Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: How I Met Your Mother: Season 4 [Blu-ray]
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon June 12, 2009
Ye, though we walked in the valley of the shadow of death which was Network TV's obsession with "reality" TV, we feared no evil, for we knew that the sitcom would rise again, and it did!

My wife and I basically boycotted network TV entirely when the "reality" TV craze swept the airwaves following the success of the "Survivor" show. We had no interest in "CSI" shows, or crime drama shows, or marriage shows, or any of the other insane drivel which came out of the "reality" TV craze. When CBS launched How I Met Your Mother (HIMYM) and we caught wind of it, we were immediately floored by the quality of the writing, and the excellent cast of actors they got for the show, now entering its fifth season.

HIMYM is an excellent successor to Friends. It is the same type of ensemble cast with romance and heartbreak and drama. But what overrides all of it, is comedy. The show is extremely funny, and packs each episode with tons of humor. Neil Patrick Harris steals the show with his antics, and he is to be commended for his performance of the excellent material the writing team give him to work with.

We will watch HIMYM for as long as it is on the air, and we hope that is a very long time!
33 comments| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2009
Season 4 was a great addition to the series. If you are not a fan of the show I would recommend watching all previous episodes before this season because the writers have taken this show to a level past the sitcom. They place high value on character development and the story line just keeps getting better and better. I honestly don't even care who the mother is anymore, I just care about Ted, Marshall, Barney, Robin and Lily.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2010
How I Met Your Mother (HIMYM), and particularly the 4th season, meets the highest standards of television sitcoms. The writing is consistently excellent; the individual episode plots are always funny and engaging, and the overarching story, (just who is the mother?), doesn't fall by the wayside or become boring.

In addition, the acting, unlike on many shows today, is always strong. This is truly an ensemble cast; there are no "weak links". All of the actors have talent, they have chemistry as a group, and they make you root for the characters they're portarying. You want Marshall and Lily to continue on their road to happily ever after, you cheer for Robin's career successes (and laugh at her mishaps), you root for Barney to get the girls although you may occasionally gag at the same time, and you hope Ted eventually meet the love of his life. Above all, it's always a fun and relaxing half-hour to sit down and find out what's going on in their lives today.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2009
Season 4 of HIMYM took TV sitcom creativity to a new level. The introduction of new scenes (Minn. bar) was truly brilliant. There is no other sitcom on television that has as much comedic diversity and creativity as this show. This season really brought this series to the elite of television sitcoms. I hope it continues for years to come...
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2013
RECAP: The series follows Ted, an architect telling his children the story if how he met their mother. Each season shows Ted and his friends experiencing all of the moments and antics that will eventually/hopefully lead to Ted meeting and falling in love with his future wife. In general, it's probably necessary to have watched the previous seasons before jumping in at Season 4, since there are references to the past and previous character development plays a role. This is a well-written and family appropriate show that keeps fans begging for more.

Season 4 kicked off in the fall of 2008 with main characters: Josh Radnor as Ted Mosby, Neil Patrick Harris as Barney Stinson, Cobie Smulders as Robin Scherbatsky, Alyson Hannigan as Lily Aldrin, and Jason Segel as Marshall Eriksen. As the series progresses it is also picking up more and more celebrity cameos [ehem, did you know that the voice of "future Ted" in the precaps is actually Bob Saget?]; season 4 features: Sarah Chalke as Stella Zinman, Regis Philbin as himself, Erin Cahill as Heather Mosby, Bill Fagerbakke as Marvin Eriksen, Alex Trebek as himself, and Jason Jones (from The Daily Show) as Tony Grafanello.

I generally prefer the DVD versions to Blu-Ray because it can be a pain to wait on a slow Blu-Ray Player. That being said, the picture and sound qualities are fantastic in this format.

SEASON 4: Following three seasons of Ted and his single friends'(pardoning Marshall and Lily) shenanigans, Season Four gives us a look into the deep desire of each member of the gang to be happily settled--but don't worry, nothing is set in stone just yet. This season seems to mark some changes in the group, revealing some character "flaws" that ultimately bring viewers closer to the emotional needs of the main cast and elicits reinvestment in their futures--namely Ted's and his hunt for the woman he calls his kids' mother.

Episode 1: "Do I Know You?"--Stella and Ted are getting married as feelings develop between Barney and Robin.

Episode 2: "The Best Burger In New York"--The gang (and Regis Philbin) seek out the diner that served Marshall's first burger in New York.

Episode 3: "I Heart NJ"--The gang ventures to New Jersey to see Stella's home, and the home Stella hopes Ted will call his own.

Episode 4: "Intervention"--Ted calls a re-intervention over his engagement.

Episode 5: "Shelter Island"--Ted and Stella rush to the altar, but feelings get altered by old flames.

Episode 6: "Happily Ever After"--The gang reminisces about old enemies.

Episode 7: "Not a Father's Day"--Lily and Marshall have baby talk, but seek advice in Robin and Ted. Barney celebrates NOT being a father... or a husband... or a boyfriend, for that matter.

Episode 8: "Woooo!"--Ted offers his design plans for the company's new building; Robin has a little crisis and seeks affirmation from a group of "Woooo! Girls."

Episode 9: "The Naked Man"--After getting an eyeful of Robin's boyfriend, Ted finds a way to revitalize the gang's love lives.

Episode 10: "The Fight"--Ted, feeling a little emasculated from the Stella debacle, lets the rage fly as he and Barney compete for Robin's attention.

Episode 11: "Little Minnesota"--While Ted's sister visits, Marshall and Robin do some bonding at a bar featuring their favorite pastime, hockey.

Episode 12: "Benefits"--A frustrated Robin and Ted decide to alleviate some stress, but not if Barney can help it.

Episode 13: "Three Days of Snow"--Carl (foolishly) gives command of the bar to Barney and Ted as Marshall and Lily try to reunite despite a blizzard.

Episode 14: "The Possimpible"--Facing deportation, Robin resorts to the help of Barney in order to find a job.

Episode 15: "The Stinsons"--The gang uncovers Barney's secret wife and son.

Episode 16: "Sorry, Bro"--For fear that Ted may try to rekindle an old flame with a girlfriend they hated, Lily and Marshall devise a plan to keep Ted from ex-girlfriend Karen.

Episode 17: "The Front Porch"--Battles emerge between Lily and Ted when Ted discovers she has been sabotaging his relationships.

Episode 18: "Old King Clancy"--Marshall and Barney cook up a cover story to protect Ted from learning a devastating truth about his job.

Episode 19: "Murtaugh"--Barney discovers Ted's "Impossible Bucket List" and takes it as a challenge.

Episode 20: "Mosbius Designs"--Marshall looks a little foolish trying to impress people at work; Ted forms his own architectural company and hires an interim intern.

Episode 21: "The Three Days Rule"--Barney and Marshall punish Ted for a dating-rule taboo.

Episode 22: "Right Place, Right Time"--Barney hits a ladies-milestone as Ted appreciates all the variables that put him in the right place at the right time.

Episode 23: "As Fast as She Can"--Barney makes his own challenge for dodging a traffic ticket; a guilty Tony tries to atone by helping Ted find a job.

Episode 24: "The Leap"--Ted feels the weight of his business while Marshall tries to bring him up to a party. Things close with Barney admitting his feelings to Robin.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2013
as a HIMYM fan, had to have this season with my collection. contains all the episodes with plenty of extras to keep you busy for awhile as you get to know and relive your favorite memories with the cast.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2016
Every episode is completely filled with instances of sex. The storyline has hooked us, but we have to overlook this annoyance. As if nothing can be funny without sex. I miss Friends where not every storyline was about sex,but so very funny! This is not nearly the writing of Friends although I think the creators attempted to recreate the magic of Friends (unsuccessfully). It is something to watch....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2016
Was LOVING this series. Renewed my PRIME membership specifically because the "How I Met your Mother" Seasons were ALL included with PRIME, only to have them change this half-way though Season 4. VERY DISAPPOINTED in AMAZON for making this change. It's like BAIT & SWITCH. NOT HAPPY. Good series though. Just plan to watch it through NetFlix as its a total rip off to pay for it through Amazon Prime at $3 an episode. We were watching multiple episodes per night through Amazon. Now we watch through NetFlix for $7.99/month.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2009
HIMYM is not so much an original sitcom, but instead more of the perfection of the sitcom. Every once in awhile I feel I've seen a similar episode of friends or will & grace. But I can't deny how much fun the show is to watch. I love all of the characters, and enjoy watching their various adventures. This season had some great stand outs like the news years eve episode where they take three (3) separate stories and find a way to intertwine them, the "intervention" episode, where they had an intervention because they had too many interventions, and of course my personal fav Barney's family (when you see it, you'll understand.)

Sure, the show may not be the most original, but it sure is fun. And frankly, not every show has to be the Wire to be great. I highly recommend this show, and can't wait for season 5!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2014
I cannot say enough good about the entire series. In fact, we're in the process of watching the entire series again because we were so depressed when it ended, and guess what? It's just as great the second time around!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.