Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cinderalla Story in the World of the Uber Rich
Can't get enough of Paris Hilton, Lindsay Lohan, and Nicole Richie? HOW TO TEACH FILTHY RICH GIRLS by Zoey Dean might be the key to your rich girl obsessions. But don't let me mislead you, the book's about Megan. And she's far from rich.

Megan graduated and wanted nothing but the publishing dream--move to New York City, find a job at a prestigious publishing...
Published on April 3, 2008 by Bethany

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Teens would like it.
I've read a few of the A-List series books and enjoyed a couple of them. I thought How to Teach Filthy Rich Girls was going to be more like a typical chick lit book. I was a bit disappointed in that it seemed more like Dean's teen books than an adult book. I just wish it could have been written more for the adult crowd than the teenage crowd.

With that said, it...
Published on July 22, 2007 by Little D


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cinderalla Story in the World of the Uber Rich, April 3, 2008
This review is from: How to Teach Filthy Rich Girls (Paperback)
Can't get enough of Paris Hilton, Lindsay Lohan, and Nicole Richie? HOW TO TEACH FILTHY RICH GIRLS by Zoey Dean might be the key to your rich girl obsessions. But don't let me mislead you, the book's about Megan. And she's far from rich.

Megan graduated and wanted nothing but the publishing dream--move to New York City, find a job at a prestigious publishing company or magazine, and live her dream. What happened was a crummy job at a tabloid and a huge student load ($75,000 to be exact). And it turns even more sour--she loses her job at the tabloid. Kinda. In the same firing meeting, the editor-in-chief waves Megan a bone: tutor two of the richest heiresses on the Palm Beach, Florida scene so that their SAT scores literally score them a spot at Duke. With little other choice, Megan takes the job and our real story begins.

The twins? Seventeen-year-olds Rose and Sage Baker are known for drunken parties and flashing the paparazzi (sound familiar?) and aren't so keen on this "arrangement." Hell just arranging their social schedule to fit in a little school, isn't on their agenda. Especially when the teacher is a peer who looks like a [gasp!] struggling post-graduate wearing a bunch of thrift store finds. But don't fret, Megan's a fighter. The $1500 a week and the possibility of ridding herself of the school loan debt--has her determined if not plain old, scared to NOT make this plan work.

HOW TO TEACH FILTHY RICH GIRLS was hilarious. Megan had me in stitches. She is sarcastic, fun, witty, and well... like an every day post-grad girl that is so broke the thought of being well dressed and fed is merely a daydream. There's a bit-o-Cinderella in the plot (as in happily ever after; ugly girl turns pretty), but don't let that turn you away. There's more than a few twists that definitely make it giggling fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable - good for the beach or the gym, July 17, 2007
This review is from: How to Teach Filthy Rich Girls (Paperback)
I've never read any books by Zoey Dean before, so this was my introduction to her. She tells a good story in a conversational way which makes it fun and easy to read. I liked her writing a lot, and while the story did seem a lot like "The Devil Wears Prada" it had enough different twists to keep me interested. Definitely one of the better chick-lit books out there this summer, and worth a read if you enjoy stories like this. I give it four stars rather than five because it sort of dragged on a bit towards the end and didn't keep me interested the entire time. Still a good book, though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a surprisingly entertaining book.., October 26, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Teach Filthy Rich Girls (Paperback)
I sure hope that she will write more adult fiction. Even though I am an adult,I read her teen fiction,but this adult novel is much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, Yet Not Groundbreaking, July 3, 2007
This review is from: How to Teach Filthy Rich Girls (Paperback)
Although I'm in my mid-20s, I've enjoyed the A-List series. This book is somewhat along the same lines, but almost seems more immature. Megan, the main character, is swept away into a dream life for a few months, where of course she learns a lesson at the end. However, during her eight weeks stay in Palm Beach, very little goes wrong and she's quickly accepted in the popular crowd. She has no problem finding designer clothes, and always has a sexy car available. This book kept me entertained, and I finished it in two days, as it was a very easy read. I feel like it could be a Disney movie -- it has a very "The Devil Wears Prada" feel to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chick lit with a capital C!, July 16, 2007
By 
This review is from: How to Teach Filthy Rich Girls (Paperback)
How to Teach Filthy Rich Girls is Chick Lit with capital C and capital L which makes it one of the most delightful books I've read in a very long time. If it is ever turned into a movie, it will be the most delightful of its kind since Clueless--and one can only hope it will be.

Average-girl-wannabe-journalist Maggie Smith moves to Manhattan straight out of Yale, expecting to get a job at one of the big magazines and eliminating her $75,000 debt in no time at all. Unfortunately, real life doesn't work like that, and she is only just scraping by, working at a trashy tabloid, when in the span of two days she is robbed, fired and her apartment burns down. However, as a last favor, her ex-boss makes her an offer she can't refuse.

Seventeen-year-old twins Rose and Sage Baker are Palm Beach's version of Paris and Nicole--rich, superficial and never thinking beyond the next party. Maggie's challenge is to tutor these two girls and get them into Duke. If she manages this, her debts will be paid off.

Teaching girls who do not want to be taught is never easy, so if Maggie wants to pull this one off, she must be able to look the part and act the part. But can you act a part for so long without it becoming part of you?

How to Teach Filthy Rich Girls is a lot more substantial than expected at first glance, and I read it in two hours straight, being utterly unable to put it down, and found myself laughing out loud at Zoey Dean's masterful plot and witty one-liners. She has a wonderful way with words and manages to create charming characters where you expect to find none. Rose and Sage's grandmother is a street-smart and sly elderly woman, willing to take risks for a good cause, and even Rose and Sage themselves--spoiled and bratty as they seem at first--are living proofs that looks can be deceptive.

Armchair Interviews says: Quick fun read that gives us hope for spoiled rich girls the world over (or at least in Hollywoodland).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fun, Filthy Indulgence, November 27, 2007
By 
This review is from: How to Teach Filthy Rich Girls (Paperback)
DUH! MARKETING: 99 Monstrous Missteps You Can Use to Learn, Laugh, and Grow Your Business!

Chick lit is usually as light and airy as a Vera Wang gown, but How to Teach Filthy Rich Girls weaves a much tighter and textured story. From the very first page, you start to understand and empathize with the struggling, underemployed, underutilized Megan Smith. And, just when she thinks she has hit rock bottom by hearing the dreaded "we have to let you go" from her meticulously dressed boss, she hits the jackpot by landing a lucrative job tutoring the Paris and Nicky Hilton twins of Palm Beach.

Oh, the book is rich with details about a society that most of us only dream about: The Season, The Gowns, and The Protocol (never eat!). Yet, underneath it all is a heroine and 2 struggling heiresses trying to find themselves. Strong characters are finely sketched, fashion details embellished, and the pitter patter of young hearts falling in and out of love beat strong. In all, it is a twirl around the dance floor of women, wealth, and wonder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good summer read, June 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book was funny and the scenarios rang true for assistants. Taylor was not the most sympathetic of characters, but I was invested in her story and thought it unfolded well. Though this book did rely on some fairly improbable coincidences, and I certainly think the roommate was way quirkier than necessary, overall the book rose above others in the genre because of quality writing and an interesting premise. Definitely a good summer read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect seller, Exactly what I was expecting and wanted., December 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Exactly what I was expecting and wanted. I had been looking for this book and no cheaper rate or quality than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast read, July 2, 2013
Great book fun to read and gives a little insight to sisterly love. Your sister should be your best friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Twists, February 26, 2013
This is book has twists and turns you'll never see coming. You wonder how much bad luck can a girl have. It's funny & romantic and I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How to Teach Filthy Rich Girls
How to Teach Filthy Rich Girls by Zoey Dean (Paperback - July 3, 2007)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.