Professional restaurant supplies Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Sixx AM Fire TV Stick Grocery Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars24
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 20, 2012
I love Jane Yolen's Dinosaur books because they not only teach behavior expectations but give non-examples as well. My classroom has a large well-used bin of them. I celebrate Hanuka but most of my students don't. This book gives the essentials of the holiday in a fun, engaging way. I also bought the Xmas book so my students can teach me about their holiday. I find asking a pouting/angry child "Does a dinosaur pout/stamp about?" helps them change their behavior gracefully. Read these, even to older children.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2012
Since the first book in 2000 the 'How Do Dinosaurs Say ...?' series has been very popular. In 2012 two new books are being added to the others in the series and they should both be great fun for readers of all ages. Across the series more than 14 million books have been sold and brought together laughter, learning and fun to children around the world.

The first part of the book is a series of questions about what a dinosaur should not do while celebrating this Jewish feast. The second half of the story is what a good dinosaur should do to observe the holiday. The oversized picture books are filled with amazing illustrations, and brightly colored dinosaurs of all shapes and sizes; in fact every 2-page spread has a different dinosaur. Yolen and Teague have done a great job with the book and we look forward to reading more of them together as a family.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2015
Cute book but why are all the dinosaurs boys? I actually had to go through and change a bunch of masculine pronouns to feminine with a sharpy. How could a female author not realize that 1. girls can like dinosaurs too and 2. it might benefit boys to not think all dinosaurs are male.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 17, 2012
This is a really great Chanukah book for children ages 2-6 years old & all adults. Through funny examples, it shows kids that they shouldn't act as the dinosaur and act up with Chanukah lights, fidget and fuss through the candlelight prayer, blow out the candles when no one is there, search for presents hidden in the house. Kids will want to be like the good dinosaur who wishes bubbe and zayde a good Chanukah and clears dishes after the latkes have been finished.

I loved the pictures in the book and so did all the children who read it with me. I find something else to laugh about each time that I read the book. This book is definitely a winner and the perfect Chanukah present for any young child.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 14, 2012
Those fabulous dinosaurs obviously come from a multicultural home, since this year the celebrated author and illustrator team have released both a Christmas and Chanukah title featuring the adorable dinosaurs of How do Dinosaurs Say Good Night? and so many other beloved picture books and board books. Toddlers and preschoolers will surely giggle to see their favorite dinosaurs being mischievous and squeezing the Chanukah gelt (chocolate coins), fidgeting during prayers, and more. Of course they eventually learn the proper way to behave, and how to enjoy the holiday as well. This is a great one to read aloud to younger children, or to purchase as a Hanukkah gift.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2016
bought a couple of these for nephews at Hanukkah & was disappointed. So excited for theme, but execution was not great. Could be a holiday favorite, but fear weak story & so so illustrations will sink this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2012
My 2.5 year old daughter loves this book. It came this week in the mail from P.J. Library, and she wants to read it several times a day - at least twice each sitting! It has a fantastic message, and it would definitely appeal to boys just as well as girls. Very cute book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2012
A hilarious story for kids 3-8 years old about Chanukah. Your children will shout, "No!" to the dinosaurs' naughty antics in the first half of the book, and learn about correct practices on Chanukah in the second half. The illustrations are marvelous, with marvelously expressive faces on the human characters. My only concern is that my 3 y o complained that she thought the dinosaurs were too scary at bedtime (although okay during the day ;).
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2013
My three year old class loved this book! I was looking for a fun Chanukah book that wasn't too religious and this worked well. Teachers of four year olds had fun sharing the book with their classes as well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
Just like the Merry Christmas book - my son has drawn all of these dinosaurs, and, although we are Christian, appreciates the information about the Jewish holiday. He is sure that next year there will be a "How Do Dinosaurs Say Happy Kwanza?" book. He's looking forward to it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.