Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frampton courts the Cincinnati Ballet beautifully
It may come as a surprise to you but Peter Frampton until a few years ago lived in Cincinnati for over a decade. From the get-go, Frampton did whatever he could to integrate himself into our local arts community (among many things, he organized a 9/11 remembrance/charity concert in early 2002 consisting of Cincinnati-area musicians, raising funds for the 9/11 victims and...
Published 8 months ago by Paul Allaer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The music is great listening & a must have for any PF fan ...
P F has a style that is unique & in his maturity is turning up with sophistication in his music which is only attributed to musical genius. The music is great listening & a must have for any PF fan or rock & blues lover. His unique guitar art & style stands out in this album. I enjoy this sort of stuff very much.
Published 5 months ago by ASHWIN SINGH


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frampton courts the Cincinnati Ballet beautifully, June 23, 2014
This review is from: Hummingbird in a Box (Audio CD)
It may come as a surprise to you but Peter Frampton until a few years ago lived in Cincinnati for over a decade. From the get-go, Frampton did whatever he could to integrate himself into our local arts community (among many things, he organized a 9/11 remembrance/charity concert in early 2002 consisting of Cincinnati-area musicians, raising funds for the 9/11 victims and their families). All this eventually lead him to the Cincinnati Ballet. The Ballet, ever looking to expand its creative horizon, in 2011 collaborated with legendary Cincinnati band Over the Rhine, where OtR performed live on stage as the Ballet dancers performed new dances written specifically for this. The event was so successful that the Ballet looked for similar such opportunities. Enter Peter Frampton. Even though by then he had moved away from Cincinnati, there remains a close kinship between Frampton and the Queen City, and Frampton agreed to write new music specifically for the Ballet (more on the performance itself later).

"Hummingbird In a Box: Songs For a Ballet" (7 tracks; 28 min.) collects all of the new music written by Frampton for the 2013 performance by the Ballet. About half of the tracks are instrumental, including the gentle opener "The Promenade's Retreat". The title track is a Beatles-esque tune reminding me of the quieter songs on "The White Album" of all things. "The One in 901" is a harder charging, bluesy instrumental. "Friendly Fire" is another tune with Frampton on lead vocals, as is "Heart To My Chest", a beautiful introspective song. "Shadow Of My Mind" is a soaring track, where Frampton's vocals and his electric guitar collide as one. The collection ends with "Norman Wisdom", a jazzy instrumental. Bottom line: this is a very nice addition to the already rich Frampton catalog. Not long enough to be a full album, yet longer than your typical EP, this mini-album is priced just perfectly.

In April, 2013, this music received its world premiere when Frampton and his band played live on stage while the Cincinnati Ballet danced to new choreography. Just as was the case with Over the Rhine, it proved to be a magical evening, bringing out the best in both Frampton and the Ballet, with three different sets: the brand new Ballet-specific music, other recent music from Frampton, and of course his 1970s classics. Since then the Ballet has performed to the new music again (in celebration of its 50th anniversary, last month at the Joyce Theater in New York), but on that occasion the music was taped, and not performed live by Peter and his band. I'm not sure why it's taken over a year for this music to be released, but better late than never. "Hummingbird In a Box: Songs For a Ballet" is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immediately Likable, June 28, 2014
This review is from: Hummingbird in a Box (Audio CD)
It's rare that I enjoy a new album on the first listen and then play it again and again. This album is immediately likable. High quality music.

There's a good collection of tasty tunes, killer guitar licks among acoustic and electric instruments. Frampton plays an acoustic guitar for the rhythm tracks and then stacks electric chords and searing solos on top. Performances are of the "less is more" philosophy.

Various genres here. The vocal and instrumental mix of songs create a quality ambiance throughout.

Nicely done, Peter. Nicely done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music from A Seasoned Player!, September 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hummingbird in a Box (Audio CD)
One of the best pieces I have ever heard from Frampton! I have listened to Peter Frampton since his early years with Humble Pie though I wasn't a big fan of that group. Frampton's "LIVE album" was huge in the 70's and I did see him in Denver,CO when he was touring and backing the album. I was amazed at his stage presence and his talent. Several years ago I began listening to some of his more recent albums which I have thoroughly enjoyed. HUMMINGBIRD IN A BOX is beautifully conceived and written and excellently performed and expertly produced! Initially I listened to the album 3-4 times nonstop and truly enjoyed every note. Frampton has lost nothing in his delivery and performance.The album is not a hard rock album but is definitely rock themed. Though it's laid back at times it's great listening! It reminds me of some of Paul McCartney's solo stuff but it's still Frampton's originality and guitar work that catches your ear.As a guitarist of 48 years I find it refreshing,encouraging,uplifting and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 28 Minutes of Vintage Frampton!, August 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hummingbird in a Box (Audio CD)
There are only 7 songs here but they are all really great. 'The One in 901 ' really puts Frampton's guitar skills on display. It is instrumental with some scorching guitar, if you enjoyed his 'Fingerprints' cd you will love this.

'Heart To My Chest' may be the best song he ever recorded. This song is really beautiful! I have always enjoyed Peter Frampton since his days with Humble Pie. This man can write, sing, and is a very underated guitar player. If you are looking for some great new music from Peter Frampton here it is! There is some great acoustic work on here as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sophisticated album, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hummingbird in a Box (Audio CD)
This is a good album. The tracks have a cool, somewhat cerebral touch to them, an indication of a composer/guitarist that is surely getting better with age.
Frampton was my first concert (FCA) when I was 11 or 12 and I've seen him perform several times over the past years, the latest last summer near Atlanta as part of his road show with Sonny, BB, and some special guests. Frampton's dueling guitar numbers with Larry Carlton were superb.
In an age where most of the 60s/70s guitar legends are either gone or really not producing, it's refreshing to still hear Frampton pull out something along these lines. The genesis of the CD with the Cincinnati ballet is unique.
Also nice to read the liner notes of the CD to see what gear was used. Guitars include late '50s ES 335's, '60s-era Fender P-basses, various Martins (including the signature D45). Also fun to see Frampton use a Fender Hank Marvin Strat - the Shadows were an early fav of Frampton.
Interestingly - unless I'm missing something - despite the cover art, the famous Les Paul Custom (black beauty) that graced the cover of FCA and that was lost for decades following a plane crash was not used on the album. There's no mention of it on the liner notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Talent!, August 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hummingbird in a Box (Audio CD)
Peter Frampton is absolutely one of the most underrated guitarists of our time. While Fingerprints will probably always be my favorite of his work, he has yet to record anything I don't love. This album doesn't disappoint. He shows off his songwriting skills with heartfelt and thought-provoking lyrics on songs like Heart to My Chest and Friendly Fire. My favorite track is The One in 901, which is instrumental and features his blazing guitar skills.

My husband and I see Frampton each time he tours. His live performances are brilliant. If you've yet to see him, I highly recommend the experience. In the meantime, this CD deserves a place in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The music is great listening & a must have for any PF fan ..., September 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hummingbird in a Box (Audio CD)
P F has a style that is unique & in his maturity is turning up with sophistication in his music which is only attributed to musical genius. The music is great listening & a must have for any PF fan or rock & blues lover. His unique guitar art & style stands out in this album. I enjoy this sort of stuff very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Songs, July 11, 2014
This review is from: Hummingbird in a Box (MP3 Music)
"The One in 901" is one of the heaviest riffs I've heard in a long time... Would love to see Ballet performed to that! Beautiful songwriting and guitar playing throughout the album - A true legend in action, much more song oriented than I thought it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It is not long enough!!!, August 2, 2014
This review is from: Hummingbird in a Box (Audio CD)
It is too short!!! Oh, I know that it is an EP and that's why it costs only seven dollars. I get it! But these tracks are really good, so good that I was left wanting more! "Mr. Churchill" left me less than satisfied (three stars), and I was not overly optimistic on seeing that this release was a "commissioned" piece. I was pleasantly surprised! Frampton brings rock guitar to the ballet, and shows his virtuosity with the acoustic guitar as well. A great showcase for PF's talents. I just wish it was longer...

Great album cover...I especially like the guitar /instrument listing...the only reason I didn't give it five stars is because the title track seemed a bit long to me..."Norman Wisdom" is a hoot! Great guitar work here...When is PF going to do another "Fingerprints"?

All in all, a great little package- new Frampton music that doesn't rob you blind! Definitely worth checking out...left me wanting more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter The Great, July 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hummingbird in a Box (Audio CD)
Great Music once again by a Great Artist, Peter Frampton just gets better and better, I guess wine isn't the only thing that ages well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hummingbird in a Box
Hummingbird in a Box by Peter Frampton (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.