Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars46
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$8.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 26, 2009
loved it. Chick fil A is more than just another business. It's a business with a heart and a purpose lead by a man who cares more about people than profit. As a result the business has both touched the lives of many while earning a great profit. Reminds me of the quote by C.S. Lewis "Aim at heaven and you will get earth thrown in. Aim at earth and you get neither."
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2012
Fantastic retelling of Mr. Cathy's inspirational story told from his (and some of those closest to him) perspective(s). Very quick read with some glimpses into the business model of Dwarf House and Chick-Fil-A.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
This is definitely NOT a "how to" book to start a business. Rather it's bits of wisdom compiled by Cathy and his staff over the years highlighting how he built his business. He offers many caveats and axioms when starting/running a business, such as: "success won't happen until you want to" (chap 1), or make sure your personal timing is right to start a business (chap 2), or "don't be burdened with personal debt" if you want to see your goals come true (chap 9). Similar books in this genre are, Sam Walton: Made in America and David Green's More Than a Hobby. All of these titles I enjoyed very much, and would recommend them, but expect to get a more philosophical idea of how to run a business (or succeed at anything really) than a nuts and bolts strategy to begin and run one.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2013
A pity some of the bigger "boys" in fast food did not follow his example. Keeping It Simple and always adhering to your core beliefs, product and standards was relevant last century, is relevant now and always will be. Follow Truett's example and it is hard to fail.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2015
Selling a Chicken Sandwich is no different from any other business. The profit we produce from from what we offer is the scorecard for any business. My 3 main takeaways from this book are

- Businesses don't succeed or fail. People do.
- Treat your people Right, and your people will treat your customers Right.
- The size of your business is directly proportional to your ability to delegate correctly

A wonderful book, that I have learned so much from you Cathy. Thank YOU!

William Teh
Investor | Author | Entrepreneur
TTTrends Investments
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2014
I have been introducing my children to various people through history via biography. I saw this & thought it would be a great book about someone from their time period. It is a wonderful, easy , albeit short read. It is a great success story for student to discuss: why did he do what he did, what difficulties did he face & how did he overcome them, how would you handle the problems he faced, what can you learn & apply to your own life from this person?
.
A wonderful addition to our biography library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2013
This book is a simple, succinct, supportive collection of stories and principles, which is a lot like a meal at Chick-fil-A: simple, customer friendly, and nourishing. My favorite parts were "Identifying the Product" and the presentation of the "Second-Mile Service" idea.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
I purchased this book for my business class to help write a paper about Truett's leadership/management style. The book was a good story and I learned many interesting things about his life. It is a very short read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2016
As a Christian Businessman, this has to be one of the best books I've ever read. It's absolutely refreshing to read from someone that shares my core Christian beliefs and life principles. What makes this book so amazing is the fact that this man was so guided by God as a businessman, he was able to simplify what would be complicated business principles through experience, and the obvious leading of God. He was able to establish his Christian beliefs in business that should totally go against sound business practices, I mean close a food chain on Sundays? That's bizarre and should have been business suicide, but it worked......with three or more billion proofs annually!

I have taken a couple of business courses with volumes of notes that all seem to complicated, but this little book takes from the experience of a man and share's it in such a simple manner that it's not only easy to understand, it becomes part of you as you read.

I believe it's part of the giving nature of this great man that compelled him to write this book, what a blessing! Can't wait to read the others, I'm glad I bought them all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2015
Truett Cathy's business philosophy is simple and so is this book that tells the success story of Chick--fil-A. Unlike many business books this is short and straight to the point. It offers great insight into Mr Cathy's way of doing business. I loved the bit about faith and why he keeps his restaurants shut on a Sunday, respecting the Sabbath-day. A very out-of-the-box idea that is bringing great fruits.

The book is also written well and flows nicely, a must read for anyone in business!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse