Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Quick, Fun and Entertaining read.
This is a novella, a short story and it's about sex. It is sexy, sweet and detailed. Not cringe worthy graphic, but you can definitely imagine everything these characters are doing. This is a short story, which I usually hate. When I am finished with a book, I want to feel as if the characters are my best friends or enemies, depending on how much I like the book. I...
Published 17 months ago by BookGeek

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A novella and therefore too short and not enough development, but it was a nice story - with erotic sex.
HOW TO MISBEHAVE by Ruthie Knox.

Characters were nicely done. He's doing remodeling at her place of work which is how they meet. A tornado puts them together in the basement for awhile. The conversations and anticipation as they get to know each other was good. The one detailed sex scene was a little too long for me.

I'm not a fan of novellas...
Published 16 months ago by Jane


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Quick, Fun and Entertaining read., January 28, 2013
This review is from: How to Misbehave: A Novella: Camelot Series (Kindle Edition)
This is a novella, a short story and it's about sex. It is sexy, sweet and detailed. Not cringe worthy graphic, but you can definitely imagine everything these characters are doing. This is a short story, which I usually hate. When I am finished with a book, I want to feel as if the characters are my best friends or enemies, depending on how much I like the book. I usually don't feel that way with novellas, but with "How to Misbehave," I really didn't care.

This story is a snippet of a love story. We drop in on Tony and Amber at the beginning of their romance. It's ripe, brand new and filled with possibilities. From the final page of this story, this relationship can become anything. I really enjoyed that. We go from the awkward conversation, to interest, to strong attraction and finally the realization that there could be more between them than just sex.

The thing is, every girl's first time should be with a guy like Tony. When I say first time, I don't just mean losing your virginity. Nope, every girls first time with a new lover, first time after a break up, first time after a dry spell, etc, should be with a guy like Tony. Tony is calm, he is patient and is never annoyed with Amber's inexperience. He explores her body, learns everything she likes while teaching her what he likes. I usually find sex scenes to be a little too much. There are authors who go on for pages and pages, until I am rolling my eyes and skipping the scene entirely. Not so in "How to Misbehave," Amber's sexual history is so boring; you are literally cheering Tony on. Someone had to teach this girl the correct way to misbehave!

Tony seems to do everything right. He is a confident, but fair boss. He is an accomplished lover and a guy who does not assault strange women in basements during tornadoes. Tony's lack of faith in himself didn't seem to add up with the man we experience. I wanted to know more and discover what it was in his past that made him distrustful of himself. Many times a characters dark past is something outlandish or ridiculous. I found Tony's past to be heartbreaking and filled with guilt that I understood and sympathized with.

"How to Misbehave" is a quick, fun and entertaining read. I am becoming a big fan of how seamlessly Knox writes romantic male leads who are strong and confident, without the borderline obsessive and abusive tendencies that other authors have embraced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun contemporary romance - great start to series, January 30, 2013
This review is from: How to Misbehave: A Novella: Camelot Series (Kindle Edition)
What a fun start to a series from an author who writes wonderful contemporary characters, Ms Knox writes some great stories.

Amber Clark has always done the right thing, been the good girl never wanting to cause anyone trouble. However she has wanted to do something impulsive for years. She has been questioning her belief in God since before college and has been disappointing her Catholic mother for years, however still being the good girl that does not make waves.

She has been working at the Camelot Community Center as the program director and enjoys her job while she watches this particular foreman who works on a construction project. She is not even sure of his name. However she opens the center at seven and usually locks up at five, and many times she is waiting for Him, the foreman to leave.

When the tornado siren begins, Amber is alone in the building with Him. Not sure what to do, she answers the phone - knowing it is her mother - too funny. When he comes around the corner to see what they should do, she gets off the phone and has him follow into the basement. They talk during the first few minutes and she finds out his name is Tony Mazzara and he is working with his brother, keeping their family's construction business going. Amber and Tony are talking away and doing fine until the power goes off and she finds out he is afraid of the dark.

He needs her to continue to talk as it helps him get through the darkness and they get into some interesting conversations. He decides that somebody has got to teach Amber to misbehave. He thinks she is doing it all wrong.

As the all clear siren sounds, they make their way up the stairs to light and realize that there is not much damage - except her car is smash. Tony offers her a ride home...and they both decide that on Monday morning when they open up the community center as usual they will figure out how to move on.

I really loved this story, the characters were engaging, as they each struggled with their own issues. I really enjoyed Amber's look on life. She just tells it like it is and screw the problems it may cause. I loved how after the night they shared she just called him the next day -she figures he will not call back but leaves a message anyway. She decides that she really likes him and wants him to know it. She also wants him to know she thinks he is a good man who should be forgiven for past problems - so she forgives him. I loved it. This is a novella that is the prequel to a series about her brother and sister, we do not meet them in this story however Amber does mention them, as they live elsewhere.

Review also posted at Ramblings from a Chaotic Mind blog
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick, Light, Spicy, May 19, 2014
This review is from: How to Misbehave: A Novella: Camelot Series (Kindle Edition)
A delightfully spicy and short read, How to Misbehave by Ruthie Knox is a fun tale filled with some great chemistry and completely endearing characters. Amber was every teacher and parent’s dream, quiet, caring, a great student, never caused trouble, but inside was a woman wanting to cut loose and live life on the edge for a change. Tony has a reputation, having had a hard life growing up. When they are trapped in a dark basement during a tornado, they begin to share their innermost thoughts and fantasies. Talk about opposites attracting! These two have some wonderful, emotional and heart pounding moments as they find some interesting ways to pass the time until the storm passes.

Ruthie Knox made this short read feel like so much more! She mixes two seemingly opposite characters and comes up with the perfect heated romance that just begs to burst into flames.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A novella and therefore too short and not enough development, but it was a nice story - with erotic sex., March 15, 2013
By 
Jane (Chicago, IL, United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Misbehave: A Novella: Camelot Series (Kindle Edition)
HOW TO MISBEHAVE by Ruthie Knox.

Characters were nicely done. He's doing remodeling at her place of work which is how they meet. A tornado puts them together in the basement for awhile. The conversations and anticipation as they get to know each other was good. The one detailed sex scene was a little too long for me.

I'm not a fan of novellas. This one stopped too soon. After years of avoiding relationships, Tony has one night of sex with Amber, and that's enough to want to move in together? It needed more time and development. But overall it was enjoyable.

DATA:
Narrative mode: 3rd person. Kindle count length 1,546 (909 KB includes extras at the end) 121 pages estimated. Swearing language: strong including religious swear words. Sexual language: strong/erotic. Number of sex scenes: 1 long, 3 partial-short. Setting: 1999 Camelot, Ohio. Copyright: 2013. Genre: erotic contemporary romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True to Life HEA, March 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Misbehave: A Novella: Camelot Series (Kindle Edition)
I'm a huge Ruthie Knox fan. And you will believe that when I land my one and only complaint about this novella. Has anyone else noticed that Knox's books always end way before 100%. I'm getting all cozy with the characters in their lovey-dovey cocoon and then BAM...the end. I fall for it every time!

My favorite part of this book was the ending. You can't spoil a romance story's end because its required that it ends with an HEA. But this wasn't a typical HEA with declarations and rings. It was far more true to life and it made me swell with joy at the reality of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The tornado passed too quickly!, February 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Misbehave: A Novella: Camelot Series (Kindle Edition)
I'm a little disappointed in a weird way that they did not spend the entire tornado in the basement. That is the premise that drew me to this book. An enclosed space, two strangers, and infinite possibilities for them to get to know each other, connect, comfort and get through the extreme situation. Unfortunately, the tornado passed over in the space of about twenty minutes, and they then exited, went upstairs, made out and went back to hers. I thought the opportunity to write something really edgy and unusual vanished the moments the lights came on. If they'd stayed down there, this would have been something really unusual and remarkable.

The sex scene was decently and tastefully written, but I didn't think that their experience in the basement had been frightening enough to forge the kind of bond that I would have expected to see in order for her to shower naked in front of a strange man mere hours after they first locked eyes when the tornado sirens began to sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who hasn't dreamed of more?, January 30, 2013
This review is from: How to Misbehave: A Novella: Camelot Series (Kindle Edition)
I am a sucker for stories about resurrection sex. You know, the kind of sex that makes up for all those times that sex was anything but right. The kind of sex that reignites your faith in humanity and makes light bulbs go off in your head and a general feeling that, "Yeah! This is what it's supposed to be like! I get it! Hurray!"

So many women will go through a significant portion of their sexual relationships without ever experiencing pleasure or orgasms. The reasons vary: inexperience, lack of confidence, uncaring partners, etc. But, then someone or something will change and a whole new world will awaken. And that's what I love about this novella. The characters are so genuine and unpretentious. The story is so natural. Who hasn't dreamed of more? Or come to a point in your life where you are tired of paying for the mistakes from your past?

I love that Knox used this subject matter. I love her characters even more. The dialog is so honest and brave. Knox's characters dance very close to over the top but never cross over because she imbues them with a sense of reality that is endearing. Amber isn't a saint and Tony isn't a bad boy either. But together they make the kind of couple you want to root for!

Knox is no slouch when it comes to writing sex scenes and How To Misbehave Is no exception. The sex scenes are hot and sexy. There really is a science to writing sex scenes that feel natural, building momentum organically, and Knox has captured that quite successfully in this story.

Since the story is a novella, you can indulge yourself for a Valentine's Day treat a little early.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ruthie Knox...a rising star, January 28, 2013
This review is from: How to Misbehave: A Novella: Camelot Series (Kindle Edition)
Trapped in a basement with a construction worker one has a crush on... Now that's what I call a premise. Amber and Tony sucked me right in from the first line of How to Misbehave. What a fun ride of a novella.

Ruthie Knox does it again, shows me her characters imperfections and vulnerabilities, makes me care, and keeps me turning the pages long after I should have gone to bed. She is quickly becoming one of my favorite contemporary romance authors. She's a rising star who shines in everything I've read from her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come on, hot Italian Stallion, January 28, 2013
This review is from: How to Misbehave: A Novella: Camelot Series (Kindle Edition)
Let's take a journey to Camelot, Ohio where we are about to embark on a new series from Ruthie Knox that features the Clark siblings. The first in the series is a novella called How to Misbehave. We meet the eldest Clark, Amber. Who just happens to be a sweet innocent young women and somehow gets stuck in the basement with Tony Mazzara, "the Italian Stallion," during a tornado.

Seriously, I loved this novella. Oh my gosh, Ruthie Knox has some awesome lines in her story. I mean who doesn't want to be trapped in a basement with a man who has "a dazzling smile. Like a toothpaste commercial dipped in a porn movie." Such witty remarks throughout the story makes this a pleasure worth taking.

I really love the fact Amber Clark is described as very innocent, pretty much Bambi-like. Then you have Tony Mazzara with a nickname like "the Italian Stallion," I don't think there isn't too many more words you can use to describe him. Seriously, I think that can explain everything.

Really, loved the story. I was impress with how well the story flowed and was complete. Seriously worth reading. So, if you are looking for a quick read, I would really encourage y'all to read How to Misbehave. After reading it you might have a hankering to find your own "Italian Stallion."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rating...., January 28, 2013
This review is from: How to Misbehave: A Novella: Camelot Series (Kindle Edition)
My Review:

This book is a perfect example of why I love contemporary romance. I loved this book. It's not really long and it honestly doesn't cover a huge amount of time, but what's here is perfect and sweet and romantic and so incredibly sexy. I loved everything about this book!

Tony was just the perfect mix of take charge alpha and wounded, angsty guy who thinks the heroine can do better than him. I loved his character and his story and the fact that the dark scared him. I loved how Amber handled him, although she wasn't exactly comfortable with what she had to do/how she had to act, she was so strong when she knew they both needed it. I loved that he made her become a better, stronger person than she would normally be. The tornado was just the perfect start to this story and romance.

And that's before we get to the sex...oh my. Ruthie knows how to write some hot sex. Whoa...this book was hot. I loved when Tony got Amber to doing the dirty talk for him and how much that turned him on. Between that and every time he called her "bunny"...it just melted my heart a little bit. Oh, and her history with sex and other guys...how can you not feel for this poor girl?!? She deserves a hottie like Tony to take care of her in bed.

Can you tell I liked it?? BUY THIS BOOK!! I think you'll like it too. Just the perfect mix of fun and romance and sexy. LOVED IT!! I can't wait to read the other two in this series (Amber's siblings are the focus of the other two).

I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.