Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You don't need 6th edition
I got this instead of the 6th edition. It served me just fine. The changes between the editions are very minimal, mostly just different colors in the diagrams.
Published 8 months ago by Cameron

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fundamentals, but not much more
I used this text for a pre-med undergrad level physiology course. Unlike texts in other advanced bio courses (Cell, etc), this one was somewhat elementary. The simple nature of the book is helpful to gain an overview of say, the digestive process, but it really left me wanting (and needing) to know more. I don't usually notice the style of writing in a textbook, but I...
Published on May 16, 2011 by ND Lawyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You don't need 6th edition, March 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got this instead of the 6th edition. It served me just fine. The changes between the editions are very minimal, mostly just different colors in the diagrams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best physiological textbooks worldwide, May 9, 2012
By 
Jiri Kofranek, M.D., Ph.D. (Praha 10, Prague Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Human Physiology: An Integrated Approach (5th Edition) (Hardcover)
It is one of the best physiological textbooks worldwide. This textbook supports integrative system view of the complex function of the human organism.
This textbook is suitable not only for medical education, but also for the teaching of bioengineering.
Really, this book proved useful in teaching my students at the Czech Technical University, all the necessary chemical, anatomical, histological assumptions are well and clearly explained.

Dr. Jiri Kofranek, Associate Prof. of Pathophysiology, Charles University in Prague, Associate Prof. of Technical Cybernetics, Czech technical University in Prague
kofranek@gmail.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed the book for my introduction to Human Physiology, June 27, 2012
By 
Maxi (Allston, MA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Human Physiology: An Integrated Approach (5th Edition) (Hardcover)
Not for medical school, but perfect for an undergraduate level course on physiology, I recommend getting E-Book, the physical textbook is too heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exact, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Human Physiology: An Integrated Approach (5th Edition) (Hardcover)
This is exactly what i was looking for. It did it's job for my class just fine. :) liked the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars why did i choose this rating?, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Human Physiology: An Integrated Approach (5th Edition) (Hardcover)
I started reading the book, it is very easy to understand and very illustrative. It has so many figures and tables that summerize the ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic introductory physiology book!, December 29, 2013
By 
Cyclist03 (southern california) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Human Physiology: An Integrated Approach (5th Edition) (Hardcover)
This textbook covers a lot of the basics and is easy to follow and read; the diagrams are simple and clearly laid out. Each section within a chapter ends with a concept check to help the reader understand the main ideas covered. And each chapter ends with a summary of key concepts/definitions in bold print follow by three levels of questions: 1) reviewing facts and terms, 2) concepts, and 3) problem solving. The best part of this text book is NOT having to purchase another book that provides all the answers, because they are already included in this book! Moreover, at the beginning of each chapter includes a "running problem", which provides an actual physiological illness/disease describing the symptoms and as the readers continues, the book will ask a question about that particular disease relating to the key concept that is covered. I think this is a great way to help apply the material learned in that section to a real life illness. This is better than the medical physiology book I currently have, which is overwhelming and more difficult to read. If only Dr. Silverthorn would also write one for graduate students, physiology would probably be more fun to learn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Physio College Level, March 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Human Physiology: An Integrated Approach (5th Edition) (Hardcover)
So far this textbook is good. The figures are easy for me to copy onto separate paper for better practice of the material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Came in fast and in good conditions!, January 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Human Physiology: An Integrated Approach (5th Edition) (Hardcover)
The book came in good conditions and it was shipped the next day after I had purchased.
Arrived fast and I recommend them, inexpensive and with great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Needed for Human Phys class at my University, October 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Human Physiology: An Integrated Approach (5th Edition) (Hardcover)
I really like this book. It is easy to understand and very informative.
But i bought it because my human phys professor requires it for the class. He said he won't test out of it and he has a very weird lecturing style. The book saved me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great text book, September 24, 2014
This review is from: Human Physiology: An Integrated Approach (5th Edition) (Hardcover)
The language is easy to understand and the breakdown of systems is done is such a way that any student can get it. The book is perfect for the class I am taking and kudos to my instructor for using it as his preferred text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Human Physiology: An Integrated Approach (5th Edition)
Human Physiology: An Integrated Approach (5th Edition) by Dee Unglaub Silverthorn (Hardcover - October 17, 2009)
Used & New from: $4.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.