Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Investing small amounts is now much easier
I really love this book intensely. It is one of the very few books that does not presume that you have $1000 or $3000 just languishing your bank account waiting for something to do.

It gives hope for prosperity to those who are not earning six figure salaries. In a world where your future financial security is more and more up to you alone, this book offers...
Published on May 7, 2011 by Lucy W

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not what I expected
Instead of ideas and in depth knowledge, this book is an overview of all different types of typical investments. I do think this is a useful overview but not as interesting as I wanted it to be.
Published on December 21, 2011 by A. Lamb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Investing small amounts is now much easier, May 7, 2011
By 
Lucy W (St. Louis, MO United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really love this book intensely. It is one of the very few books that does not presume that you have $1000 or $3000 just languishing your bank account waiting for something to do.

It gives hope for prosperity to those who are not earning six figure salaries. In a world where your future financial security is more and more up to you alone, this book offers invaluable information and advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first investment book, February 20, 2014
By 
Yahtzee! (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Invest $50-$5,000 10e: The Small Investor's Step-by-Step Plan for Low-Risk Investing in Today's Economy (How to Invest $50 to $5000) (Paperback)
In 1988 I bought the first ed of this book and devoured it.
I was 22 then and managed to save sporadically.
As I've always earned pretty well, I go through spurts of earning a great wage, and saving what I can, to dry spells of not working for 6 months to a year and living off my savings...

Recently, I picked up the newer edition of this book and was quite pleased with the edition changes--lots more info for the modern economic climate, very well laid out, and easy to pick up and read as much as you want (even a page or two, to answer a question) and then set it down.

I wish I had been more diligent in my 20s about investing, and reinvesting my money, but you can't have it all...this is a great book for anyone looking to get started with their first few bucks they manage to scrape together. My advice: Keep at it! Don't let school or joblessness stop you from scraping together what you can and building on your retirement nest egg!!!

Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very pleased, July 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Invest $50-$5,000 10e: The Small Investor's Step-by-Step Plan for Low-Risk Investing in Today's Economy (How to Invest $50 to $5000) (Paperback)
this book is very easy to read and understand. it has a lot of helpful information from the start of the book and explains everything in a way anyone can understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent beginners guide to investing, April 27, 2013
This review is from: How to Invest $50-$5,000 10e: The Small Investor's Step-by-Step Plan for Low-Risk Investing in Today's Economy (How to Invest $50 to $5000) (Paperback)
Really well written, brief, to-the-point yet thorough look at how to invest your money in stages. It gives helpful tips, traps to avoid, and general places to start (for example, index funds over actively managed funds). Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never Owned it, January 17, 2010
This review is from: How to Invest $50-$5,000 10e: The Small Investor's Step-by-Step Plan for Low-Risk Investing in Today's Economy (How to Invest $50 to $5000) (Paperback)
It's kinda funny, I've never owned this book, Nor have I ever read it from cover to cover. But I think I have read ever bit of it over the course of several years (visits to various brick and mortar bookstores.)

It's a very good book. They miss a couple of things.

I know ingdirect offers a weekly deposit into their accounts. No matter what you can afford $.01 to $xxxxxx.xx you can have ing move the money from your checking account straight into one of their savings accounts. I'm sure other companies offer a similar feature, please include a list in the next edition. What could be better than $5 (say) taken out of your checking account each week and deposited into a savings account. Once you've set this up, it's amazing how fast it grows. Soon you'll be increasing it to $10, $20, etc. (what's $5 a latte? one lunch made at home instead of bought at a restaurant? You will not miss it in a month or two.)

I wish they had a section on how to get the $50. (the above paragraph is a starting point)

I wish they included all of the mutual funds that are available for an initial buy-in of $250 or $500, not just a select few.

I wish they would explain Dividend Reinvestment in a different mutual fund. Say $500, invested in two different mutual funds in the same family (one a stock fund, the other a bond fund), $250 each. But the dividend from the bond fund diverted to buy the stock fund each month. While your monthly (hopefully) investment is sent to the bond fund each time. So the monthly dividend that buys the stock fund grows each month.

**********

I need to amend this review, I own the 2010 version, just acquired it. Felt bad reviewing it without owning it. This book would be an excellent text book for a High School Finance class. I wish a state would require a semester of Finance for every student. Once the state had run it for 5-6 years than the effects could be evaluated and hopefully they would be positive and more states would adopt such a class. How does the average high school graduate learn about a mutual fund? Hell, any person?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, January 3, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Invest $50-$5,000 10e: The Small Investor's Step-by-Step Plan for Low-Risk Investing in Today's Economy (How to Invest $50 to $5000) (Paperback)
I wish I had read this book ten years ago. I would recommend parents to buy their teenagers this book instead of smartphones ipads ipods. it is sad that young people in the USA want only the 'get rich quick' schemes and they don't realize that money is made gradually and this books tells you how. i really wish I read this 10 years ago!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars serendipity, June 29, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read this book after my mom strongly recommended it to me. For the price and advice, it was/is an
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Primer Lacking in Details, June 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Invest $50-$5,000 10e: The Small Investor's Step-by-Step Plan for Low-Risk Investing in Today's Economy (How to Invest $50 to $5000) (Paperback)
This book is clear, concise, and convey's exactly what the title says it will: how one can invest nearly any amount of money. Dunnan is careful to refrain from judgement and does not push the typical "work harder because you're lazy if you don't have $100,000 in retirement saving by 30" bit that typically accompanies investment and personal finance books aimed at low income earners (which feels a bit better, especially if you have debt, people who depend on you,and are generally motivated by other things besides money in life.)

However, the book lacks in other areas. For starters, some of the numbers presented appear to be outdated. Being published in late 2009, I'm reasonably certain these numbers are in fact not updated from the 2006 edition. Second, much of the advise in the book on where to receive information is targeted at older readers, as it often references how to locate numbers in a newspaper, or suggests buying fairly expensive subscriptions when much of information is available online for free. Finally, some of advise given when it gets into larger amounts of money seems highly suspicious, such as trying to time markets and bubbles.

On the whole, if you are looking for an introduction into different low risk investment vehicles this book provides a solid primer on what they are and the risks that accompany them. However, one should probably buy an actual investment strategy guide if they are looking for more specific investment advise on how to use these vehicles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for newbies!, May 1, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Invest $50-$5,000 10e: The Small Investor's Step-by-Step Plan for Low-Risk Investing in Today's Economy (How to Invest $50 to $5000) (Paperback)
This book is great for new investors, especially younger people with their first extra cash to decide what to do with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginers, April 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Invest $50-$5,000 10e: The Small Investor's Step-by-Step Plan for Low-Risk Investing in Today's Economy (How to Invest $50 to $5000) (Paperback)
This book is written in a way that makes it very easy for people to understand. Excellent for people looking to educate themselves who have little or know understanding of how to get started investing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.