Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (126)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Season That Tried To Get Mature
How I Met Your Mother is a great show. Let's get that out of the way first. It has excellent character development, clever humor and an original way of telling its story. With that in mind, I thought Season 6 was the first of the show in which maybe the writers were a little misguided and a little short on ideas. I'll start with the positives:

(Will contain...
Published on May 16, 2011 by Ryan Matthews

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly disappointing
Even though I still love HIMYM, the cleverness has taken a beating in recent years and the notion of an endgame is increasingly distant. Even though season 8 promises that Ted will meet the mother by the end (and they mean it this time), season 6 has an incredibly loose relationship with the show's mythology. In service of the mother plot, there's a scene at the beginning...
Published 21 months ago by Tim Lieder


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Season That Tried To Get Mature, May 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How I Met Your Mother: Season 6 (DVD)
How I Met Your Mother is a great show. Let's get that out of the way first. It has excellent character development, clever humor and an original way of telling its story. With that in mind, I thought Season 6 was the first of the show in which maybe the writers were a little misguided and a little short on ideas. I'll start with the positives:

(Will contain spoilers if you haven't seen all of Season 6)

If you're considering purchasing this season, I'll give you five episodes that absolutely make it worth it:
"Big Days" (episode 6.01)
"Subway Wars" (episode 6.04)
"Blitzgiving" (episode 6.10)
"Legendaddy" (episode 6.19)
"Hopeless" (episode 6.21)

It's no coincidence that two of my favorite episodes of the season are the only two episodes John Lithgow played in. His portrayal of Barney Stinson's awkward long lost father is absolute dynamite. I can't rave enough about how well his character was drawn up. It made sense from a real life standpoint not only having Barney's father fail to live up to his son's expectations, but to turn him into a nervous wreck determined to please his son. John Lithgow stole the show in his two episode appearance, and both were vintage, quality 'How I Met Your Mother.' I really hope his character is recurring 'til the end of the series.

"Subway Wars" is the best episode of the season and one of the best in the series, if you ask me. Not only is it hilarious, but it really personifies what each character has brought to the table over the course of the series. Marshall's folk song was brilliant, Ted's need to convince strangers he's a good professor is priceless, and I always appreciate an appearance from Ranjit.

Other high points in Season 6:
- Barney uses his womanizing tactics to convince Ted to resume his GNB headquarters project (episode 6.03)
- The Robin Sparkles saga continues; it's not as good as the previous two, but solid on its own (episode 6.09)
- 'The Captain', Zoey's husband, makes sporadic appearances in Season 6, none better than when he and Ted spend a night out on his boat (episode 6.11)
- A very appropriate doppelganger for Barney Stinson (episode 6.13)
- Though I am no Katy Perry fan, her guest appearance as Zoey's cousin was a successful one, and generally speaking, "Oh Honey" (episode 6.15) was a good show
- Future Ted has a little trouble piecing together the story he's trying to tell in "The Mermaid Theory" (episode 6.11)
- Robin is the woman with everything in "Last Words" (episode 6.14)
- Robin & Lily discuss the effects of certain drinks on the group while trying to manipulate a fight between Marshall and Barney (episode 6.22)
- Wayne Brady is always a welcome sight on the show (episode 6.02)

I think the biggest redeeming quality about 'How I Met Your Mother' is that even if an episode or story isn't quite up to par, it has moments that make you want to keep watching. For a season that I thought didn't live up to its predecessors, there was still a lot about it I found original and funny.

On the downside:

- An epic failure: "Baby Talk" (episode 6.06) is my least favorite episode of the entire series, ironically airing just two weeks after what possibly could be my favorite. It wasn't funny, charming or intelligent in any way. I almost felt bad for Neil Patrick Harris; it was truly a painful episode to watch. [For the record, critics generally gave this episode favorable reviews, so maybe I'm in the minority]

- Jennifer Morrison's character, Zoey, I thought was pretty unlikeable. There were moments when it looked like she'd turned the corner, but ultimately I thought pretty much everything that went into this whole Arcadian story was bland and useless, Zoey leading the charge. I don't know if the writers just couldn't come up with a better story for Ted or this is actually leading to something, but I felt like the whole thing was a big, unnecessary stall. Again, there were moments, but "Landmarks" (episode 6.23) was very fittingly an unceremonious end to a less than riveting story.

- "The Exploding Meatball Sub" (episode 6.20) isn't a bad episode, but I'll probably pass on it when watching S6 on DVD. It's classic Barney, just a bit watered down and unimaginative. Marshall struggles in his decision to quit GNB and focus on saving the environment and not surprisingly, Ted & Zoey argue a lot. OK episode, but a forgettable one.

- I know there's a lot of realism in a couple trying and failing to get pregnant, but did Marshall and Lily's conception story have to last an entire season? It's starting to make sense why the show would be renewed for two more seasons. Think about how long this baby story will have lasted when it's finally up:
Season 5 - Lily looks for a sign from a higher power to tell her she & Marshall are ready to have children.
Season 6 - Lily and Marshall try to conceive a child.
Season 7 - Lily is pregnant.
Season 8 - Lily finally has her "family."
I'm all in favor of television shows telling stories that are true to life, but I think an entire 24 episode arc is too much (especially in a sitcom) to tell the story of a couple trying to get pregnant. Ironically, one of the episodes told the story of how Robin's patience with Lily was wearing thin when Lily could talk about nothing but babies. That felt like the story of Season 6. I'm sure Alyson Hannigan handled it with class, but it definitely wasn't one of the better decisions the crew made for the Lily character.
*It's a no brainer that Lily is going to have her baby in the Season 7 finale. The Season 6 finale took place in September, which would put May of 2012 (or the S7 finale) 8 months away. I can't imagine the all kinds of crazy Marshall will be next season. Can't wait for that!*

Barney is growing up (and it's no coincidence reconciling with his father coincided with it). While it's a nice transition in the life and times of Barney Stinson, it also means we're looking at an all new character in development in the next two seasons. I was kind of disappointed with the lack of sexual escapades and vintage Barney shenanigans, but seeing what it led into gave me a little peace of mind. After all, you could tell all season he still had feelings for Robin, and when Nora entered the picture, you could see everything Barney was about beginning to change right before your eyes. Now that we know Ted meets his future wife at Barney's wedding, we wait to see which girl is the one that stole Barney's heart. I don't think it's any secret who most of us want.

Take it as you see it; there are pros and cons. It's not great but it's good. Could it be the beginning of a decline? Maybe, but the show did still flash fairly regular signs of greatness, so it could just be an isolated miss. Nothing really changed in the status quo with "the mother", but I'm fine with that. A lot of people are starting to take on this "get it over with, already" mentality. I'm not, because when we finally find out who the mother is, it's over. I want the show to continue. I would've liked a little more progress in the "mother" story, but let's maintain that patience is a virtue. It's a show worth watching, and even if it's not what it once was, I'll still classify it as legen-wait for it...-DARY!

Grade: B/B+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Season of Development, June 30, 2011
By 
S. Robison (West Virginia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How I Met Your Mother: Season 6 (DVD)
Season 6 is, to me, fundamentally different from all other seasons of HIMYM thus far. As with all seasons, Ted has his lady interest, in this case Zoey, who is a polar opposite of Ted yet ingratiates herself briefly into the gang's social group. Zoey is a radical protestor who, it turns out, has set her sights on protesting the destruction of the Arcadian, a building which is being destroyed to allow for the construction of a new Goliath National Bank HQ, which, ironically, Ted has been chosen to design. Nonetheless, Ted is his usual self, falling in love without heeding the potential consequences. Clearly, this provides for interesting tension over the course of the season as the two battle their feelings for each other. Oh. Did I forget to mention? Zoey's married.

This season contains heartbreak and fundamental events in the lives of some of the characters. Marshall is plagued by a loss even as he attempts to conceive with Lilly. Robin attempts to get over a brutal break-up with flame Don, while Barney may just be turning human.

The humor retains top form in this season. However, it is not akin to the humor of the opening seasons, as a shift has taken place in order to emphasize the storyline of the season as this show draws to an inevitable close in the (near?) future. Some development is made regarding Ted's future wife, yet most of this season's development centers around Barney. Confronted with his father for the first time, Barney is forced to make difficult choices and just may be growing into a more sensitive individual, both romantically and emotionally.

On the whole, this season is as good as the others and, for me, was better than any season since the first two. Standing out are the following episodes:

"Glitter"-- Maybe the funniest episode in the show's history (featuring Robin Sparkles)
"The Exploding Meatball Sub"--Featuring Barney's childlike sense of humor (don't worry, it's retained despite his development)
"The Mermaid Theory"-- An interesting take on human desire
"Subway Wars"--The ultimate NY battle

On the whole, don't hesitate to buy this set. Still the laughs and the cast you love, without the monotony that often comes with a long-running series! As creative as ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly disappointing, February 6, 2013
Even though I still love HIMYM, the cleverness has taken a beating in recent years and the notion of an endgame is increasingly distant. Even though season 8 promises that Ted will meet the mother by the end (and they mean it this time), season 6 has an incredibly loose relationship with the show's mythology. In service of the mother plot, there's a scene at the beginning and the end of the season concerning where Ted met the mother; however, the rest of the season meanders about without too much concern for that conclusion.

Still, that conclusion shouldn't matter. The show has always been 15% mother storyline and 85% solid sitcom. Sadly, without the mother anchoring the show, the goofier moments have gotten less funny and the feeling of dragging along just becomes more profound. How many stories does this show have to tell about Ted growing up or Barney learning that he can't be a player all of his life? Does the show have to dangle plots in our faces that have already been dismissed as impermanent?

Even though this season has some great moments (including Barney finally meeting John Lithgow as his father) and some groaning miscalculations (like the countdown to Marshal's dad dying), the major problem with this season can be summed up in one word - Zoe.

The actress had the thankless job of being a scold in House even when she was supposed to be the moral conscience. In HIMYM, she goes from an adversary to a girlfriend but most of the stories concern how she and Ted can't get along. There's one payoff in which Ted realizes that Lily and Marshall support each other and he misses that in his relationship. She is a pretty good actress but the show writes her as an impossible shrew and the fact that she is not the mother, there is no reason to get emotionally invested in her.

This is still a pretty good show but it is showing signs of wear by this point and this season may be worth watching, but it's not worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rabbit or Duck?, March 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How I Met Your Mother: Season 6 (DVD)
This show never fails to make me laugh, and this season is no exception! It aims to answer those all important questions: Rabbit or Duck? Girls or Suits? And of course, the introduction of the playbook. Legen-waitforit-dary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive and Suspenseful, October 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How I Met Your Mother: Season 6 (DVD)
RECAP: The series follows Ted, an architect telling his children the story if how he met their mother. Each season shows Ted and his friends experiencing all of the moments and antics that will eventually/hopefully lead to Ted meeting and falling in love with his future wife. In general, it's probably necessary to have watched the previous seasons before jumping in at Season 6, since there are references to the past and previous character development plays a role. This is a well-written and family appropriate show that keeps fans begging for more.

Season 6 kicked off in the fall of 2010 with main characters: Josh Radnor as Ted Mosby, Neil Patrick Harris as Barney Stinson, Cobie Smulders as Robin Scherbatsky, Alyson Hannigan as Lily Aldrin, and Jason Segel as Marshall Eriksen. As the series progresses it is also picking up more and more celebrity cameos [ehem, did you know that the voice of "future Ted" in the precaps is actually Bob Saget?]; Season 6 features guest appearances from Marshall Manesh as Ranjit, Jennifer Morrison and Zoey, Chris Romano as Punchy, Nazanin Boniadi as Nora, Wayne Brady as James Stinson, John Lithgow as Jerry Whittaker, Robbie Amell as Scooby, Rachel Bilson as Cindy, Frances Conroy as Loretta Stinson, Michael Gross as Alfred Mosby, Alexis Denisof as Sandy Rivers, Jorge Garcia as Steve "The Blitz" Henry, Will Forte as Randy Wharmpess, Nicole Scherzinger as Jessica Glitter, Michael Trucco as Nick Podarutti, Ray Wise as Robin Scherbatsky, Sr., Danny Strong as Trey, Maury Povich as himself, Alan Thicke as himself, and Alex Trebek as himself.

SEASON 6: In Season 5, we actually got a little glimpse of Ted's future wife; the Season ended with Robin and Don breaking up, Marshal and Lily deciding to try for a baby, and Barney up to his usual antics. Season 6 continues with these story arcs and a new girlfriend for Ted.

Episode 1: "Big Days"--Following her breakup with Don, Robin is in a slump. Marshall and Lily start to feel the pressure of trying to have a baby; Ted lets us know where he meets his future wife.

Episode 2: "Cleaning House"--We learn more about Barney's past (and his father who apparently ISN'T Bob Barker) when the group helps his mom move out of her long-time home.

Episode 3: "Unfinished"--Ted's design for GNB's new building gets green-lighted; Robin makes drunk dials to Don.

Episode 4: "Subway Wars"--While trying to turn Robin into a `real New Yorker,' the gang gets savvy to a few of their biggest personal insecurities.

Episode 5: "Architect of Destruction"--Robin starts a rebound relationship with Marshall's friend, Max, which leads Marshall to paranoia about what secrets the girls share behind their men's backs. In order for GNB's new bank to be built, a vintage hotel must be demolished; Zoey tries to save the building, and despite his feelings for her, Ted proceeds with the destruction.

Episode 6: "Baby Talk"--Robin is annoyed by her new co-anchor, Becky, but becomes even further irritated by how many men find Becky's neediness attractive. Marshall and Lily argue over the gender of their not-yet-existent baby.

Episode 7: "Canning Randy"--Ted's battle with Zoey invades his classroom; Marshall `cans' Randy for being a useless employee, then has to suffer the guilt.

Episode 8: "Natural History"--When the gang attends a function at the Natural History Museum, Zoey blackmails Ted; Barney learns more about his own history.

Episode 9: "Glitter"--Barney unveils more about Robin Sparkles and her co-star, Jessica Glitter; Lily worries that having a baby might end her friendship with Robin. Ted agrees to be the best man at Punchy's wedding.

Episode 10: "Blitzgiving"--Ted feels betrayed when his friends party with Zoey, his mortal enemy, which ultimately leads to the destruction of Ted's oven. The gang is then forced to spend Thanksgiving at Zoey's; Ted begins to understand Zoey.

Episode 11: "The Mermaid Theory"--Now that he's developed a friendship with Zoey, Ted feels uneasy about spending time with a married woman. To rectify his guilt, Ted befriends her husband, Captain.

Episode 12: "False Positive"--Lily and Marshall realize how unprepared they are for parenthood when Lily gets a false positive on a pregnancy test; Robin takes a new job.

Episode 13: "Bad News"--A fertility specialist finds nothing wrong with Lily's ability to conceive which causes Marshall to fear that he is the culprit; Robin learns that her new job puts her back in the news room with Sandy Rivers.

Episode 14: "Last Words"--Everyone travels to Minnesota to attend Marvin Eriksen's funeral; when Marshall discovers an un-played voicemail from his dad, he hesitates to listen for fear that his dad's last words aren't ones he wants to remember.

Episode 15: "Oh Honey"--Since Marshall stayed behind in Minnesota, he's the perfect person to call to complain about Ted and Zoey. Ted, feeling guilty because Zoey is married, tries to pull away; Zoey, not wanting to face rejection, sets Ted up with her cousin yet prays for failure. Only Marshall's `outside-looking-in' perspective can set his friends straight.

Episode 16: "Desperation Day"--Marshall regresses back to childhood in Minnesota. When Ted stresses over matters with Zoey, he, too, is seduced by the care-free life of a Minnesota child. Because women don't want to be alone on Valentine's Day, Barney theorizes that February 13th is Desperation Day; even though he has a cache of desperate women, Barney picks just one as his valentine.

Episode 17: "Garbage Island"--Even though Ted is dating Zoey, he awkwardly ends up being Captain's confidant in the divorce. A documentary reignites Marshall's passion for environmentalism, leading him to feel guilty about his current job; Barney confesses his feelings for Nora.

Episode 18: "A Change of Heart"--Barney's feelings for Nora, as well as the group's expectations for Barney, are conflicted; everyone gets a cardiac evaluation.

Episode 19: "Legendaddy"--Barney's hopes for his long-lost dad are crushed by reality; jealous of his half-brother, Barney realizes he isn't ready to reconnect with Jerry.

Episode 20: "The Exploding Meatball Sub"--Zoey, Ted's arch-nemesis and girlfriend, finally gets a hearing that stands to prevent the construction of Ted's design for GNB. Marshall takes the leap into a new line of work, one that doesn't pay so well.

Episode 21: "Hopeless"--In an attempt to connect with Barney, Jerry tries to embody Barney's version of `dream dad,' but ultimately teaches Barney a lesson about life and family.

Episode 22: "The Perfect Cocktail"--Ted begins to understand why Zoey wants to save the Arcadian. When GNB ruins Marshall's chances at a new job, Marshall joins forces with Zoey to prevent the new office from being built; Barney feels Marshall has betrayed GNB.

Episode 23: "Landmarks"--The conflict between Barney and Zoey forces Ted to choose sides and sever ties.

Episode 24: "Challenge Accepted"--Lily gets sick from food poisoning, causing Marshall to race through a job interview before the plague gets him too; Barney gets a second chance with Nora, but is she the one he ends up marrying? As the Arcadian starts to crumble, Ted needs his friends to help him hold it all together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sitcom, June 17, 2014
The show is casted very well and keeps the viewer entertained throughout every episode. I highly recommend this tv series to anyone looking for a good laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars laugh out loud., June 29, 2014
Hillarious, one of the best ensembles ever. Great for making me laugh, will watch next season right away and did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Get Enough!, October 27, 2014
It's no the best season but still very entertaining and worth watching. This season kinda feels like a filler to extend the series however the episodes are still funny and emotional all at the same time. I don't get tired watching them. They seem to imitate real life therefore people could relate to each character's story. I highly recommend others watching this show. You might find yourself in one of the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 9, 2014
Amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We love it., July 8, 2014
By 
Well written and funny. You should start from the series beginning to see it all develop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How I Met Your Mother: Season 6
How I Met Your Mother: Season 6 by Josh Radnor (DVD - 2011)
$39.98 $13.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.