Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great For Profiting From This Major Marketing Industry!
     Trade shows operating in major cities across America and around the world offer companies of all sizes and representing a variety of industries the opportunity to present their latest products and services to each other, to other business people of a broad spectrum of professions, and sometimes to the general public. Steve Miller has written this truly outstanding...
Published on February 9, 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars There are better books on the topic!
After reading this book over the course of a week, I realized that many of the other books I've read on the topic of trade shows including Trade Show in a Day: Get It Done Right, Get It Done Fast! are much better than this book. Even the section on marketing included in One Simple Idea for Startups and Entrepreneurs: Live Your Dreams and Create Your Own Profitable...
Published 20 months ago by Monica Main


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great For Profiting From This Major Marketing Industry!, February 9, 1999
By A Customer
     Trade shows operating in major cities across America and around the world offer companies of all sizes and representing a variety of industries the opportunity to present their latest products and services to each other, to other business people of a broad spectrum of professions, and sometimes to the general public. Steve Miller has written this truly outstanding book to give his readers inside information on how they can make the most of these special high-profile marketing events!      Everything is included in this book from planning ahead of time, floor plan booth location selection, building and shipping displays, coordinating with trade show officials, establishing contacts with potential customers and inviting them to visit booths, setting up meetings, using effective promotional tools and strategies, how to present ones' self at booths during shows, and post-show follow-up.      One of the more important aspects of operating booths at trade shows that is often overlooked is personal preparation. Good personal hygiene, including being well groomed, avoiding certain foods, refraining from alcohol use, getting plenty of rest, wearing clean clothing, and having fresh breath are musts! I've attended many shows and have often found people ill-prepared to present themselves effectively in public because they failed to care for their own personal matters beforehand. Miller offers sound advice all of us should learn from!      One of the major strengths of the book is its readability. This is a concise guide that is packed with gold nuggets of information that can be easily read and understood. Format, layout, and print are clean. Anyone will be able to pick it up, read it, and run a successful booth exhibit. Business consultants will also find this book to be a powerful and profitable tool for conducting business. Give your performance a boost today! This is must reading for anyone considering setting up a booth at a trade show or wanting to profit from this major marketing industry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Crash Course in Trade Shows, March 23, 2000
By A Customer
One of my company's business managers decided he would like to make the leap from attending a trade show to exhibiting at one, so we signed up for a booth and received the standard three-ring binder of information and forms. One trip through that book was enough to convince us that we needed to know *a lot* more about trade shows -- and fast. I ordered this book based on another reader review of it that is posted here. The book is well-written, concise, and covers every aspect of trade shows from what equipment you really need to how to read the body language of attendees. It's an excellent analysis of the marketing strategy you should apply to trade show attendance, and covers in detail what to do before the show, at the show and after the show. In short, it's just what we needed: a "crash course" in trade shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fudamental ideas about how to work a successful show, September 3, 2000
By 
Meltse (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
I recommend this book to everyone who has to participate in a tradeshow (planning and boothmanship). Most exhibitors fall down in maximizing trade fair effectiveness. That leaves the door wide open for the company that is prepared to do the shows right and who recognizes its importance in the marketing plan. Miller walks you through the most important ideas. If this all sounds common knowledge to you, be certain the ideas aren't common practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wealth of information, February 21, 2001
This review is from: How to Get the Most Out of Trade Shows (Paperback)
I have ordered several books in the trade show category and this was the only one that was really helpful. The others were thin and of a joke book nature. Regardless of your specific information needs, you will find it all here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best trade show book I have read, November 19, 2005
This review is from: How to Get the Most Out of Trade Shows (Paperback)
This book is concise and clear. It provides real advice for companies of any size- advice on how to generate more leads, in less time, from higher-quality trade show prospects.

If you are looking for a book that tells you how to design your trade show booth, this is not the right book for you. But if you are looking for a book that will help you and your sales team maximize your results, give Mr. Miller's book a shot.

We have been exhibiting at a particular industrly trade show for three years prior, but this year we followed much of the advice in this book. We had a GREAT show. I had ordered another trade show book on-line that was over four hundred pages long. That was four hundred pages too long - the other book was terrible!

This book is easy to read and the advice is practical. Measure your team's performance, watch your time with each booth visitor, qualify your leads ASAP, and remember- every trade show visitor is in a BUYING attitude! Have a great show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must for the tradeshow exhibitor, June 21, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Get the Most Out of Trade Shows (Paperback)
I can't think of any other book investment I made that has paid off as much as this book. This book has much information to turn the clueless into a master tradeshow exhibitor. It has clear instructions that are easy to follow with planning timelines, checklists, etc. As costs are climbing and competition increasing, it's very important to squeeze out as much juice from the tradeshow as possible. This book will definitely give you an edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MADE ME THINK AND SAVED US $$, March 1, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Get the Most Out of Trade Shows (Paperback)
I have been to so many trade shows (as an attendee) and I thought I knew what it took to have a successful booth; nevertheless I ordered this book for my husband since he is setting up his first trade show booth this month. It's a good thing I skimmed it and that he's reading it from cover to cover because it made us realize our whole strategy (since his product is rather specialized) was wrong. Ironically we will even save $ by using the author's more simplistic approach as well as properly training his staff members in advance with the marketing/sales advice given by this author. I'm very impressed with the author and grateful that others gave this a great review, which motivated me to buy this book first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars There are better books on the topic!, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Get the Most Out of Trade Shows (Paperback)
After reading this book over the course of a week, I realized that many of the other books I've read on the topic of trade shows including Trade Show in a Day: Get It Done Right, Get It Done Fast! are much better than this book. Even the section on marketing included in One Simple Idea for Startups and Entrepreneurs: Live Your Dreams and Create Your Own Profitable Company had more relevant info on trade show success than this book.

The only thing I really took away with this book was where to stand in your booth since other books really don't cover that. It's best to stand to the right and left of the booth (behind your table) rather than dead center. That makes sense.

However, other things about this book that bothered me was the part about marketing materials. I understand that most people will throw away literature that is shoved in their faces but you still have to have attention-getting proactive marketing materials to give away for those who WON'T throw away your stuff. Yet he never quite addresses this. He sort of suggests (but doesn't outright say it) that you shouldn't pass out any marketing materials at all. Really? Then why spend thousands renting a booth just to have an empty table with nothing for people to take away on it? That's dumb and not even something I'd consider. He basically states it costs money to have marketing materials so why waste them? If you can't afford flyers for your booth after shelling out FOR the booth then you don't belong there to begin with.

So what if people throw your marketing stuff away? Some won't. That's the point. It's just like with direct mail marketing. About 95% to 99% will throw away your direct mail piece. Between 1% and 5% will keep it, read it, then order through it. You have to have the marketing materials for that 1% to 5% otherwise you're wasting your time being at the event to begin with. You can't control who throws your stuff away but you CAN control having something to pass out to everyone for those who WANT the stuff and who will DO BUSINESS WITH YOU via remembering who you are later on through your marketing piece they took from your booth.

He doesn't really mention using other things that people WON'T throw away like pens, flash drives, etc. with your company logo and website on it. If you're so concerned with EVERYONE throwing EVERYTHING away then consider printing up pens. They are cheap yet high quality through companies online like Amsterdam and nobody throws a decent pen away. Again, this has a lot to do with the expected amount of traffic at your trade show and would be worthwhile at a smaller venue.

I do like how he talks about having enthusiasm for your product while knowing everything about it. Most booth staff look bored or miserable working a trade show booth and that's a big turn-off for potential prospects and clients coming to see what type of product or service you have. Enthusiasm should go without saying but with so many lazy lackluster employees these days, it is worth mentioning to business owners who decide it's not worth their time to work their show themselves (which is recommended) to at least have enthusiastic, excited staff working their booth. Enthusiasm alone is a huge way to suck people into your booth, even if your staff know next to nothing about your product. In fact, it's probably better to have a highly enthusiastic "actor" working your booth than a know-it-all about your product who has a scowl on his face the whole time.

I also like how the author uses (and recommends) direct mail to event attendees before the event starts and having a multi-step campaign prior to the show. Sometimes this isn't affordable if you're running a show that will attract 50,000 people. However, for smaller niche shows that expect anywhere from 1,000 to 5,000 attendees, it is definitely worth getting the listing of attendees and doing a multi-step mailing to urge these people to make appointments and see you at the show. Other books don't really touch on doing this. I don't know if I'd do a multi-step campaign because it's not entirely cost-effective but I would at least send one sales letter or oversized postcard out right before the event to make prospects aware that I have a booth at the show and maybe one more after the event.

One thing this book seems to lack about setting up your booth is recommending that the table be right in the front. I've been reading a lot on this subject and most other books either recommend having the table brought more into the booth, forcing people to walk INTO your booth area or not having a table front-row-center as an obstacle at all. This author seems to be a little Old School in that he's used to working shows from the 70s and 80s or something because the way the booth set-up is seems a little outdated. (He even talks about attendees dressing casually like that's some ridiculous, outrageous "how-dare-they" mind-blowing big deal. I started thinking...is this guy from the 60s where everyone attended an event in a 3-piece suit? Because a lot has changed in this day and age!)

The other thing that bothered me was that he didn't mention any type of step-by-step means of getting leads. He talks about GETTING leads but doesn't tell you HOW. So...you have a prospect standing before you and you're supposed to do...what exactly? How do you get his or her contact information for follow-up? And no, it's not as easy as asking either. People put up a wall when it comes to giving up their contact information so you have to have some kind of reason as to why you need their name, address, and/or phone number. Would this be for a free gift or sample? What's the REASON other than you pestering them to death with sales calls later that you'd be able to get this information from them? Yet this is never covered in the book. The "idea" of getting leads is covered. Great. But people coming up to your booth and throwing their business card at you without any reason is a pipe dream and I was really hoping this book would cover how to get these valuable leads from attendees at these types of trade show events.

You can get a few tips here and there from this book but take them with a grain of salt. There are definitely better books on the subject (recommended above) and you probably shouldn't waste your time with this one at all aside from the highlights I mentioned in this review.

Good luck with your trade show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great basic ideas for all size trade show displays, August 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Get the Most Out of Trade Shows (Paperback)
This is a great book to educate or reaffirm tested ideas to ensure trade show success. You can relate a lot of the ideas and examples back to your own scenario. I got a great deal of onfo out of this book and thoroughly recommend it to anyone who wants to make their next trade show a success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steve's wisdom and wit can help you create the ultimate trade show experience, February 2, 2008
By 
This review is from: How to Get the Most Out of Trade Shows (Paperback)
It is a great book for those who need guidance on how to get the most out of this marketing tactic. He provides practical advice, show examples, templates, etc. which helps an exhibitor understand what is needed for this face-to-face marketing experience.

And all of it is presented with his great humor! One must have humor to deal with all the bumps in the trade show road.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How to Get the Most Out of Trade Shows
How to Get the Most Out of Trade Shows by Steve Miller (Paperback - July 1, 2000)
$14.95 $11.22
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.