Customer Reviews


183 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed
This was a gift for my grandson who is currently drawing everything in sight

I purchased the book to encourage him to try new ways of seeing people, and to get him to draw things other than Thomas the Tank engine. It worked
Published on January 3, 2007 by William F. Patterson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something for the kids to reference
It's someting nice to have for the kids to follow when they want to draw people. It's a guide for starter.
Published 19 months ago by Cindy Lee


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, January 3, 2007
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
This was a gift for my grandson who is currently drawing everything in sight

I purchased the book to encourage him to try new ways of seeing people, and to get him to draw things other than Thomas the Tank engine. It worked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book!, January 18, 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "Mom of three" (Kingsport, TN, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
My children, ages 9 and 10 have enjoyed using this book since they received it for Christmas. It's a great early tutorial on drawing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars drawing book, January 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
It's a great book for beginners. It uses simple shapes(circles, squares, rectangles) to produce simple, completed step-by-step drawings. I've drawn some of them myself(60 yrs. old) and I think younger, artistically inclined children could do them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, October 27, 2011
By 
Ardyth Hughes "A. Hughes" (Orange County, California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
I use these kinds of books in the classroom. The children gain great confidence with the success they achieve in their first drawings. Additionally this book adds to my collection of cartoons for quick inspiration. Having a library of organized images to peruse allows for a quick rendering of a rain forest, a family reunion, children interacting with adults, plants and animals, and a myriad of other combinations. Having this as a resource allows me to illustrate my own children's stories and gives me greater confidence for publication. I bought many at one time and was given a four for the price of three discount each time. (I don't know if that is always available.) If you ever believed anyone who said you cannot draw, get this book and prove to yourself that you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for your budding artist!, January 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
My 8 yr old loves this book. She loves to draw, and the step-by-step illustrations help her produce top quality drawings. She achieves success w/out any frustration. My 4 yr old has even had fun following along. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars review for how to draw people, December 20, 2008
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
Fun book on doodling characters. My kids love it and the step by step process makes your doodles look really good. Great book for a kid who wants to say goodbye to stick figures!
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, January 20, 2012
By 
Jeff & Virginia Harris (Welland, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
This wasn't exactly what I was looking for, but the book itself is great. I was looking for a teaching book on how to draw actual people's faces. This is a great start for the beginner, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, December 31, 2008
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
This is a good way for kids to learn how to draw. gives them step by step instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple and encouraging for young children, December 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
Very simple, all you need is a pencil and the book. Easy to follow, so children will not give up quickly.

Why not 5 *: A better book to me would provide basic theory understandable by childrent and then follow with practice. This one has only pictures followed by blank pages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars in depth drawing, October 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) (Paperback)
My grandson liked these books, but being at a Kindergarten level, I think they were a little to advanced for him. I will save them for when he's a year older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw)
How to Draw People (Dover How to Draw) by Barbara Soloff-Levy (Paperback - May 21, 2002)
$4.95 $4.45
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.