Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HUBBLE:IMAGING SPACE & TIME
This is a picture book, beautifully done. This is not a highly technical text but mostly a collection of extraordinary photos from what is arguably the greatest achievement of the US space program. From this relatively small telescope, unhindered by the earth's atmosphere, we have an amazing array of objects that link art with science. Absolutely stunning.
Published on October 29, 2008 by J. Flynn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Low quality printing
Nice pictures, but the pages are thin and the pictures are printed very poorly. This is not a good gift or coffee table book. The colors aren't very saturated and sometimes the pics even looked a little streaky or patchy. It was weirdly low quality.
Published 10 months ago by mrs. higgensworth


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HUBBLE:IMAGING SPACE & TIME, October 29, 2008
This review is from: Hubble: Imaging Space and Time (Hardcover)
This is a picture book, beautifully done. This is not a highly technical text but mostly a collection of extraordinary photos from what is arguably the greatest achievement of the US space program. From this relatively small telescope, unhindered by the earth's atmosphere, we have an amazing array of objects that link art with science. Absolutely stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars astonishing, November 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Imaging Space and Time (Hardcover)
This is an incredible book showcasing the unbelievable wonders of outer space. Anyone who has looked up into the night sky will love this one. The swirling colors, brilliance, and unimaginable size will give you an awe and appreciation of the vastness and complexity of our universe. It is like looking thru the eyes of God. Each page brings a more brilliant image. Makes one feel pretty humble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great pictorial book of Hubble Space Telescope achievements, December 9, 2008
By 
The Nice Brit (Rochester NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Imaging Space and Time (Hardcover)
This book provides a very nice overview of the visual achievements of the Hubble Space Telescope. It is a pictorial book, very pleasant to peruse at one's liesure. The text is not in depth as noted by other reviewers but does provide an overview of the telescopes history, on orbit repairs, methods of obtaining obeserving time and some limited science results. Highly recommended visually but lacking a little in textual depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, February 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Imaging Space and Time (Hardcover)
I bought this lovely book as a gift for my engineer husband -- he was thrilled with it. The images are both stunning and eerie. Who knew that just outside our local astral neighborhood there were such amazing sights? In this day of high tech instant gratification it's hard to keep in mind that mysteries and miracles do exist - and it's too easy to take for granted such stellar achievements in the sciences. Pick up this book and leaf through it and that just falls away - you'll be amazed. And humbled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hubble: Imaging ..., January 11, 2009
By 
This review is from: Hubble: Imaging Space and Time (Hardcover)
Absolutely glorious. Breaches all the boundaries: physical, spiritual, intellectual. Immerse yourself in it; and for the love of your children, share it with them when they are ready.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illustrated Cosmos, March 28, 2009
This review is from: Hubble: Imaging Space and Time (Hardcover)
This is a large, hardback, heavy book. It is a reference book with tons of illustrations and pictures of distant astronomic objects. It especially covers the origin of the study of astronomy and its transformation by orbiting astronomy. It concentrates on the Hubble Space Telescope, its design and the images it produces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hubble. This amateur astronomer sees what fantastic images are, October 30, 2009
By 
Thomas Erickson (Lutz Fl and Felt Oklahoma) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Imaging Space and Time (Hardcover)
Hubble Imaging Space and Time is fantastic. This is essentially a coffee table picture book. The images are fantastic. There is good description. As an amateur astronomer for 40 years I get good views with my 20 inch telescope but NOTHING can compare to the beautiful and detailed pictures in this book. A good assortment of images is offered.I go to a few star parties and give backup presentations to school kids if the clubs telescopes get clouded out and the kids cant see anything. This book will be great for showing both kids and grownups the wonders of the universe. This book is great for parents to show their kids and read desriptions. Both will love this book and hopefully want to learn more about the Universe and Astronomy.

I am so thankful for the scientists, government workers and everyone throughout the world that made the use of the Hubble possible. The Hubble is indeed a world treasure. One of mankinds technological masterpieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art and Science Merge, January 11, 2009
By 
Jane J. Carroll (Black Mountain, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Imaging Space and Time (Hardcover)
The artist and the scientist will love this exquisite book that is suitable for all ages. My thirteen-year old grandson, 46 year-old son, and I spent the day after Christmas gently turning the pages of Hubble:Imaging Space and Time, reading some of the text, and being astonished by the photographs. We could not put the book down until we were satiated by its richness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book!, August 20, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Imaging Space and Time (Hardcover)
For anyone interested in the Hubble Space Telescope, this is an enthralling read... But above all it's a breathtaking tour through some of the most exquisite images ever captured of the cosmos. I've thumbed through lots of Hubble and cosmology books, but this beats all. A must-have for astronomers and cosmologists. Huge detailed photos and lots of fascinating technical information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hubble Telescope Results, November 1, 2009
By 
BJE (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Imaging Space and Time (Hardcover)
The book is an amazing mixture of technical descriptions of the Hubble Telescope, astrophysical phenomena, historical perspectives of the Hubble project (a story in itself) as well as of the development of the astronomical knowledge in the past and last but not least wonderfull pictures of what is normally hidden in the sky.
The book ist worth every penny I spent for it with Amazon (and I paid very little).
J.Benn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hubble: Imaging Space and Time
Hubble: Imaging Space and Time by David H. DeVorkin (Hardcover - September 30, 2008)
$50.00 $35.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.