Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humanoids On The Cheap
I love schlock!! I love cheese! "Humanoids From The Deep" is my dream come true! Roger Corman understands what makes a bad movie good. Picture if you will, a small village where fishing and drinking beer are the only activities. Imagine this town invaded by hordes of horny fishmen. Women are savagely attacked and impregnated (??). Nudity? This flick has more bouncing...
Published on March 7, 2003 by Bindy Sue Frřnkünschtein

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Silly, fun stuff.
Bickering, stupid townfolk, a tough-as-nails feminist scientist, full frontal nudity and horrible mutant coelacanth(not salmon)monsters....yep, this one's got it all! Sort of a sister film to "Piranha", "HFTD" has all the great cliches of horror from the opening shot taken straight out of "Jaws" to the hand held stalker cam of...
Published on October 7, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humanoids On The Cheap, March 7, 2003
This review is from: Humanoids from the Deep (DVD)
I love schlock!! I love cheese! "Humanoids From The Deep" is my dream come true! Roger Corman understands what makes a bad movie good. Picture if you will, a small village where fishing and drinking beer are the only activities. Imagine this town invaded by hordes of horny fishmen. Women are savagely attacked and impregnated (??). Nudity? This flick has more bouncing boobs than a 3 stooges marathon! Doug McClure is the goodguy. As usual, he pulls off his role with the skill and charisma of driftwood. Vic Morrow is the badguy (although he comes "into the light" at the end). He basically plays the same drunken bigot he played in "Twilight Zone, The Movie". Morrow is a great actor. No one does a better job of being menacing! I've been afraid of him ever since "Blackboard Jungle"! Anyway, the Humanoids keep on raping and pillaging, until the great apocolyptic carnival scene! Lots of fake blood, explosions, and hand-to-fin combat! This film would make an excellent double feature with "Horror Of Party Beach"! A must see...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Corman's best schlockers!, February 3, 2001
By 
Bill W. Dalton (Santa Ana, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Humanoids from the Deep (DVD)
Humanoids from the Deep is one of my favorite Roger Corman films, right up there at the bottom of the heap with Death Race 2000, Galaxy of Terror, Battle Beyond the Stars, et al. And since I'm a new devotee to the DVD format, my comments refer to the DVD version of this classic Corman work.
The image quality is good in most of the scenes. The audio quality is also good. And the "sleaze" quality is great! Some of Corman's best. But the movie is not in widescreen format and the special features are not too special. There is a trailer of the movie and some trailers of other Corman movies, some brief cast biographies, a scene index, a little booklet detailing the highlights of Corman's career, and a three minute Corman interview with film critic Leonard Maltin, which is not too informative.
In the interview Corman gives his not-too-original theory of how to scare audiences by not showing the monsters too much and letting the viewer's imagination do the work for him, a rule Humanoids seems to avoid, sine the mutant fish-men are on screen quite a lot. He also gives credit to director Barbara Peeters, saying she was the right person for the job at the time. However, he neglects to mention that both she and Ann Turkel, the female lead, both publicly denounced the movie and disavowed their parts in it, saying that Corman had turned it into "a T & A flick!"
Barbara Peeters had directed at least one other Corman movie before Humanoids, so she should have known what was expected of her. Evidently she and Turkel thought they were making a serious ecological disaster type movie, and were incensed when Corman brought in another director to add the nudity and rape scenes! Not surprisingly, since she failed to live down to his expectations, Peeters never directed another Corman film. She went into TV work instead.
During the production of this film, someone suggested that, for comic relief, one of the humanoids should be gay, and be seen attacking a male citizen of the small fishing village of Noyo, but Corman nixed the idea, saying, with a straight face, "There are no homosexual humanoids!"
As to the movie itself, the cast is good: Vic Morrow, near the tragic end of his career, is very villainous; Doug McClure, always competent, is stalwart and brave; Ann Turkel is beautiful and resolute as the lady scientist; Cindy Weintraub is beautiful and courageous as McClure's wife. And Linda Shayne is beautiful and naked, as are Lynn Theel and Lisa Glaser, all hapless victims of the Humanoids.
This DVD belongs in the collection of every Roger Corman fan, and every fan of schlock horror in general!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Fun Than You Can Possibly Imagine!, November 11, 2003
This review is from: Humanoids from the Deep (DVD)
I consider myself well schooled in low budget schlock from various film genres. Watching cheesy films is an acquired taste, one not easily cultivated overnight. Even with some knowledge about who makes these types of films under my belt, I still stumble over major contributors to the clunker movie catalogue and wonder why I haven't spent time with these delicacies before now. Roger Corman is my latest discovery. I admit to having heard of Corman before in reference to the spate of Vincent Price horror classics that emerged in the 1960s along with a few other films he made over the course of his career, but until now I never saw any of them. This guy is a giant of the low budget film, producing or directing some 500 plus movies in the last forty years. He's still going strong as far as I know, and never limits himself to one particular genre; he's made westerns, horror, action, drama, and science fiction films with seeming ease. Moreover, according to the bio on this DVD, Corman helped launch the careers of numerous Hollywood bigwigs. If "Humanoids From the Deep" is any indication, I will spend a lot of time with this filmmaker's projects in the near future.
This movie really ought to be a huge cult cinema classic. Maybe it is in some circles, but if so, I never heard about it. What a shame, too, because "Humanoids From the Deep" is classic camp that rips off every 1950s monster film you ever heard about. The movie, set in a fishing town called Noyo, tells the story of a town rapidly fading away. The local tars are having a tough time catching enough fish to make a living, and just when it seems that all is lost a big time cannery corporation arrives on the scene promising to build a factory that will rejuvenate the local industry. Who can argue with an influx of well paying jobs? Certainly not a fisherman named Hank Slattery who sees dollar signs in the arrival of the suits. Most of the townspeople adopt Hank's position concerning the changing times, even level headed Jim Hill. Hill, who really doesn't care for Hank due to the man's racism against the local Indian tribe, grudgingly agrees that the cannery will help salvage the town. He's a bit suspicious about corporations in general, a thought shared by his wife, but he's willing to go along with it if it means food on table. The local Indians, led by Hank's nemesis Johnny Eagle, despise the idea of building a cannery on old tribal grounds. When a series of unexplainable incidents occur in rapid succession, the Indians and Slattery's goons duke it out with other over the future of the area.
What in the world could possibly cause all of the dogs in the area to die violently in the space of a single evening, lead to the disappearance of a few of the local ladies, and cause such discord between the Indians and the Anglo community? Why, humanoids from the deep, of course! That's right, within mere minutes we learn that Noyo has a big problem in the form of some weird half-salmon, half man beasties roaming around offshore. And these monstrosities take no prisoners, either, since they aren't above tearing open a few bodies, ripping off a few heads, or liberating a few bosoms in order to capture Noyo's women for mating purposes. Corman permeates this film with everything a low budget horror lover could want: completely unnecessary nudity, gallons of gore, and numerous massive explosions. The cars, houses, and boats blowing up in "Humanoids From the Deep" especially impressed me since the producers of the film sank a lot of money into these blossoming fireballs. This is obvious because they use the hilarious old "numerous camera angles and quick cuts" to get the most out of the effect. If you don't care explosions, there is always the gore to float your boat. The conclusion of the film, when Noyo celebrates their town festival and the humanoids make an impressive yet unannounced visit is sure to thrill you with the arterial sprays and gory amputations going on all over the place. What a great little film.
The performances aren't all that bad either. Vic Morrow plays Hank Slattery with all the menace you would expect from the late star. Doug McClure turns in steady work as the even tempered Jim Hill. The rest of the cast, while not as well known as these two actors, all do a pretty good job with their parts. Of course, the humanoids share top billing with the human actors, which is fine because the special effects used in creating these violent creatures worked quite well in my opinion. The humanoids are gruesome looking, with sharp teeth, oversized heads and arms, and a shambling gait resembling the undead in all of those Italian horror movies. I can't say I cared too much their endless shrieking and wailing, but the look and the unremitting violence of these monsters repeatedly entertains.
The DVD is quite a catch too (pun intended). You get five trailers: "Humanoids From the Deep," "Eat My Dust," "Big Bad Mama," "Death Race 2000," and "Grand Theft Auto." A short interview with Corman, conducted by Leonard Maltin, graces the DVD, along with bios for Corman and the cast. The film transfer looks good for an old film of this caliber, at least good enough to see all of the splattery effects and nubile young women running around town. "Humanoids From the Deep" is a must see for those looking for a way to spend a wacky eighty minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic - very few come close, September 1, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Humanoids from the Deep (DVD)
It is an honor to review this movie. 20 years ago my girlfriend and I were walking in Times Square past the movie house where Humanoids was playing. She saw a poster of the monster and wanted to know if such creatures really existed. At that point I knew I had to marry her.
I would like to give this movie 8 stars ********
Half of the movie is directed by Barbara Peters. This half stars Vic Morrow, Ann Turkel, and Doug McClure. They are solid as they seek to save their seaside community and understand the reptilo-humano-Jaws with gonads menace which threatens them. However, this part of the film is not exciting and not original, so it only gets two stars. The other half of the movie, the secret existence of which these actors and the director herself were unaware of (!!), consists of lovely young women at the beach being impregnated by a giant seaweed-covered sponge. There is a very hot sex-scene-threesome in a tent between a geeky puppeteer, his randy woodie, and a very alluring young thing who tries to seduce the marionette. In the midst of this scene, the puppeteer is disemboweled and the lovely young woman runs out of the tent without her clothes, down the beach, but is caught and impregnated by the seaweed-covered sponge. The scene is not explicit enough that you would have been able to explain his reproduction technique to your biology class, but it offers hints. This secret half of the movie deserves 5 stars because I have never seen anything like it before or since.
Finally, the art on the video box is sublime and deserves a star, too. 2 + 5 + 1 = 8
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent underrated film., August 20, 2000
This movie may not appeal some because of it is critcism from various people such as TV Guide. They think that the movie is nothing but another mindless B flick. It is a B flick as they say. However, it is scary and entertaining.
The movie is about a town that is being devastated by the horrific outcomes of experiments. The men are being killed in a gruesome fashion and the woman are being raped. The people are scared and bewildered and wonder if they will be next.
The ones involved in the experiment soon find themselves tracking the creatures down. When they come face to face with one, they immediately bring it to a laboratory. They realize that there is more than one, and they are about to strike again.
As the body count rises, the suspense builds up and you will keep your eyes glued to the television screen until the heart pounding spine tingling bone chilling gory climax. Some may think the effects are cheesy and unoriginal, but they are still scary nonetheless.
It contains many rape scenes and lots of nudity. If you don't like to see a lot of sex or full frontal female nudity, then I suggest that you skip this film.
This movie also contains extreme gore. The body count is high, and each death involves blood and gore. Some are tame, and others are graphic. If you do not like movies with extreme gore and violence, I suggest you skip this one.
The script is pretty well written and the lines are not as cheesy as others. There is hardly any humor, but it is not supposed to be. The cast give outstanding performances, and they do not seem like those streotypes in some slasher films. I would recommmend this to anyone who wants to see a scary Roger Corman B movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Silly, fun stuff., October 7, 1999
By A Customer
Bickering, stupid townfolk, a tough-as-nails feminist scientist, full frontal nudity and horrible mutant coelacanth(not salmon)monsters....yep, this one's got it all! Sort of a sister film to "Piranha", "HFTD" has all the great cliches of horror from the opening shot taken straight out of "Jaws" to the hand held stalker cam of "Halloween" and the end scene a homage to "Alien". The gangly humanoids, created by Rob Bottin, are meant to look straight out look straight out of some 50's monster flick. Like many monsters they loose their flare after the first 20 minutes of them on screen(Indeed, the scariest sight is probably the mutilated dog carcass on the beach) but they hold well. Pretty gruesome, especially the rape scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the Finest Mutant Salmon Movie Ever Made!!, July 12, 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Humanoids from the Deep (DVD)
As soon as I heard the ad for this masterpiece on the radio ("Humanoids from the Deep, they hunt women. Not to kill but to mate"), I knew this was a must see cinematic event. I was not disappointed.
If your taste in motion pictures run towards woman chasing mutant salmon you'll be delighted. Never before (or since) has a mutant salmon movie reached such heights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favorite Drive In Memory, August 7, 2002
By 
The JuRK (Our Vast, Cultural Desert) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Humanoids from the Deep (DVD)
I'll never forget this: 1980, a drive-in theatre in West Virginia, partying in a Chevy Impala. Nobody paying too much attention to the rubber monster movie on the screen.
Then someone says, "Hey, that monster's (having sex) with that girl up there."
Nobody said another word and we watched the rest of the movie.
After JAWS ('75), there was a deluge of drive-in B-movies set on or next to water. ALIEN was another huge hit in '79 so then came all the cheap sci-fi knock-offs. HUMANOIDS FROM THE DEEP combined/ripped-off both JAWS and ALIEN: you had the seaside setting as well as the slimy monsters.
Sure, it's an exploitation movie, but it also answered the age-old question of what monsters want with our women. And it's pretty much what we suspected.
In the right frame of mind, this is a Drive In Classic.
(But be careful: there's an even-cheaper "remake" floating around out there with Robert Carradine, a sexless, humorless, drive-in-less knock-off so avoid the more recent version. You need the one with Doug McClure in winter wear, teen girls in bikinis, and Vic Morrow as the nasty racist fisherman).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So Bad it's Almost Good, August 21, 2005
This review is from: Humanoids from the Deep (DVD)
Doug McClure established himself as Trampas on tv's "Virginian" that ran from 1962 to 1971. After "The Virginian" McClure had a hit or miss career in the movies. This particular movie is a campy bit of fun that is most assuredly not a family movie, though teenage boys will likely figure out a way to watch it.

The plot is a rehash of monster movie plots that date back to at least the 1950s. We have local creatures that have mutated from fish to become somewhat humanoid. The fish-humanoids move about as fast as an arthritic old man, but that somehow does not prevent the critters from killing dogs and people with abandon. Even more interesting, the creatures seem to figure out a clever way to grab the local ladies, even though they often run away, and mate with them.

Somehow the cast manages to put in a decent acting job in spite of the monster silliness. Doug McClure is level-headed Jim Hill who battles local fisherman and bully Hank Slattery, played by Vic Morrow. Ann Turkel plays a rare female scientist Dr. Susan Drake. Then there are a number of very pretty monster victim babes.

When I watch this movie I think of "Plan 9 from Outer Space," because the monsters shamble along and yet they somehow manage to make victims of healthy men and women. Though some of the victims fall prey to the monsters laying in wait for them, sometimes the victims fall prey through sheer silliness. The monsters are certainly big and strong, and once a humanoid catches a victim the victim is unlikely to survive the encounter if male, and female victims are sexually violated.

The rape of female victims by the monsters raises this movie to a new low. The scenes are graphic and while intended to be horrifying, often end up being a little silly. The victims are stereotypically portrayed as scatterbrained bunnies bolting headlong from a monster only to fall prey to the monster as they somehow manage to fall and scream a lot. For some strange reason the humanoids also have an interest in human female breasts as the monsters rip the bikini tops from their victims. Of course, this movie also assumes that the genetically created monsters have no female monsters to mate with, unless the female monsters were stalking the men in the movie and we did not get to see that.

This movie also features a "surprise" ending that horror film fans will see coming well before the end of the movie. Fans of director Roger Corman will likely intuit the ending from nearly the beginning.

In spite of the rehash of monster movies, and the gratuitous sex scenes, this movie is bad enough to be worth watching at least once. The acting by the leads is decent, and there are some satisfying special effects. This movie is deservedly rated R, and I would be reluctant to watch this movie with anyone else unless I knew they would not be offended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gory, action packed amphibian horror gets a well deserved DVD re-release, January 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Humanoids from the Deep (Roger Corman's Cult Classics) (DVD)
This review is for the 2010 DVD version of Humanoids from the Deep. The original version and NOT the remake..
Shout Factory has acquired the rights to releasing New Horizons Roger Corman library & has announced many new titles to be released for the first time or in this case re-released but with a twist. This will be a vast improvement over previous releases. What you will get on the DVD or the BluRay are the following

* New high-definition transfer of the Uncut international version presented in anamorphic widescreen (1.78:1)
* Never-before-seen deleted scenes
* Trailer, TV and radio spots
* Leonard Maltin's interviews with Roger Corman on the making of the film
* "The Making of Humanoids From The Deep," featuring new interviews with composer James Horner, second unit/assistant director James Sbardellati, editor Mark Goldblatt and more!
* New World trailers
Being released uncut, the DVD will be just like the DVD version that was released in Japan which is (maybe now was ) very sought after. The uncut scene is a head ripping off scene at the dock toward the end of the movie.
The movie itself is about mutant man-sized killer salmon that wreck havoc on humanity. The late Doug McClure is the hero..
This is not a spoiler but this movie contains some graphic gory violence as well as brief shots / flash cuts of the monsters mating (raping actually) with females. Yes, its pretty gory and contains nudity. For these reasons this movie is not for young kids. This movie isn't a scary horror ala Halloween or Friday the 13th - but it is an action packed in your face man size monster brutal horror movie. The monsters are human sized & slice and dice a lot of people. I have seen this film many times and it still packs a jolt. It is the closest thing we have to a modern day Creature from the Black Lagoon or a Monster of Piedras Blancas, but these creatures are shown doing what those monsters would do off-screen. A very well made B movie made by one of the best in the business - Roger Corman
The deleted scenes in this are really amazing and fantastic..I feel they should have been in the film. Some of the scenes have no sound. There is also a very well written linear notes by Michael Felsher , President of Red Shirt Pictures, talking about this film with some cool background information.
The DVD itself has a reversible cover as do many of Shouts Corman releases. The other cover as well as the disc is the sleeve art for the Japanese DVD of Humanoids. In fact the transfer used is under the title "Monster" not Humanoids actually.
I do highly recommend this movie if you haven't seen it before. I HIGHLY recommend getting this version of the DVD. There is no more need to spend $50.00 for a full screen bare bones release with this widescreen uncut DVD on the Horizon..
More Roger Corman titles are coming out ..
Plus look for these classics in 2011
Attack of the Crab Monsters and Not of this Earth - the 1957 version out this summer paired with War of the Satellites - a 3 movie set
Demon of Paradise & Up from the Depths also in 2011
3 Cheers for Shout Factory !! You done good ! :)
Many fans are very very happy with your releases of genre titles. Even the re-releases !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Humanoids from the Deep (Roger Corman's Cult Classics)
$19.93 $17.78
Usually ships in 7 to 11 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.