Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand
I really liked the way the Author broke down the handstand. I started using his techniques as soon as I received this book and now I can do a free standing handstand. The philosophy of thinking about standing up on your feet really helped when you start lean back or forward in to the wall. I'm now working on free standing handstand pushups, thank you for a simple but...
Published on May 13, 2012 by John F. Johnson

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elegant, but lacks some progressions skills
This inexpensive small book contains easy to read (and understand) instructions. The author progressively takes you from standard push-ups to a free-standing handstand and beyond. The black & white photos may not be of the highest studio quality, but they do give you a reasonably visual guide of body position and form.

I would have liked Patrick Barrett to...
Published on December 31, 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand, May 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Do A Handstand: From The Basic Exercises To The Free Standing Handstand Pushup (Paperback)
I really liked the way the Author broke down the handstand. I started using his techniques as soon as I received this book and now I can do a free standing handstand. The philosophy of thinking about standing up on your feet really helped when you start lean back or forward in to the wall. I'm now working on free standing handstand pushups, thank you for a simple but effective method for the handstand. For the price you can't beat this information!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Learned How To Do A Handstand, May 21, 2012
By 
Cogger (Denver, CO) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great book that goes into the easily over-looked details on how to progress from a basic wall-assisted handstand to a free standing hand stand push-up. Hand stand walking is thrown in there for fun as well. The author did a great job explaining the concepts of each progression. The images alone are great references. Whether you are doing handstands for crossfit, to let your inner child out, or just a fun bbq party trick, this book will give the simple progressions to get there.

I have only had it a short time and already gained the confidence to get off the wall as well as take my first hand-stand walking steps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Held a handstand for 10seconds, January 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The heading might seem unimpressive but it's like an 8second improvement to my previous free handstand hold. The tips are really helping me with technique, in terms of approach and small tweaks to technique. I'm confident I'll be able to hold a 30second handstand soon, with the freestyle handstand push up my ultimate goal. I would buy this book again, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow, October 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bought on a whim. Really easy to get started. Never realized I would be able to do handstands! I've been practicing off and on for a few weeks and am almost ready to do them without a wall...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elegant, but lacks some progressions skills, December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Do A Handstand: From The Basic Exercises To The Free Standing Handstand Pushup (Paperback)
This inexpensive small book contains easy to read (and understand) instructions. The author progressively takes you from standard push-ups to a free-standing handstand and beyond. The black & white photos may not be of the highest studio quality, but they do give you a reasonably visual guide of body position and form.

I would have liked Patrick Barrett to cover more progressions (a.k.a. lead-up skills) and to cover Shoulder and Back flexibility in more detail (as Logan Christopher's "Secrets of the Handstand" does).

Although a bit lean, this well presented book does contain enough information to allow you to work your way to a free-standing handstand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can feel the progress, March 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I always wanted to be able to hold a handstand, but I'm on the bigger side so I thought it might be a little bit of a challenge. The progressions and pictures in this book make it much more attainable. I haven't been working with it too long but I'm totally comfortable in a wall handstand and I'm getting closer to a free handstand every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool exercise, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The balance and control you have to have in a handstand always appealed to me. This book is teaching me how to get that balance and control and I'm really enjoying it. I feel like I'm getting stronger in my shoulders and my hands and I can already do a handstand for a second or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Handstand Training Book, January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wanted to learn how to do a handstand, and this book taught me everything I needed to know. What else is there to say? Good progressions starting from the very beginning, pictures and descriptions showed me exactly what to do. I was up in a handstand a lot sooner than I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to get hands tand, October 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am very pleased to use this book for very easy way to get handstand. Who are interested to do Ashtanga Yoga for them handstand is most important I recommended this book is very helpful to filful their goal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, Direct Path to Handstand Mastery, March 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How To Do A Handstand: From The Basic Exercises To The Free Standing Handstand Pushup (Paperback)
There are few that has mastery of a handstand let alone it's variants like handstand pushups or walking on one's hands. This short, concise book gives you the steps towards such mastery. Not for those who aren't fit to begin with....can't make silk out of a sow's ear as they say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How To Do A Handstand: From The Basic Exercises To The Free Standing Handstand Pushup
$7.86 $7.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.