Customer Reviews


437 Reviews
5 star:
 (258)
4 star:
 (103)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be required watching for all Americans
This was an incredibly powerful film showing how the drug war has failed on every level and what it costs our country. If more people knew how much money, time, and energy, and how many lives, here and in other countries, are wasted every day, I believe Congress would be flooded with mail, e- and snail, demanding that we end it now, today. The money that is wasted, and...
Published 10 months ago by Sarah Keller

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It was sorta okay. An interesting look at the ...
It was sorta okay. An interesting look at the industry, not exactly informative in any practical sense, but then what can you honestly expect. It's amusing as it is presented as if it is a career path. How to start at the bottom selling marijuana to a few friends at school, climbing the corporate ladder until you reach being at the top of an international drug cartel.
Published 6 months ago by ChuckH


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be required watching for all Americans, March 16, 2014
This was an incredibly powerful film showing how the drug war has failed on every level and what it costs our country. If more people knew how much money, time, and energy, and how many lives, here and in other countries, are wasted every day, I believe Congress would be flooded with mail, e- and snail, demanding that we end it now, today. The money that is wasted, and the money that could be raised by taxing drugs instead, could fund every liberal project there is, and still leave room for a conservative tax cut. And that doesn't even take into consideration the manpower that could be funneled into fixing, or at least working on, some of the other problems we have.

I love America, and am proud to be a citizen. I feel it is my duty as a citizen to speak up when I think we are messing up, or when I think we could be doing better, and this is one of those things. Let's stop the waste of this "War on Drugs" and use those resources in better ways. There would be enough for a lot of us to suggest what those better ways are! Please, watch this film, and encourage your friends and family to watch as well. Thanks and kudos to the director and all the people who took part in making this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drug War, Cancer War.... it's all the same & about the Money, July 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Make Money Selling Drugs (Amazon Instant Video)
Fantastic documentary.

As a doc film maker documenting the corruption and insanity of the War On Cancer--this film on the war on drugs is a masterpiece. Many doc directors have tried to make a "war on drugs" doc - but this is the only doc that actually accomplished its goals--in my opinion. "America" is not even close to being "free" - instead the government pretends to wear the badge of freedom while promoting and profiting from you doing "illegal" drugs as well as "legal drugs"--she tells you not to do them, and then hypocritically tells you to do them and promotes and profits from you doing so, whether from legally selling them to you, or profiting from you being jailed for them. America loves drugs, and loves drug money--and she should just come to terms with it and legalize them all as she's done alcohol, tobacco, and pharmaceuticals--instead of lying to itself and its people in the name of profit and control. Buy hey, profiting and controlling at any cost is the American way, right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great message, August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Make Money Selling Drugs (Amazon Instant Video)
This film had a great message behind it. The direction and writing of the documentary was great. The information was better. I highly recommend this film to anyone. The world would be a better place if our society could implement the ideas expressed in this film.

5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent documentary, July 28, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Nicko" (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I hadn't heard of this movie so ordered on spec. It turned out to be really riveting, amusing and also carried serious message. As a heads up its major thesis is that it would be cheaper and more democratic to legalize all drugs given the high demand among the population rather than support an anti drugs industry that includes government, arms manufacturers, justice/legal businesses and private prisons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST, July 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Make Money Selling Drugs (Amazon Instant Video)
If you have not seen this you really should, it is one of the best documentries that I have seen in some time and I think anyone that thinks that the "drug war" is a waste of time and money will understand and appreciate this movie. LOVE IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Eye-Opening, June 20, 2013
This review is from: How to Make Money Selling Drugs (Amazon Instant Video)
I'm not someone who is usually into documentaries, but this is one of the few docs I've seen that I actually enjoyed watching! It was engaging, powerful, and fun to watch, but it also carried a powerful message that stuck with me after the film. I would definitely highly recommend it to documentary watchers and non-documentary watchers alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I could make people watch this movie... with an open mind, July 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Make Money Selling Drugs (Amazon Instant Video)
Such a tempting title... really draws attention. But it is was more than advertised... it is an absolutely excellent analysis of the entire "war on drugs" economy. A must see!

Just like Food Inc made me understand how the corporate model as applied to food did not always yield a result that was in our society's best interests, this movie taught me how to intelligently argue that the war on drugs is a waste of our resources, and is destroying families on both sides of the issue.

WATCH IT and TALK ABOUT IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Documentary, June 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Make Money Selling Drugs (Amazon Instant Video)
I have an interest in the failed drug war, and I read and research about it on a daily basis. This documentary is an all encompassing look at why it is a failure. It's all in there if one has an interest in this topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and very informative, June 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Make Money Selling Drugs (Amazon Instant Video)
What an amazing and informative documentary about the true nature,origin,and objective of the drug war. Every American should watch this movie so they can understand the true legislative evil that has infected our country
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The war on drugs shown in an inventive way, July 17, 2014
By 
This review is from: How to Make Money Selling Drugs (Amazon Instant Video)
This documentary by Matthew Cooke, provides a well-researched template for going into business, albeit an illegal one. Depending on financing, location, desire and determination, we see various stages of selling. From the stoop in the hood to international cartel chief, complete with his own army. People who have been at the various stops are interviewed. Some are famous (50 Cent), some not unless you were in the business. Cooke, provides graphics and although the film has its tongue firmly in cheek, the data seems accurate and is supported by numerous talking heads. The most credible are drug impresarios Bobby Carlton, Pepe, Freeway Rick Ross, Brian O'Dea and others.

The real theme of the film however is how the "War on Drugs" has been an utter failure in all ways. Increased incarceration including long sentences for relatively minor crimes. Drug use has continued to increase, billions of dollars are spent to no avail. The other point Cooke wants to make and does, is that addiction is bad. Ask Eminem who provides a vivid description of what he went through. Or Bobby Carlton and others who sampled too much of their own product. For anyone following the drug wars ever since Nixon implemented it in the 1970's, none of this is new. But this is an entertaining and effective way to get across the message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.