Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: How She Move
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
13
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon May 5, 2008
`How She Move' takes many plot steps we've seen before. Reminiscent of some of the dramatic moves taken in films like `Take the Lead,' and `Akeelah and the Bee,' the movie makes quite an impression when the characters are on stage ready to dance.

A second generation Jamaican, Rayanne (Raya) Green (Rutina Wesley) is a child prodigy, ready to go to prestigious colleges after an education at a private high school. The only thing keeping her from the best prospects are her family's finances. She has to drop out and enroll at a public school, where she is now an outsider to her former friend, Michelle (Tre' Armstrong), and her peer group. All the while she and her family are grieving over the loss of her elder sister, Pam, and all the fallout of her deadly drug use.

Trying to keep her head up, Raya is well-rounded. While she is an ace at academics, she is also sharp on the auto shop floor where all her friends gather to stomp out the latest moves. More interested in her romantically, Bishop (Dwain Murphy), who has known her since fifth grade, makes advances, but shuns the prospect of having her in his stomp "crew". Potentially, she must do the balancing act of many talented teenagers: She has to study for her exams, practice her dance moves with the boys, and come up with a way to pay for her tuition. Added to that is the reluctant misery she faces by becoming Michelle's tutor to avoid suspension after a physical fight.

`How She Move' is an enjoyable film experience. While the acting is second rate compared to what we`ve seen in `American Gangster (2-Disc Unrated Extended Edition)' and `The Great Debaters,' the characters are thoroughly lovable. Some suspension of disbelief is also necessary. (Are they all really allowed all this class time to practice their dance steps in the auto shop? Sometimes we actually see them working on their cars, and then we only see the adults when a fight breaks out in the shop.) Often times we get so dazzled, we don't even care.

The real answer lies with the entertainment. Some of the situations and tension we've experienced in similar films with praiseworthy themes, but the real star of the movie is the dancing. When that comes front and center, we get a real extravaganza. Sort of the 'American Idol - The Best of Seasons 1 - 4' of the stomp experience, the contest, `Step Monster' is a real spectrum of choreography and flair. And it is in this way that 'How She Move' is most effective: When it lets the dancing do the talking.

(***=Good movie)
1212 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2014
I liked this movie! I've watched it many times, and honestly, I'm in love with it. Yes, the story line is kind of unrealistic in some ways - but I thought it was interesting to see how everything unfurled - especially if you paid attention to the parts of the story that weren't directly mentioned in the movie. I liked all the dance moves, of course, too and I liked how she was a quiet private school girl who eventually made her way to the top, earning the prize and some friends. Yes, yes it's predictive to see that they won at the end - but what if they hadn't? You would have been amped up on the edge of your seat, only for them to drop the loser ball and have you feeling like crap afterwards. Then you would have been wondering what would happen to her afterwards, given that she didn't win the money to go to med school, etc. Then they would have had to make a sequel.

Overall, I love this movie - and after about 5 years, I definitely ordered the DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2008
The urban-dance drama, "How She Moves," springs to life only when its high-energy, talented cast members are kicking up their heels and strutting their stuff for the camera. Otherwise, this stale strive-suffer-and-succeed story is low on energy, low on originality, and low on anything that might make the movie stand out from the dozens of other likeminded films that have come before it.

Rutina Wesley has modest appeal as the academically gifted inner-city youngster who finds that the best way for her to raise her private school tuition money is by entering step-dance competitions, but both she and her fellow actors are poorly served by uninspired screenwriting and undistinguished direction. As noted earlier, the movie achieves some spark when the performers are up on stage dancing, but such moments are far too few and sadly fleeting.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 22, 2008
When the plot for a movie is basically created by combining Breakin 2 and Honey, there is a near guarantee that it's going to open up a cinema black hole. If not for the superb dancing in this movie, the entire project would be nearly without anything substantial or worthwhile.

Rayanna Green (Rutina Wesley) is not only a good student, but she's also a great dancer who has to earn the respect of the boys in the dance crew. Somehow this group manages to get tons of school time, and the auto-shop facilities to practice their moves, while fulfilling and/or overcoming every cliché in cinema history. Among those clichés is obviously the big dance-off ending with corny DJs, and I can guarantee you can guess the winner. This movie is so unoriginal, I think the makers of Stomp the Yard, Step Up, and Save the Last Dance should look into legal proceedings.

I remember seeing the preview of this movie, thinking it was a bland remake, and writing it off. But when it ended and I saw that the title was "How She Move", I immediately became irritated with the insidious way in which ebonics have crept into acceptability. If anything, the movie should have been titled "Oh No She Di'int" because of the audacity needed to title a movie with such egregious grammar. The dancers and choreography may be nimble, but the acting and plot serve as the two left feet of the drunk uncle who shows up at every family wedding, and ruins whatever positive vibe there may have been amongst those who are having fun and dancing.
33 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2009
How She Move is a very entertaing positive film that focuses on a very intelligent and lovely young black woman, Raya. Raya leaves boarding school and goes back to her home in the projects after her sister dies. From the minute she gets back she's confronted with jealous ex-peers, two bit hustlers and a young man (Bishop) who has romantic feelings for her from back in the day.

Raya sticks to her plans to attend medical school but must overcome obstacles. These obstacles include her old nemesis/friend Michelle and Raya trying to get into Bishop's step crew. Raya's naturally talented in step but Bishop, though he's very attracted to Raya, doesn't want a female on his crew. Raya becomes determined to be on Bishop's crew after realizing she can win fifty thousand dollars at a step competition. She plans to use the money for medical school. Bishop suggests she gets on a girl's crew, namely Michelle's but Raya isn't having it. She doesn't give up and finds help in Bishop's younger brother who teaches her Bishop's routines behind his back.

Bishop finally agrees to let Raya step in his group but his ego gets the best of him when he sees she's easily the best in the crew. From that point on Raya continues to try to prove herself to those around her and ends up learning many valuable lessons. Though she hits roadblocks with Michelle and Bishop, they both help her to see that they need her as much as she needs them.

I was surprised at how good this film was. I enjoyed it because it's not the typical hip-hop movie. This is a film about a woman's journey and that woman just happens to know how to step. I think those that said the film's dances lacked something (which they didn't to me), didn't understand that the movie wasn't about the stepping. It was about Raya's life and what's she goes through. Stepping was just a tiny part of it. I thought the dancing was very good, about as good as any other step film I've seen. The actress that plays Raya is vibrant, very beautiful and brings forth a sympathetic charm that attracts you to her. The movie was realistic but you won't see any violence or sex. Maybe that's why some were disappointed. This is truly a film you can watch with your family. It's very entertaining and provides a big message about the choices we make and how we deal with them.

If have an open mind and realize that every black film doesn't have to be violent, full of sex, gang violence, involve drive-bys or have characters who or criminals and drug heads, then you will like this movie. There is NONE of that in this film. In fact the only kiss in the movie was the one between Bishop and Raya after they win the step competition. For those that expect this to be "Boys in the Hood" meets "Fame" then How She Move is definitely not for you. It's not for narrow-minded people who think that all urban films must deal with the street life and the results of it. This is a movie for people (of any race) who'd like to be entertained while learning a lesson about live, love and dreams. I definitely recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2009
It was so long ago that I watched the movie but home girl can dance!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2008
The movie was good overall but the story line was a little whack. It kind of kept going back and forth with her betraying this person then helping that person yadyadyada. Still it had some decent dance moves and decent music and was not a bad movie to watch on a Friday night with my girl
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2009
Even though it follows in the trends of other dance movies, i felt that it was inexpensively made without any well known actors. A foreign version of Step Up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2012
Memo to Hollywood - this train has done gone through the station...several times. Apparently, there's still an audience for interesting dancing wrapped around predictable, repetitive storylines.

In my day, it was Dirty Dancing (which wasn't that great either IMHO). I'd prefer to see a pure dance vid or documentary rather than fast-forwarding through the "story" to get to the juicy parts. For the record, Me No Like How She Move.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2008
Like "Flashdance," "Footloose," "Billy Elliot" and any number of dance movies, "How She Move" is the story of a big dreamer who finds release in dance. Unknown Rutina Wesley stars as Raya, a second-generation Jamaican from a borderline-ghetto in Toronto, Canada, who wants to become a doctor. After drug-addiction claims her sister, Pam, and Raya's parents can no longer afford her private school tuition, Raya returns to the `hood, scraping and scheming to find her way back out, all the while resented by the locals for her ambition. She happens upon a group of guys who practice and compete in Step-dance competitions for cash. Step--a heady mix of rhythm-precise hip-hop, break-dancing and locking moves--is highly segregated by sex and "How She Move" revolves around Raya's quest to infiltrate an all-boys club and help the guys win a local competition (and, for her, much-needed money for college). If you think you've heard of or seen a variation of this story before, then you probably have. Still, as depicted by director Ian Rashad, Raya's neighborhood and environs are a gritty and true-to-life portrayal. While the movie strongly evokes the dead-end that awaits many poor and working-class youth with substandard education, it also telescopes the resentments engendered by those who aspire to more in life. In the film's telling, Step represents a momentary way out of bleak surroundings and Wesley, with her intense square jaw and brooding eyes, makes a convincing heroine who's out to prove herself and do something with her life. Melanie Nicholls-King also gives a credible performance as Raya's mother--a careworn first-generation Jamaican immigrant who works tirelessly to see that the ruthless streets do not claim her only remaining child. In the end, "How She Move" may be a formulaic story that's all-too-familiar, but it is still mildly entertaining. The pulsating soundtrack features songs by Missy Elliot and Busta Rhymes, among many others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.