Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book!
My children, ages 9 and 10 have enjoyed using this book since they received it for Christmas. It's a great early tutorial on drawing.
Published on January 18, 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Drawing people
I really am not impressed with this book. But I can draw and sketch on my own and have been drawing since I was a child. So, this book was not for me. If you are a beginner, it can probably help you learn to draw simple sketches.
Published 6 months ago by sshomekid


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book!, January 18, 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "Mom of three" (Kingsport, TN, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
My children, ages 9 and 10 have enjoyed using this book since they received it for Christmas. It's a great early tutorial on drawing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, January 3, 2007
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
This was a gift for my grandson who is currently drawing everything in sight

I purchased the book to encourage him to try new ways of seeing people, and to get him to draw things other than Thomas the Tank engine. It worked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars drawing book, January 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
It's a great book for beginners. It uses simple shapes(circles, squares, rectangles) to produce simple, completed step-by-step drawings. I've drawn some of them myself(60 yrs. old) and I think younger, artistically inclined children could do them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, January 20, 2012
By 
Jeff & Virginia Harris (Welland, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
This wasn't exactly what I was looking for, but the book itself is great. I was looking for a teaching book on how to draw actual people's faces. This is a great start for the beginner, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, December 31, 2008
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
This is a good way for kids to learn how to draw. gives them step by step instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, October 27, 2011
By 
Ardyth Hughes "A. Hughes" (Orange County, California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
I use these kinds of books in the classroom. The children gain great confidence with the success they achieve in their first drawings. Additionally this book adds to my collection of cartoons for quick inspiration. Having a library of organized images to peruse allows for a quick rendering of a rain forest, a family reunion, children interacting with adults, plants and animals, and a myriad of other combinations. Having this as a resource allows me to illustrate my own children's stories and gives me greater confidence for publication. I bought many at one time and was given a four for the price of three discount each time. (I don't know if that is always available.) If you ever believed anyone who said you cannot draw, get this book and prove to yourself that you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for your budding artist!, January 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
My 8 yr old loves this book. She loves to draw, and the step-by-step illustrations help her produce top quality drawings. She achieves success w/out any frustration. My 4 yr old has even had fun following along. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars review for how to draw people, December 20, 2008
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
Fun book on doodling characters. My kids love it and the step by step process makes your doodles look really good. Great book for a kid who wants to say goodbye to stick figures!
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars in depth drawing, October 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
My grandson liked these books, but being at a Kindergarten level, I think they were a little to advanced for him. I will save them for when he's a year older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple break downs and steps, almost 9 yr old loves it!, January 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
My title says it all I think. We have a few learnt o draw books and this one is really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw)
How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) by Barbara Soloff-Levy (Paperback - May 21, 2002)
$4.95 $3.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.