Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's great to finally read the TRUTH about President Bush.
I really enjoyed this book. I always believed the liberal media and liberal comedians were constantly bashing Bush for political reasons. I didn't agree with everything President Bush did but I knew he wasn't the devil the media made him out to be. If you started to turn on the President because of all the hate being spewed by the media then you owe it to yourself to...
Published on December 9, 2009 by Tim Black

versus
30 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad title
The thesis of the book is correct (Bush was made out to be worse than he was, to a greater degree than previous Presidents were made out to be worse than they were).

However, the author should not have validated the left's sneaky trick of using the word "swiftboating" to denote a form of lying, because the ACTUAL Swift Boat crews who criticized John Kerry were,...
Published on December 11, 2009 by Joseph L. Shipman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's great to finally read the TRUTH about President Bush., December 9, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How the Left Swiftboated America: The Liberal Media Conspiracy to Make You Think George Bush Was the Worst President in History (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book. I always believed the liberal media and liberal comedians were constantly bashing Bush for political reasons. I didn't agree with everything President Bush did but I knew he wasn't the devil the media made him out to be. If you started to turn on the President because of all the hate being spewed by the media then you owe it to yourself to read this book so your final judgement of the President is based on the truth and not the liberal media hate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad title, December 11, 2009
This review is from: How the Left Swiftboated America: The Liberal Media Conspiracy to Make You Think George Bush Was the Worst President in History (Hardcover)
The thesis of the book is correct (Bush was made out to be worse than he was, to a greater degree than previous Presidents were made out to be worse than they were).

However, the author should not have validated the left's sneaky trick of using the word "swiftboating" to denote a form of lying, because the ACTUAL Swift Boat crews who criticized John Kerry were, in very large part, factually correct in their accusations. Their major criticisms of Kerry were completely unrefuted, and only trivial errors have been truly demonstrated (almost all the supposed errors found in the book involved misrepresentations of what the book actually said).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars For that conservative victim feeling..., December 8, 2013
Its telling how short the positive reviews are, basically these can be summarized as "Love it, it makes me feel good about how I see the world.
The negative reviews are mainly focussed on debunking the points made in the book as not factual.
I challenge people who like this book to check into some of the information inside before adding their review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE TRUE WINGNUT, December 10, 2009
By 
W. J Yates "j-b1" (Oklahoma City, OK USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How the Left Swiftboated America: The Liberal Media Conspiracy to Make You Think George Bush Was the Worst President in History (Hardcover)
Any rational or reasonable person who doesn't see that the MSM is highly slanted to the left is decidedly naive, a TRUE WINGNUT or criminally bigoted. This is the same crowd which worships hourly at the Obama altar of "social justice" (communist lite perhaps), a modern day Robin Hood, the most inexperienced President in our modern history, the leader of the fringe (lunatic) left and one who seldom misses an opportunity to trash our country in foreign settings. Am I impressed? You bet!

Of course FOX by pointing these things out, may be guilty of sedition in the view of said wingnuts.

I had any number of problems with Bush but tortue, spying on the citizenry, war mongering, no WMD in Iraq, and destruction of our economy weren't among them. These issues were all pablum for the progressive fringe: arrogant, bigoted and intolerant.

We will see how it all works out over time but God spare me from those bearing gifts, liberal revolutionary wingnuts volunteering to think for me, and from the leftist Messiah. Throw the bum out and ASAP!

So did the lefty media hammer Bush? OF COURSE! A blind person could easily see that. The only question is how well Gibson demonstrates it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pamphlet, December 7, 2011
By 
I had the opportunity to read this book at a friend's house. Reading it shouldn't take you more than a couple hours, as it has no substance.
The ideological nature of this book should be evident in that the author considers "Democrats" and "Left" as synonyms.
Then there's the whole initial argument that Bush wasn't dumb because either him or Cheney decided that one of them would "move" (for electoral purposes) out of Texas as the Electoral College wouldn't award them electors had they been from the same state (this doesn't prove that either candidate was smart or dumb, just that their lawyers knew their stuff, as you should expect).
The author then launches on a misconstruction of the 2000 presidential election in Florida, arguing that Al Gore took the case to the Supreme Court because he lost the Electoral College but won the popular vote for almost half a million votes. This is substantially incorrect, as it was the Bush team that requested the Supreme Court to stop the recount. If you were to believe what the book says, Gore went to the Supreme Court to question the current electoral system as unjust. This is not at all what happened.
From then on the book gets worse. Take your pick, Iraq, Katrina, the economy, etc. everything is recounted in an alternate history version where the facts become irrelevant. What's worse, all these facts are easy to check.
Finally, I find ironic that a conservative uses the term "swiftboat" to refer to what used to be calling "mudslinging" (I guess) being that the term was coined when a conservative activist tried to denigrate John Kerry service as a swift boat commander. From the use of the term one would guess that there was no essence to the claims against Kerry, or so does the author of this pamphlet implied in choosing this revealing title.
I thought this book would give me some insight into the roots of the current political situation, but that's not the author's goal. If you believe that Fox News is the only reliable news source you may like parts of this book, otherwise try and find a book more in touch with reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Idiotic simpleminded drivel, January 30, 2014
John Gibson has figured out a way to make money off people who can't think for themselves, but this book is of an even lower quality than most of his efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Left-Wing Media Bias Exists!!!!, January 6, 2010
This review is from: How the Left Swiftboated America: The Liberal Media Conspiracy to Make You Think George Bush Was the Worst President in History (Hardcover)
Telling it like it is. Way to go Mr. Gibson. Read the book and loved it. Most lefties will read the book flap, let their twisted world-view muddle their thought process, and cause them to spew hate-filled paroxisms at people who just want to state facts. Anything done behind closed doors will not stay behind closed doors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK!, May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
GOTTA START WITH.GOD BLESS JOHN GIBSON! HE EXPOSES ALL THE LIES & SMEARS THE LEFT DID TO PRES. GEORGE W. BUSH. I THINK HE WAS AN AWESOME PRES. I HOPE EVERYONE READS IT & COMES TO KNOW THAT BUSH WAS NOTHING LIKE THE GUY THE MEDIA CHARACTERIZED HIM AS! JUST AWESOME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting with one caveat, January 13, 2010
This review is from: How the Left Swiftboated America: The Liberal Media Conspiracy to Make You Think George Bush Was the Worst President in History (Hardcover)
For once it would be refreshing to see something other than "homer posturing." It's obvious, if your a liberal you're going to slam the right and anyone associated to it and vice versa if your a conservative. "Don't tell me the facts, my mind is made up" is the battle cry for the flag waving crowd. It mine as well be something like the Red Sox verses the Yankees. We see what we want to see, and that's a difficult thing to overcome. We're all biased. If your a thinking human you can't help but be. The only chance we have to temper this highly charged emotional heat seeking missle is to remain as objective as possible. Seek the facts, not just those that support your position but all the facts. If you do, you will find that the extremes fall away...Bush was not bad all the time nor was he a gift to the office. It's a sliding scale in terms of the big picture. Bush was successful in some areas and not so in others. Look at Jimmy Carter, he was an abyssmal failure in handling our economic policy and amongst the worst ever. We all pretend to know leader A or B's intentions...Obama is a socialist, Bush and Cheney were rich bad boys. Obama's decisions reflect a socialist agenda. Does this make him a socialist? Yes and no. To what degree does he support this ideology. Only time will tell. If you support socialism, he's your guy. If not then he's possibly your worst nightmare. This doesn't make Obama good or bad personally. In fact he most likely means well and loves his cause. I can hate his cause and not have to attack him personally. This is why when people like Rush Limbaugh say, "He wants the President (his policies - I listened to the whole speech) to fail, then I as a person who disagrees with a socialist policy also want the President to fail. Notice I didn't attack the President personally. The media however does have a bias, without question. Talk radio is right and TV is left. It's also about niche marketing, but that's another story. Hey, the point is, let go of the vitriol, it weakens your argument. Politics like religion isn't going to be unnanimous in agreement. We should celebrate our differences and come to the table and share our ideas, using that which is useful and discarding the rest. I thinks you'll find as with most things the truth lies somewhere in the middle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A review from somebody who actually read the book., October 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought the book after seeing so many bad reviews by leftists who had obviously never read the book and who have no intention of ever doing so because it might make them think. Don't bother reading the one star reviews as they are just leftist ranters.

This book examines how the political left deliberately and viciously set out to destroy the presidency of George W. Bush. It details many of the myths started by the propaganda machine of the left and explains why they were mostly wrong. It follows, at length, several "reporters" ranting and raving about how President Bush was the cause of all of the evils faced by this nation and, indeed, the whole world. It showed how the media bias went from a slant to outright hypocrisy and even treason.

The book covers, in depth, the election victory and the bogus court cases started by Al Gore, the Valerie Plame affair, the distortion of and outright invention of statistics in the Iraq and Afghanistan wars, the myth about torture and the general leftist machine that was set up to bring the conservative movement down.

I was going to give it four stars because, while good and well researched, it did not have too much that was new for me. I had already thought that many on the left would be thoroughly disappointed when President Bush left office but somehow the world still had problems. I decided on five stars as the main value of the book is to show just how low the left will sink to achieve its goals.

If you are a committed leftist, don't bother. You wouldn't recognise the truth if it hit you over the head with a hammer.

If you started out neutral toward the Bush Presidency and ended up not liking him or even hating him you should try reading this book. I didn't really like President Bush but I did respect him as a good and decent man and I recognised the symptoms of Bush Derangement Syndrome long before it had a name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.