Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid facts on Lowering our Cholesterol
Indeed I found this book truly helpful, well-researched and informative. The author, Christine Levy critically and creatively wrote the essential facts about cholesterol and the effective ways to lower the bad cholesterol as well as how to raise the good cholesterol. I specifically like the way she presented the difference between HDL and LDL cholesterol as the "good...
Published on October 5, 2012 by Lexa Lim

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bits of good info, with lots of outdated stuff
Overall this has some decent bits on food and exercise. Sadly, it's rather outdated on terminology. Such as, LDL being bad cholesterol. LDL is not bad cholesterol, it's not even cholesterol. It's also not an evil toxin, but does some important things like protect us from bacteria/toxins. There are also several different size LDL's, some being worse than other.
The...
Published on October 15, 2012 by j-fit


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid facts on Lowering our Cholesterol, October 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Lower Your Cholesterol - Effective Ways To Lower Your Cholesterol Naturally. (Kindle Edition)
Indeed I found this book truly helpful, well-researched and informative. The author, Christine Levy critically and creatively wrote the essential facts about cholesterol and the effective ways to lower the bad cholesterol as well as how to raise the good cholesterol. I specifically like the way she presented the difference between HDL and LDL cholesterol as the "good twin" and the "evil twin" respectively. The explanation was very easy to understand. She efficiently presented the five steps to dealing with cholesterol by being straightforward and assertive about it. I also knew from this book an interesting fact about raising our HDL level through intake of cocoa powder and the greater antioxidant effects of dark chocolate over milk chocolate. This book definitely fed my brain with scientific facts and practical ways of lowering bad cholesterol. Being greatly at risk for heart disease, I really found the contents helpful to my health. I highly recommend this book. It was worth spending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full of information and straight to the point, October 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Lower Your Cholesterol - Effective Ways To Lower Your Cholesterol Naturally. (Kindle Edition)
If you are looking for a book that will help you understand exactly what cholesterol is and what you can do to keep it under control then there is no need for you to look any further. This book will provide you with a clear understanding of what LDL and HDL cholesterol are and what effects they have on the body. But what stood out to me is the list of specific food items that will improve your good and bad cholesterol levels and how they do so. In addition to healthy eating and regular exercise it will provide you with a list of popular medications and how they work to balance you cholesterol levels. This book will leave no question unanswered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bits of good info, with lots of outdated stuff, October 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Lower Your Cholesterol - Effective Ways To Lower Your Cholesterol Naturally. (Kindle Edition)
Overall this has some decent bits on food and exercise. Sadly, it's rather outdated on terminology. Such as, LDL being bad cholesterol. LDL is not bad cholesterol, it's not even cholesterol. It's also not an evil toxin, but does some important things like protect us from bacteria/toxins. There are also several different size LDL's, some being worse than other.
The section on diet is ok, but like most stuff out there is wrong in its persecution of meat/eggs because they contain cholesterol. Numerous studies show that eating dietary cholesterol does not raise serum levels. And while yes, some meats can raise total cholesterol, it's usually because they raise HDL, thus increasing total levels, so it becomes a wash.
I could go on, but overall, this is just another book of the same old mantra we've been told for years. If you want to get a better idea of this subject, first start with Taubes' "Good Calories, Bad Calories", it's a long read, but a fantastic starting point, really should be mandatory reading for anyone entering the health field. You can also check out books by Ravnskov and others, such as "The Great Cholesterol Con", or "How to Ignore the Awkward"... Dr. Jonny Bowden just released a book on the subject, "The Great Cholesterol Myth", I've yet to read it, but he's a go-to source on health and nutrition. There's also a Facebook fan page wwwDotFacebookDOTcom/SFACholesterol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written & easy to understand!, October 10, 2012
This review is from: How To Lower Your Cholesterol - Effective Ways To Lower Your Cholesterol Naturally. (Kindle Edition)
What I like about this book is that goes into how high cholesterol can be improved in a natural way. Doctors normally approach high cholesterol from a medical point of view instead of focusing more on healthy diets and healthy living, as you can read more about in this very informative and well-written book.

After reading the book I felt like I got some sort of blueprint for a healthy lifestyle that reduces cholesterol naturally. You will also learn the most effective exercises that can help lower your cholesterol levels. I am really glad I read this book, by following the advice outlined in the book, I am strongly convinced I will see some great result soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A general guide, February 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Lower Your Cholesterol - Effective Ways To Lower Your Cholesterol Naturally. (Kindle Edition)
This book is a good general guide on how to lower your cholesterol, but please
discuss this book and your concerns with your doctor first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How to Lower Cholesterol Naturally, February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Lower Your Cholesterol - Effective Ways To Lower Your Cholesterol Naturally. (Kindle Edition)
Christine Levy has a good way to remember the difference between HDL and LDL cholesterol. She also explains how cholesterol is part of every cell in your body. I did like that she says chocolate can increase HDL levels in the blood. I was however surprised that she would recommend margarine? Also cooking with olive oil might not be such a good idea after all. She also says that wine is good for you when many people now believe it increases cancer risk. Eggs are also not as bad as formerly thought. So this book has some old and new ideas. If you read a lot of health books you will be able to pick out the fact from fiction. Otherwise some good ideas.

~The Rebecca Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book with very helpful information, October 4, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Lower Your Cholesterol - Effective Ways To Lower Your Cholesterol Naturally. (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this e-book for my sister-in-law, because she and her husband have been diagnosed as having high cholesterol. I figured that this would be a good gift idea for the two of them. I decided that before I would give it to them, I would first read it for myself. I loved how in depth Christine Levy was with her instructions. I also love that this offers non-medicinal ways to lower cholesterol. I like that she gave options of different tricks that people can try as a means to naturally lower cholesterol levels.

I am actually buying a second copy of this for me to keep in the very near future, because it would always be good to work on preventing myself from having to deal with cholesterol problems in the future. I suggest that everyone reads this book, because even if you do not have cholesterol problems right now, you never know for sure what the future has in store for you. It is a good way to work at preventing there from being any issues in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Ideas, September 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Lower Your Cholesterol - Effective Ways To Lower Your Cholesterol Naturally. (Kindle Edition)
No matter who you are or what state your health is in right now, this book shows you ways that you can effectively lower your cholesterol - naturally. I was really surprised by the straightfoward and easy-to-comprehend language of this book, and the suggestions for lowering one's cholesterol that are easy to employ in your life.

Cholesterol is one of the biggest biological markers of the possibility of developing heart disease. This book is a wonderful guide to lowering your numbers without resorting to pharmaceutical remedies -or to use in conjunction with pharmaceuticals in order to see a change for the good.

Lots of sound info here. This book is spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars disproven "theory" of health impact from meats and eggs., September 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Lower Your Cholesterol - Effective Ways To Lower Your Cholesterol Naturally. (Kindle Edition)
Consuming cholesterol alone does not lead to unhealthy levels of LDL as shown in current, valid studies. Dated nutrional impact information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Winner, November 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Lower Your Cholesterol - Effective Ways To Lower Your Cholesterol Naturally. (Kindle Edition)
This little book is easy to read and full of easy-to-follow ideas. I'm looking forward to trying many of the author's suggestions, including snacking on a small portion of beans versus sweets, in the hopes of getting off cholesterol medication in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.