Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LEVERAGE
In the spirit of full disclosure I have to say that Ron Lemen is my friend and an artist I've admired for some time. However, beyond bias likes or dislikes, an anatomy book has to deliver clear advantages and insight for the problems of figure drawing or it fails. it's not a matter of taste; it either works or it doesn't. -- This one works.

This book has more...
Published on September 14, 2012 by Rick Berry

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe
I like it because I know that the writer (Ron Lemon) knows what he is talking about. What I have problems with is the way the magazine was complied. It felt like ImagineFX took all the notes over the years and jammed them all together with out editing or refining; Giving more examples, more detail and dedication to before and after so a beginning student could just look...
Published on December 14, 2012 by Homer S


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LEVERAGE, September 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Anatomy: Creating Life-Like Humans and Realistic Animals (Paperback)
In the spirit of full disclosure I have to say that Ron Lemen is my friend and an artist I've admired for some time. However, beyond bias likes or dislikes, an anatomy book has to deliver clear advantages and insight for the problems of figure drawing or it fails. it's not a matter of taste; it either works or it doesn't. -- This one works.

This book has more than one contributor and as with many such books that can make it a mixed bag, so I didn't give the 5star rate. But it's Lemen's work that pulls this train and his is fortunately the largest part of the book. (His name should have been on the cover somewhere. A lack of credit and marketing vision from ImagineFX as there's a strong following for this artist).

Whether your a pro (I am) or just starting out, this thing will have some goods for you. Lemen likes you to have some way of scaffolding the whole of the figurative problem and makes sure you're not forgetting things that will trip you up later. He quite elegantly lays out a couple of systematic approaches. While that may sound dry, it gets you quickly into the game. He makes sure of your mechanics so you don't have to be mechanical. This leverages seeing over and above continuous fixing and noodling, which can kill inspiration.

A surprise bonus in the book is Marshall Vandruff's section on animal anatomy. Smart, whimsical and occasionally bizarre stuff.

Although the book is slanted toward concepting for media projects, that has it's advantages; it's all about figures that work and are conceived as capable of action at any moment. Lemen wants your stuff to breathe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe, December 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Anatomy: Creating Life-Like Humans and Realistic Animals (Paperback)
I like it because I know that the writer (Ron Lemon) knows what he is talking about. What I have problems with is the way the magazine was complied. It felt like ImagineFX took all the notes over the years and jammed them all together with out editing or refining; Giving more examples, more detail and dedication to before and after so a beginning student could just look at the material and see the changes instead of relying on the explanation itself. After looking through the, well put together, Figure Drawing book by Micheal Hampton, I felt this Anatomy magazine to be a little lacking in the easy to understand category.

Their needs to be a book that is dedicated to purely Rons figure/anatomy like the great Andrew Loomis books. Because this magazine isn't just dry Anatomy there is theory, thought and culture trying to escape through these pages, which never really makes it.

This is only one persons opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, February 21, 2013
By 
Kevin (Corvallis, OR USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Anatomy: Creating Life-Like Humans and Realistic Animals (Paperback)
I have lots of artistic anatomy books. This is my current favorite that I carry around with my sketchbook. I enjoy this book for the analytical anatomy approach, the compactness of the book and the description of basic principles of both human and animal anatomy. There is an enormous amount of information here presented in the same way that I tend to to take notes in my sketchbooks of other anatomy books. No padding here. You will need other artist anatomy books besides this one but this one's a great start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Drawing Resource, December 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Anatomy: Creating Life-Like Humans and Realistic Animals (Paperback)
My son has used this book and it has increased his artistic abilities to include a much broader range. Where before he was good at the mechanical elements now he has a much better insight into the organic elements of drawing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More like an anatomy methods overview.., July 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Anatomy: Creating Life-Like Humans and Realistic Animals (Paperback)
Draw and Paint Anatomy by ImagineFX magazine is more like an overview of different anatomy drawing methods. For example, some articles discuss the Reilly Method, some draw in a more manga style etc, I wouldn't recommend it for intense study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good for shaping the body from basic forms., March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Anatomy: Creating Life-Like Humans and Realistic Animals (Paperback)
it is a good book for shaping the human body from basic shapes to start with. But it starts at about level 4 compared to a 10 and leads up to a 10 in learning. So it is not for the very beginning artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finest anatomy book, February 16, 2014
By 
John Velazquez (Santa Monica, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Anatomy: Creating Life-Like Humans and Realistic Animals (Paperback)
There are hundreds of anatomy books out there (I own most of them) and some true classics...George Bridgman for example. This one really breaks it down in very straight forward muscle structure and how they work with the bones. I study this book all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice., February 15, 2014
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Anatomy: Creating Life-Like Humans and Realistic Animals (Paperback)
Good learning tool for some one who has done some drawing already. if being the very best is level 10 then you need to be at level 2 to start on this book. it can lead you in the right direction to go to level 10. but it will only take you to level 8. But if you can learn the book you don't need another book to go to level 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Start Point for Human Anatomy, May 26, 2013
By 
SakataGintoki (São Paulo, BRAZIL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Anatomy: Creating Life-Like Humans and Realistic Animals (Paperback)
I finished reading and practicing the human anatomy section of the book. So far it's great! The book show us the basics of human anatomy (gesture, poses, torso, shoulders, upper arms, forearms, hands, legs, feet and head) and each part of the human body is taught considering the drawing principles of proportion, so you won't miss it in your drawing.

I strongly recommend it for everyone that is beginning to draw figures in any style (comics, manga and whatsoever).

Nice buy! Great price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource, April 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw and Paint Anatomy: Creating Life-Like Humans and Realistic Animals (Paperback)
This book comes with a great amount of content for the price. Very helpful illustrations as well. Would recommend checking it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How to Draw and Paint Anatomy: Creating Life-Like Humans and Realistic Animals
How to Draw and Paint Anatomy: Creating Life-Like Humans and Realistic Animals by Editors at Future Publishing (Paperback - July 1, 2012)
$27.95 $18.44
Usually ships in 2 to 3 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.