Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nancy R
In How Money Walks Travis Brown presents a different (and compelling) view of migration in the United States. It's the kind of topic that you may not know you're even interested in until you read this book. The information is presented in a way that is easy to understand. You'll have a lot to think about after you read this book!
Published on January 18, 2013 by Nancy Rice

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time and money
The 40 minutes it took to read this repetitive work were a waste of my time. Don't bother... it's one long commercial to sell his app and there are some major leaps in his research that are questionable- not the least of which is how he concludes that income tax is the primary cause of movement between states or whether or not the aggregate movement to the new state is...
Published 7 months ago by Anonymous


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nancy R, January 18, 2013
In How Money Walks Travis Brown presents a different (and compelling) view of migration in the United States. It's the kind of topic that you may not know you're even interested in until you read this book. The information is presented in a way that is easy to understand. You'll have a lot to think about after you read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple explanations and easy-to-read data show powerful trend., July 24, 2013
By 
Dan Danford (St. Joseph/Kansas City, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Nearly everyone loathes high taxes. Most of us are content to complain about them and few of us devote much thought to actual consequences. In fact, much tax policy discussion revolves around economic theory and - outside of government halls - it is one of those theoretical topics we'd just soon forget. Like college algebra, perhaps.

Every separate state collects taxes which compound federal income taxes. In other words, state taxes add to total citizen tax burdens, but they rise from different sources. Some states impose an income tax, but others don't. Florida is an interesting example of a state without income taxes, but the thriving tourist industry there also provides substantial other tax revenues. Florida residents enjoy very low state taxes.

Other states collect high income taxes, plus high municipal and/or property taxes, too. Sales taxes add to that burden, too. Add those chunks to federal income taxes and residents pay a sizable portion of their income in total taxes.

Surprisingly, outside of a few academics posing theoretical questions, no one seemed to notice how taxes influence shifts in population.

From 1995 to 2010, over $2 trillion of personal income (all sources) migrated from high income tax states to low income tax states. Those numbers are solid. Travis Brown analyzed fifteen years of IRS tax return data along with various state tax policies. The beauty of this book lies in simple explanations and easy-to-read data. His impeccable data points to a likely conclusion: people relocate from states with higher income taxes to states with lower (or no) income taxes. A very large and prosperous group of people.

The presentation is even-handed. The numbers speak for themselves and Brown is careful not to impose political rhetoric or even claim absolute proof that taxes are the reason for population shifts. Rather, he offers a collection of possible reasons, even though it's hard to argue against taxation rates being one of them. It's up to the reader to decide, but this reader found the evidence to be very strong.

My guess is that this book will have a very large impact on state tax policies around the nation. The evidence is simply too compelling to ignore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can see on a map, people moving from high-tax to low-tax places, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Some people have said for years, "You can chart on a map, people moving from high-tax states to low-tax states." Well, now someone has done it. With this book, the corresponding website, [...], and a mobile app, Travis Brown has given anyone the ability to see how their state, county or city is faring, in terms of economic opportunity, compared to other places around the country.

Wealth-creation is not always a zero-sum game, but some states and locales are winners and some are losers in the competition to attract working wealth, represented in this book by adjusted gross income (AGI) as measured by the IRS. In my state, Oklahoma, we lost nearly $1 billion in working wealth, along with over 33,000 productive taxpaying citizens, between 1992 and 2010. The majority of that financial capital -- and the accompanying jobs and opportunity -- went to two states, Texas and Florida, that have no personal income tax. In other words, they do not penalize their citizens for working. In Oklahoma, we charge a penalty of over 5% on people who get up and go to work each day. Interestingly enough, however, Oklahoma began to climb out of its wealth-loss hole in 2005, precisely when the largest income tax rate reduction in state history was signed into law and began to take effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for all State Politicians !, March 20, 2013
The title of this book is what caught my attention as I try to decide whether to keep my money in my state or set up residency in Florida in a few years. This was an easy read as Travis Brown brought statistics and numbers together in a way that makes you understand the impact it is having on my state and reinforces my interest in moving my home base. I hope he markets this not only to consumers but finds a way to get politicians to read this book and use it to make some good decisions for thier voters. Very interesting and a real eye opener for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Applaud the spotlight placed on the issue!, January 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very technical (redundantly so) and slightly heavy on the numbers.

I'll excuse the redundancy because this is a topic that doesn't get nearly enough attention. If more people were aware of the disparity in the cost of living that various places offer, especially with regard to taxation - I believe the states who are doing it better for less would be more rewarded and the states doing more for exorbitant taxation would be more greatly penalized through migration out of their respective states.

Our family is moving this year out of Illinois to Tennessee and "How Money Walks" details many of the reasons why. Our family and friends will still primarily be in Illinois, but we are constantly trying to convince them to look at the data to lead them to their own conclusions to move out.

There are so many choices in this wonderful country to live for less and thus allowing to contribute to ones future years needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars timely Not timid, December 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Full of useful facts and clearly presented.
The comparisons with market caps of companies, sporting franchise valuations and actors' gross box receipts were a bit obtuse.
All in all a cogent look at why the tax and spend liberal apparatchiks in the blue states are headed into the abyss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Wonks, November 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A wonkish book with excellent data showing how state and local tax burdens affect people's choices about where to live. You have to be a policy geek to stay with the text and all the numbers Brown throws at you in these pages, but well worth it if you're trying to understand how to generate more economic activity in your state.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Answers many questions!, March 20, 2013
A MUST READ!
How Money Walks was a big eye-opener in an easy-to-read format. The amount of money literally moving from one state to another, due largely in part to varying levels of income tax, is simply staggering. The problem is that the money is moving in the form of working individuals, families, and corporations leaving high-tax states for low, or no, tax states. If this problem is not quickly recognized and remedied we will all be affected. Our elected officials need to hear what Travis Brown has to say - and more importantly, act! On a personal level, I am definitely reconsidering my relocation and retirement plans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Millenials & Empty Nesters should read this book, March 20, 2013
This review is from: How Money Walks - How $2 Trillion Moved Between the States, and Why It Matters (Paperback)
While Congress and the White House fight over any economic prescription to help the country, thousands of Americans are taking matters into their own hands, making conscience economic decisions in the interest of their future. 'How Money Walks' reveals the huge economic impact individual state tax policies are having on population shifts in America. Millennials, able to work in digital offices, and empty nesters alike will be interested in this insightful book. There's also an app that accompanies the book on where money is walking in your own state [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book. Very enlighting! Putting my house on the market and heading to Florida!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How Money Walks - How $2 Trillion Moved Between the States, and Why It Matters
$14.99 $12.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.