Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book for the price!
A very progressive book that allows the reader to get real, practical ways to quiet that racing inner dialogue which is so common nowadays in our fast paced society. The book mentions an interesting technique called "Binaural Beats" which is an amazing way to get your mind to a better place. I recommend this book for anyone who needs some help with trying to find some...
Published on March 15, 2012 by Steve J

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some benefit
I guess I had too high of expectations or misunderstood the book's purpose. It is quick read. I got one or two thoughts out of the read but most of what he said I already knew. When I bought the book, I was thinking there would be more detailed, purposeful approach to his information. This is extremely basic and offers some good advice to raw beginner.
Published 15 months ago by Bit Twiddler


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book for the price!, March 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A very progressive book that allows the reader to get real, practical ways to quiet that racing inner dialogue which is so common nowadays in our fast paced society. The book mentions an interesting technique called "Binaural Beats" which is an amazing way to get your mind to a better place. I recommend this book for anyone who needs some help with trying to find some solace throughout the busy day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quieter mind, March 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have never been one to enjoy meditation. I was not sure what to expect from this book; however, I learned that I already do some of the simpler tasks recommended in 'How to Quiet Your Mind,' which made me more willing to complete the book. I just began a new position at work and I stress about some aspects of it often. I will be sure to use this book as a reminder that it is possible to rid that stress and silence my mind. It describes simple tasks like breathing and walking and moves on to much more complex ideas to peace your mind. Great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good start, June 6, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought this was a solid introduction to meditation. A few more details/examples would have been nice, but overall this was worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some benefit, April 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I guess I had too high of expectations or misunderstood the book's purpose. It is quick read. I got one or two thoughts out of the read but most of what he said I already knew. When I bought the book, I was thinking there would be more detailed, purposeful approach to his information. This is extremely basic and offers some good advice to raw beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very practical approach, April 29, 2012
This is a short bit decently written little book; useful and accessible, it gives those new to the concept of meditation an excellent place to start.

Being a fairly experienced practitioner of Zen meditation, I found myself wishing that I had come across this little gem when at the start of my practice. It gives useful insights into relaxation and points the reader to the many ways of achieving it.

There are some 'typos' that, if addressed, would further benefit the writing, but not enough to interfere with the reader's comprehension and pleasure.

I would certainly recommend Allen's book to those considering starting on the path towards inner peace.

QUIET POWER: MEDITATION FOR THE PEACEFUL WARRIOR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing really new., December 10, 2013
By 
Glenn (Perth, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Nothing really new.
More an outline of the different meditative practices that are around the world.
For someone who has never meditated before it would be good as an introduction to what is out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Quiet Your Mind - Simple yet Powerful!, January 20, 2013
This book is fantastic for anyone new to meditation! Simple and easy to follow techniques are provided. It's great if you're a busy person as it's chunked down into bite size portions to focus on. A variety of meditations to choose and try and also a variety of schools suggested. I will be recommending this book to anyone I talk to who is new to quieting the mind. I have had many conversations in the past with people who have not experienced meditation and have only had more advanced books/tapes to suggest which can be off putting. People assume they aren't able to do it. So I think this easy to read guide is a perfect way to introduce and start those unfamiliar with and wanting to try meditation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filled With Good Advice, July 8, 2012
As author of IN THE BEGINNING How to Meditate and Heal With Love Beginner Meditation Techniques (Luminous Being) and a meditation teacher, I really know what works in meditation. This book is filled with good, practical advice that beginners will find helpful.
There's a good overview of different positions, breathing, techniques and the different schools of meditation. There are also practical exercises that you can try for yourself easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was very informative. Good for those who are practicing meditation. Would recommend for anyone interested in meditation practices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practicable, December 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Like most people who look for readings on meditation, I was seeking guidance that could be applied, not a history of meditation or a summary of the attributes of different schools. Such a book proved difficult to find. Allen's book met the need. It is a good foundational book for people from a variety of backgrounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How to Quiet Your Mind: Relax and Silence the Voice of Your Mind Today!
$8.99 $8.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.