Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5****' A wonderful blend of sci-fi chills and paranormal thrills!
Laney/Julie is a beautiful young woman with extraordinary gifts that set her apart from others. The mystery as to how or why she came to possess these special abilities is yet to be uncovered. Haunted by terrible flashbacks and memories of suffering at the hands of her captors, she moves to a small Virginia town hoping to start a new life. But will she find peace without...
Published on November 24, 2010 by Gigi Marie

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Secrets
Human Blend begins with Laney running from a mysterious "them." In this excerpt the reader never learns more than that there's something otherworldly about Laney. I found myself liking Laney, though. She doesn't want to lie to people, is compassionate towards others, and doesn't she want others to be hurt because of her.

I did find the writing choppy and the...
Published on March 31, 2011 by Charles&Amy (The Trojan Horse ...


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5****' A wonderful blend of sci-fi chills and paranormal thrills!, November 24, 2010
This review is from: Human Blend (Paperback)
Laney/Julie is a beautiful young woman with extraordinary gifts that set her apart from others. The mystery as to how or why she came to possess these special abilities is yet to be uncovered. Haunted by terrible flashbacks and memories of suffering at the hands of her captors, she moves to a small Virginia town hoping to start a new life. But will she find peace without ever looking over her shoulder again?

Upon her arrival Julie is befriended by an irresistible young man, Austin. His biggest dream is to leave his mother's business, attend college and become a teacher. Ignoring the warnings of her inner voice, Julie continues to see Austin while he is developing abilities similar to her own. Things now become dangerous. He sees that she is special and running from something, his only desire is to protect her.

At the hospital where Julie works as a hospice volunteer, she meets Eli, an alluring surgeon dedicated to his work harboring secrets of his own. One evening he observes Julie using her special gift with a child patient suffering from an awful disease. Eli becomes instantly mesmerized by Julie. He also learns that she is trying to get away from a frightening past and wants to help her. Julie is now equally drawn to both men. Who will she choose? With each encounter I was glued to the pages with anticipation as to what would happen next.

Julie meets an intern who may have all the answers to the questions that have been plaguing her. It's this revelation knowledge that hits her new life like a cyclone and any thoughts of going on the run are once again brought to a dead stop when her captors find her. Oh, but this is not the end... not by a long shot!

Ms. Pescatore pens a thrilling debut novel full of many exciting characters bringing together those from a modern day small town and mixing them with a world of the supernatural. Each is well developed, plays an important role and is needed to give the story its feel and added depth. I admired Julie for her strength and courage and Austin for his support and protection. Eli was intriguing and I found myself rooting for him as well. The triangle that envelopes Julie is quite fascinating. The dialogue flowed smoothly and was quite easy to read. There were some minor editing issues, but they did not detract from the story in the least. The plot was solid and kept me interested the entire way through.

I would highly recommend this entertaining tale to readers looking for a fresh new take on the supernatural world combined with lots of twists and turns and great suspense. Ms. Pescatore is a fine up and coming author and definitely someone to watch out for.

Review written by
Gina (Gigi) Lupo
Paranormal Romance Guild
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite reads of 2010, October 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Human Blend (Paperback)
I stumbled upon this book by accident and after reading some of the reviews I immediately placed my order. This book had me on page 1 and I couldn't put it down. The concept of this book is so different from anything I have read in the past and I found it a pleasure to read. The characters are just amazing and I immediately fell in love with each one. I will definately be on the Look Out for the next book in this series. Give this new author a try and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 1/2 stars - Highly Original and Exciting Sci-Fi/Paranormal Fantasy, December 12, 2010
By 
Krisi Keley (Spring City, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Human Blend (Paperback)
Laney has had a terrifying and mysterious past. Kidnapped from her father and used and abused by evil men because of her unique abilities, she has escaped to a small town in Virginia to begin a new life as Julie Miller. Still plagued by broken memories of her traumas, she's determined to live a "normal" life and, although terrified to form close relationships for fear of exposing others to harm by the pursuers who have found her before, she is unable to ignore the kindness and charm of local college student, Austin Dorsett. But her new job as volunteer at the hospital brings her to the attention of the handsome and reticent Dr. Eli Elsworth, who has secrets of his own, when he witnesses her healing a young cancer patient, and a train of events is set in motion that will lead not only to danger for Julie and her new friends, but also to the revelation of incredible secrets about her past and her identity, as well as that of Eli Elsworth, new hospital resident, Dr. Marcus Samson, and even her new boyfriend, Austin.

Author Lori Pescatore's Human Blend is an absolutely fascinating novel because it is one of those rare stories which, while being an exciting, fast-paced and easy to read sci-fi/paranormal fantasy, great for young adult readers, it also offers the possibility of deeper philosophical reflection for the discerning more mature reader. Without wanting to reveal too much for fear of any spoilers, the unfolding mystery brings up extremely complex questions, including: Does true environmentalism mean a concern only for the earth itself, or does it necessarily include a respect and love for all earthly creatures, including human beings? Does genetic manipulation have only biological ethical concerns attached to it, or are there profound questions of individual personhood and spiritual issues involved as well? And are supernatural powers a blessing or a curse, something that volatile and conflicted creatures like human beings are not really morally-advanced enough to possess or have access to?

A cast of very likable and sympathetic protagonists, well-developed relationships and conflict, page-turning suspense and action and an intriguingly original plot make Human Blend a novel readers won't want to put down until the mystery is solved and, although Ms. Pescatore supplies no easy answers or judgments on the ethical questions this first story provides, I eagerly look forward to the next books in the trilogy to see where she goes with this unique concept, as well as to get to know Julie, Austin, Eli and Marcus better in their continuing story. A wonderful debut novel and recommended reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Thrilling Mystery with Sizzling Romance - A Page Turner!, December 4, 2010
This review is from: Human Blend (Paperback)
Laney's been used her entire life, but her escape allows her to live for the first time. In a new town, with a new name, Laney, now Julie Miller finally gets to experience the life she never had before. She finds a job, meets friends, and even finds herself a boyfriend, but all of that could slip through her fingers if her pursuers catch up with her. And let's face it, pursuers don't give up that easily.

Lori Pescatore's self-published novel is a thrilling mystery with a paranormal twist and romance that sizzles off the page. Julie, the main character, is kind and strong, with a personality that lures the reader (and everyone else) in. The mystery about who Julie's running from is revealed little by little as she acclimates to a new town and a new life. Austin, Julie's first friend and soon to be boyfriend, is funny and sweet. The young doctor that takes in interest in Julie, Eli Elsworth, is swoon-worthy and, much like Austin, beyond sweet.

Pescatore slowly unravels Julie's story and her abilities, but keeps the edge on my throwing in plenty of surprises, not to mention the hotness factor goes off the chart at times. The characters are all well-written and unique. I found myself completely engrossed in the story, desperate to find out why Julie has these powers and just what is up with this doctor. The minor characters that appear do wonders for the story. Small, seemingly insignificant scenes/characters are more than they appear and I loved that.

It's not often I read self-published books, but I am so happy that I read this one. Well-written, unique, and filled with interesting characters, Pescatore's debut is astoundingly fresh. Though because of some of those steamy scenes, I'd say this one is probably for a slightly older crowd. Nothing is explicitly stated, but there's still some hot and heavy making out. My only complaint is that there are a few issues with tense (past to present) but not too much to really bother me. That, and the romance picks up very quickly, but there's decent reasoning behind that.

Human Blend is a distinctly original paranormal mystery that will make you grip the edge of your seat one minute, laugh out loud the next, then make you fan yourself from all the sexy hot makeout sessions. Pescatore has captured both my attention and my heart with her story and her characters. The cliffhanger ending has me yearning for more of Julie's story and I only hope that Pescatore is hard at work on it.

Opening line: She vowed to be more careful this time. ~ pg. 1

Favorite line: "Face it, Julie, your life screams `damsel in distress'," Marcus commented back. ~ pg. 224
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eli's coming....hide your heart, girl, May 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Human Blend (Paperback)
when reviewing any work, you must consider many factors, including genre, the author's viewpoint, choice of writing style, and his/her intention of what they want to bring to the reader, as well as entertainment value. this author's viewpoint and intentions were clear, concise, open, honest and delivered with a precision that is rare in new writers. we start with a young woman who is on the run, but we don't know what she's running from. she tries to begin a new life in a new town. she seeks normalcy, but there is a sense of danger in the air. an underlying tension is present right from the beginning. and as the book unfolds, her attempt at leading an average life is constantly plagued with a tension that simmers and slowly builds as the book progresses. the patience with which this young author uses this tension, building in a gradual, measured pace was achieved beautifully. the author achieves many of her goals with patience and an unexpected skill. the story of a girl who is not entirely human, trying to find out who she is and why is well-conceived and well executed. characterizations and pacing are handled with an adept, although decidedly female hand. and when the danger comes to a head (as we always know it must), the author handles the action and danger with an honest, intelligent prose that entertains and keeps your interest piqued. the story, dialogue and even love story development were navigated with professional quality and the entertainment value never faded. i was very pleasantly surprised by this up-and-coming author's skill at spinning a tale.
and for those of you who remember 1969, you may have noticed that the title of my review jokingly recounts an old three dog night song.....that is relavent in its own way....but you have to read the book to find out why. so to sum up, a hint of danger at the beginning, slowly-building tension, an entertaining, well-written story with paranormal elements about a girl with special gifts......a well-executed, action-packed climax......this is a wonderful book that delivers a delightful read. i highly recommend this story to fans of the paranormal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special Characters, March 26, 2011
By 
Karen Fuller "Karen" (Northwest Florida Panhandle) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Human Blend has special characters that are realistic and get close to your heart. The author creates the setting for the reader to see as well as feel what Laney's going through. Just a short ways into the book, the author manages to hook the reader in suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, January 3, 2011
This review is from: Human Blend (Paperback)
I was hooked early with the underlying, back story suspense which began on page one. Then, I became simply enthralled with the characters and the present mystery surrounding them all while hints of the back story continued to rear its ugly head.

For most of the book, the paranormal elements were so subtle, yet completely understood. I believe the settings had a lot to do with that early on. Eventually, Ms. Pescatore let me in on exactly what the characters were, and I am not too proud to admit that I was wrong in my own guesses. Yet, no matter where I was in the story, the characters were strong, and they tugged at my heart strings. They had a nice depth to them, a balance often hard achieved with so much action in a story. I quickly became attached to Laney, fell in love with Austin and became attracted to Eli right along with her. For the first time, I was presented with a love triangle where I couldn't decide between the two men.

The paranormal elements mixed with the caring and healing in a hospital setting were wonderful and emotional. The mystery & suspense which darkly juxtaposed this element heightened the whole experience. The romantic surprises were a nice touch, but I won't say more thus I give something away. Overall, I loved this story. It left me breathless. But, the ending, well all I will say is there better be a sequel, and I will be first in line to review it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A New Species of Supernatural Creature is Born, February 4, 2011
This review is from: Human Blend (Paperback)
Just when everyone starts grousing that paranormal has been done to death and there's nothing else to explore, along comes something new. Human Blend by Lori Pescatore introduces a new breed of supernatural being to readers, one that's fresh, exciting, and unique. Pescatore builds suspense over what kind of beings her characters are by delaying full revelations until later in the novel.

Human Blend starts with an eighteen-year-old named Laney on the run. While not really eighteen, she ages slowly, so she's actually older than she appears. Kidnapped as a child, she's been used and abused for years due to her special abilities. She's always been good at seeing numbers, making it easy to predict things like lottery numbers and horse race winners, making her valuable to the men who want her back after she makes her escape. Disguising herself as "Julie Miller," she begins to reinvent herself in a small town in Virginia, where the men chasing after her can never find her...or so she thinks.

Early on, she meets a college student named Austin, who introduces her to the area. It isn't long before the two are involved in a serious relationship with one another. Julie's nervous, though; everyone she ever lets into her life winds up getting hurt due to the fact that they know her thanks to the men she's hiding from and her unwanted powers. To complicate matters even more, Julie finds herself attracted to Dr. Eli Elsworth, who works at the local hospital she volunteers at. In addition to being good with numbers, Julie is also a healer. Not only that, there's more to Eli than meets the eye as well. He knows about Julie's abilities and wants her helping out at the hospital. The two have remarkable chemistry, but both attempt to hide from it due to Julie's relationship with Austin.

The novel picks up speed once Pescatore lays out her world. The second half of the book is full of action and suspense. There are parts that are true nail-biters, and when Human Blend reaches its conclusion, readers are left wanting to know what happens next, especially with the introduction of new characters leading up to the next story arc. The second book is scheduled to be released later this spring, the second in a trilogy. Throughout the novel, I had a few questions regarding backstory and how these characters became what them are. I wanted to know more about what happened before Laney/Julie arrived in Virginia. Luckily, the second book will begin as a prequel with all of the events leading up to Human Blend before moving forward to "current day."

Human Blend started out as a Smashwords novel. It can be bought digitally for Kindle, etc. for the low price of $2.99. The book is also available in paperback. The early edition of the book has a few typos and inconsistencies, but nothing that can't be overlooked once the story takes over. While marketed as a teen book, be warned that this title is for older teens and adults. It has both sexuality and violence in it and shouldn't be presented to anyone not mature enough to handle such themes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Blend Of Science Fiction, Romance, Mystery, and Thriller With A Paranormal Twist, January 1, 2011
This review is from: Human Blend (Paperback)
Human Blend brings a refreshing creative edge to science fiction. What I liked was that it was more than just contemporary science fiction, blending in the intrigue of a mystery, thriller, and a romance, which satisfies a wider reader base. Showcasing unique paranormal beings with multifaceted special abilities, these human blends and earthlings are not only interesting, they are well developed characters. The story starts off a little slow, but quickly picks up the pace soon after, and was full of suspense and action.

The basis of the story is that Laney runs away from her unpleasant past life where she was being taken advantage of by a group of men who used her special abilities to their advantage. She creates a new identity as Julie in Marion, Virginia, but her past comes back to haunt her, so we get to see how Julie deals with this and how her special abilities play an important role. Julie has to learn to trust people again, despite her bad experience before, if she is to survive in the world again. Julie's bravery and fear are so well captured that you can't help but be emotionally drawn to her. The bad guys were well written since I loathed them so much, being extremely dangerous, cruel, and merciless. They were very realistic and believable. And when the cat and mouse chase started, I found myself drawn to the book and I was suspicious of everyone. Early on in the book, I didn't know who to trust, for Julie's sake.

I enjoyed learning about Julie's past through occasional flashbacks and about her paranormal side and special abilities from her mentors. There are secrets that are withheld that are slowly revealed as you read the book, which keeps you entertained.

There is also a heartwarming side to this book that looks at Julie's role as a healer in the hospital. What fascinated me the most was the ability of Julie to heal the sick with just a touch. And the love triangle that surfaces between Julie and Austin, the boy she meets initially, and a doctor, named Eli definitely brings some excitement, sexual tension, and jealousy. There are some sexual references, but nothing too graphic, so this book is more suitable for older teens and adults.

What I disliked was how quick the romantic relationships formed in the book - within a few days. Also, there were a lot of supporting characters that I wish were explored more in depth, since I didn't really get to know them that well. But Human Blend is the first book in this trilogy, so I'm sure the author will shed more light on some of these characters in book two.

Human Blend gives hope that regardless of the difficulties you've experienced in life, it's possible to recover and be able to really live again. I enjoyed reading this book! If you love science fiction that is innovative, you will want to read this book. And for those who tend to not read science fiction, there is enough romance, mystery, action in this science fiction book to keep you interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh New Idea, October 16, 2010
By 
Karen Fuller "Karen" (Northwest Florida Panhandle) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Human Blend (The Blend Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Lori takes her new story, Human Blend, in a fresh new direction. She introduces a new character concept to the 'Paranormal' community. Her heroine, Julie/Laney, is a very special and confused young lady. She is in possession of special abilities that she herself does not understand, but some very bad people covet. All she wants is a 'normal life'. This book takes the reader on an emotional roller coaster as Julie/Laney learns to lead a 'normal' life, and learns to 'trust' and 'love' again. It is full of action and suspense. A definite must read.
Karen Fuller, Author
The Revelation (Wickford High)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Human Blend (The Blend Trilogy Book 1)
$0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.