practitioner (Paperback)
After getting the book with anticipation, now that it is read cover to cover, I feel very empty handed.

The rethoric is not completely invalid, it is just lame, not particularly innovative.

One thought came up, if the author really is the living picture of the success he claims, he did not use the insipid advice he is giving us in this book. Because he would not have gone very far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How to Acquire Clients, April 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Acquire Clients: Powerful Techniques for the Successful Practitioner (Paperback)
Excellent very basic business book.

All too often we are guilty of becoming to involved in the details, technical matters, of our business and never take time to look at it from 30,000 feet and do strategic planning. Or, we never really understand life blood of all businesses: aggressive marketing & sales.

This book makes (requires) you to look objectively at your business --- as an outsider and not as a technician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Advice for Consulting Companies, March 1, 2012
This review is from: How to Acquire Clients: Powerful Techniques for the Successful Practitioner (Paperback)
Alan Weiss provides time-tested advice for consulting firms. The book is written in a practical, easy-to-read format and is full of tools and techniques on how to acquire clients. Alan includes in each chapter personal stories from his own consulting company. I've already recommended the book to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How to Acquire Clients: Powerful Techniques for the Successful Practitioner
$58.00 $54.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.