Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have book about perspective.
I ordered this book a few weeks ago just to keep up with the series. I had not been disappointed with the prior books, but I didn't have high expectations for this book either. It blew me away!

But first, the technical stuff.

This book is organized slightly different than others in this series. While the content table was in page 3 or 4 after a...
Published on December 20, 2008 by Neko-san

versus
3 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars mediocre, at best
not much to say...or see
you can get the same info from other books...
and this is manga-xploitation...not manga.

Manga fans, stop buying these series of books from this publisher please. They are just profiting off or your affinity for manga. This is more a "how to copy manga" book...unless that is what you want.
Published on April 20, 2009 by Atomic Tofu


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have book about perspective., December 20, 2008
This review is from: How To Draw Manga: Sketching Manga-Style Volume 4: All About Perspective (v. 4) (Paperback)
I ordered this book a few weeks ago just to keep up with the series. I had not been disappointed with the prior books, but I didn't have high expectations for this book either. It blew me away!

But first, the technical stuff.

This book is organized slightly different than others in this series. While the content table was in page 3 or 4 after a brief introduction, in this book it is in page 18. This is because the prior pages were used for a hands-on introduction to perspective called "Portraying Space and Volume".

In addition to the interesting introduction, the book is organized into three chapters:

Introduction: Portraying Space and Volume
- From Solids to Spaces
- Portraying a Space That Expands Infinitely into the Distance
- How "Horizon" Lines Divide Space into an Above and a Below
- The Evolution of a Two-Dimensional Space into Three Dimensions

Chapter 1: Basic Compositions Begin with One-Point Perspective
- The Basics of One-Point Perspective
--- Differences between Flat and Solid Objects
--- Solid Drawn Using One-Point Perspective
--- Where to Position the Horizon Line
--- Where to Position the Vanishing Point
- Using Angles of Perspective Appropriately
- Learning How to Portray Depth in a Corridor
--- Drawing a Corridor Using One-Point Perspective
--- Drawing Corridor Components Successfully
--- Drawing Characters in a Corridor
- From Corridors to the Outside World
--- Narrow Streets and Broad Avenues
--- Street Intersection in a Residential Area
--- Shopping District
- Using One-Point Perspective to Draw Bends and Slopes in Roads
--- Bending Roads
--- Sloped Streets
--- Steps

Chapter 2: Two-Point Perspective for Practical Composition Creation
- The Basics of Two-Point Perspective
--- Differences between Solids Drawn in One-Point and Two-Point Perspective
--- Tips for Drawing Buildings in Two-Point Perspective
- Drawing Architectural Structures
--- Drawing Buildings and Houses
--- Drawing Houses and Streets
--- Drawing Room Interiors
- Schools
--- Exterior View
--- Classrooms
--- Nurse's Offices
--- Gymnasiums
- Drawing Familiar Establishments
--- Family Restaurants
--- Fast Foods Restaurants
--- Convenience Stores

Chapter 3: Advanced Compositions Using Perspective
- The Basics of Three-Point Perspective
--- Compositions Portraying High or Low Angles
- Seated Characters Drawn in Perspective
- Drawing While Using Photos as Reference
--- Tracing Photos
--- Making Corrections While Drawing
- Methods for Creating the Illusion of Depth without Using One-Point, Two-Point, or Three-Point Perspective Techniques
- Beyond Perspective

In beyond perspective, it shows how the artist created the cover illustration.

This book lacks the lengthily demonstrations and interviews of previous books, but retains the instructional aspects. In my opinion, this change works well in this book. Also, It doesn't teach you anything about perspective that other books in the subject hadn't cover before like in Perspective! For Comic Book Artists. However, what is good about this book is that it provides very useful tips about using perspective while sketching manga-style.

If you had bought other books in this series, you won't be disappointed with this volume. If you hadn't, but want a good how-to-draw book about perspective, this is it.

Other books in the series:
Volume 1: Sketching As Composition Planning
Volume 2: Logical Proportions
Volume 3: Unforgettable Characteristics
Volume 5: Sketching Props
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great supplement for learning perspective, April 12, 2009
By 
Grant Beaudette (Missoula, MT United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How To Draw Manga: Sketching Manga-Style Volume 4: All About Perspective (v. 4) (Paperback)
I always thought the perspective book in the original How to Draw Manga series was one of the better of the group. This edition of the much higher quality Sketching Style series expands on that book, presenting a practical guide to some specific perspective problems you might have to tackle while drawing.

Many perspective books focus mainly on abstract boxes and circles for much of the teaching. In this one all the lessons center around applying perspective to comics compositions, such as placing characters in depth and evenly spacing out windows down a hallway.

Most of the examples are specific perspective challenges you might face when drawing a comics scene, like depicting a curved/sloping street or a staircase. It also show the perspective of smaller parts of scene you might not think about that still need good perspective,like desks and doors.

Admittedly some of the architecture examples are rather Japan-centric and might not be instantly useful unless you're drawing in a true manga style. But even if you aren't, the principles being showcased can be adapted to any style of drawing.

This probably shouldn't be your first book on perspective. If you're new to all this start out with a book like Perspective! For Comic Book Artists: How to Achieve a Professional Look in Your Artwork and grab this book when you're ready for some great practical help in drawing your backgrounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WoW!, February 20, 2010
This review is from: How To Draw Manga: Sketching Manga-Style Volume 4: All About Perspective (v. 4) (Paperback)
I thought I was pretty descent with perspective but this takes the cake. It's amazing strongly suggest this book for those bellow the college degree of arts. A must have for the collector of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice, January 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Draw Manga: Sketching Manga-Style Volume 4: All About Perspective (v. 4) (Paperback)
This is a great book for learning perspective in the world of manga. Was a little put off by all the school scenes, but that's manga for you!!
I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pick of the crop for both beginners and advanced artists, November 24, 2009
This review is from: How To Draw Manga: Sketching Manga-Style Volume 4: All About Perspective (v. 4) (Paperback)
I run a design studio and have taken time out from my busy schedule to specially review this book. Perspective has been one thing I've always battled with so my search for the perfect book on this subject has been ceaseless for the last 25 years. All the books I've bought, browsed through or downloaded have been dry and unexciting. After many years I came across 'Perspective for comic book artists' that suggested by its title that it may be just the thing, but its tedious, conversational format drew out the subject far too much. After that I continued to search and found a good book on Google Books but although its content was excellent it approached the subject clinically. 'Vanishing Point' was the next best but fails due to ugly drawings and colors and although being to the point and well laid out, does not excite the reader.

Finally I bought this book on impulse recognising that the cover showed potential of some very good content. Well, this is the perfect book on perspective. Good for beginners and advanced artists. Beginners will like this book a lot as it explains the difficult and dynamic views very well and helps solve those perplexing puzzles. While they may not be at the stage of becoming proficient in the advanced techniques or have the patience, it's important for beginners to see how the difficult stuff is done.
It does contain many pages for beginners so don't be deterred.

The areas that this book excels at are . . .

1. Examples. Lots of them!
2. Excitement = Motivation

In order to practice one needs lots of examples. This book has tons, and very varied.
One may have examples but the key to the whole perspective story, especially for those who aren't too keen about drawing a whole lot of lines, is motivation. This is achieved by the many well drawn and enjoyable pictures. You will want to copy the examples and experiment.

I *highly* recommend this book!
IMO this is the best book in the 'How to Draw Manga' series, and certainly is the best book on perspective.
10/10
My advice is . . . Buy it already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Advanced Artists Only, January 18, 2009
This review is from: How To Draw Manga: Sketching Manga-Style Volume 4: All About Perspective (v. 4) (Paperback)
The Sketching Manga-Style series of books are amazing in that they are the only series of books that have hand drawn images and no computer made images for the aspiring artist to copy. The series ranges from intermediate to advance skill for the artist to use. I bought this book thinking that it would help me draw characters in different angles, but I was wrong. Unlike the other three books, this one deals mostly with backgrounds, drawing backgrounds at different angles and trying to fit as many characters as one can in a background. The book also deals a lot with vanishing points. (An example of a vanishing point is the girls head on the cover of this book.) There are some more advanced subjects covered like one point, two point and three point perspective techniques. The book does cover these topics, but in my opinion to truly understand these subjects is to take a painting class and do some paintings using these techniques. If you have already drawn manga scenes before or are an experienced drawer, then this book will suit you just fine, but if you are just a beginner and are looking for books to buy then do not buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect understanding of perpective, March 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Draw Manga: Sketching Manga-Style Volume 4: All About Perspective (v. 4) (Paperback)
if you want to have a perfect understanding of perspective for your art and drawings, get this book, it goes in depth with plenty of Drawings and explanations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, get it NOW!!!, December 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Draw Manga: Sketching Manga-Style Volume 4: All About Perspective (v. 4) (Paperback)
Excellent book, get it NOW!!! This book explaine step by step how perspective work, exactly what anyone needs to learn!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, October 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Draw Manga: Sketching Manga-Style Volume 4: All About Perspective (v. 4) (Paperback)
Great book and just the kind of cool perspective I'm looking to achieve to a somewhat similar perspective of anime and many great manga !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book on perspective..., December 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Draw Manga: Sketching Manga-Style Volume 4: All About Perspective (v. 4) (Paperback)
this book explains the fundamentals of perspective in art. It goes over one, two and three point perspective, and has alot of nice anime reference too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How To Draw Manga: Sketching Manga-Style Volume 4: All About Perspective (v. 4)
Used & New from: $120.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.