Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime, No Punishment
The author of Generation Kill and American Desperado delivers a tour-de-force of investigative journalism detailing the tangled web that connects those who break laws with those who enforce them. What begins as an investigation into a decades-old mob hit in Cocaine-Cowboy-era Miami and a portrait of your typical Scarface-type drug baron - the fascinatingly unhinged Albert...
Published on July 2, 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very boring
Just a list of bad people who wind up dead. I read only half of the book and put it down.
Published 17 months ago by roy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime, No Punishment, July 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Get Away with Murder in America: Drug Lords, Dirty Pols, Obsessed Cops, and the Quiet Man Who Became the CIA's Master Killer (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
The author of Generation Kill and American Desperado delivers a tour-de-force of investigative journalism detailing the tangled web that connects those who break laws with those who enforce them. What begins as an investigation into a decades-old mob hit in Cocaine-Cowboy-era Miami and a portrait of your typical Scarface-type drug baron - the fascinatingly unhinged Albert San Pedro - quickly turns into a takedown of the CIA, federal and state officials, and even the infamous private security contractor Blackwater. Lurking in the shadows behind it all is Ricky Prado, a childhood friend turned enforcer in Albert San Pedro's drug empire who somehow ended up in the ranks of the CIA while maintaining his underworld connections. Wright follows Prado's trail from his apparent involvement in the Bay of Pigs to the post-9/11 era and his time working in the upper echelon of Blackwater, all while committing murders and other atrocities for both his criminal associates and the United States government - avoiding prosecution all the while. This brilliantly put together piece shows that all it takes to get away with murder in America is to kill for the right people. Reading it will change everything you think you know about the relationship between law enforcement and organized crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth is stranger than fiction, July 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Get Away with Murder in America: Drug Lords, Dirty Pols, Obsessed Cops, and the Quiet Man Who Became the CIA's Master Killer (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Wow this really reads like a fast paced crime thriller but at the same time seems to be very well documented. Even Wright and his publisher appear to be unconcerned about defamation lawsuits so I'm guessing they really did their homework. The CIA was probable able to make very good use of a drug gangster sociopath during the Iran-Contra program and a brutal homicidal thug would have been very handy to have around when VP Cheney and Coffer Black decided to "take the gloves off" for the GWOT. Sadly for America's reputation the end always seems to justify the means. Too bad there will never be any investigations to back up Even Wright's claims as official Obama Administration policy for these types of matters is to always look forward never backward and unofficial MSM policy is to avoid digging into government secretes that have not been leaked and approved by official sources. Even as I write this review this story is already half way down the memory hole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Read, June 30, 2012
By 
Athena (California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Get Away with Murder in America: Drug Lords, Dirty Pols, Obsessed Cops, and the Quiet Man Who Became the CIA's Master Killer (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Downloaded after I saw the Tweets about it. I expected to read this over the next week. Devoured it all in one sitting. The Tweet I saw linked to a London news article saying Wright "claimed" a CIA agent is a killer. He makes no such claims. Instead, he presents compelling evidence from a variety of sources--including FBI reports--that build this case. It's an unbelievable read, a murder mystery that turns into a story about the CIA and Blackwater. Like other reviewers said, this reads like a thriller. I think my favorite part is the hero of the piece, the Jewish Miami Police detective "with Irish cop's blood." I've read Wright's other reporting, and thank God he can bring a sense of humor to his subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, June 27, 2012
This review is from: How to Get Away with Murder in America: Drug Lords, Dirty Pols, Obsessed Cops, and the Quiet Man Who Became the CIA's Master Killer (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A read that will shock you on many levels. The story itself-a drug lord recruited by the CIA, criminal-including murder-investigations purposefully ignored, politicians giving favors to criminals to gain or retain office. The fact that one operative had is shocking-he was possibly tied to the government failing to stop 9/11 and the new era of hiring mercenaries (like Blackwater) to fight our wars for us. It's shocking also how well-reported a piece of writing this seems, how thorough, and yet Wright does a fabulous job of making it nonetheless easy to follow. If I lived in Miami, especially, I'd be incensed, reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read of the summer: "Cocaine Cowboys meets BlackWater", July 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Get Away with Murder in America: Drug Lords, Dirty Pols, Obsessed Cops, and the Quiet Man Who Became the CIA's Master Killer (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This was the read of the summer for me. It kind of connects where the documentary "Cocaine Cowboys" stops. It is a true page-turner and I finished it in about three evenings. Highly recommended for a long flight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miami Mayhem, June 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Get Away with Murder in America: Drug Lords, Dirty Pols, Obsessed Cops, and the Quiet Man Who Became the CIA's Master Killer (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Cross Al Pacino's Scarface with a Robert Ludlum novel and you still wouldn't have a story as jaw-dropping as this. Wright's tale of the alleged Miami underworld hit man who infiltrated the highest levels of the CIA is a phenomenal piece of reporting and storytelling, featuring characters as diverse as Cofer Black, Janet Reno, former Bay of Pigs guerrillas, and Meyer Lansky's stepson. This is an explosive story that names names and uncovers lots of government hijinks. You'll swear you're reading a novel, but, sadly and shockingly, it's all true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I nominate this story for a Pulitzer, June 27, 2012
This review is from: How to Get Away with Murder in America: Drug Lords, Dirty Pols, Obsessed Cops, and the Quiet Man Who Became the CIA's Master Killer (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
If there's any justice, Evan Wright's How to Get Away with Murder in America will launch congressional investigations, throw corrupt politicians out of office, and win him a Pulitzer Prize (and a safe house where he can hide from the CIA AND Miami drug kingpins). His story reads like a tragicomic movie written by the Coen brothers--but it happens to be true! A hit man for a Miami drug dealer rises to the top levels of the CIA! You've got to be kidding, right? Wright's not joking, however--or if he is, the joke's on all of us. This is a fantastically well-reported piece that will leave a reader as paranoid as the unfortunate citizen of some two-bit dictatorship. Only this story takes place in America where we're not supposed to feel that way.
Time to give Evan Wright a prize--and a bullet-proof vest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very boring, January 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Get Away with Murder in America: Drug Lords, Dirty Pols, Obsessed Cops, and the Quiet Man Who Became the CIA's Master Killer (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Just a list of bad people who wind up dead. I read only half of the book and put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Terrific Read, August 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Get Away with Murder in America: Drug Lords, Dirty Pols, Obsessed Cops, and the Quiet Man Who Became the CIA's Master Killer (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
The research the author did is staggering - the process must have been dangerous. This is the kind of story that MUST get out and MUST be talked about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only in America, December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Get Away with Murder in America: Drug Lords, Dirty Pols, Obsessed Cops, and the Quiet Man Who Became the CIA's Master Killer (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Great book i would recommend it to all my friends. After i read this I came away thinking what else has the CIA done that we don't know about? More congressional oversight is needed to approve kill or capture operations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.