Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: How to Fail: The Self-Hurt Guide
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Melvins Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 28, 2015
I gave this book a four star rating because I love sarcasm and it's a good lazy read. Though I feel dirt had too many characters.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2015
Couldn't put it down. Self deprecating humor with sincerity. An oblique commentary on modern life. Made me think about my own life. Looking forward to reading more from him.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2015
ok
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2014
Overall this was a good book. It had a nice voice to it that helps add to the humor. I only say 4 stars though because there were a few parts that were pretty slow. With that being said, I still encourage everyone who likes a good laugh, and doesn't mind foul language and a decent amount of it, to read this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2014
I am still very undecided about this book, but have gone for a three star review. I found Stu to be incredibly annoying and not actually a failure. In order to fail, I have always assumed one first has to try, and our narrator never really did. He was an arrogant, self-obsessed __ (insert your word of choice here), who felt he was so wonderful and talented, life owed him greatness without him getting his backside off a bar stool for five minutes to actually attempt to achieve it. The title should have been "How to be a total waste of space".

Having said that, putting aside my dislike of the character, I could actually find some parts of this book amusing. I thought the self help format was a clever medium and was quite well executed from a writing point of view, although the kindle format, layout, links etc seemed to fall short. The humorous rantings were sometimes a little overdone, but I did enjoy the cast of characters that were developed throughout. Many of his dislikes seemed to stem from petulance and jealousy, but what can one expect from someone who refuses to advance from a mental age of fourteen? Same with the use of coarse and vulgar language. They may offend some, but to me, they were to be expected from juvenile and puerile Stu.

I think Aaron Goldfarb is a talented writer, but I'd like to see his skills put to better use.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2014
Started out great. 1st third was hilarious then it descended into pornography, why I don't know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2014
A couple of chapters in, I wanted to delete this book and wish its snarky doofus of a narrator an unfond farewell. But I'm glad I didn't. Dig a little farther, and I found that under the protagonist's self-absorbed slacker exterior is (spoiler?) a real, complex human being who is trying his best to fit in with society's expectations of what he should be, despite being unsuited at it. The earlier difficulties are born of frustration at being a square peg in a round-(a-)holed world, and with his dawning realization of that comes hope and growth, and begins to turn all of his failures into hidden successes.

Also, even in his worst moments, he's funny as heck. This book is worth your time - just persevere through the first part.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2014
I was expecting a satirical How to book, but instead got a good comedy. Would recommend to people who want a light and fun read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2014
this book is for people who buy 'self help' books over and over and then do nothing with them. i enjoyed his cander and 'this is what i did go the other way' type style
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2014
It was not a good book.
I was a little bit desapointed.
Maybe i will give it a second look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse