Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent CD from Lake Wobegon
This CD had me laughing out loud especially the story "Homecoming" which involves the confrontation between the Lake Wobegon homecoming parade (headed by a tank - of course) and a truck with a different type of tank - a septic one. In terms of big comic set pieces, I don't think GK has bettered this one (not even the classic "Living Flag")
Published on October 18, 1998 by D. Elvin

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing...
Garrison Keillor's Home on the Prairie is filled with funny stories.. In some cases total side splitters.. This falls short of a laugh..really.. Had originally bought it to give as gift but SO glad didn't as it definitely does not represent Mr Keillor's infinite storytelling talent.. Kept waiting for a laugh. So, in order to give what had hoped would amount to listening...
Published 20 months ago by W. ross


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent CD from Lake Wobegon, October 18, 1998
This review is from: Humor: Stories from the Collection More News from Lake Wobegon (Audio CD)
This CD had me laughing out loud especially the story "Homecoming" which involves the confrontation between the Lake Wobegon homecoming parade (headed by a tank - of course) and a truck with a different type of tank - a septic one. In terms of big comic set pieces, I don't think GK has bettered this one (not even the classic "Living Flag")
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing..., December 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Humor: Stories from the Collection More News from Lake Wobegon (Audio CD)
Garrison Keillor's Home on the Prairie is filled with funny stories.. In some cases total side splitters.. This falls short of a laugh..really.. Had originally bought it to give as gift but SO glad didn't as it definitely does not represent Mr Keillor's infinite storytelling talent.. Kept waiting for a laugh. So, in order to give what had hoped would amount to listening pleasure..had to buy another copy of my original find. He is so funny..but don't buy this..it's not funny, it's not even interesting. Sorry, but that is an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The actual contents of Humor: More News from Lake Wobegon, January 24, 2012
This review is from: Humor: Stories from the Collection More News from Lake Wobegon (Audio CD)
I bought HUMOR; More News From Lake Wobegon in 2011 from Amazon. Was very disappointed that only four of the sixteen essays are on the CD. Nowhere in the description of the contents does the producers let the buyer know which essays are included on the CD. That is why I give this CD only one star.
They are: Pontoon Boat / Author/ The Freedom of the Press / Vicks
The total run time is 70 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not so funny, August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Humor: Stories from the Collection More News from Lake Wobegon (Audio CD)
Maybe it's because it's a little old but the humor was somewhat lame on this CD. We like Garrison Keillor but this just wasn't his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Garrison Keillor's talents have long been appreciated in our family., January 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Humor: Stories from the Collection More News from Lake Wobegon (Audio CD)
It was many years ago we discovered "More Humor: Stories from the Collection More News from Lake WobegonNews From Lake Wobegon" on our radio on Saturday evening. It is fun to have some vignettes at hand any time any of us want to hear Garrison Keillor's particular brand of humor. The opening tract is a personal favorite. Very humorous. I was disappointed that there weren't more stories however. I have to admit I was surprised to find only 4 tracks on this CD. But there were funny, I must say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny., February 24, 2014
By 
Jan M Rauk (Moscow, ID, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Humor: Stories from the Collection More News from Lake Wobegon (Audio CD)
I bought it for friends and they loved it. Shared at a big family reunion and it was a hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not enough laughs, only 4 stories that are rather drawn out., December 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Humor: Stories from the Collection More News from Lake Wobegon (Audio CD)
Not as good as the prairie home joke show. Has about 4 stories. All good, but stories are told with filler details that build the characters but it seems like he is just wandering rather than creating literature. I wish there were more jokes and I wish it were longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 15, 2014
This review is from: Humor: Stories from the Collection More News from Lake Wobegon (Audio CD)
Love all garrison keelers works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well worth it, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Humor: Stories from the Collection More News from Lake Wobegon (Audio CD)
i always enjoy garrison keillor and the one on humor is just great. we need more of his humor
d. hall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny stories made a sick man smile, October 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Humor: Stories from the Collection More News from Lake Wobegon (Audio CD)
My girlfriend and I listened to this years ago driving across county. Her husband has cancer and some not so good days, I asked her if he had heard the story of the old car turns septic tank and he had not. I ordered this and had it mailed to them. I am hopeful this gave him some smile hours. Jean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Humor: Stories from the Collection More News from Lake Wobegon
Humor: Stories from the Collection More News from Lake Wobegon by Garrison Keillor (Audio CD - January 6, 2003)
$13.95 $10.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.