Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Small Book in Length but Large in Enjoyment
In the primary essay in this small book, with more misdirection than modesty, Mark Twain starts by saying he does not claim to know how a story should be told but knows a good one when he hears one. Now he's talking about "humorous" stories, the kind Americans can tell, and not the comic or witty stories that Englishmen and Frenchmen tell. The mark of a good...
Published 11 months ago by Harold Pohl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Short but good reading.
This short book only gives you little information on how to tell a story but i suppose just reading the essays gives you a better idea on how one is told.
Published 11 months ago by Joseph Y.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Small Book in Length but Large in Enjoyment, January 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In the primary essay in this small book, with more misdirection than modesty, Mark Twain starts by saying he does not claim to know how a story should be told but knows a good one when he hears one. Now he's talking about "humorous" stories, the kind Americans can tell, and not the comic or witty stories that Englishmen and Frenchmen tell. The mark of a good humorous story is in the art of its telling and not in the subject matter, as are those told by foreign storytellers. The beauty of this essay is that after aquainting the reader with the technique of telling a good American humorous story, he presents a sample that proves his opening disclaimer false, by telling such a story to perfection, and by giving the reader the illusion of hearing it told aloud on a stage, as he was noted for. Alas, it is a story told in dialect that probably cannot be read by some today for its humor, but I think there is a spirit in it that transcends today's objections and believe that all Americans can revel in the good humor of the mentality behind this story.

The other essays in this book are also good examples of the work of 19th century America's greatest storyteller and wit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, February 13, 2013
This review is from: How to Tell a Story And Other Essays (Paperback)
The book is only a few pages long. At first glance I'll admit, I felt chinced. Then, I began to read and understand why his work is considered American classic. (Knowing what I know now, I would've paid twice as much for this book). Twain's astounding wit comes through in this book as concentrated power with an organic and soulful feel. This book will take you on an albeit short, but magical journey through the culture of americana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark Twain Shares His Brilliance, December 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mark Twain shares his insights and humour in this brief set of stories. His mind continues to brighten our world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great classic book, I am loving that amazon has these for free and am trying to collect them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting book, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although it is not a Mark Twain classic, it is well worth reading. The book's style and presentation made me feel like I was seeing Twain in the theater one of his tours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good advice here, but not quite the format I expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, June 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If love Mark Twain, "How to Tell a Story and Other Essays" gives you a glimpse into to his creative process. It's a fun read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bit biased, May 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have always enjoyed Mark Twain's books. Mainly because he understood the basic principles of storytelling, more than trying to sound overly-intelligent, he wanted to sound like someone who you wanted to talk to everyday. I've read this book three times now. Thanks Kindle for making me forget to download more books before heading into a non-wifi area of the mountains. The main points I have always taken from Twain are, don't alienate your audience, don't think too high of your vocabulary ability when making a simple point and enjoy living life so you can tell enjoyable stories about life. This book is no different. It makes you laugh some and makes you think about yourself inside. That's a trademark of Twain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What's not to love?, May 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love mark Twain's speeches and essays WAY more than I liked his books about Tom Sawyer. This collection underscores why he is still popular - and funny - all these years later. "Timeless" is a word that is overused, but now when it comes to Mark Twain. His writings remind authors that they can be leaving a lasting legacy with every word, and his humor will make you smile today just like it has made readers smile over the ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How to Tell a Story And Other Essays
How to Tell a Story And Other Essays by Mark Twain (Paperback - October 1, 2013)
$10.99 $9.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.