Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking
I thought the author presented a very present day action based approach to applying quantum physics into your everyday world. He covered the divide between science, religion, and spirituality and proposed a case where modern science does not have to limit itself from the spiritual world. This point is well argued and systematically explored. It really is thought...
Published on May 20, 2011 by TC66

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strangely unengaging
I read this book quite carefully, and then a week later looked at it and couldn't remember any lesson or call to action from it.

As the book presumably written as a call to action, the fact that it hasn't motivated me for a minute to do something differently is a bit sad.

I quickly reread the book before writing this review and it still leaves me...
Published on February 17, 2012 by Mr. P. G. Chesters


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, May 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How Quantum Activism Can Save Civilization: A Few People Can Change Human Evolution (Paperback)
I thought the author presented a very present day action based approach to applying quantum physics into your everyday world. He covered the divide between science, religion, and spirituality and proposed a case where modern science does not have to limit itself from the spiritual world. This point is well argued and systematically explored. It really is thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Super-Important Super-Theory, November 22, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How Quantum Activism Can Save Civilization: A Few People Can Change Human Evolution (Paperback)
Amit Goswami is just what the world needs right now -- an activist with a clear spiritual bent. His book is just plain wonderful, inspiring, amusing as anything and super-pertinent as we go through a major paradigm shift. If interested, please read my longer review at bohemianbuddhistreview.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear explanations of complex matters, April 29, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm a fan of Amit Goswami, since I read "The self-concious universe". There were a couple of books in between the two, but we can easily notice how Amit took his theories further and further. I still recommend reading the first one before reading this, specially if you're comfortable with the scientific details behind the theory. This book is less technical, partly because theory was explained in previous books, partly because the concept of quantum activism is based in more ethereal grounds.

It's a very good and plausible way of explaining our existence and evolution of human conscience, while trying to avoid conflict with the theories of different religions. If you have a strict concept over your religion and the concept of God, do not read this. On the other hand, if you feel comfortable exploring different theories and assuming that if we were so sure about God the world would be a much better place, you should definitely buy and read this book.

I prefer the first half of the book, when the concepts are explained and theory is based upon previous studies. The second part of the book is a set of suggestions on how to act using Quantum Activism, but rather speculative in my opinion.

Dr. Amit has a few "Letters to Obama" in the book, which are really interesting. Makes you think about how the world is really crazy nowadays and that a lot could be fixed with simple changes of paradigm. I am not a U.S. citizen, so I think Amit lost a chance of turning his book into something more universal, getting too much into the U.S. issues.

Still, a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new perspective, April 6, 2012
This review is from: How Quantum Activism Can Save Civilization: A Few People Can Change Human Evolution (Paperback)
Dr. Amit Goswami's book provides the reader with the opportunity to completely shift one's worldview. The quantum examples Dr. Goswami provides are thought provoking, paradigm shifting and applicable to everyday life. From the time Dr. Goswani appeared on my radio show I have had a completely different view of events occurring in my life. A peaceful, dynamic, powerful view. ~ Robert Sharpe, Founder of BITEradio.me, Host of the Mystical Cruise Show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is time to undergo a change in consciousness, January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How Quantum Activism Can Save Civilization: A Few People Can Change Human Evolution (Paperback)
Dr. Goswami takes scientific lanquage and breaks it down into small pieces that lay people can understand. He made quantum physics at readable at a personal level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, December 14, 2012
This review is from: How Quantum Activism Can Save Civilization: A Few People Can Change Human Evolution (Paperback)
As an avid reader of evolutionary books, I almost didn't get past the basic-sounding title. But then I saw that it was written by Amit Goswami, an eminent evolutionary theorist, and I found a real gem. In this very readable book, the author opens with a discussion of how simple and productive evolutionary thinking can be. Amit shows how he leads undergraduates from all disciplines to use an evolutionary viewpoint (asking "why" questions) to get a new perspective on life. Much of the book consists of examples taken from his career of asking and answering the right questions in various areas of biology as well as in the social sciences. The book really does have something (a lot) for everyone. This book even give a deeper impact than popular today "a crossing or the drop's history" by Anatoliy Obraztsov. For the lay reader, it opens up new perspectives on the world. For students, he provides a role model for a successful academic career. For teachers, he shows how evolutionary thinking can make biology exciting and add new dimensions to the humanities. For those already knowledgeable, he provides new leads, interpretations, and inspiration. While the overwhelming majority of biologists are comfortable with the basics of evolution through natural selection, most still are unfamiliar with the power of asking "why?" questions. Too many biologists dismiss it as "just-so stories" or hand waving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New worldview, April 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When I read it, I could feel how my paradigm is changing. Quantum activism is real solution for this world. Its new worldview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strangely unengaging, February 17, 2012
This review is from: How Quantum Activism Can Save Civilization: A Few People Can Change Human Evolution (Paperback)
I read this book quite carefully, and then a week later looked at it and couldn't remember any lesson or call to action from it.

As the book presumably written as a call to action, the fact that it hasn't motivated me for a minute to do something differently is a bit sad.

I quickly reread the book before writing this review and it still leaves me unengaged.

My takeaway from the book is that the businesses to get into are consciousness medicine and consciousness eduction, which he briefly mentions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goswami is not one to shy away from important topics, March 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How Quantum Activism Can Save Civilization: A Few People Can Change Human Evolution (Paperback)
Goswami, as usual, covers enormous territory. I didn't agree 100% with everything he wrote, but I found the discourse relevant, important, and thought-provoking. And he promotes an activism that is inclusive, not adversarial - so important today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars He needs a better editor, February 10, 2013
By 
Arizona1010 "Arizona1010" (Bisbee, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This guy is intriguing, fascinating. A quantum physicist who believes we can create heaven on earth, Believes anything is possible. The book reads as if a scientist wrote it, not a writer. That's the problem, too difficult to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How Quantum Activism Can Save Civilization: A Few People Can Change Human Evolution
$19.95 $14.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.