Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback SnS

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 20, 2006
The way this book was written was more for victims then Con artists. Being a retired con this book really didn't teach me anything that I didn't already know except maybe on how to sell a dog using a persons greed, this has me thinking what else I can use other then a dog to use to sell on the greed factor.

The author also makes the assumption that cons have long rap sheets and go to jail quite often, in my career I have been arrested once back in the 80's when I first started out and had a 90 day stay at the gray bar hotel and was given a one way ticket out of town on condition of my release and that I would not talk to the press (The police chief didn't want me to talk to the town reporter)

He also makes the assumption that a con has no friends and no social connection, first rule on being a con, do not con people in your backyard or city for that matter, airline tickets are cheap these days and it is not hard taking a Friday night flight out and a Sunday night flight back (Day job you know in sales)

The author also makes the assumption that all con games are illegal, with the right lawyer that you can bounce off ideas with can come up with how to make it legal.

If you want to get into the business I would still read the book and purchase others on the newer games, if you use any of the tricks in this book you will surly get a stay at the gray bar hotel since these are all well known by now.

Also the author makes note of a lotto scam and you need to be a foreigner from another country to make it work, another reason you can't cash in a lotto ticket yourself is if you owe on child support or back taxes which your winnings will go to pay that off, you don't have to be a big winner in the lotto 5 out of 6 still wins in the thousands.

Just remember seek legal advice before you break the law!
66 comments|58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2002
This book is a lightweight book on scams and cons. Of its 10 chaptures, only 2 of them cover cons in detail. And, of those cons, they're all of the old and well known, and well publisized, variety, with little original material. The rest of the 8 chaptures are fluff, and the entire book can be read in about two hours.
I was expecting form this book that, well, at least it would live up to its title. I wanted a book to describe how cons are created and executed. Anyone hoping to earn a second wage as a con by reading this book better not give up his day job!
0Comment|108 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2002
Dennis has written a book that, by the title, has you thinking he has crossed over to the other side. However, once you finish the book, "How to become a Professional Con Artist", you will understand that those who have chosen this life are void of any human committment such as love, family and a future. Dennis takes you into the world of the con artist and shows you that money is to be made, but at a supreme sacrifice. His having worked as a law enforcement officer for 31 years and dealing with these low lifes, he shows that you may not get rich with a regular job, but the rewards are far better. I commend Dennis for a great book. Once I started reading it, I could not put it down. Each page is filled with great advice and humorous points. Being a law enforcement officer and a magician, who also works bunco, I highly recommend this for not only cops, but members of the general public as well. Keep up the great work ...
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2001
Author Dennis Marlock cons the reader of his new book, How to Become a Professional Con Artist, even before he's finished the Preface. It only gets better from there.
Do you want to know how con artists think, feel and act? You should -- if you hope to hang onto a good part of your life savings when you meet one or more of these scoundrels. The information you need is all here, distilled from 31 years of first-hand experience as a police detective investigating frauds and confidence crime.
If you're a potential con artist, thinking that this may provide a blueprint for your success in swindling, you'll discover why you may want to rethink that idea.
How to Become a Professional Con Artist is as entertaining as it is informative. I highly recommend you read it before someone approaches you on the street with a line like this: "Pardon me, ma'am. Look at this wad of cash I just found. Did you happen to lose it?"
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2014
Anyone sick of being victimized needs to read this book! The first step toward self defense is to know when one is being conned, bamboozled, snookered. and or swindled -- in the first place! The best way to do that, is to educate oneself on the methods and tools of the trade. I hope Mr. Marlock would write a book on defending against Computer Hacking, Wiretapping, and other Cyber/Internet/Gadget shenanigans. It would also do well to write a version for us clueless Polyannas out here. I had a tough time reading / comprehending all the trickery; I was so confused, it made me dizzy. But then, I suppose that is how con artists succeed, they keep their victims distracted, dazed, and confused. Arm yourselves -- with knowledge!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2005
Now you see it, now you don't. The traditional forms of the well-known con games--the old hat tricks--are well covered in this book. But, the book is remiss in covering the trend toward legalization of cons. (Yes, a "sanitization" process is in full sway, which threatens all of us. This is not touched upon.)This book, however, is excellent at delving into the psyche of the con man. It examines, and exposes, the thinking processes to a remarkable degree of accuracy.In all, there are some valuable points to be learned and absorbed about this "profession" from this book.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2001
This boook is a must read for everyone, young and old. It is amazing how many different types of cons are played out on the average citizen and wealthy business tycons alike. This book explains many cons in detail, and tells you exactly what to watch out for. I can see how easy it is to fall for a scam. I never thought that I, an educated individual would ever fall for such scams, you would think that they are obvious. What Mr. Marlock shows us in this book, is that ANYONE can fall prey to a con artist, no matter how "educated" he/she may be. The book was also written in laymen terms. Mr. Marlock did not use large confusing words or terms that may have been used in his profession as a Lieutenant, but rather plain english which was very enjoyable. He also used sarcasm and humor throughout the book keeping you interested in the topic and making you want to continue turning the pages. I recommend this book to EVERYONE. It is a must read if you don't want to be parted with your hard earned money in the future!!!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2010
I'm an amature magician and got this book in hopes of finding an interesting angel for some of my magic. However the title is misleading - the book being written by an Ex Police officer only stands to dupe the internet buyer into thinking he has found an instructional manual for the con artist. I have to say that the truly interesting thing about this book is that the writter takes the moral high ground and keeps the constant underlying tone that "you have to not like people to con them" and yet he is conning them into buying is book by having a misleading title.

Don't buy this book if you want to learn about cons

Do buy this book if you want to hear about old scams and how scammers are amoral people.
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2005
An interesting look at a crime that often is overlooked as a crime. A very honest and engaging look into the lives of con-men and how this shouldn't be tolerated. The author really states his opinions and reason for writing the book in the last chapter.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2013
The pigeon drop and the bank-examiner scheme were two of my favorite cons in this book. Dennis Marlock takes the reader carefully through dozens of confidence cons. An interesting read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse