Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: How to Do Things With Videogames
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 24, 2011
This book's form makes it incredibly accessible and inviting: 20 short essays or occasions through which Ian Bogost invites his readers to think (without any heavy imperative to 'think critically') about how videogames have become a "mature medium."

Bogost describes myriad videogames along the way, and his scene and scenario descriptions are precise and nuanced, yet always concise such that even non-gamers will follow and find solid points of attachment and interest. (I haven't played a videogame seriously since 1992: Metroid II on Gameboy.) In other words, the book is not only an astute and scintillating argument; it is also educational in the most satisfying sense of the word. Speaking of education, I can definitely imagine teaching this book in an undergraduate digital humanities course, as it demonstrates this emergent field at its best: in grounded, lucid, and layered investigations.

In short, "How To Do Things With Videogames" will be of great interest to all sorts of people: everyday gamers and game makers, certainly, but also to non-gamers as well as to scholars and students of contemporary culture--which is to say the book is media studies for the world.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2011
Here's a situation for you: you're at dinner with your parents, or your partner, or your partner's parents, or your partner's friends. They hear that you study or make games for a living, or that games are the primary way that you spend your leisure time. They tell you that their 8-year old nephew would love to hang out with you, because you love doing the same "childish" activity that they do. Or they want to know why you'd spend so much time and mental energy engaging with a violent, masculinist, repetitive, and stupid bunch of artifacts.

Most of these people, they play FarmVille or Solitaire or Tetris or Snood to fill their time. At family gatherings, they're the first to drag out the Scrabble or Monopoly board. They don't quite recognize that games and videogames are already important to them, too.

Instead of getting flustered, now you've got a book to hand them (or, at the very least, you'll have a handy mental volume of examples and arguments to draw from). It will show them that there are games in between what they play and what "gamers" play, games that do things and explore all sorts of terrain that they didn't even know the medium could. Finally, it articulates a future for games and the people who play them that even you (as a gamer, developer, or scholar) probably haven't thought of before.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
While this is not my favorite book about video games, this is one I finished reading, closed the book and said "finally, a book about games written by a person who actually KNOWS of games". This is not the kind of book I would recommend for gamers. Instead, this is the kind of book I would recommend for people who still think that video games are for children. It is well known that this is far from true since a long time ago, so it's refreshing to see that there are people who actually take games seriously. Bogost goes further than just questioning whether video games incite to violence. He actually did a lot of research and put a lot of effort in explaining why video games are more than "toys": they are another form of media. They have their own implications and meanings, their own form of art. In this book you can find not only references to relatively recent games, but also about well-known movies, advertisements and other kinds of media. Additionally, you can see how they relate to games, and why they are so important nowadays.

If you are still skeptical regarding the subject "video games" as something more than "just another tech junk my nephew plays", you should definitely read this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2012
I bought this book when it first came out and read it in two sittings. My favorite chapters were probably "Reverence" and "Travel" but there are plenty of good ones that will make you think differently about the videogames you've played, the ones you're playing, and the ones you have yet to play.

More importantly, this book will also make you wonder what OTHER things you can do with videogames. To put it another way: Ian Bogost thought up 20 things you can do with videogames. How many can you think of?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2013
I am giving this book five stars not because I think it's perfect, but because it certainly accomplishes what it sets out to do. Though I found it strange that the Introduction sets up a theoretical framework that mostly disappears from the bulk of the book, the chapters were insightful and easy to read. As an academic, this book isn't really helpful for me in my research (which is obviously not the purpose, since the writing is not meant to necessarily be academic-level writing). However, as a teacher, I am very excited about the way rel-world concepts are connected to gaming in the book. I have decided to design a course on rhetoric using this book as the center, since I think students will really appreciate the approach to video games that also had real world applications.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2013
Provides good insight into the video game world and how each aspect of it is created. I read it as a text for a class assignment and found it to be an easy read but often had to look up things on google because general ideas are covered but not completely.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2013
Bogost does a good job of applying little known strategies implemented in game development. A great resource for parents and kids looking to understand the content in games; or future developers to understand what ideas should be in their concept.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2012
Bogost lights up his interesting ideas for games with fascinating examples. As always, I cam away from his books with a different definition of games, and with even more faith and hope for the medium.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
It is a great book doing a comparative analysis on video games and their benefits. I might not agree with the conclusion, the project being done is worthwhile and important.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2013
I love the way Bogost easily explains the future uses of gaming. This book is not meant to predict, but to inspire new uses for videogames.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse