Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best R&B soundtrack since "Waiting to Exhale"
Producers Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis have not only fashioned the perfect soundtrack for a steamy love story set in Jamaica, but they've also given us all the perfect mood-setting CD...the uptempo numbers beg to be played at your next party, and the ballads make you want to plan your next candlelit dinner for two. On the party side, Stevie Wonder and Wyclef Jean serve...
Published on August 19, 1998

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Honestly...... (3 Stars)
It misses more than it hits (6 out of 14 songs are good). There are some terrible songs on this album, but there quite a few songs on this album that are actually very tight tracks. "Beautiful" is a vintage Mary J Blige track. Though she has a bunch of albums, this is probably one of my most favorite songs from her. And then there is the appearance of Soul II Soul on...
Published on October 21, 2004 by Norfeest


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!, September 23, 2001
This review is from: How Stella Got Her Groove Back Soundtrack: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
What can I say? Great soundtrack to a great movie. Full of reggae, ballads, and go old R&B. Wonderful! A great compliment to the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Soundtrack, April 7, 2008
By 
licispicis "licispicis" (Columbia, MD United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How Stella Got Her Groove Back Soundtrack: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
This is a smooth mix of island vibes with sexy sounds. If you liked the Love Jones soundtrack, you'll enjoy this one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I wasn't thrilled, July 2, 2003
By 
Shanon Rogers (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How Stella Got Her Groove Back Soundtrack: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
After watching the movie and hearing the great music they used I was so looking forward to seeing what the soundtrack was like. I didn't recognize hardly any of the music though! I had been looking for the great tracks like Angela and Tae's sensual dance that started it all, the song that was sung at the funeral and I didn't find any of it. Can anyone help me find the artists and titles to those two songs so that maybe I can track them down on singles? Any help would be much appreciated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing! Rejuvenating!...Just GREAT selection!, February 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: How Stella Got Her Groove Back Soundtrack: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Sets the right mood! It's time to take a vacation! And this CD is coming with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tropical Paradise, June 12, 2006
This review is from: How Stella Got Her Groove Back Soundtrack: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Well if your like me who enjoys the actual music from the movie, you will love this CD. When I listen to the songs, it's not so much for the music as it is the memory of the part of the movie it relates to and me wishing I was actually a part of it. I enjoyed almost all of the songs but they do all remind me of some seductive parts to the movie that I thought was wonderfully made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MUSIC FAN, September 16, 2000
This review is from: How Stella Got Her Groove Back Soundtrack: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
I DON'T KNOW WHAT EVERYBODY ELSE IS TALKING ABOUT, I THINK THIS IS A NICE ALBUM. SOME OF THE SONG AREN'T ALL THAT BUT MOST OF THEM ARE WORTH LISTENING TO. I DON'T LIKE SOME OF THE HIP HOP, BUT BEAUTIFUL BY MARY J WAS DEFINETLY BEAUTIFUL, AND ESPECIALLY DIANE KING BUT ANYWAYS THE SONGS WENT PERFECTLY WITH THE MOVIE. MUCH PROPS TO ANGELA, JUST ANOTHA FAN....RAADIYA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very smooth sound..., August 14, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: How Stella Got Her Groove Back Soundtrack: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Enjoyed the sound, and the mix of artists! Can't wait to see the movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular!!1, August 23, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: How Stella Got Her Groove Back Soundtrack: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
I have been groovin' since I purchased this soundtrack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love music, August 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How Stella Got Her Groove Back Soundtrack: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
One of my favorite movies. Love the soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To: A music fan from Ohio United States, May 14, 2003
By 
"indylindyk" (Independence, KS) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How Stella Got Her Groove Back Soundtrack: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
The name of the song that Stella danced to & Whoopi listened to in the hospital room is "Got to Give It Up" by Marvin Gaye. Hope this helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.