Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it The Jayhawks Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I am going to put my reputation on the line, and the 850+ non-fiction books I have read that make me the #1 Amazon reviewer for non-fiction (and to my great surprise, today #49 over all fiction, movies, music, and software as well as non-fiction) for the simple reason that too many people discuss books such as this by labeling it "conspiracy theory."

It's not a conspiracy theory if it is true. I will try to be brief as well as illuminative.

First off, the author has culled a handful of books that support his case against a global financial elite, and these tend, with the exception of the Quigley book, to be left of left of center. I am however happy to add a number of books that support his essential theses that a handful of banking families control the central banks which are NOT government banks, and through loans, control governments, impoverish the middle class, and harvest profit without conscience from the "working poor."

Try these on for size:

1) Confessions of an Economic Hit Man by John Perkins. 85% rock solid, 15% flakey, but in my view, a perfectly reasonable slam on the World Trade Organization and the International Monetary Fund as instruments for impoverishing lesser developed countries, not empowering them.

2) The End of Poverty: Economic Possibilities for Our Time by Jeffrey Sachs, another slam on the WTO/IMF, which he relegates to third rate out-dated economist ranks, not at all focused or able to achieve what he calls "developmental economics."

3) The Global Class War: How America's Bipartisan Elite Lost Our Future - and What It Will Take to Win It Back by Jeff Faux, a fine discussion of how our elites bribe the elites in other countries, and the both screw the public by looting the commonwealths of gold, oil, etcetera, without returns to the people whose families have lived on top of these resources for centuries.

4) Running on Empty: How the Democratic and Republican Parties Are Bankrupting Our Future and What Americans Can Do About It, by Paul Peterson of the Council of Foreign Relations (which the author hates, in my view it has two types of members--one manipulative like Henry Kissinger, another honest, like Paul Peterson), in which both the Republican and the Democratic parties are lambasted for being the ignorant slaves of the ultra-rich elites, and hopeless out of touch with reality and unable to represent We the People.

5) War Is a Racket: The Anti-War Classic by America's Most Decorated General, Two Other Anti=Interventionist Tracts, and Photographs from the Horror of It by General Smedley Butler, the highest decorated Marine of his time, who complained about being an enforcer for banks and businesses that lent money to the Third World then sent the Marines to get it back for them.

There are many other books that support this author's book reviews in great detail and from many varied perspectives. I refer you to my various lists, including the list on "Screwing the 90% that do the work."

The author has some pretensions and some slop, his arguments are not always consistent, but then neither are mine. On balance I regard this book as a first rate personal effort that should be read by every middle class person wondering, as Lou Dobbs on CNN has wondered, why we are exporting middle class jobs and importing poverty in the form of illegal aliens.

The author wraps up his varied reviews with a focus on the relationship between organized crime and the super-elite as well as their political elite (e.g. the Bush family, the best of the servant class), and on the relationship between drugs, covert operations, and Wall Street. Here again the author draws on a very tiny sub-set of books while not listing many others that support his thesis so I will mention a few here.

Having been through both Viet-Nam as a youth and the Central American Wars as an adult, I am quite certain that there are at least four different slices of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) where I served for ten years as a clandestine case officer:

A small slice does what the White House wants, including black bag jobs.

A small but more important slice does what Wall Street wants, and helps Wall Street with access to financially relevant information that the public which pays for the CIA does not get. Buzzy Krongard, until recently Executive Director of the CIA, comes to mind as the most recent leader of this section.

A larger slice, that does covert action off the books with funding from Saudi Arabia and others, sometimes called the Safari Club, sometimes having off-shoots like Ted Shackley's Southern Air Transport, and so on. This slice can provide the intersection between criminal activities, white collar crime profits, illegal White House activities, and plain profiteering.

Finally, 90% of the CIA, folks like me that did not realize they were simply going through the motions and giving the local counterintelligence service a full-time rabbit to follow while the commercial clandestine boys and girls looted the bank in bright daylight.

I have two intelligence lists that can be helpful here, but I have not focused on creating crime lists. I'll just say that between the books on the The Working Poor: Invisible in America and on being Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in Americaand books on immoral predatory capitalism and unilateral militarism of the Dick Cheney variety (I have compiled a list of 25 specific impeachable actions by Dick Cheney based on three books:

The One Percent Doctrine: Deep Inside America's Pursuit of Its Enemies Since 9/11
Vice: Dick Cheney and the Hijacking of the American Presidency
Crossing the Rubicon: The Decline of the American Empire at the End of the Age of Oil

There is a very clear-cut and direct relationship between dictators, transnational organized crime and terrorism, and Wall Street as well as the Republican and Democratic National Committees (see Running on Empty: How the Democratic and Republican Parties Are Bankrupting Our Future and What Americans Can Do About It)

That reminds me: there is an entire literature on petroleum, peak oil, petrodollars, and so on. Americans have been betrayed by their government since at least 1975, and more likely, back to the 1950's when naiveté about international affairs was replaced by active complicity.

Good news. 1) Internet leveled playing field. 2) Not enough guns to kill us all. 3) A few of the really rich have realized they need to help us create infinite wealth for ourselves, or lose all they have to locusts. Read, be vocal, be active, we're going to get a grip on our commonwealth soon.

Tip of the Hat to Jere for the following added links:
When Corporations Rule the World
The Road to Serfdom: Text and Documents--The Definitive Edition (The Collected Works of F. a. Hayek)
Money Masters of Our Time
4242 comments|437 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2004
The best way to describe this type of book is to show you it's table of contents. I have taken the time to do this for you because I feel that after seeing the titles of the books that the author reviews in each chapter you WILL make the decision to buy this book.
1-A Century of War
2-Tragedy and Hope
3-The Naked Capitalist
4-The Tax-Exempt Foundations
5-The Creature from Jekyll Island
6-1984
7-Report from Iron Mountain
8-The Greening
9-The Politics of Heroin
10-Final Judgment
11-Dope Inc.
12-Let's fix America!
The author has researched the works of writers who are seeking to find out WHO is impoverishing us, and WHY and HOW they are doing it. The findings are presented via a series of in-depth reviews of a carefully selected set of books, mostly little-known but a few famous. Taken together, a coherent picture emerges which precious few among even our political activists understand or care to admit to knowing.
77 comments|215 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2005
The main purpose of this book is to give the reader a trail to follow. Like breadcrumbs in the shape of an arrow, Alan B. Jones has selected and reviewed 12 books that will further lead to the details of the well oiled machine running the state of world affairs into the ground.

These books collectively establish common threads that point to the powers behind what has been happening in slow motion for the last 100 years, robbing individuals worldwide of their liberty and livelihood as the wealth of nations slowly spirals into economic decline and the hard earned money of the middle class disappears into the void.

The formats of the reviews are straight book reporting, which frankly diminishes the reading enjoyment, but is necessary for the amount of information covered. After reading the often shocking contents, an overwhelming need arises to investigate further by reading one or more of the titles reviewed. The importance of the material covered in this book cannot be overstated, and are of topics that the imbecile TV news `experts' you see prattling away just in time for your morning coffee wouldn't have a clue about.

I must advise however, that you will not read this book and come away believing everything. The means for this would be in the details of the 12 books themselves. Jones does an admirable job in trying to sum up almost 6000 pages of information into just over 300, but the pace is often overwhelming. However, he gets the point across and makes the connections that in all these books, whenever certain stones were overturned, the same manipulators came skittering out from underneath.
0Comment|128 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2007
We are teetering on the brink of oblivion or utopia. Our corrupt Federal Reserve System is bringing economic collapse to the USA unless people quickly awaken to what is really happening to our freedoms and our economic prosperity.

My own review would closely mirror Robert D Steele's excellent and comprehensive analysis below. I also agree with the excellence of the additional works he recommends. I've read them all and have nothing but praise.

I might add to Robert's list a couple more titles:

1. "When Corporations Rule the World" by David C Korten ... also visit his website (Google it).

2. "The Road to Serfdom" by FA Hayak.

3. "The Money Masters" website, book and DVD... (Google it).

4. "Web of Debt", by Ellen Hodgson Brown. [...]

5. "The Lost Science of Money", by Stephen Zarlenga [...]

6. "Money as Debt", Paul Grignon (Google the 47 minute video)

There are no more important subjects on earth than these. Nearly all wars, poverty, media manipulations, societal and educational problems such as drug dealing, smuggling, flesh peddling, high taxation, and... well, you name it... are rooted in the problems revealed in these works.

I strongly disagree with those who think such works are either fear-based or impractical. Nothing can be more practical than the knowledge of the secret and occult powers that are now the motivating forces shaping our modern world.

However, I do find much of the second half of the book flawed, along with Jones' final chapter, "Let's Fix America". His recommendations miss the boat because of a political bias.

We can only remain asleep (in denial) at our grave peril, and more importantly, the peril of our children and grandchildren.

No problem can be fixed without a thorough understanding of it's root causes. Sooner or later these international money and banking problems must be fixed, and to do it properly we must fix... or rebuild... these institutions in the right ways.

The issuance of money must be taken out of the hands of private bankers and returned to the government's of "We the People" where it belongs. Only then can we stop paying exorbitant interest rates on the money that is put into circulation. Only then can we begin to use our taxes for purposes other than paying needless interest to private bankers.

Unchecked, unbalanced and unlimited power always leads to tyranny and despotism, some form of totalitarianism. Today that power is quickly becoming the materialistic "Golden Rule" - "He who has the gold, rules."

Will we let it happen here? Is it already too late to stop it?
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2008
The 'Introduction' explains this book as a shortcut to the essential knowledge needed to fight for democracy and freedom. Its 12 chapters are the author's reviews of a dozen books that present facts and views censored from the daily corporate press. Today's problems are interconnected in ways that will surprise you.

Chapter 1 explains how the wars over the past century were for the control of oil. American and British oil companies control their governments and eliminate any competition. Third world nations are exploited through "foreign aid". Any country that tries to develop nuclear power is punished, as that will lower the price of oil. Chapter 2 discusses the restricted book that documents the secret "international Anglophile network" that controls much of the world's history. The Rhodes Scholarships are part of this, and other organizations are named. It explains why millionaires subsidize "left-wing" movements (p.30). Tax-exempt foundations were created to pursue a hidden agenda (p.31). Read the secret 'seven points' to understand 1930s Europe. Did the bankers of England and Germany put Hitler into power (p.42)? Chapter 3 tells how banking dynasties have replaced dynastic monarchies. These banking families control the political and economic life of the world (p.45). The super-rich want to take over the world (p.49)! They control the educational systems (p.53). Who gets the oil and natural gas concessions after a revolution (p.57)? Chapter 4 explains how tax-exempt foundations are used to control the government and people of America to benefit the super-rich. One method is to control the teaching of history (p.63). Do they give funds to organizations for covert activities (p.70)?

Chapter 5 examines the Federal Reserve Bank and its history. It names the real person who inspired the "Daddy Warbucks" character in a comic strip (p.89). Its purpose was to attack smaller banks and corporations that finance their growth from profits (p.89)! The public pays more to enrich the banking cartel (p.93). Pages 107-111 tell how the Carnegie Foundation brought America into WW I. Who benefitted (p.118)? Chapter 6 discusses George Orwell's "1984", a satire on England and the world of 1948. England is under fascist rule (called "English Socialism") where telephones monitor everybody's lives. [Like today's cellphones?] It is a dark world without hope. [Yes, Orwell said "television" to avoid prosecution under the Official Secrets Act.] Chapter 7 discusses "The Report from Iron Mountain" which fictionalizes reality and projects its logical conclusions. Advertising, education, and the broadcast media controls the thinking of most people. [The chemical found in birth control pills is in most of the fresh water supplies to a limited amount.]

Chapter 8 asks if Environmentalism is just a power grab to control the wealth of the world (p.150). Is "global warming" a newer version of these fears (p.155)? Page 161 explains how this scam would work to benefit the banks of the rich. Populations in the Third World are oppressed to create wealth for their oppressors (pp.162-163). There is a warning against independent agencies and their administrative law (p.169). Chapter 9 tells about the lucrative business in drugs, such as opium and cocaine. US Intelligence agencies helped the drug trade (p.177). This was called "fighting Communism" (p.180)! CIA supported forces increased opium production in Burma (p.189). The war in Afghanistan supported opium production (p.201), cocaine in Nicaragua (p.202). Chapter 10 discussed the assassination of JFK as the conspiracy between intelligence agencies and organized crime to safeguard the lucrative trade in drugs, and related issues. The policy changes after JFK's death are listed on page 237. Chapter 11 uses a report, not a published book to tell about the many prestigious banks that are used for financing the world trade in drugs. Chapter 12 has the author's review of his own book. It seems to want to repeal the New Deal. This seems very fantastic and idealistic. To the extent its been done the result has been another depression today. The 'Epilogue' by Taylor Caldwell seems to be more fiction than history.
44 comments|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2006
This book will give you a great introduction to what is going on in our world, based on several past written books about the "Powers that Be."

If you know nothing about the Illuminati, The Council on Foreign Relations, Trilateral Commission, Bilderbergs and various other secret socities, then I suggest you start with this book and progress from there. I have studied these "Elites" with great detail and still learned a lot of valuable information including resources and books written by people that spent time working for these global power brokers. This has been a plan that has passed down through the various families for generations if you go in depth you will understand who they worship and that they believe in reincarnation which explains why the circle continues to cycle.

This book will enlighten you to the money trail of narcotics, mafia, globalization, IMF Bank, Ford Company etc.

After you read this move on to the Committee of 300.

Check out the resources given and the books reviewed you will no longer trust our government (if you actually did), but instead of getting angry or worse denial Do something to try and stop THEM. They are few we are many that is what made us a great country only a few hundred years ago.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2006
Since I didn't want to read all of these books, but was very impressed with those I did (Tragedy & Hope, A Century of War), I figured a synopsis of the rest would do. This book certainly does that as well as it can in its 15-20 pages devoted to each book.

As long as you take these kinds of theories with a grain of salt, you'll come away more knowledgeable about our world than when you started. Jones' book does a good job of describing many of the topics found in the various books. He also uses it to weave a conspiracy conclusion of his own: that rich people have always run the world and seek dominance over the rest of us.

I can certainly attest to that, given my most recent Visa card statement.

As for Jones' book, if you don't want to read all of the rest of these books, his compilation is a good effort and worth the $15. Heck, you'll pay almost 50% more for a total work of fiction like "Da Vinci Code."

And you'll thank Jones for his 20-page summary of "Tragedy & Hope"--it's better than plowing through the actual 700+-pages of the real thing.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2006
Mr. Jones in effect has written a series of book reviews. His stated goal is to "save for our posterity the great experiment in freedom that was launched 200 years ago by our country's founders." His method is to expose the essence of the centuries-long effort by the international banking houses, their corporate associates and intellectually corrupted useful idiots who undermine the American Republic and its Constitution. That essence includes means, methods, strategies and goals. Their diversity and comprehensiveness is a tribute to the generational perseverence and expertise of those shadowy protagonists.

The work has much in common with the old "College Outline Series," in that it proposes that it is no substitute for delving into the books themselves. It hits the key elements and much more, but cannot be more than a brief related to the several elephantine works that are reviewed. Having read several of the key works prior to discovering Mr. Jones' book, I can testify that he fairly and comprehensively dealt with them. Also I will second his recommendation that his book is not a substitute for reading each and all of the books in question.

This is a book that every American should read. After that, one should read the books themselves.

The final piece in the book, the "Epilogue," is an essay by Taylor Caldwell in which she clarifies the motives of the elite, and their central goal: the destruction of the middle class. This was no new theme for Mrs. Caldwell. She brought the entire scheme into fictional focus in "Captains and The Kings," which fictionally approaches the world of the movers and shakers who are determined to destroy the American experiment.

Will reading this book make any real difference, as Mr. Jones hopes? Perhaps, but one of his reviewed authors, Carroll Quigley, writing in the 1960s, asserted that already it was too late to frustrate the elite's drive for dominion and power.

I am more optimistic, based on the notion that anything that can go wrong will go wrong, no matter the plan or the planner.

Mr. Jones certainly believes that an informed public will place our Republic beyond final usurpation. Read his book.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2009
The book is mainly a summary of list of books that the author considers as essential reading. And it is. The tone is fairly dry and hard to follow sometimes because you have to read the books that the author is presenting yourself and form your own judgments. The chapter on his own book reads the best as he understands it best himself.

Note to future readers of this book : You should not buy into stories that cannot provide facts, evidence, legitimate documentation, reasoning, scientifically or historically tested theories, and others.

But you should at least consider the ones that can do provide those support. And when you do go through all the legitimate processes and find out what is really going on in the world, what is causing all these problems, who cause them, and what to do about them you will have learned probably the single most important truth.

IF you are really lazy and cannot afford time and money to read this book then simply go onto youtube and check out things like Loose Change, Architects and Engineers for 9/11, Presentations by Mike Ruppert, Alex Jones, Ron Paul, Cynthia McKinney, Max Keiser, Peter Schiff, Jim Rodgers, Marc Faber, Ralph Nader, Jeff Rense, and their affiliates.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2008
I have done alot of reading in the area of inquiry covered by this book. It is basically a synopsis of a number of books written by others, some of which, like "The Creature from Jekyll Island", I have read. Really Jones has done a public service writing this book and none of it is copyrighted. He wants you to copy it and disseminate it! You should at least read it, objectively, and then I think you will not be the same person anymore. If, however, you want to remain the same person you are now (assuming you know nothing about these issues) then don't bother with it. There is a massive on-going conspiracy to take away your liberty, this is fact. And the groups in on this conspiracy want to make sure that you ignore all "conspiracy theories". Like any conspirators, they like to remain unknown behind the scenes. But this is not a conspiracy theory, it is a conspiracy fact. And alot of things will make alot more sense to you in current events after you digest this book.
22 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.