Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agile, Mobile, and Hostile
In How to Drive Your Competition Crazy, Kawasaki urges his reader to create disruption for "fun and profit." The book is organized into four parts: Lay the Groundwork, Do the Right Things, Do Things Right, and Push the Envelope. Within each of the four parts, Kawasaki includes interviews with various corporate executives who share their real-world experiences. He...
Published on January 11, 2000 by Robert Morris

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit inconsistent for Kawasaki's normal levels...
Although I am a big fan of Guy, this one was a disappointment compared to the standards I have come to expect from him. The title of book indicates a vast area to cover. But to my disappointment it seemed a bit inconsistent or out focus/unfocused. Maybe like the title.
When all is said and done it has a multitude of cases, quotes and points in the usual Kawasaki...
Published on June 26, 2000 by Marque Pierre Sondergaard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agile, Mobile, and Hostile, January 11, 2000
This review is from: How to Drive Your Competition Crazy: Creating Disruption for Fun and Profit (Paperback)
In How to Drive Your Competition Crazy, Kawasaki urges his reader to create disruption for "fun and profit." The book is organized into four parts: Lay the Groundwork, Do the Right Things, Do Things Right, and Push the Envelope. Within each of the four parts, Kawasaki includes interviews with various corporate executives who share their real-world experiences. He offers hundreds of examples to illustrate his ideas about non-conformist strategies which will help achieve a competitive advantage.
In his more recent book, Rules for Revolutionaries, Kawasaki asserts that, inorder to break down the barriers to innovation, one must "command like a king." That is to say, have steadfast convictions and then communicate those convictions to others with the power of faith and self-assurance. When asked to explain what a champion is, Jack Dempsey replied that a champion "gets up when he can't." Such determination is admirable, of course, but not always prudent. (What if David had decided to wrestle Goliath?) Agreeing with Jeffrey Gitomer, Kawasaki insists that customers must become "evangelists", not merely buyers of whatever one sells. Sustainable customer loyalty is the objective, not satisfaction with a single transaction. The same is true when one must generate support to overcome resistance to change. Two mistakes must be avoided: in Barbara Tuchman's words, "assessing a situation in terms of preconceived fixed notions while ignoring or rejecting contrary signs", and, "the refusal to benefit from experience." Only by being alert to "contrary signs" while benefiting from experience can anyone hope to prevail.
Kawasaki has sometimes been described as "controversial", usually by those who feel obliged to defend the status quo. Kawasaki challenges all assumptions and premises (including his own), convinced that agility, mobility, and hostility are essential to success in the competitive marketplace. His is a pyrotechnical mind combined with street smarts and unlimited energy. He enjoys creating "disruption"...especially when it creates profits. Read his books, follow (if you can) the way his mind works, and then go have some profitable fun yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how a designer can drive the competition crazy, June 8, 1997
By A Customer
I laughed my way through this book. I am designer who was constantly frustrated with the back biting that goes on between myself and other designers. This wonderful book helped me utilize simple techniques to step out of that circle of ego and become the positive, constructive colleague I wanted to be. It could really be called 'How to Make Friends With the Competition and Still Influence the Right People" because it has a bit of Dale Carnegie mixed in with Depak Chopra!! or maybe "Zen in the Art of Sharing the Cash Flow"
(There really is room for everyone who wants it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit inconsistent for Kawasaki's normal levels..., June 26, 2000
By 
This review is from: How to Drive Your Competition Crazy: Creating Disruption for Fun and Profit (Paperback)
Although I am a big fan of Guy, this one was a disappointment compared to the standards I have come to expect from him. The title of book indicates a vast area to cover. But to my disappointment it seemed a bit inconsistent or out focus/unfocused. Maybe like the title.
When all is said and done it has a multitude of cases, quotes and points in the usual Kawasaki style that can prove beneficial, but still not a clear classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Niche Your Company's Way To Greatness!, June 20, 2006
By 
Written by the former Director of Software Product Management for Apple Computer, Inc., this is a book first about how to survive amongst the established business giants, and then how to carve an ever-increasing niche in the shared markets.

Apple's strategy in the early days was to create advantages for its clients and also to create disruption to IBM. Kawasaki says that it is important to pick a giant to fight against - you have more to gain and more credibility to be established.

To get started you must know your own company very well, your customers very well and your enemy very well. For your own company, all efforts must be made to discover how your customers see you. Why do they buy from you, and why don't they buy from you? Then you must define who your customers really are. Are the people that buy your product, the ones that are using your product? To find out about your competition, study them by visiting them and patronizing them so that you can establish their modus operandi for sales, service and follow-through.

To find your niche, you must discover that which you offer that you have both a high ablity to produce, and a high value to the customer. This should be your focus.

The title of this book is misleading. It talks about disrupting the other fellow... It seems this tactic is for your own company morale and the title of this book mostly for sales. This book is really about finding a way to make your customers happier than anybody else can.

Kawasaki goes over the importance of not feeling thwarted by another company's advances and gives proper and strategical retaliations. Creativity is a main theme in this area. Be unpredictable. He discusses the methods and importance of recruiting evangalists for your product, offering samples, and building customers' allegiance early and often.

Ask 'What would cause my customers to use my product more often? What would cause my customers to use more of my products each time they are used? How can people have more fun with my product?'

Find a great cause, find the right people - make them feel part of the team, and go make history!

Five Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended!, May 10, 2001
This review is from: How to Drive Your Competition Crazy: Creating Disruption for Fun and Profit (Paperback)
Guy Kawasaki combines insights from eastern philosophy with practical business advice on how to disrupt the market in favor of your company. Through strategic planning and zest for the game, companies can move in on their competitors' customers, credibility, and profit - and have a lot of fun in the process. This exhilarating book is packed with useful exercises, examples, interviews, and even a sampling of children's literature. We [...] recommend it to executives of big and small companies who want to shake up the marketplace, and to career-minded individuals eager to rise in the ranks and make their companies stronger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the Evangelist in All of Us, May 10, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Drive Your Competition Crazy: Creating Disruption for Fun and Profit (Paperback)
Coming from the public education arena, I was (amazingly enough) able to find approaches to dealing with all my associates, from my students to their parents to my administrators. A great read for anyone who is interested in creating a quality product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this Book, Before Your Competition Does!!!, April 25, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Drive Your Competition Crazy: Creating Disruption for Fun and Profit (Paperback)
Guy Kawasaki has written an excellent book with practical applications for every business.
Worth a million times the price, I urge you read this book before your competition does. Thanks, Gu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars provocative! it demystify the mystery of guerilla marketing., April 30, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Drive Your Competition Crazy: Creating Disruption for Fun and Profit (Paperback)
guy, takes a no-non-sense approach to taking it on with the big league. he let's you see that you can also succeed in marketing just like the big guys.

he lets you see that marketing can be learned, that it is an art & a science.

guy also lets you see the fun in marketing. that there's a career in here, what matters is creativity & guts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Tips and Strategies for Marketing, February 11, 2008
By 
Kevin Thomason (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Drive Your Competition Crazy: Creating Disruption for Fun and Profit (Paperback)
Another good book by Guy Kawasaki - not great but good. It is full of interesting ideas (some controversial) on how to market and get ahead of your competition. Much of the book contains things you already likely know such as being customer focussed and creating evangelists for your products but it is well presented and is a quick, worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Provocative Book, April 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Book was very provocative and gave some good ideas that were outside the box. Great for entrepreneurs. Would definitely recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How to Drive Your Competition Crazy: Creating Disruption for Fun and Profit
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.