Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't forget the mental side of 'winning'...
This is a fascinating insight into the often challenging path it takes to get to the very top - not only in Corporate America - but in big business generally!

I couldn't agree more that it's the lessons you learn, and how you feel about who you are and what you're capabale of (my favourite book on this side of self-leadership is Transformational Leadership: 92...
Published on October 21, 2010 by Mark Minding

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good info for college grads.
Simple language allows for easy reading. Author makes some good points and gives some ideas for people just starting out in the work force. I guess since I've been through the ringer and have become more jaded than the average Joe/Jane, I didn't get too much new information. I could have tried some of the ideas presented as I was moving through the ranks of employment...
Published 19 months ago by DJNYCE


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't forget the mental side of 'winning'..., October 21, 2010
By 
Mark Minding (Tampa, Florida) - See all my reviews
This is a fascinating insight into the often challenging path it takes to get to the very top - not only in Corporate America - but in big business generally!

I couldn't agree more that it's the lessons you learn, and how you feel about who you are and what you're capabale of (my favourite book on this side of self-leadership is Transformational Leadership: 92 Tips For Using The Different Types Of Leadership To Identify Leadership Traits That Uncover Your Leadership Strengths, which is an excellent companion to this book.

It's a credit to Fenorris Pearson that he had the 'balls' to share what it really takes to climb the corporate ladder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A choice read for anyone rising in the corporate world and unsure of how to manage it, July 7, 2010
The higher you go, the higher the stakes. "How to Play the Game at the Top: The 9 Rules for Consummate Corporate Effectiveness" is a guide to being a corporate leader at the high level with a lot on the line. Fenorris Pearson uses his own experience as a high level executive and advises readers what they need to know and be prepared for to keep their cool and be a success. "How to Play the Game at the Top" is a choice read for anyone rising in the corporate world and unsure of how to manage it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for anyone who wants insight into corporate america, May 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book does a great job of summarizing some great principles/truths about corporate America. There is enough material in this book for several books. Understanding "the popular vote vs the electoral vote" should be a t-shirt. This is a great read for middle managers, mba grads, and anyone seeking insights into the unwritten rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mandatory reading for new fresh MBAs, April 12, 2010
By 
Tierney "Iloveamazon" (Bend, OR, United States) - See all my reviews
This is a fantastic book for new MBAs, especially those with limited experience in the business world. The section on sponsorship is invaluable in my opinion. The book is a quick read but packed with information to guide the new graduate MBA entering the job market. I enjoyed Mr. Pearson's writing style - geniune, honest, caring and presenting the realities of life such dealing with enemies at work. It was as if your highly experience big brother was telling you "here is how it really is in the business world - be prepared!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic Guidance for success, April 9, 2010
This book discloses many realities in corporate environments. `Elephants in the room' that are never publicly acknowledged; but really matter if you're to have any practical chance of success. A good read, and helpful for anyone striving for professional achievement, without sacrificing yourself or your family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If You Want to Know What Most People Won't Tell You, May 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"How to Play the Game at the Top" is an easy read that is full of truth-telling and practical advice for everyone entering or currently in Corporate America. Don't be fooled by the first rule and its focus on MBAs. This book is not just a wake-up call for MBAs or other corporate players with different advanced degrees. It's for everyone who plans to enter or is already engaged in the corporate game. And he's right, it is a game. Corporate America is full of executives who use sports analogies and references (e.g., business units referred to as franchises, let's put some skin in the game, that sale should be a lay-up, so-and-so is blocking and tackling, etc.)that reinforce the view of the corporate career as a sport. The game is not for everyone, and I respect that. But, if you do decide to enter the Corporate arena (another sports reference), this is a great playbook to help you advance your career. Rules #5 and 6 are the real gems of the book, and even the so-called savvy don't seem to understand these two rules or have great difficulty following them. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required Reading, April 16, 2010
This book grabbed my attention from the first page and kept me engrossed until I finished. Fenorris Pearson's book should be required reading for every undergrad and graduate student. He smacks you right in the face with reality; no sugar coating. So many business books today lead you to believe that you have to work hard, continue your education and you are set. After being a manager in a Fortune 50 company for 18 years, I can attest that all of this information is right on.

Now that I have my own business, I am always approaching businesses to gain their business. This information is still helpful to me to know how to approach the executives. Fenorris should be praised for his insightful 9 rules. Easiest and best book that I've read in a long time. I love the fact that he is successful and willing to help others out. He will be richly blessed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A REAL HOW TO GUIDE FOR SUCESS!, April 28, 2010
Mr. Pearson is wonderful at giving the strait talk on subjects that young entrepreneur need to know more about. It's an easy read with real life examples, applicible tips, and strategies. Thank you Mr. Pearson for allowing us to look in to the window to see what really goes on at the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful [unwritten] rules for the corporate game, August 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Play the Game at the Top: The 9 Rules for Consummate Corporate Effectiveness (Kindle Edition)
Mr. Pearson does an excellent job painting a true picture of how executives are made in corporate America. Sponsorship IS the critical element, and it is discussed at length...including strategies to identify and secure a sponsor. My favorite aspects of the book were how to identify your X-Factor and form your "Employment Pyramid." I also appreciate the emphasis placed on ethics, morals, and sticking to the high road! This is a message more executives should understand and embrace. Finally, the importance of giving back is discussed as the factor which translates success into significance and this is well stated. If you are a recent graduate [either undergraduate or MBA], a mid-level manager looking to move forward, or an executive in need of some good reminders...this book is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corporate Empowerment, June 26, 2012
This Book Empowers individuals with strategies and principles that can be used in corporate world and beyond. Reading the book has caused me to think differently with an open mind, think about the substance of issues, and be receptive to doing things differently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.